Public consultation:
Future accession negotiations of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

Current status: Closed

Instructions

Please provide your comments directly to Global Affairs Canada, either as an individual or on behalf of an organization.

Privacy notice

For more information on how information will be collected and used, please read our privacy notice statement.

Contact information

Canada–Asia-Pacific Trade Consultations
Global Affairs Canada
Trade Policy and Negotiations, Asia Division (TCA)
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa ON K1A 0G2
E-mail: CPTPP-PTPGP.Consultations@international.gc.ca

Diversifying trade and investment with key markets around the world is a priority of the Government of Canada. The government is committed to strengthening Canada’s trade and investment relations with economies throughout the Asia-Pacific region, including through the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

The CPTPP is a multilateral free trade agreement between Canada and 10 other Asia-Pacific nations: Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. Combined, the 11 CPTPP members form a trading bloc representing approximately half a billion consumers and 13.5% of global GDP.

The accession of new economies to the CPTPP carries the potential to increase the agreement’s benefits for Canadians, further expanding Canada’s preferential market access and strengthening Canada’s connectivity to the Asia-Pacific region.

The Government of Canada is soliciting the views of the Canadian public and interested Canadian stakeholders on the accession of new members to the CPTPP.

Stakeholders have until 11:59 p.m. (Pacific Time) on August 25, 2019, to submit their responses, comments and suggestions.

Why is Canada holding consultations on possible CPTPP accession negotiations?

The Government of Canada is consulting Canadians to help define its priorities in possible negotiations for the accession of new members to the CPTPP. We want to hear your ideas, experiences and priorities through these consultations to identify opportunities to create wealth, innovation and jobs for Canadians.

What will be the focus of consultations? 

The focus of these consultations is to determine how Canada should best prioritize and proceed with possible CPTPP accession negotiations, including on how to best improve market access, transparency and certainty for Canadian business. This consultation will help the government understand any issues or concerns that are relevant when considering a possible new partner in the CPTPP. The government is especially interested in views regarding economies that have publicly announced their own consultations or studies on CPTPP accession, notably South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and the United Kingdom. We also welcome views on the potential accession of any other Asia-Pacific economy.

A Canada Gazette (ADD link once live) notice on possible negotiations for the accession of new members to the CPTPP outlines areas for which the government is seeking your views.

Who should participate?

The Government of Canada is soliciting the views of the Canadian public and interested Canadian stakeholders on the accession of new members to the CPTPP, including:

What is the deadline for consultation submissions?

The submission period for the Canada Gazette notice will last 30 days and end on August 25, 2019. We are committed to hearing from Canadians on this important subject and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views as we engage with trading partners throughout the Asia-Pacific region and beyond, including through our ongoing consultation efforts.

How do I participate?

The government is seeking written views of all interested Canadians by email to the CPTPP team or by mail to the address below:

Canada–Asia-Pacific Trade Consultations
Global Affairs Canada
Trade Policy and Negotiations, Asia Division (TCA)
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa ON K1A 0G2

Please provide your written submissions in response to the Canada Gazette notice (PDF, 846 KB) by August 25, 2019.

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully prior to sending a written submission.

For more information on CPTPP and potential accession negotiations, please read the backgrounder

Date Modified:

Consultation publique :
Négociations sur d’éventuelles adhésions à l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste

Situation actuelle: Fermée

Directives

Veuillez faire part de vos commentaires directement à Affaires mondiales Canada, à titre individuel ou au nom d’un organisme.

Énoncé de confidentialité

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la manière dont l’information sera recueillie et utilisée, veuillez consulter l’énoncé de confidentialité.

Coordonnées

Consultations sur le commerce entre le Canada et l’Asie-Pacifique
Affaires mondiales Canada
Politique et négociations commerciales, Direction de l’Asie
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Courriel: CPTPP-PTPGP.Consultations@international.gc.ca

Il est prioritaire pour le gouvernement du Canada de diversifier les échanges commerciaux et les investissements avec des marchés clés dans le monde entier. Le gouvernement est résolu à renforcer les liens du Canada en matière de commerce et d’investissement avec les économies de toute la région de l’Asie-Pacifique, y compris dans le cadre de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP).

Le PTPGP est un accord de libre-échange multilatéral entre le Canada et dix autres nations de l’Asie-Pacifique : l’Australie, Brunéi, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam. Ensemble, les 11 membres du PTPGP forment un bloc commercial comptant pour 13,5 % du PIB mondial et représentant un bassin d’environ un demi-milliard de consommateurs.

L’adhésion de nouvelles économies au PTPGP est susceptible d’accroître les avantages de l’Accord pour les Canadiens, d’élargir encore plus l’accès préférentiel du Canada aux marchés et de resserrer les liens entre le Canada et la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite l’avis du public et des parties intéressées au pays sur l’adhésion de nouveaux membres au PTPGP.

Les Canadiens ont jusqu’à 23 h 59 (heure du Pacifique) le 25 août 2019 pour soumettre leurs réponses, commentaires et suggestions.

Pourquoi le Canada tient-il des consultations au sujet des négociations sur d’éventuelles adhésions au PTPGP?

Le gouvernement du Canada consulte les Canadiens pour l’aider à définir ses priorités dans l’éventualité où des négociations seraient tenues en vue de l’adhésion de nouveaux membres au PTPGP. Au moyen de ces consultations, nous voulons connaître vos idées, vos expériences et vos priorités afin de cerner des débouchés visant à créer de la richesse, à favoriser l’innovation et à stimuler la création d’emplois au profit des Canadiens.

Sur quoi les consultations porteront-elles?

Ces consultations visent à établir les priorités et la démarche que le Canada devrait adopter dans l’éventualité où des négociations seraient tenues en vue de nouvelles adhésions au PTPGP, notamment sur les meilleures façons d’accroître l’accès aux marchés, la transparence et la certitude pour les entreprises canadiennes. Ces consultations aideront le gouvernement à comprendre toute question ou préoccupation qu’il devrait considérer à l’égard de tout nouveau partenaire éventuel au sein du PTPGP. Le gouvernement souhaite surtout connaître votre avis sur les économies qui ont publiquement annoncé qu’elles amorçaient leurs propres consultations ou lançaient des études sur leur adhésion éventuelle au PTPGP, notamment la Corée du Sud, Taïwan, la Thaïlande et le Royaume-Uni. Nous souhaitons également obtenir vos commentaires sur l’adhésion éventuelle de toute autre économie de l’Asie-Pacifique.

Un avis paru dans la Gazette du Canada présente les sujets sur lesquels le gouvernement sollicite vos commentaires dans l’éventualité de la tenue de négociations en vue de nouvelles adhésions au PTPGP.

Qui est invité à participer à ces consultations?

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite les points de vue du public canadien et des intervenants canadiens intéressés sur l’adhésion de nouveaux membres au PTPGP, notamment :

Quelle est la date limite pour soumettre des commentaires?

Le 25 août 2019 marquera la fin de la période de 30 jours prévue pour la présentation de commentaires relatifs à l’avis paru dans la Gazette du Canada. Nous tenons à ce que les Canadiens puissent s’exprimer sur ce sujet important, et nous veillerons à ce qu’ils continuent d’en avoir l’occasion lorsque nous engagerons des pourparlers avec des partenaires commerciaux dans l’ensemble de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique et au-delà, notamment au moyen de consultations continues.

Comment puis-je participer?

Le gouvernement invite tous les Canadiens intéressés à lui faire parvenir leurs commentaires par courriel à l’équipe du PTPGP, ou encore par la poste à l’adresse ci-dessous :

Consultations sur le commerce entre le Canada et l’Asie-Pacifique
Affaires mondiales Canada
Politique et négociations commerciales, Direction de l’Asie (TCA)
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Prière de soumettre au plus tard le 25 août 2019 vos observations par écrit en réponse à l’avis paru dans la Gazette du Canada (PDF, 846 Ko).

Veuillez lire attentivement l’énoncé de confidentialité avant de soumettre vos commentaires par écrit.

Pour plus d’informations sur le PTPGP et les négociations d’adhésions éventuelles, veuillez lire le contexte.

Date de modification: