Consulting Canadians on the proposed addition of Austria, Ireland, Japan, and Switzerland to the Automatic Firearms Country Control List

from Global Affairs Canada

Follow:

Background

The Automatic Firearms Country Control List (AFCCL) is a positive list of countries to which Canadians may export certain prohibited items as defined in the Criminal Code if they have obtained a permit to export these items. Further to the Export and Import Permits Act, prohibited firearms, weapons and devices, that are also included on the Export Control List, may only be exported to countries listed on the AFCCL and only to the governments of those countries or to end-users authorized by those governments. The fact that a country is listed in the AFCCL does not mean such an application would be automatically approved. Any permit application to export controlled items to AFCCL countries is assessed on a case-by-case basis against considerations laid out in legislation (including the Arms Trade Treaty assessment criteria and the substantial risk test) and in policy.

What will be the focus of consultations?

The Government of Canada invites industry stakeholders, civil society and the general public to provide their views regarding a proposed regulatory amendment that would result in the addition of Austria, Ireland, Japan and Switzerland to the AFCCL. The proposed Order, if approved by the Governor in Council, would allow the Minister of Foreign Affairs to consider permit applications for exports of prohibited firearms, weapons and devices to Austria, Ireland, Japan and Switzerland.

How do I participate?

You are invited the consult the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement that was published in the Canada Gazette, Part 1, alongside the proposed Order Amending the Automatic Firearms Country Control List on June 20, 2020. The public comment period is open for 30 days and so you have until July 20, 2020 to submit your views. Please send us your comments via email to judy.korecky@international.gc.ca (copying the Export Controls Policy Division: expctrlpol@international.gc.ca) with the subject line “AFCCL Consultation 2020”.

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully prior to sending a written submission.

Date Modified:

Consultations auprès des Canadiens concernant la proposition d’ajouter l'Autriche, l'Irlande, le Japon et la Suisse à la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques)

De : Affaires mondiales Canada

Suivez :

Contexte

La Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) (LPDAA) est une liste positive de pays vers lesquels les Canadiens peuvent obtenir une licence afin d’exporter certains objets prohibés aux termes du Code criminel. Conformément à la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation, les armes à feu, les armes et les dispositifs prohibés qui figurent sur la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée ne peuvent être exportées qu’à destination des pays inscrits sur la LPDAA, à condition d’être destinés au gouvernement d’un de ces pays ou à un utilisateur autorisé par le pays en question. Le fait qu’un pays soit listé dans la LPDAA ne veut pas dire que qu’une telle application serait automatiquement approuvée. Les demandes de licence d’exportation des marchandises contrôlée vers des pays inscrits sur la LPDAA sont évaluées au cas par cas, selon les critères énoncés dans les politiques et les lois, dont les critères d’évaluation du Traité sur le commerce des armes (TCA) et le critère du risque sérieux.

Sur quoi les consultations seront-elles axées ?

Le gouvernement du Canada invite les intervenants de l’industrie et le grand public à donner leur opinion concernant une modification réglementaire visant à ajouter l’Autriche, l’Irlande, le Japon, et la Suisse à la LPDAA. Ce décret proposé, s’il est approuvé par le gouverneur en conseil, permettrait au ministre des Affaires étrangères d'examiner les demandes de licence d'exportation de certaines armes à feu, armes, et dispositifs prohibés vers l'Autriche, l'Irlande, le Japon et la Suisse.

Comment participer ?

Vous êtes invité à consulter le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation publié dans la Partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada, en même temps que le Décret modifiant la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) le 20 juin 2020. La période de commentaires est ouverte pendant 30 jours et vous avez donc jusqu'au 20 juillet 2020 pour soumettre vos opinions. Veuillez nous envoyer vos commentaires par courriel à judy.korecky@international.gc.ca (en copiant la Direction des politiques des contrôles à l’exportation: expctrlpol@international.gc.ca) avec le sujet «Consultations LPDAA 2020».

Veuillez lire attentivement l’énoncé de confidentialité avant de soumettre vos commentaires.

Date de modification: