Results around the world – Nicaragua

In spite of significant reductions in poverty in recent years, Nicaragua remains one of the poorest countries in the Americas. It has the second-lowest gross domestic product per capita in the western hemisphere, and 30% of its population lives below the national poverty line.

Agriculture employs a third of the workforce. Productivity is hindered by low levels of basic economic infrastructure—particularly access to electricity and irrigation—and very low use of technology in production and post-production processes. In addition, Nicaragua is highly vulnerable to adverse climate events. This disproportionately affects small-scale subsistence farmers.

Sixty-five percent of the country’s population is under the age of 30. Young people face significant challenges due to limited job opportunities, low levels of education and skills, and the pressure to migrate, particularly from rural areas. Nicaraguan girls and young women are also affected by high rates of early pregnancy and sexual and gender-based violence.

In 2017-18, Canada’s development program in Nicaragua promoted growth that works for everyone and human dignity (health, education). Canada helps increase access to electricity and climate-smart agricultural technologies and supports small-scale producers to increase their productivity and access to markets, with a particular focus on rural women and female entrepreneurs. Canada also supports technical-vocational training as well as services that address the root causes of early pregnancy and sexual and gender-based violence. Working through national, international, Canadian and local organizations, Canada helps women and girls become leaders and active participants in the development process.

Through regional and multilateral funding, Canada also supports Nicaraguan efforts to address the effects of climate change, regional migration, the spread of infectious diseases and disaster risk-management.

Key results

In 2017, with Canadian support, 1,979 smallholder farmers decreased their production costs and produced higher yields of basic grains (maize and beans) through the World Food Program’s Purchase for Progress initiative. Participating farmers also obtained higher prices for their products, obtaining 25% more for maize and 34% more for their beans as compared to 2016 prices.

Through support to the Rural Electrification Project - Phase II, Canada helped Nicaragua expand its electrical grid to reach 54 new communities. This expansion enabled 7,645 households and 42,048 rural residents in some of the country’s poorest and most remote communities to access electricity for the first time. By March 2018, 102 microenterprises—mostly led by women and youth—in the newly electrified communities were provided seed capital to grow their small business.

Through Canadian support to the Pan-American Health Organization, 62 maternity homes in some of the most vulnerable regions of Nicaragua were provided with basic equipment and supplies to support mother and child care, and 11,453 women in maternity homes were supported on issues of women's empowerment.

Gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls are at the heart of Canada’s international assistance to Nicaragua and, as a result of Canadian support, there has been a steady increase in the rate of female leadership. For example, at the end of 2017, women held the following positions in farmers’ organizations participating in the World Food Program’s Purchase for Progress initiative:

Through regional humanitarian assistance, the Canadian Red Cross is helping the Nicaraguan Red Cross strengthen its capacity to respond to emergencies. Since 2014, nearly 700 Nicaraguan Red Cross staff and volunteers have been trained in disaster response, health and psychosocial support in emergencies, communications, resource mobilization and business planning, contingency planning and logistics.

Date Modified:

Résultats dans le monde – Nicaragua

Malgré une diminution considérable de la pauvreté constatée au cours des dernières années, le Nicaragua demeure l’un des pays les plus pauvres des Amériques. Il occupe l’avant-dernier rang de l’hémisphère occidental au chapitre du produit intérieur brut par habitant, et 30 % de sa population vit sous le seuil national de pauvreté.

Le secteur agricole emploie le tiers de la population active. Les faibles niveaux d’infrastructure économique de base (en particulier l’accès à l’électricité et à l’irrigation) et la très faible utilisation de la technologie dans les processus de production et de transformation entravent la productivité. En outre, le Nicaragua est très vulnérable aux aléas climatiques. Cette situation affecte de manière disproportionnée les petits agriculteurs pratiquant une agriculture de subsistance.

Par ailleurs, 65 % de la population est âgée de moins de 30 ans. Les jeunes font face à des défis importants en raison de possibilités d’emplois limitées, de faibles niveaux de scolarisation et d’acquisition de compétences, ainsi que de la pression exercée sur eux pour qu’ils migrent, en particulier pour les jeunes des régions rurales. Les taux de grossesses précoces et les taux de violences sexuelles et fondées sur le genre sont également élevés parmi les filles et les jeunes femmes nicaraguayennes.

En 2017-2018, le programme de développement du Canada au Nicaragua a fait la promotion de la croissance au service de tous et de la dignité humaine (santé, éducation). Le Canada contribue à améliorer l’accès à l’électricité et aux technologies agricoles intelligentes, et il aide les petits producteurs à accroître leur productivité et leur accès aux marchés, en mettant l’accent sur les femmes rurales et les femmes entrepreneures. Le Canada appuie également la formation technique et professionnelle ainsi que des services qui s’attaquent aux causes profondes des grossesses précoces et de la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre. En travaillant avec des organisations nationales, internationales, canadiennes et locales, le Canada aide les femmes et les filles à devenir des leaders et des participantes actives dans le processus de développement.

Grâce au financement régional et multilatéral, le Canada soutient aussi les efforts déployés par le Nicaragua pour contrer les effets des changements climatiques, la migration régionale, la propagation des maladies infectieuses et la gestion des risques liés aux catastrophes.

Principaux résultats

En 2017, avec l’appui du Canada, 1 979 petits agriculteurs ont réduit leurs coûts de production et ont obtenu des rendements plus élevés dans la production de céréales de base (maïs et haricots) grâce au programme Achats au service du progrès du Programme alimentaire mondial. Les agriculteurs participants ont également obtenu des prix plus élevés pour leurs produits, soit 25 % de plus pour le maïs et 34 % de plus pour les haricots par rapport aux prix de 2016.

Grâce à son soutien au Projet d’électrification rurale – phase II, le Canada a aidé le Nicaragua à étendre son réseau électrique, lui permettant d’atteindre 54 nouvelles collectivités. Cette expansion a permis à 7 645 ménages et 42 048 résidents ruraux, vivant dans certaines les collectivités les plus pauvres et les plus éloignées du pays, d’avoir accès à l’électricité pour la première fois. En mars 2018, 102 microentreprises de collectivités nouvellement électrifiées, principalement dirigées par des femmes et des jeunes, ont reçu un capital de départ pour développer leur petite entreprise.

Grâce au soutien canadien à l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé, 62 centres de maternité dans certaines des régions les plus vulnérables du Nicaragua ont reçu du matériel et des fournitures de base pour soutenir les soins maternels et infantiles, et un appui a été donné à 11 453 femmes au regard des enjeux liés au renforcement du pouvoir des femmes.

L’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles sont au cœur de l’aide internationale du Canada au Nicaragua et, grâce au soutien du Canada, on observe une hausse constante du nombre de femmes dans des rôles de leadership. Par exemple, à la fin de 2017, les femmes occupaient les postes suivants au sein d’organisations d’agriculteurs participant au programme Achats au service du progrès du Programme alimentaire mondial :

Par le biais de la programmation humanitaire régionale, la Croix-Rouge canadienne collabore avec la Croix-Rouge du Nicaragua pour renforcer sa capacité d’intervention en cas d’urgence. Depuis 2014, près de 700 employés et bénévoles de la Croix-Rouge du Nicaragua ont été formés dans des domaines tels que l’intervention en cas de catastrophe, le soutien sanitaire et psychosocial en situation d’urgence, les communications, la mobilisation des ressources et la planification opérationnelle, la planification d’urgence et la logistique.

Date de modification: