Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Canada participates as a Member of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), which was established in 1989 in response to the growing interdependence among Asia-Pacific economies. APEC has since become an important regional vehicle for promoting open trade and practical economic cooperation.

The activities of APEC's committees and working groups aim to promote regional economic growth and cooperation and build an Asia-Pacific community. APEC groups are working to achieve trade and investment liberalization, the reduction and removal of formal barriers to trade, such as tariffs, and restrictions on foreign investment. The Investment Experts' Group (IEG) is a subgroup of the APEC Committee on Trade and Investment (CTI). It was established in 1994 to bring together officials in the region involved in the regulation of foreign investment. Its main role is to assist the CTI in achieving the investment-related components of APEC's liberalization and facilitation agenda.

Related Links