banner

Multi-stakeholder Advisory Body on Responsible Business Conduct abroad

About

On January 17, 2018, Canada announced the creation of a multi-stakeholder Advisory Body on Responsible Business Conduct to advise government on the effective implementation and further development of its laws, policies and practices addressing business and human rights and responsible business conduct (RBC) for Canadian companies operating abroad in all sectors. It can provide advice on fulfilling the mandate of the Canadian Ombudsperson for Responsible Enterprise (CORE).

Canada recognizes the importance of a highly collaborative effort in advancing Canada’s approach to RBC globally. The aim is to ensure that Canada’s related policies and Canadian business operations abroad can foster inclusive economic growth and respect for human rights.

banner

Members

The Advisory Body includes members representing a diversity of viewpoints and expertise, including from civil society and industry, with practical experience working on RBC issues and reflective of the diversity of viewpoints in Canadian society.

Meetings

The Advisory Body will meet a minimum of four times a year in person and virtually, as required, to further the work of the Advisory Body and its subcommittees. The first meeting of the Advisory Body took place on April 23, 2018.

Reporting

The Advisory Body reports to the Minister of International Trade Diversification, providing advice on matters related to the RBC and human rights with respect to Canadian companies operating abroad, specifically to inform on potential regulatory, legislative, policy and guidance changes and implementation. Annual reports will be posted.

Canada’s approach to RBC abroad

For more information on Canada’s approach, please consult Responsible Business Conduct Abroad.

banner

Le Groupe consultatif multipartite sur la conduite responsable des entreprises à l’étranger

Au sujet du Groupe consultatif

Le 17 janvier 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la mise sur pied d’un groupe consultatif multipartite sur la conduite responsable des entreprises. Ce groupe a pour mandat de conseiller le gouvernement sur la mise en œuvre efficace et l’élaboration de lois, de politiques et de pratiques en matière de droits de la personne et de conduite responsable des entreprises (CRE) pour les entreprises canadiennes actives à l'étranger, et ce, dans tous les secteurs.

Le Canada reconnaît l’importance d’une collaboration étroite pour faire progresser l’approche du Canada en matière de CRE à l'échelle mondiale. L'objectif est de faire en sorte que les politiques connexes du Canada et les opérations commerciales des entreprises canadiennes à l'étranger puissent favoriser une croissance économique inclusive et le respect des droits de la personne.

Membres

Le Groupe consultatif se compose de personnes à l’expérience et aux horizons divers, notamment des représentants de la société civile et de l’industrie, qui ont de l’expérience pratique en matière des enjeux liés à la CRE et qui reflètent l’éventail des points de vue de la société canadienne.

Réunions

Les membres du Groupe consultatif se réuniront au moins quatre fois par année, en personne et de manière virtuelle, selon les besoins, pour faire progresser les travaux du Groupe consultatif et de ses sous-comités. La première réunion du groupe s’est tenue le 23 avril 2018.

Rapports

Le Groupe consultatif relève du ministre de la Diversification du commerce international. Le groupe fournit des conseils sur les questions liées à la CRE et aux droits de la personne en ce qui concerne les entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger, en outre pour informer le gouvernement sur les changements en matière de réglementation, de législation, de politiques et d’orientation, ainsi que sur leur mise en œuvre. Le Groupe consultatif publiera des rapports annuels.

Approche du Canada à l’égard de la CRE à l’étranger

Pour en savoir plus sur le sujet, veuillez consulter  Conduite responsable des entreprises à l’étranger.