CSR Snapshot #7 – Private Sector Support for Human Rights Defenders: A Primer for Canadian Businesses

PDF Version (0.3 MB)Footnote *

Threats to Human Rights Defenders

Human rights defenders are increasingly the target of threats and intimidation (including through lawsuits), attacks and killings, a subject of growing concern atthe international level. Environmental advocates, land defenders, and women, LGBTQ2 and Indigenous human rights defenders have been identified as particularly at risk. Since 2015, over 1400 cases of attacks have been reported worldwide that were directly or indirectly related to private sector activities.

Who are Human Rights Defenders?

Human rights defenders have been defined as persons who peacefully act to promote or protect human rights, by calling attention to violations and abuses by any actor, including governments, businesses, individuals, groups, and non-state actors. Among others, defenders can be community members, workers, activists, indigenous leaders, business executives, journalists, and whistleblowers. By assisting in identifying problematic practices, they can also help to decrease the likelihood of more serious and widespread conflicts arising.

Supporting Human Rights Defenders: The Right Thing to Do

The Government of Canada recognizes the key role played by businesses in protecting and promoting human rights and strengthening the rule of law, and expects Canadian companies operating abroad to align their practices with internationally recognized responsible business conduct standards, including the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights.

The Principles call on the private sector to respect human rights in their operations and supply chains, and encourage businesses to consult defenders as an important expert resource, while noting they may be vulnerable to attack. At the same time, the Principles call on governments to ensure that the legitimate and peaceful activitiesby defenders are not obstructed. Global Affairs Canada has developed guidance for officials at missions abroad and at headquarters, outlining how they can support human rights defenders.

The Business Case for Support of Human Rights Defenders

Beyond the moral case for firms standing up for defenders as the right thing to do, there is increasing recognition of the strong business case for supporting defenders. By investing in approaches that decrease the likelihood of human rights issues arising in the first place, firms can decrease the risk of reputational/brand harm, shareholder divestment, withdrawn financing, expensive litigation, and significant unplanned operational costs. Engaging with defenders with legitimate claims and peaceful activities can also provide early identification of problematic practices, build relationships and community support, and increase operational predictability, profitability and stability.

Businesses Supporting Human Rights Defenders

In recent years, financial institutions, companies and investors as diverse as ABN AMRO, Airbnb, Adidas, AngloAmerican, Apple, Barrick Gold, BMW, Cisco, Daimler, Domini, Goldcorp, International Finance Corporation, Leber Jeweler, Microsoft, Nike, Primark, Tahoe Resources, and Unilever have all - either individually or in alliance with others - publicly expressed support for defenders, encouraged protection of civic freedoms and vulnerable populations in the face of oppressive governmental policies and actions, put in place mechanisms to hear and protect defenders, or engaged in direct action to support those threatened for speaking out.

Collective Action: A Powerful Way of Supporting Human Rights Defenders

No matter the size of firm, the approach of working with other businesses - as well as partneringwith civil society organizations and governmental and inter-governmental entities - can be a particularly effective way to engage in support of defenders and civic freedoms of speech, assembly, association, press, and movement.

Industry associations and multi - stakeholder organizations that have engaged in support of defenders and civic freedoms include the Ethical Trading Initiative (ETI), the Fair Labor Association (FLA), the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the Global Network Initiative (GNI), the International Council of Mines and Minerals (ICMM), the Investor Alliance for Human Rights (IAHR), and the Social Accountability Initiative (SAI).

The Power of Working Together

In Thailand, criminal and civil lawsuits were launched against Andy Hall, a researcher who spoke out about poor corporate treatment of migrant workers in the poultry and pineapple industries. He brought together a coalition of companies, industry associations, civil society organizations, governments, and inter-governmental organizations,which spoke out against the litigation, provided financial and legal assistance, and agreed to testify on his behalf.

In 2018, FIFA launched a complaints mechanism for defenders who consider their rights to have been violated while performing work related to FIFA's activities.

In 2018, in response to a Philippine government threat against indigenous rights defenders who were wrongly accused of terrorism, the IAHR released a statement calling on companies to make commitments and take immediate action to protect the safety of the defenders.

In October 2017, the Fair Labor Association and identified member companies, including Mountain Equipment Co-op, submitted a letter to the Cambodian Prime Minister to express their opposition to government actions against workers' freedom of expression, and called for charges to be dropped against union leaders facing legal action stemming from worker strikes.

In any particular situation, the decision of a firm to engage in support of defendersand the way of so engaging is highly dependent on the context, including: the nature of the relation with and connection of the company and its activities with the defender; an assessment of the legitimacy and accuracy of the defender's claims and activities; the existence of other actors who can potentially assist or detract from support of the defender;and the profile and leverage of the company for positively influencing resolution of the issue.

Decreasing the Likelihood of Human Rights Defender Issues Arising

Business support for defenders can be usefully divided into proactive and reactive components. Working within the resource constraints of each firm, the proactive component revolves around ensuring that a firm has put in place:

  1. Human rights defender policies
    • ensuring that existing human rights policies explicitly recognize the important role played by defenders and the value of supporting civic freedoms that allow defenders to speak out without fear of reprisal;
    • adopting a zero-tolerance policy towards acts of suppression against defenders with legitimate and peaceful activities;
    • revisiting stakeholder engagement policies to ensure sensitivity to defenders who may be made vulnerable as a result of engagement; and
    • implementing international standards that decrease the likelihood of problematic human rights-related practices occurring).
  2. Appropriate procedures
    • including performing gender and culturally sensitive humanrights due diligence (HRDD) to assess defenders' risks, activities, and concerns associated with the firm's operations and its contractors/supply chain partners and  to establish the firm's stakeholder interaction mechanisms to include consideration of defender issues, such as advisory committees, grievances, dispute resolution and whistleblowing;
    • ensuring that ongoing HRDD monitoring and indicators incorporate identification of defender issues, so that existing policies and processes can be promptly revised to reflect evolving situations; and
    • having in place a "quick-response" defenders approach that identifies partners and allies that can be turned to for prompt and effective action and assistance if a defender issue arises.
  3. Training
    • culturally and gender - sensitive human rights training for both employees and contractors/supply chain partners and private security forces, which include sidentifying risks to defenders that could be triggered by a firm's activities, and readiness role-playing exercises.

Responding After a Human Rights Defender Issue Arises

Should a defender issue arise, firms can adopt a reactive four-step approach recently developed by the Business Network on Civic Freedom and Human Rights Defenders:

  1. Assessthe defender's claims and activities, and the severity of anyhuman rights harm, including the veracity of the allegations and the credibility of their source. This will likely involve consultations and interactions with the defender and others, and needs to be undertaken in a sensitive way that does not jeopardize the defender. While everyone has the right to respond to inaccurate claims made against them, firms - as responsible corporate actors - should refrain from making statements aimed at discrediting or denigrating human rights defenders, in recognition of their oft - times vulnerable situation.
  2. Understand the degree of company involvement, which could range from being a cause of a human rights harm, to being a contributor, to having no direct connection but being in a position to speak out because it is the right thing to do.
  3. Identify possible forms of support the company might take, bearing in mind the particular position that the company is in and its ability to influence. This might involve partnering with governments that champion human rights, magnifying voices through some form of collective advocacy, issuing statements or letters expressing concern, or direct action, such as providing financial or other assistance.
  4. Consider the risks of action or inaction: to the firm, to the defender, and to the broader community. Assessment of risks may be improved through consultation with various civil society stakeholders, peers, and Global Affairs Canada officials (see information below).

It should be stressed that the safety and privacy of human rights defenders are paramount. Firms need to ensure that their activities do not worsen the situation for defenders, and wherever possible and relevant, that they consult with the defenders in question or their representatives, with consideration for the particular situations of women/indigenous rights defenders, and minority groups.

Further information

Leading organizations providing resources to assist businesses on human rights defender issues include the U.N. Working Group on Business and Human Rights, the Business and Human Rights Resource Centre, the International Service for Human Rights, and Front Line Defenders.

The Trade Commissioner Service can help! Canada's global network of trade commissioners is available to help you prepare for and assess the market, provide key contacts, and assist in problem - solving. To reach a trade commissioner in your market, go to: www.tradecommissioner.gc.ca.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Instantané RSE #7 – Soutien du secteur privé aux défenseurs des droits de la personne : un guide pour les entreprises canadiennes

Version PDF (0.2 Mo)Notes de bas de page *

Menaces visant les défenseurs des droits de la personne

Les défenseurs des droits de la personne, œuvrant dans le domaine des entreprises, sont de plus en plus la cible de menaces et d'intimidation (y compris de poursuites devant les tribunaux), d'attaques et d'assassinats, une situation qui suscite une inquiétude grandissante à l'échelle internationale, comme le souligne une note de l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU. Les défenseurs de l'environnement, des terres ainsi que des droits des femmes, des personnes LGBTQ2 et des Autochtones sont considérés comme étant particulièrement à risque [en anglais seulement]. Depuis 2015, plus de 1 400 attaques [en anglais seulement] directement ou indirectement liées à des activités du secteur privé ont été signalées dans le monde entier.

Qui sont les défenseurs des droits de la personne?

Le terme «  défenseur des droits de la personne » désigne toute personne qui agit de façon pacifique pour promouvoir ou protéger les droits de la personne en attirant l'attention sur les violations et les abus de tout acteur, y compris des gouvernements, des entreprises, des individus, des groupes et des acteurs non étatiques. Les défenseurs peuvent, notamment, être des membres de la communauté, des travailleurs, des militants, des dirigeants autochtones, des dirigeants d'entreprise, des journalistes et des dénonciateurs. En aidant à cerner les pratiques problématiques, ils peuvent aussi aider à réduire les probabilités que des conflits plus graves et généralisés surviennent.

Soutenir les défenseurs des droits de la personne : la bonne chose à faire

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît le rôle essentiel que jouent les entreprises pour protéger et promouvoir les droits de la personne et renforcer la primauté du droit, et il s'attend à ce que les entreprises canadiennes menant des activités à l'étranger adhèrent aux normes de conduite responsable des entreprises reconnues à l'échelle internationale, y compris les Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l'homme des Nations Unies.

Ces principes demandent au secteur privé de veiller au respect des droits de la personne dans le cadre de leurs activités et de leurs chaînes d'approvisionnement et encouragent les entreprises à consulter les défenseurs à titre de spécialistes, tout en soulignant qu'ils pourraient être vulnérables aux attaques. Parallèlement, les Principes demandent aux gouvernements de veiller à ce que rien n'entrave les activités légitimes et pacifiques des défenseurs. Affaires mondiales Canada a conçu des lignes directrices à l'intention du personnelde ses missions à l'étranger et de son administration centrale, qui décrivent comment ces personnes peuvent soutenir les défenseurs des droits de la personne.

Les multiples avantages de soutenir les défenseurs des droits de la personne

Outre l'impératif moral de soutenir les défenseurs, il est de plus en plus reconnu qu'il est rentable pour les entreprisesde le faire [en anglais seulement]. En investissant dans des stratégies qui réduisent les probabilités que des problèmes de respect des droits de la personne surviennent en premier lieu, les entreprises peuvent réduire les risques [en anglais seulement] d'atteinte à la réputation ou à la marque, de désinvestissement des actionnaires, de perte de financement, de litiges coûteux et de dépenses d'exploitation imprévues importantes. Le dialogue avec les défenseurs dont les allégations sont légitimes et les activités pacifiques peut aussi permettre de déceler très tôtdes pratiques susceptibles d'être problématiques et d'établir des relations et de recueillir des appuis au sein de la communauté, de façon à pouvoir mener des activités stables, prévisibles et rentables.

Des entreprises soutenant les défenseurs des droits de la personne

Ces dernières années, des institutions financières, des entreprises et des investisseurs aussi variés que ABN AMRO, Airbnb, Adidas, AngloAmerican, Apple, Barrick Gold, BMW, Cisco, Daimler, Domini, Goldcorp, International Finance Corporation, LeberJeweler, Microsoft, Nike, Primark, TahoeResources et Unilever [en anglais seulement] ont tous ­—que ce soit individuellement ou en collaboration avec d'autres —exprimé publiquement leur appui aux défenseurs, encouragé la protection des libertés civiles et des populations vulnérables en cas de politiques et de mesures gouvernementales oppressives, mis en place des mécanismes pour entendre et protéger les défenseurs ou participé à des mesures directes visant à soutenir les personnes ayant subi des menaces après avoir exprimé leur opinion.

L'action collective : un moyen efficace de soutenir les défenseurs des droits de la personne

Peu importe la taille de l'entreprise, la collaboration avec d'autres entreprises - et les partenariats avec des organismes de la société civile et des entités gouvernementales et intergouvernementales - peut être une méthode particulièrement efficace pour soutenir les défenseurs et les libertés civiles comme la liberté d'expression, de réunion, d'association, de presse et de circulation.

Parmi les associations sectorielles et les organisations multipartites qui se sont engagées à soutenir les défenseurs et les libertés civiles figurent l'Ethical Trading Initiative (ETI), la Fair Labor Association (FLA), la Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), la Global Network Initiative (GNI), l'International Council of Mines and Minerals (ICMM), l'Investor Alliance for HumanRights (IAHR) et la Social AccountabilityInitiaitve(SAI) [en anglais seulement].

La force du travail d'équipe

En Thaïlande, des poursuites civiles et pénales ont été intentées contre Andy Hall [en anglais seulement], un chercheur qui a dénoncé les mauvais traitements infligés aux travailleurs migrants par des entreprises des secteurs de la volaille et des ananas. Il a rassemblé des entreprises, des associations sectorielles, des organismes de la société civile, des gouvernements et des organismes intergouvernementaux qui se sont élevés contre lespoursuites intentées, lui ont offert un soutien financier et juridique et ont accepté de témoigner en sa faveur.

En 2018, la FIFA a lancé un mécanisme de plainte pour les défenseurs [en anglais seulement] qui jugent que leurs droits ont été bafoués alors qu'ils accomplissaient un travail lié aux activités de la FIFA.

En 2018, en réponse à une menace du gouvernement philippin à l'endroit de défenseurs des droits des Autochtones qui étaient injustement accusés de terrorisme, l'IAHR [en anglais seulement] publié une déclaration demandant aux entreprises de prendre des engagements ainsi que des mesures immédiates pour protéger la sécurité des défenseurs.

En octobre 2017, la Fair Labor Association [en anglais seulement]et certaines entreprises membres, dont Mountain Equipment Co-op [en anglais seulement], ont adressé une lettre au premier ministre du Cambodge pour exprimer leur opposition aux mesures prises par le gouvernement pour limiter laliberté d'expression des travailleurs et demander l'abandon des accusations portées contre des dirigeants syndicaux faisant l'objet de poursuites à la suite de grèves des travailleurs.

Dans toute situation particulière, la décision d'une entreprise de soutenir des défenseurs et la stratégie adoptée à cet égard dépendentgrandement du contexte, notamment des facteurs suivants :

  • la nature de la relation avec le défenseur et des liens qui unissent l'entreprise et ses activités à celui-ci;
  • l'évaluation de la légitimité et de l'exactitude des affirmations et des activités du défenseur;
  • l'existence d'autres acteurs pouvant favoriser ou limiter le soutien apporté au défenseur;
  • la notoriété et l'influence de l'entreprise lui permettant d'avoir une incidence positive sur la résolution du problème.

Agir en amont pour réduire les probabilités que des enjeux liés aux droits de la personne surviennent

Dans la pratique, le soutien des entreprises aux défenseurs des droits de la personne peut essentiellement prendre deux formes : l'action ou la réaction. Ainsi, une entreprise peut prendre l'initiative d'agir en amont, dans les limites de ses ressources, en adoptant :

  1. Des politiques concernant les défenseurs des droits de la personne
    • s'assurer que les politiques en matière de droits de la personne en vigueur reconnaissent explicitement le rôle essentiel joué par les défenseurs et l'importance de soutenir les libertés civiles qui permettent aux défenseurs de s'exprimer sans craindre de représailles;
    • adopter une politique de tolérance zéro relativement aux actes de répression à l'encontre des défenseurs dont les activités sont légitimes et pacifiques;
    • revoir les politiques de consultation des parties prenantes pour assurer la confidentialité à l'égard des défenseurs qui pourraient devenir vulnérables du fait de leur participation aux consultations;
    • mettre en œuvre des normes internationales pour réduire les probabilités que des pratiques problématiques liées aux droits de la personne soient adoptées.
  2. Des procédures appropriées
    • exécuter une diligence raisonnable relative aux droits de la personne [en anglais seulement] sensible au genre et culturellement appropriée, afin d'évaluer les risques, les activités et les enjeux touchant les défenseurs qui sont associés aux activités de l'entreprise et de ses sous-traitants ou des partenaires de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, et d'établirdes mécanismes de communication avec les parties prenantes, ou revoir ceux qui existent déjà, pour prendre en compte les enjeux soulevés par les défenseurs, par exemple les comités consultatifs ou les procédures de traitement des plaintes, de résolution de litiges et de dénonciation;
    • s'assurer que le suivi de ladiligence raisonnablerelative aux droits de la personne et les indicateurs comprennent l'identification des enjeux soulevés par les défenseurs de façon à pouvoir réviser rapidement les politiques et les processus existants en fonction de l'évolution de la situation;
    • mettre en place un mécanisme d'intervention rapide à l'intention des défenseurs, permettant de cibler des partenaires et des alliés vers lesquels se tourner pour agir rapidement et efficacement et obtenir de l'aide si un défenseur éprouve des problèmes.
  3. De la formation
    • offrir une formation sur les droits de la personne tenant compte des disparités fondées sur le sexe etdes différences culturelles pour les employés, les sous-traitantset partenaires de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et les forces de sécurité privées comprenant l'identification des risques pour les défenseurs qui pourraient résulter des activités d'une entreprise et des jeux de rôles sur l'état de préparation.

Réagir lorsqu'un enjeu est soulevé par un défenseur des droits de la personne

Lorsqu'un défenseur soulève un enjeu, les entreprises peuvent réagir en suivant une stratégie en quatre étapes, suggéréepar leBusiness Network on Civic Freedom and HumanRights Defenders [en anglais seulement].

  1. Évaluer les allégations et les activités du défenseur ainsi que la gravité de toute atteinte aux droits de la personne, y compris la véracité des allégations et la crédibilité de la source.
    • Cette étape nécessitera probablement des consultations et des interactions avec le défenseur et d'autres intervenants et devra être réalisée de façon respectueuse sans mettre le défenseur en danger. Même si chaque personne a le droit de réagir à des allégations erronées à son égard, les entreprises - en tant qu'acteurs organisationnels responsables - devraient éviter de faire des déclarations visant à discréditer ou à dénigrer des défenseurs des droits de la personne, étant donnéque ceux-ci se trouvent souvent dans des situations de vulnérabilité.
  2. Comprendre le degré d'implication de l'entreprise.
    • Celui-ci peut être variable : l'entreprise peut être une des causes de l'atteinte aux droits de la personne, contribuer au problème ou même n'avoir aucun lien direct avec le problème, mais être bien placée pour dénoncer la situation parce que c'est la chose à faire.
  3. Déterminer les formes de soutien possibles pour l'entreprise en gardant à l'esprit sa situation particulière et sa capacité d'influence.
    • Il peut s'agir de partenariats avec des gouvernements qui défendent les droits de la personne, d'une capacité à amplifier les voix au moyen d'actions de sensibilisation collectives, de la publication de déclarations ou de lettres exprimant de l'inquiétude ou de mesures directes, comme un soutien financier ou une autre forme d'aide.
  4. Examiner les risques associés à l'action ou à l'inaction : pour l'entreprise, pour le défenseur et pour l'ensemble de la communauté.
    • Il est possible d'améliorer l'évaluation des risques en consultant différents intervenants de la société civile, des pairs et des représentants d'Affaires mondiales Canada (voir plus bas).

Il importe de souligner que la sécurité et le respect de la vie privée des défenseurs des droits de la personne sont primordiaux.Les entreprises doivent s'assurer que leurs activités n'aggravent pas la situation pour les défenseurs et que, lorsque cela est possible et pertinent, elles consultent les défenseurs concernés ou leurs représentants en prenant en considération la situation particulière des défenseurs des droits des femmes et des Autochtones ainsi que des groupes minoritaires.

Pour en savoir plus

Parmi les principaux organismes qui peuvent offrir des ressources pour aider les entreprises au sujet des défenseurs des droits de la personne se trouvent le Groupe de travail des Nations Unies sur les entreprises et les droits de l'homme, le Centre de ressources sur les entreprises et les droits de l'homme, l'International Service for HumanRights et Front Line   Defenders [en anglais seulement].

Le Service des délégués commerciaux peut vous aider!Le réseau mondial des délégués commerciaux du Canada peut vous aider à vous préparer à accéder aux marchés ainsi qu’à les évaluer, vous fournir des personnes-ressources clés et vous aider à résoudre vos.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *