Overview of the Arms Trade Treaty regulatory implementation package

Background

Canada will become a State Party to the UN Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) on September 17, 2019. As per Canada’s practice for all international treaties, Canada will be fully compliant with all its obligations upon accession to the ATT.  

To ensure full compliance with the ATT, the Government of Canada therefore introduced Bill C-47, which amends the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) to establish controls on brokering of military items and to incorporate directly into Canadian law the assessment criteria laid out in the ATT, along with other amendments to further strengthen Canada’s export controls. Bill C-47 received Royal Assent on December 13, 2018.

Global Affairs Canada (GAC) subsequently consulted Canadians on the accompanying regulatory framework and then drafted a package of six regulations to fully implement Canada’s obligations under the ATT. These regulations were pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, for 30 days from March 16 to April 15, 2019. Global Affairs Canada carefully reviewed all submissions received during this public consultation period and amended the regulations accordingly.

Below is a summary of the changes that will be made to Canada’s export controls program once Bill C-47 and its related regulations enter into force on September 1, 2019.

Brokering

Legislation: Bill C-47

Bill C-47 amends the EIPA to establish controls over brokering by:

Definition of “broker”

The amended EIPA defines “brokering” as “arranging or negotiating a transaction that relates to the movement of goods or technology included in a Brokering Control List from a foreign country to another foreign country.” Here are a few interpretive notes on that definition:

Legal prohibition

The amended legislation will prohibit unauthorized brokering by any legal or natural person or organization in Canada. Canada’s brokering controls will also apply abroad for:

This means that Canada is making unauthorized brokering a criminal offence and that brokering obligations apply extraterritorially as well as domestically.

Brokering regulations

Bill C-47 authorizes the Government of Canada to make regulations to control brokering. Four regulations will create the framework for controlling brokering.

  1. Brokering Control List (BCL):This regulation lists all items for which a brokering permit is required. It will include all items listed in Group 2 (Munitions List) and Group 9 (ATT items) of the Export Control List (ECL), as well as any other ECL item—including dual-use items—that is likely to be used to produce or develop a weapon of mass destruction. The scope of the proposed BCL is comparable to and informed by the existing brokering controls of Canada’s allies.
  2. Brokering Permit Regulations (BPR): This regulation sets out the information that an applicant (meaning a person or organization) must submit in their application for an individual brokering permit. This includes the applicant’s name and contact details; information about the seller, buyer and any other agents or brokers involved; and information on the goods to be brokered, including on their proposed end use. Applicants for brokering permits will be able to use Export Controls On-Line (EXCOL), the same dedicated website used for export permits.
  3. Regulations Specifying Activities that Do Not Constitute Brokering (“Exclusions”): This regulation specifies activities that, while technically falling under the EIPA’s definition of “brokering,” will be excluded from the new controls. Two exclusions are proposed:
    • (1) transfers between affiliates of a corporation, and,
    • (2) Canadians who are directed by their non-Canadian employer to undertake brokering activities, so long as they do not control the employer. The first exclusion ensures that transnational operations within a company can continue without impediment, while the second exclusion ensures that individual Canadians are not placed at a disadvantage in the global labour marketplace. However, these exclusions do not apply to the movement of full-systems conventional weapons, as laid out in Group 9 of the Export Control List (see the Order Amending the Export Control List below).
  4. General Brokering Permit (“GBP”) No. 1: This regulation creates a General Permit that can be used to broker in pre-defined, lower-risk circumstances. This GBP authorizes brokering to certain low-risk destinations, provided that the end use is in that destination and that the broker follows the requirements set out in the GBP. In response to feedback received during pre-publication of this regulation in Canada Gazette, Part I,it was amended to also allow for brokering when the item is destined for end-use by the Government of Canada. Brokers making use of this General Permit must:
    • (a) notify Global Affairs Canada that they plan to use the GBP, and
    • (b) subsequently report on the items and transactions for which they used the permit. The main advantage of the General Brokering Permit is that prospective brokers do not need to submit an individual application prior to the brokering activity or activities.

Transparency and reporting

During the debates on Bill C-47 and ATT accession, a number of parliamentarians and civil society and academic stakeholders asked for increased transparency in reporting on controlled exports to the United States. At the same time, industry stakeholders noted that the permit-free movement of most controlled items between Canada and the United States is vital to the preservation of Canada’s defence, security and aerospace industry. Canada has benefited greatly from its privileged defence relationship with the United States, and it is important not to undermine this arrangement. In response to this discussion, the Government of Canada committed to looking at ways to increase transparency that would not require individual permits for the export of controlled items to the United States. Two additional regulations were developed to this end.

Reporting regulations

  1. Order Amending the Export Control List (Arms Trade Treaty): This regulatory amendment creates a new Group in the Export Control List (Group 9) that lists all items that fall under the reporting scope of the ATT and states that a permit is required to export these items to all destinations, including the United States. These items are the full-system conventional arms defined in Article 2(1) of the ATT as battle tanks; armoured combat vehicles; large-calibre artillery systems; combat aircraft; attack helicopters; warships; missiles and missile launchers; and small arms and light weapons. Article 13 of the ATT confirms that States Parties may use UN reporting standards in their ATT reports. With respect to small arms and light weapons, this means “man-portable weapons made or modified to military specifications for use as lethal instruments of war.” In keeping with the UN’s reporting parameters for the United Nations Register of Conventional Arms (known as UNROCA), Canada reports to the United Nations on the exports of small arms and light weapons destined for police and/or military end use.
  2. General Export Permit No. 47—Export of Arms Trade Treaty Items to the United States: This regulation allows Canadians to use a General Export Permit (GEP) instead of having to apply for individual export permits when exporting Group 9 (ATT) items to the United States. It also authorizes the export of other non-restricted and restricted firearms and ammunition (controlled under Export Control List items 2-1, 2-2.b., and 2-3) to the United States, formalizing the existing system of not requiring an individual permit. The GEP requires for Group 9 (ATT) items that exporters notify the Government of Canada that they plan to use the GEP and report twice a year on any permanent exports (i.e. items that would not be returned to Canada within two years). There are no reporting requirement for the non-ATT items captured under this GEP, or for temporary exports. The reporting requirements under this GEP give the Government of Canada accurate data on exports of ATT items to the United States in a way that does not create unmanageable burdens on exporters. As a result, Canada is now able to report on all its exports of full-system conventional arms, as required by Article 13 of the ATT.

Enforcement

The RCMP and the Canada Border Services Agency are responsible for the enforcement of the EIPA, with the RCMP being the enforcement authority for the regulations on brokering. Failure to comply with the EIPA and its associated regulations can lead to prosecution. Bill C-47 amended the EIPA to increase the maximum monetary fine for all offences punishable on summary conviction from $25,000 to $250,000.

Further information

Should you have additional questions about Canada’s new brokering or reporting regulations, please contact the Export Controls Policy Division at expctrlpol@international.gc.ca.

Date Modified:

Aperçu de la trousse de mise en œuvre de la réglementation relative au Traité sur le commerce des armes

Contexte

Le Canada deviendra un État Partie  au Traité sur le commerce des armes (TCA) des Nations Unies le 17 septembre 2019. Conformément à la pratique du Canada pour tous les traités internationaux, le Canada se conformera pleinement à toutes ses obligations lors de son adhésion au TCA.

Pour assurer la pleine conformité avec le TCA, le gouvernement du Canada a donc déposé le projet de loi C-47, qui modifie la Loi sur les licences dexportation et dimportation (LLEI), afin de mettre en place des contrôles sur le courtage d’articles militaires et d’intégrer directement dans le droit canadien les critères d’évaluation établis dans le TCA, ainsi que d’autres modifications, dans le but de renforcer les contrôles à l’exportation du Canada. Le projet de loi C-47 a reçu la sanction royale le 13 décembre 2018.

Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) a par la suite consulté les Canadiens sur le cadre réglementaire qui l’accompagnait, puis a rédigé un ensemble de six règlements visant à mettre pleinement en œuvre les obligations du Canada en vertu du TCA. Ce règlement a été publié au préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada pendant 30 jours, du 16 mars au 15 avril 2019. Affaires mondiales Canada a soigneusement examiné toutes les soumissions reçues au cours de cette période de consultation publique et a modifié les règlements en conséquence.

Vous trouverez ci‑dessous un résumé des modifications qui seront apportées au régime des contrôles à l’exportation du Canada au moment de l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-47 et de la réglementation connexe, le 1er septembre 2019.

Courtage

Dispositions législatives : projet de loi C-47

Le projet de loi C-47 modifie la LLEI pour établir des contrôles sur le courtage,

Définition de « courtage »

La LLEI modifiée définit le « courtage » comme « le fait de prendre des dispositions menant à une transaction relative au mouvement de marchandises ou de technologies figurant sur la Liste des marchandises de courtage contrôlé, d’un pays étranger vers un autre pays étranger. » Voici quelques notes d’interprétation relatives à cette définition :

Interdiction prévue par la loi

La législation modifiée interdira le courtage non autorisé par toute personne physique ou morale, ou organisation au Canada. Les contrôles de courtage du Canada s’appliqueront également à l’étranger aux :

Cela signifie que le Canada fait du courtage non autorisé une infraction criminelle et que les obligations relatives au courtage s’appliquent à l’étranger comme à l’intérieur des frontières.

Règlements sur le courtage

Le projet de loi C-47 autorise le gouvernement du Canada à faire des règlements pour contrôler le courtage. Quatre règlements constitueront le cadre de contrôle du courtage.

  1. Liste des marchandises de courtage contrôlé (LMCC) : Ce règlement énumère tous les articles pour lesquels une licence de courtage est requise. Il comprendra tous les articles énumérés dans le groupe 2 (Liste des munitions) et le Groupe 9 (articles du TCA) de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (LMTEC), ainsi que tout autre article de la LMTEC – y compris les articles à double usage – qui pourraient être utilisés pour produire ou concevoir une arme de destruction massive. La portée de la LMCC proposée est comparable aux contrôles sur le courtage des alliés du Canada et elle est fondée sur ceux-ci.
  2. Règlement sur les licences de courtage (RLC) : Ce règlement détaille les renseignements qu’un demandeur (une personne ou une organisation) doit fournir dans sa demande de licence de courtage individuelle, y compris le nom du demandeur et ses coordonnées ; des renseignements sur le vendeur, l’acheteur et tout autre agent ou courtier concerné ; et des renseignements sur les marchandises négociées, notamment sur leur usage final proposé. Les demandeurs de licence de courtage peuvent utiliser le Système des contrôles des exportations en direct (CEED), le même site Web spécialisé que celui utilisé pour les licences d’exportation.
  3. Règlement précisant les activités ne constituant pas du courtage (« exclusions ») : Ce règlement spécifie les activités qui, bien qu’elles correspondent techniquement à la définition de « courtage » énoncée dans la LLEI, sont exclues des nouveaux contrôles. Deux exclusions sont proposées :
    • 1) les transferts entre affiliés d’une société et
    • 2) les Canadiens qui entreprennent des activités de courtage sur ordre de leur employeur non canadien, tant qu’ils ne contrôlent pas l’employeur. La première exclusion permet de veiller à ce que les opérations transnationales effectuées au sein d’une compagnie peuvent continuer sans obstacle, tandis que la seconde exclusion permettrait de veiller à ce que des Canadiens ne soient pas désavantagés sur le marché du travail mondial. Cependant, ces exclusions ne s’appliquent pas au mouvement de systèmes complets d’armes classiques décrits dans le groupe 9 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (voir le Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et des technologies d’exportation contrôlée ci-dessous).
  4. Licence générale de courtage (« LGC ») no 1 : Ce règlement crée une licence générale qui peut être utilisée pour effectuer du courtage dans des circonstances prédéfinies qui présentent moins de risques. Cette LGC autorise le courtage vers certains endroits qui présentent peu de risques, à condition que l’usage final soit prévu à cet endroit et que le courtier respecte les exigences stipulées dans la LGC. En réponse aux commentaires reçus lors de la publication préalable de ce règlement dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, celui-ci a été modifié pour permettre également le courtage lorsque l'article est destiné à une utilisation finale par le gouvernement du Canada. Les courtiers utilisant cette licence générale doivent :
    • a) avertir Affaires mondiales Canada qu’ils prévoient utiliser la LGC et
    • b) faire rapport par la suite des articles et des transactions pour lesquels ils ont utilisé la licence. Le principal avantage d’une licence générale de courtage est que les courtiers éventuels n’ont pas besoin de présenter une demande individuelle avant d’effectuer les activités de courtage.

Transparence et production de rapports

Au cours des débats sur le projet de loi C-47 et sur l’adhésion au TCA, un certain nombre de parlementaires et d’intervenants de la société civile et du milieu universitaire ont demandé plus de transparence dans la production de rapports sur les exportations contrôlées vers les États‑Unis. Parallèlement, les intervenants de l’industrie ont fait remarquer que le mouvement sans permis de la plupart des articles contrôlés entre le Canada et les États-Unis est essentiel au maintien de l’industrie de la défense, de la sécurité et de l’aérospatiale du Canada. Le Canada bénéficie grandement des relations privilégiées qu’il entretient avec les États-Unis, et il est important de ne pas compromettre cet arrangement. Pour donner suite à cette discussion, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à trouver des façons d’améliorer la transparence sans rendre nécessaire l’octroi de licences individuelles pour l’exportation de marchandises contrôlées vers les États-Unis. Deux règlements supplémentaires ont été élaborés à cette fin.

Règlements sur les rapports

  1. Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et des technologies d’exportation contrôlée (Traité sur le commerce des armes) : Cette modification réglementaire crée un nouveau groupe dans la Liste des marchandises et des technologies d’exportation contrôlée (groupe 9) qui énumère tous les articles visés par la production de rapports aux termes du TCA et qui indique qu’une licence est requise pour exporter ces articles vers toute destination, y compris les États-Unis. Les articles en question sont les systèmes complets d’armes classiques définis au paragraphe 2(1) du TCA comme suit : chars de combat, véhicules blindés de combat, systèmes d’artillerie de gros calibre, avions de combat, hélicoptères de combat, navires de guerre, missiles et lanceurs de-missiles, et armes légères et armes de petit calibre. L’article 13 du TCA confirme que les États parties peuvent utiliser les normes de déclaration de l’ONU dans leurs rapports. En ce qui concerne les armes légères et armes de petit calibre, il s’agit « d’armes portables faites ou modifiées conformément à des spécifications militaires pour servir d’instruments de guerre meurtriers ». En conformité avec les paramètres de déclaration de l’ONU pour le Registre des armes classiques des Nations Unies (RACNU), le Canada déclare aux Nations Unies les exportations d’armes légères et d’armes de petit calibre destinées à un usage final par les corps policiers ou militaires.
  2. Licence générale d’exportation no 47 –articles visés par le Traité sur le commerce des armes vers les États-Unis : Ce règlement permet aux Canadiens d’utiliser une licence générale d’exportation (LGE) plutôt que de devoir demander des licences individuelles d’exportation lorsqu’ils exportent des articles qui font partie du groupe 9 (TCA) vers les États‑Unis. Il autorise aussi l’exportation vers les États-Unis d’autres armes à feu et munitions sans restriction ou à autorisation restreinte (définis dans la Liste des marchandises et des technologies d’exportation contrôlée comme des articles des groupes 2-1, 2-2.b. et 2-3) vers les États-Unis, officialisant le système existant qui ne requiert pas de licence individuelle. La LGE oblige les exportateurs d'articles du groupe 9 (TCA) à aviser le gouvernement du Canada qu’ils prévoient utiliser la LGE, et de déclarer deux fois par année toute exportation permanente (c.-à-d. des articles qui ne reviendront pas au Canada au cours des deux années suivantes). Il n’y a pas d’exigence en matière de rapports pour les articles non visés par le TCA décrits dans cette LGE, ou pour les exportations temporaires  Les exigences de rapport produits en vertu de cette LGE fournit au gouvernement du Canada des données précises sur les exportations d’articles visés par le TCA vers les États-Unis d’une manière qui n’entraine pas de fardeau difficile à gérer pour les exportateurs. Par conséquent, le Canada est désormais en mesure de déclarer toutes ses exportations de systèmes complets d’armes classiques, tel que stipulé à l’article 13 du TCA.

Application

La GRC et l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada sont responsables de l’application de la LLEI, la GRC étant l’autorité chargée de l’application de la réglementation sur le courtage. Le non-respect de la LLEI et de ses règlements connexes peut donner lieu à des poursuites. Le projet de loi C-47 a modifié la LLEI afin de faire passer l’amende maximale pour toutes les infractions punissables par procédure sommaire de 25 000 $ à 250 000 $.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour toute question supplémentaire à propos de la nouvelle réglementation du Canada relative au courtage et à la production de rapports, veuillez communiquer avec la direction de la politique en matière des contrôles à l’exportation à l’adresse expctrlpol@international.gc.ca.

Date de modification: