Public consultation:
Possible Modernization of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement

Instructions

Please provide your comments directly to Global Affairs Canada, either as an individual or on behalf of an organization.

Privacy notice

For more information on how information will be collected and used, please read our privacy notice statement.

Contact information

Canada-Ukraine FTA Consultations
Global Affairs Canada
Trade Policy and Negotiations (TCE)
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa ON K1A 0G2
E-mail: CUFTA-Consultations@international.gc.ca

Current status: Closed

Diversifying trade and investment with key markets around the world is a priority of the Government of Canada. The government is also committed to strengthening Canada’s ties with existing free trade agreement partners.

The Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA), which entered into force on August 1, 2017, represents an important milestone in the Canada–Ukraine bilateral relationship. In addition to generating commercial benefits for Canadian businesses, CUFTA supports the economic reform efforts of the Government of Ukraine, and helps pave the way for long-term security, stability, and broad-based economic development in Ukraine.

The Government of Canada is soliciting the views of the Canadian public and interested Canadian stakeholders on the possible modernization of the CUFTA.

Stakeholders have until 11:59 p.m. (Pacific Time) on March 16, 2020, to submit their responses, comments and suggestions.

Why is Canada holding consultations on possible CUFTA modernization negotiations?

In July 2019 Prime Minister Trudeau and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky announced a mutual commitment to expand and modernize the CUFTA. A modernization of the CUFTA provides an opportunity to increase the Agreement’s benefits for Canadians by further diversifying and expanding Canada’s preferential access to Ukraine, and advancing an inclusive approach to trade in order that the benefits of trade are widely shared. A modernization of the CUFTA would also help reinforce the rules-based international system and promote the development of global value chains, strengthening Canada’s connectivity to the region.

The CUFTA contains a review clause (Article 19.2) that commits the Parties to review the Agreement within two years of its entry into force “with a view to examining the further development and deepening of its provisions, and to extending it to subject matters not covered by the Agreement.” The review clause identifies the areas of cross-border trade in services (CBTS), financial services, investment, telecommunications, and temporary entry, but does not restrict the Parties to exploring other potential areas of the Agreement. 

What will be the focus of consultations?

The focus of public consultations is to determine how Canada should best prioritize and proceed with possible CUFTA modernization negotiations, including in areas such as services, investment, and inclusive trade. This consultation will help the government understand any issues or concerns that are relevant in modernization negotiations.

A Canada Gazette notice on possible CUFTA modernization negotiations outlines areas for which the government is seeking your views.

Who should participate?

The Government of Canada is soliciting the views of the Canadian public and interested Canadian stakeholders on a possible CUFTA modernization, including:

What is the deadline for consultation submissions?

The submission period for the Canada Gazette notice will last 30 days and end on March 16, 2020. We are committed to hearing from Canadians on this important subject and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views.

How do I participate?

The Government of Canada is seeking written views of all interested Canadians by email to the Canada-Ukraine FTA team at CUFTA-Consultations@international.gc.ca or by mail to the address below:

Canada-Ukraine FTA Consultations
Global Affairs Canada
Trade Policy and Negotiations (TCE)
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Please provide your written submissions in response to the Canada Gazette notice by March 16, 2020.

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully prior to sending a written submission.

Additional information on Canada’s relationship with Ukraine

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Consultations publiques :
Possible modernisation de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada‑Ukraine

Directives

Veuillez faire part de vos commentaires directement à Affaires mondiales Canada, à titre individuel ou au nom d’un organisme.

Avis de confidentialité

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la manière dont l’information est recueillie et utilisée, veuillez consultez l’énoncé de confidentialité.

Cordonnées

Consultations sur l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine
Affaires mondiales Canada
Politiques et négociations commerciales (TCE)
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Courriel: CUFTA-Consultations@international.gc.ca

Situation actuelle : Fermée

La diversification du commerce et des investissements avec des marchés clés dans le monde entier est l’une des priorités du gouvernement du Canada. Par ailleurs, le gouvernement est résolu à renforcer les liens du Canada avec ses partenaires actuels de libre-échange.

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALÉCU) est entré en vigueur le 1er août 2017 et représente une étape importante dans les relations bilatérales entre nos pays. En plus des avantages sur le plan commercial qu’il procurera aux entreprises canadiennes, l’ALÉCU viendra soutenir les autorités ukrainiennes dans leurs efforts de réforme économique, et ouvrir la voie à long terme vers la sécurité, la stabilité et le développement économique à grande échelle de l’Ukraine.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite l’avis du public et des parties intéressées au pays sur la possible modernisation de l’ALÉCU.

Les parties prenantes ont jusqu’à 23 h 59 (heure du Pacifique) le 16 mars 2020 pour faire connaître leurs réponses, commentaires et suggestions.

Pourquoi le Canada tient-il des consultations au sujet des possibles négociations sur la modernisation de l’ALÉCU?

En juillet 2019, le premier ministre Trudeau et le président de l’Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky ont annoncé avoir mutuellement convenu d’élargir et de moderniser l’ALÉCU. La modernisation de l’ALÉCU pourrait représenter l’occasion d’augmenter les bénéfices entraînés par l’Accord pour la population canadienne en diversifiant et en élargissant l’accès préférentiel du Canada à l’Ukraine, et en favorisant une approche inclusive du commerce afin que les avantages du commerce soient partagés de manière plus vaste. La modernisation de l’ALÉCU contribuerait également à renforcer le système international fondé sur des règles et à favoriser la création de chaînes de valeur mondiales qui permettront de resserrer les liens du Canada avec la région.

L’ALÉCU prévoit une disposition de révision (l’article 19.2) aux termes de laquelle les parties s’engagent à revoir l’Accord dans les deux ans suivant son entrée en vigueur « dans le but d’examiner le développement et l’approfondissement de ses dispositions, et de l’étendre à des questions qui n’y sont pas traitées ». La disposition de révision vise entre autres des aspects du commerce transfrontalier des services (CTS), des services financiers, de l’investissement, des télécommunications et de l’entrée temporaire, mais sans empêcher les parties d’envisager d’autres secteurs que l’Accord pourrait éventuellement encadrer. 

Quel sera le principal sujet des consultations?

Les consultations visent à établir quelles devraient être les priorités et la démarche adoptées par le Canada s’il devait négocier en vue de moderniser l’ALÉCU, notamment pour y inclure les services, l’investissement et le commerce inclusif. Ces consultations aideront le gouvernement à comprendre toute question ou préoccupation qu’il devrait prendre en compte en vue d’éventuelles négociations sur la modernisation.

Un avis dans la Gazette du Canada sur de possibles négociations au sujet de la modernisation de l’ALÉCU précise les aspects sur lesquels le gouvernement sollicite des commentaires.

Qui devrait participer?

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite l’avis du grand public et des parties intéressées du Canada sur une éventuelle modernisation de l’ALÉCU, notamment :

Quelle est la date limite des présentations relatives aux consultations?

La période de présentation relative à l’avis dans la Gazette du Canada durera 30 jours et prendra fin le 16 mars 2020. Nous sommes déterminés à entendre les Canadiens et Canadiennes sur cet important sujet et veillerons à ce que la population canadienne ait l’occasion de se faire entendre.

Comment participer?

Le gouvernement du Canada invite tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes intéressé(e)s à faire parvenir leurs commentaires par écrit à l’équipe de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine par courriel à CUFTA-Consultations@international.gc.ca ou par la poste à l’adresse ci-après :

Consultations sur l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine

Affaires mondiales Canada
Politiques et négociations commerciales (TCE)
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Veuillez présenter vos commentaires écrits en réponse à l’avis dans la Gazette du Canada d’ici le 16 mars 2020.

Veuillez lire attentivement l’énoncé de confidentialité avant de répondre au sondage ou d’envoyer une soumission écrite.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la relation entre le Canada et l’Ukraine

Date de modification: