This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada-CARICOM Free Trade Agreement (FTA) - Negotiations on Market Access for Goods, Services and Investment

Closing date: January 15, 2008

It is anticipated that Canada and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will exchange initial tariff offers for goods, services and investment in early 2008. To ensure that Canada’s priorities, interests and concerns are fully taken into account in our negotiating strategy, the Government of Canada is seeking your views on the following issues pertaining to tariffs, rules of origin, non-tariff measures, services and investment.

CARICOM Member countries are: Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Canada is committed to negotiating a modern trade agreement with CARICOM Members that will take into account differing levels of development, vulnerabilities associated with island states, and trade-related capacity challenges.

For more information, see: Canada-CARICOM Free Trade Agreement Negotiations.