Language selection

Search

Report: Public consultations on a possible Canada-Indonesia Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement

Overview

From January 9 to February 23, 2021, the Government of Canada held public consultations to receive the views of Canadians on a possible Canada-Indonesia Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA). Public consultations consisted of a Canada Gazette notice inviting written submission and dedicated webpage, as well as targeted outreach with a wide variety of domestic interlocutors, including:

At the time of publication of this report, Global Affairs Canada received a total of 83 written submissions from across the country covering a broad range of sectors. We also engaged directly with over 100 stakeholders and partners through virtual roundtables and meetings.

Figure 1. Written submissions received during public consultations, according to stakeholder type

(Figure 1. Written submissions received during public consultations, according to stakeholder type)

Text version

Submissions by stakeholder type

  • Business/industry association (49%)
  • Individual business (19%)
  • Individual (11%)
  • Government (11%)
  • Academia/think tank (6%)
  • Civil society (4%) 

The Government of Canada conducted targeted engagement before, during and after the consultation period with key stakeholders. This included:

Throughout the consultation period, officials engaged partners and stakeholders via various working groups and committees, including:

Overall, stakeholders expressed a high-level of support for a Canada-Indonesia CEPA, highlighting the benefits of increased trade with Indonesia and the potential opportunities in this fast-growing market and in the Asia-Pacific region more generally. We heard from Canadians across the country representing key sectors of the Canadian economy, including traditional sectors like agriculture, manufacturing, natural resources, and professional services, in addition to emerging sectors such as clean tech and life sciences, as well as from academics, provinces and territories, and Indigenous groups.

Submissions indicating support for a CEPA cited the significant market potential that could be facilitated by reducing tariff and non-tariff barriers such as:

However, some stakeholders expressed concern related to:

Figure 2. Views of Canadian stakeholders and partners on a Canada-Indonesia CEPA

(Figure 2. Views of Canadian stakeholders and partners on a Canada-Indonesia CEPA)

Text version

Views of Canadians on a Canada-Indonesia CEPA

  • Supportive (78%)
  • Cautious (7%)
  • Conditional support (5%)
  • Not supportive (5%)
  • Neutral 5%)
Figure 3. Aspects of trade policy identified by stakeholders and partners as areas of interest

(Figure 3. Aspects of trade policy identified by stakeholders and partners as areas of interest)

Text version

Top areas of interest

  • Goods market access (41)
  • Technical barriers to trade (30)
  • Investment (23)
  • Sanitary and phytosanitary measures (18)
  • Environment (17)
  • Inclusive trade (16)
  • Services (16)
  • Rules of origin (13)
  • Labour (12)
  • Customs and trade facilitation (12)

Many submissions indicated support for Canada’s inclusive approach to trade, which aims to ensure that the benefits of trade are more widely shared. A few submissions mentioned that Canada is well-placed to ensure that any future agreement promotes equality, non-discrimination and human rights in both Canada and Indonesia.

Several stakeholders also took the opportunity to note their interest in Canada continuing to pursue a Canada-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement (FTA) in parallel with a possible agreement with Indonesia, highlighting interest in the region more broadly. References were made to the fact that pursuing a trade agreement with Indonesia would complement Canada’s other trade policy priorities, such as Canada’s overall trade diversification strategy, expansion of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) through accessions, and deepening commercial ties with the fast-growing Indo-Pacific region.

What we heard from stakeholders

Businesses

The majority (58) of written submissions received were from businesses or business associations. In general, business stakeholders expressed strong support for a CEPA with Indonesia. In their view, a CEPA would enhance Canada’s competitiveness, enable trade diversification in the Asia-Pacific and help stimulate economic recovery efforts from COVID-19. Several submissions recommended that the government move quickly to pursue market access to Indonesia to remain competitive within the region and expand export opportunities that would lead to economic growth. Stakeholders also highlighted that any agreement with Indonesia should align with other agreements such as the CPTPP, Canada–Korea Free Trade Agreement, as well as any future trade agreements including a Canada-ASEAN FTA.

Agriculture and agri-food

Approximately one third of all submissions came from the agriculture and agri-food sector. Export-oriented agriculture sectors (beef, pork, oilseeds, grains, pulses, horticulture) expressed the strongest support for a possible Canada-Indonesia CEPA. In addition to requesting that a CEPA address tariff-related challenges, agriculture stakeholders highlighted the importance of addressing non-tariff barriers in the Indonesian market, including barriers posed by product labelling and standards, and unnecessary testing. They noted that any potential agreement would need robust commitments so that regulatory measures for the trade of agricultural products are transparent and not applied in a manner that creates unjustified barriers to trade. These commitments would also need to create cooperation mechanisms with the view to avoid and resolve trade irritants. Canadian meat exporters emphasized the challenges they face when attempting to access the Indonesian market, including those associated with Halal certification for beef and those related to Canada’s meat inspection system and its ability to meet Indonesia’s packaging and labelling requirements.

Stakeholders from Canada’s supply-managed sectors indicated that they would not oppose a possible CEPA with Indonesia on the condition that the Canadian government uphold its commitment to not provide new market access for supply-managed goods in future trade agreements.

Stakeholders in the sugar refining sector advocated for improved access for refined sugar and sugar-containing exports to Indonesia, but noted that prospects may be limited as Indonesia’s sugar sector is highly protected and regulated.  Many agriculture and agri-food stakeholders noted that Indonesia’s agricultural policies focus on self-reliance for a number of staple products such as corn, soybeans, beef and sugar, which could limit export opportunities for Canada if not addressed.

Fish and seafood

Fish and seafood industry stakeholders were supportive of using the provisions of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) as a template for a possible CEPA with Indonesia, expressing interest in export potential given Indonesia’s large population and high fish and seafood consumption rate. The industry would welcome tariff elimination for fish and seafood exports and provisions in a trade agreement with Indonesia to address non-tariff barriers. Stakeholders highlighted that environmental and sustainability considerations should be acknowledged in any agreement given Canada’s robust regulatory regime for sustainable fisheries management.

Manufacturing

Stakeholders from the manufacturing sector were generally supportive of a possible agreement with Indonesia provided it would reduce tariffs and non-tariff barriers and enhance free and fair trade. Regarding the regulatory non-tariff barriers, submissions highlighted a lack of transparency, growing barriers caused by standards and unnecessary testing. One submission noted that a shift of low-end manufacturing out of East Asia and into Southeast Asia in the coming years indicates that Indonesia could become an increasingly important foothold for Canadian firms looking to integrate into rapidly evolving production networks in Southeast Asia. Although significant opportunities exist in the Indonesian market, certain manufacturing stakeholders were more cautious about moving forward with Indonesia given:

Some manufacturers indicated that the elimination of Canadian tariffs may increase competition from foreign companies and requested that Canada seek terms that are no more favourable to Indonesia than those negotiated in the CPTPP. In addition, others mentioned that any negotiation should require acceptable standards of responsible business conduct, and adherence to international human rights and labour standards that protect the health, safety and rights of workers.

Natural resources

Stakeholders operating in natural resources sectors, including mining and energy were supportive of a CEPA with Indonesia. Mining sector stakeholders underscored Indonesia’s major role in the global market, highlighting opportunities there for:

These stakeholders suggested ways to benefit the mining sector further through an agreement that establishes provisions for the promotion and protection of investment (including access to investor-state dispute settlement), labour mobility, and customs procedures and trade facilitation. Further challenges related to regulatory uncertainty, export bans and ownership requirements remain and would need to be addressed. A number of other submissions also welcomed new commercial opportunities for industry, including for energy stakeholders related to the low carbon economy.

Services

The Government of Canada received ten submissions from a variety of services stakeholders, including financial and professional services providers. They highlighted that a CEPA would support a more secure and predictable business environment in Indonesia by establishing a common, rules-based system for Canadian and Indonesian companies operating in each other’s markets. This would increase trade and investment between the two countries.

Stakeholders emphasized the need to promote a level playing field for Canadian companies, including SMEs, so that they are able to compete in a fair and equitable basis across all markets. Other submissions identified barriers for Canadian companies in the Indonesian market including:

Although most stakeholders expressed support for a possible Canada-Indonesia CEPA, some concerns were raised, including related to responsible business conduct. Overall, based on submissions received, stakeholders from the services sector are supportive of Canada-Indonesia CEPA negotiations, particularly in light of uncertainty surrounding multilateral initiatives, the growing economic importance of Southeast Asia and Indonesia specifically, and broader political and strategic considerations.

Provinces and territories

The Government of Canada received a high-level of engagement from provinces and territories on a possible Canada-Indonesia CEPA throughout the consultations, including nine written submissions. Provinces and territories highlighted the importance of trade diversification to Southeast Asia along with unlocking future opportunities in this fast growing market, especially as we recover from the ongoing pandemic.

Highlights included the need for strong provisions on labour, environment, investment, and greater transparency to facilitate business certainty. The majority of submissions noted that there is potential to increase Canadian exports to Indonesia across various sectors but that this can only be achieved by eliminating non-tariff barriers. Some provinces and territories flagged that economic development should not come at the expense of human rights and that Indigenous rights and the environment must be protected. Others underlined the importance of Canada advancing an inclusive approach to trade so that more groups can benefit from increased trade, especially under-represented groups such as women, Indigenous peoples and SMEs. Certain provinces and territories remarked that since Canada does not have a foreign investment promotion and protection agreement with Indonesia, a CEPA would be an opportunity for Canada to create the right trade and investment framework so that Canadians can invest and do business in Indonesia with confidence.

One province also mentioned the need for an air agreement with Indonesia, allowing for more direct travel routes between our countries, which would facilitate trade. Certain provinces highlighted the importance of seeking an Indigenous general exception to protect the rights of Indigenous peoples, in addition to Indigenous-specific provisions, including a dedicated chapter, in any agreement with Indonesia.

Inclusive trade

Many submissions noted the importance of advancing an inclusive approach to trade with Indonesia to help ensure that the benefits of trade are widely shared. Some of these submissions noted potential commercial opportunities under a CEPA for underrepresented groups (i.e. women-owned businesses, Indigenous peoples, SMEs) and the associated challenges and barriers they face in accessing these. Some submissions suggested a CEPA could improve access for these groups by addressing broader, systemic issues including inconsistent and non-transparent regulations and corruption, in addition to advancing tailored and targeted approaches, including via dedicated trade and gender and trade and SME provisions and chapters. Many submissions noted the importance of improving market access, particularly for SMEs by:

Submissions relating to Indigenous peoples noted the importance of addressing trade-related issues both within the context of a trade agreement with Indonesia and more broadly, including by creating conditions favourable to Indigenous-to-Indigenous trade. A few submissions noted the importance of the government implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) and how a CEPA could be a vehicle to help achieve this. One submission also flagged the importance of protecting government procurement set asides designed to support local Indigenous economic development.

Labour and human rights

Various stakeholder submissions expressed concern related to labour standards and human rights in Indonesia, including the rights of Indigenous peoples and members of the LGBTQ2 community. Stakeholders suggested Canada should seek to address these issues in a CEPA with Indonesia, including through a dedicated labour chapter. Several stakeholders mentioned that poor health and safety regulations, low compensation and forced child labour in Indonesia are all factors that Canada should consider when negotiating an agreement.

Environment

A number of submissions cited environment-related considerations, highlighting the importance of maintaining a consistent science-based approach to negotiating robust environment chapters and provisions to ensure that trade and environmental protection are mutually supportive goals. Submissions highlighted a range of environmental concerns such as:

These submissions asked that Canada seek to address these concerns in a CEPA with Indonesia.

The Government of Canada will publish an initial environmental assessment, which will take into consideration the views expressed during consultations, should we proceed to launch negotiations towards a Canada-Indonesia CEPA.

Next steps

While the dedicated consultation period has now concluded, the Government of Canada remains committed to continue hearing the views of interested Canadians on a possible CEPA with Indonesia. The feedback received from stakeholders and partners is an integral part of this consultation process, which will inform the government’s decision on whether to move forward with a Canada-Indonesia CEPA and to help develop future negotiating positions.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rapport : Consultations publiques sur un éventuel APEG entre le Canada et l’Indonésie

Aperçu

Du 9 janvier au 23 février 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu des consultations publiques afin de connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur un éventuel accord de partenariat économique global (APEG) entre le Canada et l’Indonésie. Ces consultations publiques comportaient un avis publié dans la Gazette du Canada pour solliciter des propositions écrites, une page web dédiée et une sensibilisation ciblée visant une grande variété d’interlocuteurs nationaux, notamment

Au moment de la publication du présent rapport, Affaires mondiales Canada avait reçu en tout 83 propositions écrites provenant de tout le pays couvrant divers secteurs. Affaires mondiales Canada avait collaboré directement avec plus d’une centaine d’intervenants et de partenaires dans le cadre de tables rondes et de réunions virtuelles. 

Figure 1. Propositions écrites reçues lors des consultations publiques, selon le type d’intervenants

(Figure 1. Propositions écrites reçues lors des consultations publiques, selon le type d’intervenants)

Version texte

Soumissions par type d’intervenant

  • Association d’entreprises (49%)
  • Entreprise individuelle (19%)
  • Individuel (11%)
  • Gouvernement (10%)
  • Académies/groupe de réflexion (6%)
  • Société civile (4%) 

Le gouvernement du Canada a également mené des activités de mobilisation ciblées auprès d’intervenants clés avant, pendant et après la période de consultation. Parmi ces activités, on note :

Tout au long de la période de consultation, les fonctionnaires ont mobilisé les partenaires et les intervenants dans le cadre de divers groupes de travail et comités, notamment :

Dans l’ensemble, les intervenants se sont dit très en faveur d’un APEG Canada-Indonésie, soulignant les avantages d’un commerce accru avec l’Indonésie et les possibilités offertes par ce marché en pleine croissance et, plus généralement, par la région Asie-Pacifique. Nous avons entendu des Canadiens de tout le pays représentant des secteurs clés de l’économie canadienne, y compris des secteurs traditionnels comme l’agriculture, la fabrication, les ressources naturelles et les services professionnels, en plus de secteurs émergents comme les technologies propres et les sciences de la vie, ainsi que des universitaires, des provinces et territoires, et des groupes autochtones.

Les mémoires soutenant la conclusion d’un APEG citent l’important potentiel de marché qui pourrait être facilité par la réduction des barrières tarifaires et non tarifaires, comme :

Toutefois, certains intervenants ont exprimé des réserves quant aux :

Figure 2. Points de vue des intervenants et des partenaires canadiens sur un APEG Canada-Indonésie

(Figure 2. Points de vue des intervenants et des partenaires canadiens sur un APEG Canada-Indonésie)

Version texte

Avis des intervenants et partenaires canadiens sur un Canada-Indonésie APEG

  • Favorable (78%)
  • Prudent (7%)
  • Prudemment favorable (5%)
  • Précautionneux (5%)
  • Neutre (5%) 
Figure 3. Aspects de la politique commerciale considérés comme domaines d’intérêt par les intervenants et les partenaires

(Figure 3. Aspects de la politique commerciale considérés comme domaines d’intérêt par les intervenants et les partenaires)

Version texte

Principale secteurs de la politique d’intérêt

  • Accès aux marches des marchandises (41)
  • Obstacle technique au commerce (30)
  • Investissement (23)
  • Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires (18)
  • Environnement (17)
  • Commerce inclusive (16)
  • Services (16)
  • Règles d’origine (13)
  • Traville (12)
  • Douanières et facilitation des échanges (12)

Afin de garantir une meilleure répartition des avantages découlant des échanges commerciaux, de nombreux mémoires viennent appuyer l’approche inclusive du Canada en matière de commerce. Quelques-uns mentionnent que le Canada est bien placé pour s’assurer que tout accord futur favorise l’égalité, la non-discrimination et le respect des droits de la personne tant au Canada qu’en Indonésie.

Plusieurs intervenants ont également profité de l’occasion pour faire part de leur intérêt à ce que le Canada poursuive la négociation d’un accord de libre-échange (ALE) Canada-ANASE parallèlement à un éventuel accord avec l’Indonésie, soulignant ainsi l’intérêt général que suscite cette région. On a invoqué le fait qu’un accord commercial avec l’Indonésie viendrait soutenir les autres priorités de la politique commerciale du Canada, comme la stratégie de diversification du commerce du Canada, l’expansion de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) au moyen de nouvelles adhésions, ainsi que l’approfondissement des liens commerciaux au sein de la région indopacifique, qui connaît une croissance rapide.

Ce que nous avons entendu des intervenants

Intervenants du milieu des affaires

La majorité (58) des propositions écrites reçues proviennent d’entreprises ou d’associations de gens d’affaires. En général, les intervenants du milieu des affaires se disent très en faveur d’un APEG avec l’Indonésie. Selon eux, un APEG renforcerait la compétitivité du Canada, permettrait de diversifier les échanges commerciaux dans la région Asie-Pacifique et contribuerait à stimuler les efforts de relance économique à la suite de la COVID-19. Plusieurs mémoires recommandent au gouvernement d’agir rapidement pour accéder au marché indonésien afin de rester compétitif dans la région et d’accroître les occasions d’exportation qui mèneraient à la croissance économique. Les intervenants ont également souligné que tout accord avec l’Indonésie soit harmonisé aux autres accords, comme le PTPGP, l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Corée, ainsi que tout accord commercial futur, dont un ALE Canada-ANASE.

Agriculture et agroalimentaire

Près du tiers de tous les mémoires proviennent de l’industrie agricole et agroalimentaire. Les secteurs agricoles axés sur l’exportation (bœuf, porc, graines oléagineuses, céréales, légumineuses, horticulture) se montrent les plus en faveur d’un éventuel APEG Canada-Indonésie. En plus de demander à ce que l’APEG aborde les problèmes tarifaires, les intervenants de l’industrie agricole soulignent l’importance de se pencher sur les obstacles non tarifaires du marché indonésien, notamment les barrières imposées par l’étiquetage des produits et les normes, ainsi que les analyses inutiles. Ils font remarquer que tout éventuel accord nécessiterait de solides engagements pour que les mesures réglementaires relatives au commerce des produits agricoles soient transparentes et appliquées de manière à ne pas créer d’obstacles injustifiés au commerce. Ces engagements devraient également permettre de créer des mécanismes de coopération afin d’éviter les différends commerciaux et de les résoudre, le cas échéant. Les exportateurs canadiens de viande mettent en lumière les défis auxquels ils sont confrontés lorsqu’ils tentent d’accéder au marché indonésien, notamment ceux liés à la certification halal du bœuf et ceux liés au système canadien d’inspection des viandes et à sa capacité à répondre aux exigences indonésiennes en matière d’emballage et d’étiquetage.

Les intervenants des secteurs canadiens soumis à la gestion de l’offre indiquent qu’ils ne s’opposeraient pas à un éventuel APEG avec l’Indonésie, à condition que le Gouvernement canadien respecte son engagement de ne pas accorder un nouvel accès au marché pour les biens soumis à la gestion de l’offre dans les futurs accords commerciaux.

Les intervenants du secteur du raffinage du sucre plaident en faveur d’un meilleur accès du sucre raffiné et des produits contenant du sucre aux exportations vers Indonésie, mais notent que les perspectives pourraient être limitées, vu que le secteur du sucre en Indonésie est très protégé et réglementé. De nombreux intervenants du secteur agricole et agroalimentaire indiquent que les politiques agricoles de l’Indonésie sont axées sur l’autosuffisance pour plusieurs produits de base comme le maïs, le soja, le bœuf et le sucre, ce qui pourrait limiter les possibilités d’exportation du Canada si on ne s’attarde pas à la question.

Poisson et fruits de mer

Les intervenants de l’industrie du poisson et des fruits de mer sont favorables à l’idée de s’inspirer des dispositions de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) conclu entre le Canada et l’Union européenne comme modèle pour un éventuel APEG avec l’Indonésie, exprimant ainsi leur intérêt pour le potentiel d’exportation vu la grande population de l’Indonésie et le taux élevé de consommation de poissons et de fruits de mer. L’industrie accueillerait favorablement l’élimination des droits de douane pour les exportations de poissons et de fruits de mer, ainsi que des clauses dans un accord commercial avec l’Indonésie pour traiter les barrières non tarifaires. Les intervenants ont souligné que préoccupations en matière d’environnement et de durabilité devraient être prises en considération dans tout accord, vu le solide régime réglementaire du Canada en matière de gestion durable des pêches.

Secteur manufacturier

Les intervenants du secteur manufacturier sont généralement favorables à un éventuel accord avec l’Indonésie, à condition qu’il permette de réduire les barrières tarifaires et non tarifaires, et de renforcer le libre-échange et le commerce équitable. En ce qui concerne les barrières réglementaires non tarifaires, les mémoires soulignent un manque de transparence, une hausse des barrières dues aux normes et les analyses inutiles. Un mémoire fait remarquer que le déplacement de la fabrication bas de gamme en Asie de l’Est vers l’Asie du Sud-Est dans les années à venir indique que l’Indonésie pourrait devenir un point d’ancrage de plus en plus important pour les entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à s’intégrer aux réseaux de production en pleine évolution en Asie du Sud-Est. Bien qu’il existe d’importants débouchés sur le marché indonésien, certains intervenants du secteur manufacturier se montrent plus prudents à l’idée de faire des affaires avec l’Indonésie, compte tenu :

Certains manufacturiers indiquent que l’élimination des droits de douane canadiens pourrait accroître la concurrence des entreprises étrangères et demandent à ce que le Canada cherche à obtenir des conditions qui ne soient pas plus favorables à l’Indonésie que celles négociées dans le cadre du PTPGP. En outre, d’autres estiment que toute négociation devrait exiger des normes de conduite commerciale responsable acceptables, ainsi que le respect des normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne et de travail qui assurent la protection de la santé, de la sécurité et des droits des travailleurs.

Ressources naturelles

Les intervenants des secteurs des ressources naturelles, y compris l’exploitation minière et l’énergie, sont favorables à un APEG avec l’Indonésie. Les intervenants du secteur minier soulignent le rôle majeur de l’Indonésie sur le marché mondial, citant :

Ces intervenants suggèrent des moyens de soutenir davantage le secteur minier grâce à un accord qui prévoit des clauses favorisant la promotion et la protection des investissements (y compris l’accès au règlement des différends entre investisseurs et États), la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre, ainsi que la facilitation des procédures douanières et du commerce. D’autres défis liés à l’incertitude réglementaire, aux interdictions d’exportation et aux exigences en matière de propriété demeurent et devront être abordés. Plusieurs autres mémoires ont également salué les nouvelles possibilités commerciales pour l’industrie, y compris pour les intervenants du secteur de l’énergie liés à l’économie à faible émission de carbone.

Services

Le gouvernement du Canada a reçu dix mémoires provenant de divers intervenants du secteur des services, notamment des fournisseurs de services financiers et professionnels. Ces mémoires soulignent que l’APEG favoriserait un environnement commercial plus sûr et prévisible en Indonésie en établissant un système commun, fondé sur des règles, pour les entreprises canadiennes et indonésiennes qui mènent des activités sur leurs marchés respectifs. Ainsi, le commerce et l’investissement entre les deux pays en seraient stimulés.

Les intervenants soulignent également la nécessité de promouvoir des règles du jeu équitables pour les entreprises canadiennes, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises, afin qu’elles soient en mesure d’affronter la concurrence de manière juste et équitable sur tous les marchés. D’autres mémoires invoquent des obstacles pour les entreprises canadiennes sur le marché indonésien, notamment :

Bien que la plupart des intervenants expriment leur soutien à un éventuel APEG Canada-Indonésie, certains ont quelques réserves, notamment concernant la conduite responsable des affaires. Dans l’ensemble, selon les mémoires reçus, les intervenants du secteur des services appuient les négociations d’un APEG Canada-Indonésie, particulièrement à la lumière de l’incertitude entourant les initiatives multilatérales, de l’importance économique croissante de l’Asie du Sud-Est et de l’Indonésie en particulier, et de considérations politiques et stratégiques plus générales.

Provinces et territoires

Les provinces et les territoires sont fortement intervenus auprès du gouvernement du Canada tout au long des consultations à l’égard de l’éventuel APEG Canada-Indonésie, ce qui inclut la présentation de neuf propositions écrites. Les provinces et les territoires soulignent l’importance de la diversification du commerce en Asie du Sud-Est, ainsi que la nécessité de débloquer les débouchés futurs sur ce marché en pleine croissance, en particulier lorsque nous nous remettrons de la présente pandémie.

Parmi les points saillants, citons la nécessité d’adopter des clauses solides en matière de travail, d’environnement et d’investissement, ainsi qu’une plus grande transparence afin de favoriser la prévisibilité des affaires. La majorité des mémoires indiquent qu’il existe des possibilités d’augmenter les exportations canadiennes vers l’Indonésie dans divers secteurs, mais qu’il faut éliminer les barrières non tarifaires pour ce faire. Certaines provinces et certains territoires estiment que le développement économique ne devrait pas se faire au détriment des droits de la personne, et que les droits des Autochtones et l’environnement devaient être protégés. D’autres soulignent l’importance que le Canada adopte une approche inclusive du commerce afin que davantage de groupes puissent profiter de la croissance des échanges, en particulier les groupes sous-représentés tels que les femmes, les peuples autochtones et les PME. Certaines provinces et certains territoires font remarquer qu’en l’absence d’un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements entre le Canada et l’Indonésie, un APEG serait l’occasion pour le Canada de créer le bon cadre de commerce et d’investissement afin que les Canadiens puissent investir et faire affaire en Indonésie en toute confiance.

Une province mentionne également la nécessité d’un accord aérien avec l’Indonésie, permettant d’établir des liaisons plus directes entre nos pays, ce qui favoriserait les échanges commerciaux. Certaines provinces soulignent l’importance de rechercher une exception générale autochtone pour protéger les droits des peuples autochtones, en plus des clauses spécifiques aux Autochtones, notamment un chapitre dédié, dans tout accord avec l’Indonésie.

Commerce inclusif

De nombreux mémoires soulignent l’importance de promouvoir une approche inclusive du commerce avec l’Indonésie afin de garantir une vaste répartition des avantages du commerce. Certains de ces mémoires font état d’éventuels débouchés commerciaux dans le cadre d’un APEG pour les groupes sous-représentés (c.-à-d. les entreprises appartenant à des femmes, les peuples autochtones, les PME) et des défis et barrières connexes auxquels ils sont confrontés pour y accéder. Certains mémoires suggèrent qu’un APEG pourrait améliorer l’accès de ces groupes en s’attaquant à des problèmes systémiques plus larges, notamment la réglementation incohérente et non transparente et la corruption, en plus de promouvoir des approches ciblées et adaptées, notamment au moyen de clauses et de chapitres dédiés au commerce et au genre, ainsi qu’au commerce et aux PME. De nombreux mémoires soulignent l’importance d’améliorer l’accès aux marchés, en particulier pour les PME, notamment :

Les mémoires relatifs aux peuples autochtones soulignent l’importance d’aborder les questions liées au commerce, tant dans le contexte d’un accord commercial avec l’Indonésie que de manière plus générale, notamment en créant des conditions favorables au commerce entre Autochtones. Quelques mémoires notent l’importance de la mise en œuvre par le gouvernement de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et indiquent qu’un APEG pourrait être un véhicule pour y parvenir. Un mémoire souligne également l’importance de protéger les marchés publics réservés destinés à soutenir le développement économique autochtone local.

Travail et droits de la personne

Plusieurs intervenants se disent préoccupés par les normes du travail et les droits de la personne en Indonésie, y compris les droits des peuples autochtones et des membres de la communauté LGBTQ2. Les intervenants suggèrent que le Canada devrait chercher à aborder ces questions dans un APEG avec l’Indonésie, notamment dans le cadre d’un chapitre dédié au travail. Plusieurs intervenants mentionnent que la piètre réglementation en matière de santé et de sécurité, la faible rémunération et le travail forcé des enfants en Indonésie sont des facteurs dont le Canada devrait tenir compte lors de la négociation d’un accord.

Environnement

Plusieurs mémoires soulèvent des préoccupations liées à l’environnement, soulignant l’importance de maintenir une approche scientifique cohérente dans la négociation de chapitres et de clauses solides sur l’environnement, afin de garantir que le commerce et la protection de l’environnement soient des objectifs qui se renforcent mutuellement. Les mémoires mettent en évidence une série de préoccupations environnementales, telles que :

Ces mémoires demandent au Canada de chercher à résoudre ces problèmes dans un APEG avec l’Indonésie.

Le gouvernement du Canada publiera une évaluation environnementale initiale qui tiendra compte des points de vue recueillis lors des consultations, s’il décide d’entamer des négociations en vue d’un APEG Canada-Indonésie.

Prochaines étapes

Bien que la période de consultation soit maintenant terminée, le gouvernement du Canada reste résolu à entendre l’opinion de tout Canadien intéressé par un éventuel APEG avec l’Indonésie. Les commentaires reçus des intervenants et des partenaires font partie intégrante de ce processus de consultation qui éclairera la décision du gouvernement quant au caractère opportun de poursuivre les démarches en vue de conclure un APEG Canada-Indonésie, ainsi que les futures positions de négociation.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: