Alberta Election Analysis

PDF Version (900 KB)

Background

Rapid Response Mechanism (RRM) Canada conducts research to understand potential foreign threats against Canada, including looking for emerging tactics and trends online. This enables RRM Canada to share information and help fulfill the obligations of G7 RRM members outlined in the commitments made during the Charlevoix Summit.

RRM Canada’s mandate is to monitor for and analyze potential cases of foreign interference, regardless of the political party affected or political nature of any given issue. Its objective is to articulate the trends and tactics employed by foreign actors as it pertains to interference in democratic processes and institutions and to track and understand their evolution. It analyzes the data by mapping the threat landscape and providing a factual illustration of the trends or tactics based on data observed. The focus is therefore on the content shared through social media in order to undertake network analysis and to monitor the exchange, flow or amplification of content—all with the goal of identifying potential indicators of foreign interference. RRM Canada is not mandated to comment on the content itself (that is, it is not a fact-checking entity).

RRM Canada conducted an analysis of the Alberta election to see if there were any indications of potential foreign interference. Based on international lessons learned, including on what issues may be targeted by foreign actors, the Alberta election was identified as being at risk of interference because of the extent to which environmental issues were debated. For example, the pipeline has been noted as a socially divisive issue that may be a target for foreign actors. The Alberta election analysis included open source data gathered in the lead-up to the provincial elections, held on April 16, 2019, with the purpose of identifying any emerging tactics in foreign interference and drawing lessons learned for the Canadian general elections scheduled to take place in October 2019.

RRM Canada did not find any evidence of foreign interference in the Alberta elections. However, in its analysis, it found that some national actors were disseminating material using tactics that were similar to those used by foreign actors.

Purpose

This report analyses open source data gathered in the lead-up to the provincial elections in Alberta held on April 16, 2019. Its purpose was to identify any emerging tactics in foreign interference and draw lessons learned for the Canadian general elections scheduled to take place in October 2019. Prepared in support of the G7 Rapid Response Mechanism (RRM), the report was penned by RRM Canada. The RRM is mandated to strengthen G7 coordination to identify and respond to diverse and evolving threats to G7 democracies, including through sharing information and analysis, and identifying opportunities for coordinated response.  

Key findings 

Based on primary and secondary research, RRM Canada concludes that there were very likely no significant foreign interference campaigns targeting the Alberta election in the online space in April 2019. However, coordinated inauthentic activity was detected: 

Alberta Election Findings

[1] RRM Canada reviewed social media data to search for obvious cases of coordinated, inauthentic behaviour with the objective of identifying any potential foreign activities. Based on available information, it is very unlikely there was any foreign interference. The two largest components of the graph are made up of supporters of the former Premier Notley and Premier Kenney, as expected in an election campaign [Annex A].

[2] RRM Canada assesses that none of the major communities taking part in online conversations related to the elections are driven by foreign interference. The presence of automated inauthentic activities does not appear central or crucial to the overall conversation or activity.

[3] RRM Canada’s findings stand opposite to the April 11, Press Progress article, which summarizes the findings of a MentionMapp Analytics report, claiming that a third of accounts talking about the Alberta election were bots. RRM Canada’s findings, using multiple tools and methods, judges that the online activity is very unlikely to comprise one third of bots. RRM Canada therefore does not support the findings summarized in the Press Progress article.

[4] RRM Canada identified communities that demonstrated a suspicious account creation pattern that is indicative of troll or bot activity. Recent spikes in account creation suggest the presence of accounts developed for a specific purpose; however, the community was determined to very likely be domestic, as it was mainly comprised of supporters of the United Conservative Party (UCP). A second small community was identified as supporters of the People’s Party of Canada, which had similar suspicious patterns of account creation. This pattern was not identified within communities of supporters of the Alberta Liberal Party or Alberta New Democratic Party. The overall number of accounts is a small percentage of a larger community [Annex B]. This highlights a key point, namely that domestic actors are also emulating the tactics used by foreign actors, within the context of provincial elections. This behaviour will make it increasingly difficult to distinguish national from foreign interference efforts in the upcoming Federal election.

[5] RRM Canada identified a small group of anonymous accounts pushing a pro-separation movement in Alberta and the Prairies. Though Alberta has an official separatist party, https://albertaindependence.ca/, these accounts do not appear affiliated with this movement. Creating false separatist movements or amplifying domestic ones is a known tactic in foreign interference. Though unaffiliated, at this time, RRM Canada cannot tie this small group of accounts to any foreign entity.

[6] In its review of the data of this election, RRM Canada found no evidence supporting a broad, coordinated campaign to influence the Alberta election. RRM Canada assesses that automated inauthentic behaviour and trolling activities are very likely domestic in nature.

Released:  May 1, 2019

Disclaimer:  G7 Rapid Response Mechanism Canada (RRM Canada) monitors and shares information consistent with Canada’s privacy laws and the Ministerial Direction for Avoiding Complicity in Mistreatment by Foreign Entities. The information sharing practices of Global Affairs Canada are subject to review by the Privacy Commissioner, the Information Commissioner of Canada, the Office of the Auditor General and the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians, among others. Nothing in the present document shall be construed as adding any obligation or normative commitment under international or national law for any G7 member. 

Annex A

This Annex is a visual representation of RRM Canada’s data illustrating a high level of normality in the online conversation related to the Alberta provincial election. The analysis of activity would have been noteworthy for RRM Canada if there were other communities that rivaled the main political communities in size, but were predominately unknown actors, or actors from another geographical location.

text version

These two images are social network graphs, which illustrate connections between various accounts and communities discussing the Alberta election, based on their interactions. The image on the left represents the broader electoral discussion, with the different communities represented by the various multi-coloured clusters. The image on the right isolates the specific communities discussing the NDP and UCP.

Annex B

A review of the account creation dates of accounts in the community of UCP supporters. The size of the final spike is an indicator of inauthentic activity. One indicator of bot activity is a large number of recently-created accounts. In this case, a large spike in accounts created in Q1 2019 is suggestive of inauthentic activity by either automated accounts or anonymous accounts. This combined with a qualitative evaluation of the accounts by RRM Canada, as well as their posting behaviours and the social network analysis; these are indications of likely inauthentic behaviour.

text version

This linear graph represents the creation date of accounts in the community discussing the UCP from 2007 to 2019. There are four spikes of heightened account creation activity: 02-2009; 02-2011; 02-2012; 02-2019.

Date Modified:

Analyse des élections en Alberta

Version PDF (900 Ko)

Contexte

Le Mécanisme de réponse rapide (MRR) du Canada effectue des recherches pour comprendre les menaces étrangères potentielles contre le Canada, y compris la recherche de tactiques et de tendances émergentes en ligne. Ces recherches permettent au MRR du Canada de communiquer de l’information et de contribuer à remplir les obligations des membres du MRR du G7 décrites dans les engagements pris lors du Sommet de Charlevoix.

Le mandat du MRR du Canada est de surveiller et d’analyser les cas potentiels d’ingérence étrangère, peu importe le parti politique touché ou la nature politique d’une question donnée. Son objectif est d’exprimer clairement quelles sont les tendances et les tactiques employées par les acteurs étrangers en matière d’ingérence dans les processus et les institutions démocratiques, ainsi que de suivre et de comprendre leur évolution. Il analyse les données en cartographiant le paysage de la menace et en fournissant une illustration factuelle des tendances ou des tactiques fondées sur les données observées. L’accent est donc mis sur le contenu partagé au moyen des médias sociaux afin d’entreprendre l’analyse du réseau et de surveiller l’échange, le flux ou l’amplification du contenu, et ce, dans le but de déterminer quels sont les indicateurs potentiels d’ingérence étrangère. Le MRR du Canada n’a pas le mandat de commenter le contenu lui-même (c.-à-d. qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une entité de « vérification des faits »). 

Le MRR du Canada a effectué une analyse des élections en Alberta pour voir s’il y avait des signes d’ingérence étrangère potentielle. En se fondant sur les leçons tirées à l’échelle internationale, y compris les questions qui peuvent être ciblées par les acteurs étrangers, les élections en Alberta ont été considérées à risque d’ingérence étrangère en raison de la mesure dans laquelle les questions environnementales ont fait l’objet de débats. Par exemple, les pipelines ont été considérés comme un enjeu social susceptible de diviser les gens et d’être ciblé par les acteurs étrangers. L’analyse des élections en Alberta a tenu compte des données de sources ouvertes recueillies avant les élections provinciales tenues le 16 avril 2019, dans le but de cerner toute nouvelle tactique d’ingérence étrangère et de tirer des leçons pour les élections générales canadiennes qui doivent avoir lieu en octobre 2019.

Le MRR du Canada n’a trouvé aucune preuve d’ingérence étrangère dans les élections en Alberta. Toutefois, dans son analyse, il a révélé que certains acteurs nationaux diffusaient du matériel au moyen de tactiques semblables à celles utilisées par les acteurs étrangers.

Objet

Le présent rapport analyse les données de sources ouvertes recueillies au cours de la période précédant l’élection du 16 avril 2019 en Alberta. Il a pour but de cerner les nouvelles tactiques en matière d’ingérence étrangère et de tirer des leçons en vue des élections générales canadiennes prévues pour octobre 2019. Préparé à l’appui du Mécanisme de réponse rapide du G7 (MRR), le rapport a été rédigé par MRR Canada. Le MRR a pour mandat de renforcer la coordination au sein du G7 afin de cerner les menaces diverses et changeantes qui pèsent sur les démocraties du G7 et d’y répondre, notamment en partageant l’information et les analyses, et en déterminant les possibilités d’intervention coordonnée.

Principales constations

S’appuyant sur des recherches primaires et secondaires, MRR Canada conclut qu’il n’y a fort probablement eu aucune campagne d’ingérence étrangère importante ciblant les élections en Alberta dans l’espace en ligne en avril 2019. Toutefois, des activités non authentiques coordonnées ont été décelées :

Constations sur les élections en Alberta

[1] MRR Canada a examiné les données relatives aux médias sociaux afin de trouver des cas évidents de comportement non authentique coordonné dans le but de déceler toute activité étrangère possible. D’après les renseignements disponibles, il est fort peu probable qu’il y ait eu ingérence étrangère. Les deux composantes les plus importantes du graphique mettent en présence des partisans de l’ancienne première ministre Notley et du premier ministre Kenney, comme on pouvait s’y attendre dans une campagne électorale [annexe A].

[2] MRR Canada estime qu’aucune des principales communautés qui ont pris part aux conversations en ligne liées aux élections n’était le fruit d’une ingérence étrangère. La présence d’activités automatisées non authentiques ne semble ni essentielle ni cruciale pour l’ensemble des conversations ou des activités.

[3] Les conclusions de MRR Canada s'opposent à celles de l'article du 11 avril, Press Progress, qui résume les conclusions d'un rapport de MentionMapp Analytics, affirmant qu'un tiers des comptes parlant des élections en Alberta étaient des robots. Les conclusions de MRR Canada, qui utilise de multiples outils et méthodes, estiment que l'activité en ligne est très peu susceptible de représenter un tiers des robots. MRR Canada n'appuie donc pas les conclusions résumées dans l'article de Press Progress.

[4] MRR Canada a recensé des communautés qui ont affiché un modèle suspect de création de comptes indiquant des activités de trolls ou de robots (mais les données ne sont pas concluantes).Les hausses récentes de la création de comptes semblent indiquer la présence de comptes établis dans un but précis. Toutefois, MRR a déterminé qu’il s’agissait fort probablement d’une communauté canadienne. Le nombre total de comptes ne représente qu’un faible pourcentage d’une analyse plus vaste des comptes [annexe B], ce qui met en lumière un point essentiel, à savoir que, dans un contexte électoral provincial, des acteurs nationaux peuvent imiter les tactiques utilisées par les acteurs étrangers pour créer des beaucoup de comptes non authentiques dans un contexte électoral. Par conséquent, désormais, il sera de plus en plus difficile de faire la distinction entre les efforts d’ingérence nationale et les efforts d’ingérence étrangère lors des prochaines élections fédérales.

[5] MRR Canada a recensé un petit groupe de comptes anonymes faisant la promotion d’un mouvement en faveur de la séparation de l’Alberta et des Prairies. Bien que l’Alberta ait un parti séparatiste officiel, https://albertaindependence.ca/ (en anglais), ces comptes ne semblent pas affiliés à ce mouvement. La création de faux mouvements séparatistes ou l’amplification de mouvements nationaux est une tactique connue d’ingérence étrangère. Bien que ce petit groupe de comptes ne soit pas affilié, MRR Canada ne peut, pour le moment, lier ces comptes à aucune entité étrangère.

[6] Dans son examen des données relatives à ces élections, MRR Canada n’a trouvé aucun élément de preuve à l’appui de l’existence d’une vaste campagne coordonnée visant à influencer les élections en Alberta. MRR Canada estime que les comportements non authentiques et les activités automatisées de trolls sont fort probablement de nature nationale.

Date de publication : le 1er mai 2019

Avis de non‑responsabilité : Le Mécanisme de réponse rapide du G7 Canada (MRR Canada) surveille et partage les renseignements conformément aux lois canadiennes sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à l’instruction du ministre visant à éviter la complicité dans les cas de mauvais traitements par des entités étrangères. Les pratiques d’échange de renseignements d’Affaires mondiales Canada sont assujetties à l’examen du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, du Commissaire à l’information du Canada, du Bureau du vérificateur général et du Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement, entre autres. Aucune disposition du présent document ne doit être interprétée comme ajoutant une obligation ou un engagement normatif en vertu du droit international ou national pour un membre du G7.

Annexe A

La présente annexe est une représentation visuelle des données effectuée par MRR Canada. Elle illustre un niveau élevé de normalité dans les conversations en ligne liées aux élections provinciales en Alberta. L’analyse des activités aurait représenté un intérêt particulier pour MRR Canada s’il y avait eu d’autres communautés qui rivalisaient en importance avec les principales communautés politiques, mais qui avaient été principalement des acteurs inconnus ou des acteurs d’un autre lieu géographique.

version texte

Ces deux images sont des graphiques de réseaux sociaux illustrant les liens entre divers comptes et communautés discutant de l'élection en Alberta, en fonction de leurs interactions. L'image de gauche représente la discussion électorale au sens large, les différentes communautés étant représentées par les divers groupes multicolores. L'image de droite isole les communautés spécifiques discutant du NPD et du PCU.

Annexe B

Ceci représente un examen des dates de création des comptes dans la communauté des partisans du Parti conservateur uni. L’importante de la dernière poussée constitue un indicateur d’une activité non authentique. Le grand nombre de comptes récemment créés est un indicateur d’une activité de robots. Dans ce cas, la forte poussée dans le nombre de comptes créés au premier trimestre de 2019 semble suggérer une activité non authentique par des comptes automatisés ou anonymes. Cela a été combiné à une évaluation qualitative des comptes par MIR Canada, ainsi qu’à une analyse de leurs comportements en matière d’affichage et de réseaux sociaux; le tout semble indiquer un comportement non authentique.

version texte

Ce graphique linéaire représente la date de création des comptes dans la communauté discutant du PCU de 2007 à 2019. Il y a eu quatre hausses accrues d'activités de création de comptes: 02-2009; 02-2011; 02-2012; 02-2019.

Date de modification: