What we heard
Public Consultations on a possible Canada-China free trade agreement

Between March 4 and June 2, 2017, the Government of Canada conducted public consultations to solicit the views of Canadians on a possible Canada-China free trade agreement (FTA). The views of Canadians were collected in a number of ways, including through in-person meetings and teleconferences with Canadian stakeholders, and through the publication of a Canada Gazette notice and dedicated consultation website inviting Canadians to submit their views. Since March 4, 2017, Government officials interacted with over 600 stakeholders and partners and received over 130 submissions from Canadians.

In keeping with the Government of Canada’s commitment to transparency, this report aims to provide a summary of the views that were conveyed by Canadians during this official consultation period. Despite the conclusion of this official consultation period, the Government of Canada remains committed to hearing from Canadians on this important subject and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views as we engage with China. 

Send your submission or any questions by email: ChinaTradeConsultations/ConsultationscommerceChineTCA@international.gc.ca

Read more

How the government is exploring potential FTA negotiations with China

On September 22, 2016, Prime Minister Trudeau and Chinese Premier Li announced the launch of exploratory discussions to examine the prospects for a possible Canada-China FTA. Work on the exploratory discussions has been ongoing since the fall of 2016 with four sets of face-to-face meetings held to date in 2017: February 20 to 24 in Beijing; April 24 to 28 in Ottawa; July 31 to August 4 in Beijing, and September 12-13, in Ottawa.

Read more

Who we consulted

Public consultations on a possible Canada-China FTA were comprehensive, involving interactions with over 600 stakeholders and partners across Canada, covering a broad range of sectors and interests. Working in collaboration with the provincial and territorial governments, federal officials conducted face-to-face consultations in all ten provinces as well as the Northwest Territories. Federal officials also conducted teleconferences with stakeholders and officials from Yukon, Nunavut, and across the country. In total, the Government conducted over 70 plenary roundtables and workshops, and over 130 meetings with individual stakeholders. In addition, since March 4, 2017, the Government also received over 130 written submissions through the Canada Gazette process and the web forms contained on the dedicated “Consulting Canadians on a possible Canada-China FTA” website.

Read more

Stakeholders and partners that took part in the consultations

600+

Businesses and Business Associations

470+
Consulted

Non-business stakeholders and partners

130+
Consulted

Text alternative

Methods of consultation (percentages)

  • Call (7.24%)
  • Meeting (37.05%)
  • Roundtable (19.78%)
  • Workshop (0.84%)
  • Canada Gazette (24.23%)
  • Website Submission (10.86%)
Text alternative

Stakeholders consulted (percentages)

  • Business (80.85%)
  • Non-business (13.16%)
  • Indigenous (1.88%)
  • Individuals (4.10%)

Consultations across Canada

What we heard from stakeholders

As whole, Canadians told us that they see both opportunities and challenges associated with a possible Canada-China FTA. Canadians recognize the significant opportunities for Canadian businesses and consumers offered by the Chinese market, and the importance of China for the future of the global economy. Whether in supplying China’s appetite for high-quality agricultural products and natural resources, making inroads into its massive government procurement market, or leveraging China as a source of, and destination for, foreign direct investment, many Canadians told us that they see real opportunities in deepening Canada’s trade relationship with the world’s second largest economy.

While a range of the difficulties identified by Canadians, like tariffs, permitting issues, establishment requirements, and customs procedures could be mitigated or resolved by a possible FTA, Canadians also told us about concerns that are more difficult to resolve using a traditional approach to free trade agreements. These concerns included challenges arising from the nature of China’s state-run economy; the interplay between trade and China’s human rights, environmental and labour rights records; and the inconsistent rule of law in China, especially in relation to the enforcement of intellectual property rights.

Key themes / overview of consultations

Read more

Non-FTA specific feedback from Canadians

Although our conversations with Canadians in the context of public consultations were primarily focused on issues that would constitute part of a potential FTA, stakeholders also told us about a range of issues related to doing business with China that fall outside the traditional scope of FTA negotiations. Stakeholders also took the opportunity of the consultations to express views on some key domestic policy issues which the Government will need to consider as Canada deepens its economic relations with China, including land use, support for Canadian companies wishing to understand the Chinese market, and the need for improvements to Canadian logistics and transport infrastructure.

Read more

Next steps

Following the conclusion of FTA exploratory discussions, the governments of Canada and China will separately decide whether they wish to proceed with FTA negotiations. For Canada, any decision on whether to launch FTA negotiations with China will take into account the results of the exploratory discussions, ongoing and past internal analysis, and the feedback we received from Canadians throughout consultations. This assessment will ultimately be rooted in a determination of whether an FTA with China serves the best interests of Canadians.

Read more

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Ce que nous avons entendu
Consultations publiques sur un possible ALE entre le Canada et la Chine

Du 4 mars au 2 juin 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu des consultations publiques afin de recueillir le point de vue des Canadiens relativement à un possible accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et la Chine. Les points de vue des Canadiens ont été recueillis de plusieurs façons, notamment lors de rencontres en personne et de téléconférences avec des intervenants canadiens, par le biais de la publication d’un avis dans la Gazette du Canada et au moyen d’un site Web consultatif invitant les Canadiens à donner leur opinion. Tout au long de cette période de 90 jours, les responsables du gouvernement ont interagi avec plus de 600 intervenants et plus de 130 citoyens ont présenté leurs observations.

Conformément à l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada en matière de transparence, le présent rapport vise à résumer les opinions recueillies auprès des Canadiens pendant la période de consultation officielle. Malgré le fait que cette période a maintenant pris fin, le gouvernement du Canada continue de vouloir entendre le point de vue des Canadiens sur cet enjeu important et s’assurera que les Canadiens continuent d’avoir l’occasion de fournir leurs idées à mesure que nous nous engageons avec la Chine.

Veuillez envoyer vos commentaires ou vos questions par courriel : ChinaTradeConsultations/ConsultationscommerceChineTCA@international.gc.ca

En savoir plus

Processus d’examen du gouvernement pour les négociations entourant un possible ALE avec la Chine

Le 22 septembre 2016, le premier ministre du Canada, Justin Trudeau, et le premier ministre de la Chine, Li Keqiang, ont annoncé le lancement de discussions exploratoires pour examiner la possibilité d’un ALE entre la Chine et le Canada. Les travaux liés aux discussions exploratoires sont en cours depuis l’automne 2016 et quatre rencontres en personne ont été tenues jusqu’à maintenant en 2017 : du 20 au 24 février à Pékin; du 24 au 28 avril à Ottawa, du 31 juillet au 4 août à Pékin et les 12 et 13 septembre à Ottawa.

En savoir plus

Les personnes que nous avons consultées

Les consultations publiques sur un possible ALE entre le Canada et la Chine ont été exhaustives, comportant des échanges avec plus de 600 intervenants et partenaires partout au Canada et couvrant de nombreux secteurs et intérêts. Travaillant en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les responsables du gouvernement fédéral ont procédé à des consultations en personne dans les 10 provinces et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Les responsables ont aussi effectué des téléconférences au Yukon, au Nunavut et dans l’ensemble du pays. Au total, le gouvernement a réalisé plus de 70 tables rondes plénières et ateliers et plus de 130 rencontres avec des intervenants. En outre, depuis le 4 mars 2017, le gouvernement a reçu plus de 130 présentations écrites par le biais de la Gazette du Canada et des formulaires en ligne du site Web connexe « Consulter les Canadiens au sujet d’un possible accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Chine ».

En savoir plus

Intervenants et partenaires rencontrés lors des consultations

600+

Entreprises et d’associations d’entreprises

470+
Consultés

Intervenants autres que des entreprises et partenaires

130+
Consultés

Texte alternatif

Nombre d’échanges pendant les consultations publiques selon le mode de consultation (pourcentages)

  • Appel (7,24%)
  • Rencontre (37,05%)
  • Table ronde (19,78%)
  • Atelier (0,84%)
  • Gazette du Canada (24,23%)
  • Présentation sur site web (10,86%)
Texte alternatif

Types d'intervenants consultés en personne (pourcentages)

  • Entreprises (80,85%)
  • Société civile (13,16%)
  • Autochtones (1,88%)
  • Particuliers (4,10%)

Consultations partout au Canada

Ce que nous avons entendu des intervenants

Les consultations avec les intervenants et les particuliers ont souligné les nombreuses possibilités pour les entreprises et les consommateurs canadiens qu’offre le marché chinois ainsi que l’importance de la Chine dans l’avenir de l’économie mondiale. Que ce soit en se montrant intéressées à répondre à la demande croissante de produits agricoles de grande qualité et de ressources naturelles de la Chine, en faisant des percées sur les marchés publics colossaux du pays ou en misant sur la Chine comme source ou destination des investissements étrangers directs, il est évident que les entreprises canadiennes reconnaissent les possibilités considérables associées au commerce avec la deuxième économie mondiale.

Thèmes clés / aperçu des consultations

En savoir plus

Commentaires de Canadiens ne portant pas précisément sur l’ALE

Dans le cadre des consultations publiques, nos discussions avec les Canadiens ont été principalement axées sur des questions se rapportant à un possible ALE, mais les intervenants nous ont également parlé de différentes questions concernant les relations commerciales avec la Chine qui, de manière générale, n’entrent pas dans la portée des négociations relatives à un ALE. Des intervenants ont aussi profité des consultations pour donner leur avis sur certains enjeux stratégiques nationaux importants dont le gouvernement devrait tenir compte lorsque le Canada accroîtra ses relations économiques avec la Chine. Par exemple, ils ont parlé de l’utilisation des terres, de l’aide qui sera apportée aux entreprises canadiennes souhaitant comprendre le marché chinois et de la nécessité d’améliorer la logistique et les infrastructures de transport au Canada.

En savoir plus

Prochaines étapes

Lorsque les discussions préliminaires sur un ALE seront terminées, le gouvernement canadien et le gouvernement chinois décideront, séparément, s’ils souhaitent amorcer des négociations sur un ALE. Pour le Canada, la décision d’amorcer ou non des négociations sur un ALE avec la Chine tiendra compte des résultats des discussions exploratoires, des analyses internes en cours et antérieures, et de la rétroaction obtenue dans le cadre des consultations menées auprès des Canadiens. La prise d’une décision à savoir si un ALE avec la Chine est dans l’intérêt supérieur des Canadiens s’appuiera sur cette évaluation.

En savoir plus

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: