This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada Joins Trans-Pacific Partnership Round

Deepening Canada’s ties in fast-growing Asia-Pacific region is key part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan to create jobs, growth and prosperity, says Minister Fast

December 3, 2012 - The Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today announced that Canada has officially joined the latest round of Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) trade negotiations, now under way in Auckland, New Zealand.

“Our government is focused on creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for workers and families in every region of Canada,” said Minister Fast. “That is why we are opening new markets for our exporters throughout the fast-growing Asia-Pacific region. Canada will be a strong voice at the TPP negotiating table, and we look forward to working productively with all TPP members to advance Canadian interests and achieve our shared objectives.”

Canada formally joined the TPP on October 8, 2012. The group comprises 11 countries—Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam—and represents a market of nearly 658 million people with a combined GDP of $20.7 trillion.

“Latin America and Asia include some of the fastest-growing economies in the world,” said Minister Fast. “Joining our largest trading partners—the United States and Mexico—in the TPP will strengthen trade and investment ties and supply chains between the Americas and Asia and create new opportunities for Canadian exporters seeking to expand into new markets or enhance their presence in existing markets.”

In less than six years, the Harper government has concluded trade agreements with nine countries: Colombia, Honduras, Jordan, Panama, Peru, and the European Free Trade Association member states of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Canada has also begun deepening trade and investment ties with some of the largest markets in the world, including the European Union, India and Japan.

The 15th round of TPP negotiations in Auckland will continue until December 12, 2012.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Rudy Husny
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Ed Fast
Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @Canada_Trade