MEMORANDUM FOR INFORMATION: Update on export permits to Saudi Arabia

PDF Version (7 MB)

TO: The Minister of Foreign Affairs
CC: The Minister of International Trade Diversification
The Minister of International Development
SUBJECT: Update on export permits to Saudi Arabia

Summary:

This memo provides an update on the Department’s assessment of export permits to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA). As a result of the deterioration in relations between Canada and KSA, the conflict and resulting humanitarian crisis in Yemen, and the Khashoggi killing, the Government has been re-evaluating Canada’s foreign, defence and security policies towards KSA. In November 2018, you announced a review of all arms sales to KSA and an effective moratorium on the issuance of new export permits to KSA pending the completion of the review.

During the period of assessment, no existing valid permits were suspended or cancelled, thus allowing for the continued export of some items, including Light Armoured Vehicles (LAVs) by General Dynamics Land Systems Canada (GDLS-C). Moreover, during this period, the Department has assessed and processed a further 48 permit applications for exports of controlled goods to KSA on a case-by-case basis under its standard robust risk assessment process. Those permits have been deemed ready for approval by officials and await your further consideration.

Since November 2018 and in line with the Department’s standard robust risk assessment process, officials examined areas of concern, including the domestic human rights situation and the conflict in Yemen, and identified the types of exports that could be considered to give rise to a risk. KSA’s overall human rights record remains [REDACTED] problematic, particularly for civil and political rights. KSA has also been accused of gross violations of international human rights and humanitarian law due to its role leading a military coalition in Yemen. In this context, however, officials found no credible evidence linking Canadian exports of military equipment or other controlled items to any human rights or humanitarian law violations committed by the Saudi government. Officials did not identify any existing permits or pending applications that would be of concern under the standard robust risk assessment framework.

John Hannaford
Deputy Minister of International Trade

Marta Morgan
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Background:

1. In November 2018, you announced that the Department would conduct a review of arms exports to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) and an effective moratorium on the issuance of new permits pending the completion of this review. This memorandum provides an update on the on-going assessment and the impact of the moratorium on new export permits.

2. Since October 2018, the Department has not issued any new export permits for controlled items destined to KSA, although Canadian companies holding existing valid export permits for KSA are still able to export. New export permit applications continue to be assessed on a case-by-case basis using robust risk assessment guidelines as required under the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA). Once assessed and where warranted, the applications are subject to your approval.

3. Under the EIPA, you, as Minister of Foreign Affairs, have broad discretion to make the determinations of whether an export of controlled goods is consistent with Canada’s interests, so long as it is not based on irrelevant considerations and is not arbitrary and capricious. With the introduction of Bill C-47, the Department adopted a more rigorous process for assessing whether there is a substantial risk that the proposed export would result in human rights or humanitarian law violations. With the coming into force of Bill C-47 (amendments to the EIPA and Criminal Code) and associated regulations on September 1, 2019 (enabling Canada’s accession to the Arms Trade Treaty on September 17, 2019), assessment of these considerations is legally required for all future export permits. That said, the absence of any credible evidence of a substantial risk does not require that you issue a given permit, as there may be other foreign, security or defence policy reasons not to grant a permit.

Bilateral Relations

4. Since August 2018, there has been a marked deterioration in Canada’s bilateral relationship with KSA. The expulsion of Canada’s Ambassador last August by the Saudi government and Saudi trade and investment restrictions on Canada (precipitated by KSA’s reaction to your support for detained human rights advocates in KSA), the Khashoggi killing, and the actions of KSA-led coalition in the Yemeni conflict, have contributed significantly to this deterioration.

5. No progress has yet been achieved in normalizing the bilateral Canada-KSA relationship. The punitive diplomatic and trade measures that KSA instituted against Canada in August 2018 remain in place. While clear barriers to political, trade and diplomatic interactions remain [REDACTED] For example, KSA remains a valuable partner in the global fight to counter Daesh.

Human Rights

6. KSA’s overall human rights record remains [REDACTED] problematic, particularly for civil and political rights. Human rights issues in Saudi Arabia include: unlawful killings; executions for nonviolent offenses; forced renditions; forced disappearances; and torture of prisoners and detainees by government agents. Other issues include arbitrary arrest and detention; censorship; restrictions on freedoms of peaceful assembly, association, and expression; restrictions on religious freedom; legal barriers to women’s full participation in society, and, in a limited number of cases, the application of the death penalty for minors.

7. Of particular concerns in KSA’s failure to launch a transparent and credible investigation into the killing of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi in KSA’s Istanbul consulate. Closed court hearings in KSA commenced in January 2019 and appear to be ongoing, although Saudi officials refuse to confirm the names of the accused. The US, UK, France, China and Turkey have had access to the Khashoggi trials, under the commitment that they not reveal any details of the trial.

8. While the overall Saudi human rights record is [REDACTED] problematic, Canadian officials have no information or evidence linking Canadian exports of military equipment or other controlled items to any human rights violations committed by the Saudi government. In that respect, the Department’s assessment remains the same as that summarized in the memorandum dated March 21, 2016, that was presented to then-Minister Dion concerning the GDLS-C LAVs export permits and in the memorandum presented to you on October 10, 2017 concerning the Terradyne Gurkhas permits. The Department is of the view that there is no substantial risk that current Canadian exports of military equipment or other controlled items to KSA would result in any of the negative consequences referred to in section 7.3 (1) of An Act to amend the Export and Import Permits Act and the Criminal Code (amendments permitting the accession to the Arms Trade Treaty and other amendments) within KSA.

Yemen Conflict

9. KSA has also been accused of gross violations of international human rights and humanitarian law due to its role leading a military coalition in support of the legitimate government of Yemen against the Houthi armed rebellion. KSA’s participation in the campaign has been primarily in the form of airstrikes; its naval vessels have also undertaken operations in the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden. [REDACTED] The U.S. and UK have been working with the Saudis to try to improve targeting and attack approval procedures. This makes them – in the eyes of civil society and others – complicit in the Yemen conflict. The UN has also recently issued a report that takes the view that some states that export arms to KSA and the UAE (specifically, the U.S., U.K., and France) could be complicit in war crimes in relation to the conflict in Yemen

10. Canada is part of a core group that has led efforts at the Human Rights Council to put in place accountability mechanism regarding the human rights situation in Yemen. This includes gross violations of international human rights and humanitarian law by parties to the armed conflict, including KSA.

11. There have been reports of Canadian LAVs being deployed along the Saudi-Yemeni border, likely to protect KSA’s territorial integrity from Houthi cross-border incursions and missile attacks targeting its sovereign territory. Of note, any Canadian-made vehicles on the KSA-Yemen border are not the LAVs currently being exported by GDLS-C, but older vehicles that were shipped under contracts dating back to the early 1990s.

12. There are no confirmed reports of Canadian-made military equipment being deployed by KSA on Yemeni territory. This is consistent with KSA’s role within the coalition, which is primarily to lead and coordinate aerial engagements.

13. There is no evidence or credible reporting that would link any Canadian exports (eg. ground vehicles, sniper riles) to contraventions of international humanitarian law in Yemen. This is in marked contrast with exports from [REDACTED] whose military exports can be directly traced to the Saudi coalition air campaign and naval blockade.

Positions of Like-Minded Countries

14. Many countries exporting arms to KSA committed to reviewing their policies in the wake of the Khashoggi killing, and in the context of increased international concern about the humanitarian situation in Yemen. However, as Canada’s like-minded partners announce new export restrictions, many are taking a narrow interpretation of what constitutes “arms exports”. These are “lethal” goods or fully-assembled conventional weapon systems as defined by the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT). As such, the export of non-ATT listed items such as dual-use technologies and other military goods that are not intended for use in Yemen or that have little risk of being used in Yemen continue to be exported.

15. Further demonstrating flexibility when it comes to arms exports to KSA, Germany still allows the export of dual-use items and continues to allow weapons jointly developed with EU partners to be exported to KSA to honour existing contracts. The UK recently lost a court case on the grounds that it had not conducted mandatory human rights assessments before issuing export licences; however, there is no impediment to further arms exports to KSA once those assessments have been completed, unless UK authorities determine that there is a clear risk that the items proposed for export will be used to commit human rights violations. The U.S. has approved $8 billion (USD) in arms sales to KSA under emergency powers. France also continues to export to KSA.

Impact on Canadian Economic Interests

16. Canada-KSA bilateral tensions and the moratorium on the issuance of new permits are having a negative impact on Canadian exporters. It is difficult to gather precise figures on the value of lost business. In the fall of 2018, King Salman’s decree prohibiting “new business” with Canada resulted in Saudis securing substitutes for some Canadian products and expertise. KSA government contracts with Canadian companies in various sectors, except defence and other sectors where there are benefits to KSA, are either on hold or being cancelled. [REDACTED]

17. Canadian exporters of military goods and technologies to KSA have been affected to varying degrees. [REDACTED] In addition, Canadian companies exporting military goods that are readily available elsewhere are being excluded from KSA bidding processes, and that business is being lost to foreign competitors. Examples include:

18. As the Department has not suspended or cancelled any valid permits to KSA, a handful of Canadian exporters, including GDLS-C are still able to export controlled items to KSA. Since November 2018, the number of valid permits for KSA has diminished [REDACTED] (as of August 15, 2019). This is due to 1) the expiry of individuals permits whose two-year validity period has ended, or 2) permit amendment applications being treated as applications for new permits and being subject to your approval. [REDACTED]

19. Engagement by departmental officials with 20 companies that have a history of exporting to KSA suggests that approximately $2 billion in trade has been affected since August 2018. A number of Canadian exporters to KSA have suspended their business development operations in the Gulf region, although some continue to submit new permit applications in an attempt to fulfill their contractual obligations (mostly dual-use items). The open-ended nature of Canada’s moratorium on new export permits, and the lack of identified conditions that would allow a resumption of permit issuance, present a high commercial risk for Canadian companies.

Stakeholder Views

20. Stakeholders, including Canadian businesses, civil society organizations, academics, and industry associations continue to urge the Government to provide clarity on the policy for exports of controlled items to KSA. They are seeking guidance on the types of information and assurances required to demonstrate that the item proposed for export will not result in any of the negative consequences listed in the EIPA, as well as the level of risk that would trigger denial.

21. Stakeholders have noted that the Government’s moratorium on new permits has resulted in lower-risk items being subject to your approval (dual-use items such as software and IT training systems) while exports of [REDACTED] (conventional full weapons systems as defined under the ATT) against existing permits continue unabated [REDACTED] Stakeholders have argued that other measures, such as targeted sanctions, would be more appropriate in achieving a foreign policy objective (e.g. sanctions imposed under the Magnitsky Act, as was done in the aftermath of the Khashoggi killing).

Legal Obligations under Amended EIPA

22. The legislation to implement the ATT in Canada, Bill C-47, amended the EIPA to add new legislative requirements to (a) examine whether the export of military goods could be used to commit or facilitate serious violations of international human rights or humanitarian law, amongst other things, before issuing an export permit and (b) refuse to issue the permit if the Minister determines that there is a substantial risk that the export would result in such violations, after taking into account mitigation measures. While the consideration of human rights and humanitarian law risks has been part of Department’s export permit assessment process for decades, Bill C-47 made the practice a legal requirement. As a consequence, the Department has adopted a more rigorous and systematic process for evaluating and documenting the evaluation of these considerations. [REDACTED]

Date Modified:

NOTE D’INFORMATION : Mise à jour sur les licences d’exportation vers l’Arabie saoudite

Version PDF (7,39 Mo)

À : Ministre des Affaires étrangères
C.c. : Ministre de la Diversification du commerce international
Ministre du Développement international
Objet : Mise à jour sur les licences d’exportation vers l’Arabie saoudite

Sommaire :

La présente note d’information est une mise à jour au sujet de l’évaluation du Ministère concernant les licences d’exportation vers le Royaume d’Arabie saoudite (RAS). En raison de la dégradation des relations entre le Canada et le RAS, du conflit au Yémen et de la crise humanitaire qui en découle et de l’assassinat de Jamal Khashoggi, le gouvernement réévalue ses politiques en matière de relations étrangères, de défense et de sécurité en ce qui a trait au RAS. En novembre 2018, vous avez annoncé l’examen de toutes les ventes d’arme au RAS et un moratoire de fait sur la délivrance de licences d’exportation vers le RAS jusqu’à ce que l’examen soit achevé.

Au cours de la période d’examen, aucune licence valide existante n’a été suspendue ou annulée, permettant ainsi la poursuite de l’exportation de certains articles, y compris des véhicules blindés légers (VBL) par General Dynamics Land Systems Canada (GDLS-C). En outre, au cours de cette période, le Ministère a évalué et a traité au cas par cas 48 nouvelles demandes de licence d’exportation de marchandises contrôlées au RAS suivant son processus standard robuste d'évaluation des risques. Les fonctionnaires ont jugé ces licences prêtes pour approbation et ils attendent que vous les examiniez.

Depuis novembre 2018, conformément au processus standard robuste d’évaluation des risques du Ministère, les fonctionnaires ont examiné les sources de préoccupation, y compris la situation des droits de la personne au RAS et le conflit au Yémen. Le bilan du RAS sur le plan des droits de la personne demeure [EXPURGÉ] problématique, notamment en ce qui concerne les droits civiques et politiques. Le RAS a aussi été accusé d’avoir violé de façon flagrante les droits internationaux de la personne et le droit humanitaire international en raison de son rôle à la tête d’une coalition militaire au Yémen. Toutefois, dans ce contexte, les fonctionnaires n’ont trouvé aucun élément de preuve crédible permettant de lier les exportations canadiennes d’équipement militaire ou d’autres marchandises contrôlées à quelque violation des droits internationaux de la personne ou du droit humanitaire international que ce soit qu’aurait commise le gouvernement saoudien.

Les fonctionnaires n’ont relevé aucune licence existante ou demande de licence en attente qui constituerait une source de préoccupation selon le cadre standard robuste d’évaluation des risques.

John Hannaford
Sous-ministre du Commerce international

Marta Morgan
Sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères

Contexte :

1. En novembre 2018, vous avez annoncé que le Ministère réaliserait un examen des exportations d’armes vers le RAS et appliquerait un moratoire de fait sur la délivrance de licences d’exportation jusqu’à ce qu’il soit achevé. La présente note d’information est une mise à jour au sujet de l’examen en cours et de l’effet du moratoire sur les nouvelles licences d’exportation.

2. Depuis octobre 2018, le Ministère n’a délivré aucune nouvelle licence d’exportation de marchandises contrôlées vers le RAS, même si les entreprises détentrices d’une licence valide existante peuvent toujours faire des exportations. Les demandes de nouvelle licence d’exportation continuent d’être évaluées au cas par cas conformément à des lignes directrices d’évaluation robuste des risques en application de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI). Dans les cas oùcela est justifié, les demandes, une fois évaluées, vous sont soumises pour approbation.

3. Sous le régime de la LLEI, vous, à titre de ministre des Affaires étrangères, jouissez d’une large marge discrétionnaire pour décider si l’exportation de marchandises contrôlées est compatible avec les intérêts du Canada, tant que cette décision n’est pas fondée sur les facteurs non pertinents et qu’elle n’est pas arbitraire et injustifiée. Après le dépôt du projet de loi C-47 (modification à la LLEI et au Code criminel) et des règlements connexes le 1er septembre 2019, l’évaluation de ces facteurs pour toutes les futures licences est exigée par la loi. Toutefois, l’absence d’éléments de preuve crédible d’un risque sérieux ne vous oblige pas à délivrer une licence donnée, car il peut y avoir d’autres motifs liés aux relations internationales, à la sécurité ou à la défense de ne pas l’accorder.

Relations bilatérales

4. Depuis octobre 2018, il y a eu une dégradation marquée des relations bilatérales avec le RAS. L’expulsion en août dernier de l’ambassadeur du Canada par le gouvernement saoudien et les restrictions imposées sur l’investissement et le commerce (qui ont été précipitées par la réaction du RAS au soutien que vous avez accordé à des défenseurs des droits de la personne détenus dans ce pays), l’assassinat de Jamal Khashoggi et les actes commis par la coalition menée par le RAS dans le conflit au Yémen ont contribué grandement à cette dégradation.

5. Il n’y a eu aucun progrès dans la normalisation des relations bilatérales entre le Canada et le RAS. Les mesures punitives diplomatiques et commerciales instaurées par le RAS contre le Canada en août 2018 demeurent en place. Même si des obstacles évidents demeurent en ce qui concerne les interactions sur la scène politique, commerciale et diplomatique, [EXPURGÉ]. Par exemple, le RAS reste un partenaire précieux dans la lutte contre Daech à l’échelle mondiale.

Droits de la personne

6. Le bilan global du RAS sur le plan des droits de la personne demeure [EXPURGÉ] problématique, notamment en ce qui concerne les droits civils et les droits politiques. Les problèmes liés aux droits de la personne au RAS comprennent : les mises à mort illégales, les exécutions pour des crimes non violents, les transferts arbitraires, les disparitions forcées et la torture de prisonniers et de détenus par des agents du gouvernement. Parmi les autres problèmes, on compte : les arrestations et détentions arbitraires, la restriction des libertés de rassemblement pacifique, d’association et d’expression, la restriction de la liberté de religion, les obstacles légaux à la pleine participation des femmes à la société et, dans un petit nombre de cas, l’application de la peine de mort à des mineurs.

7. Le fait que le RAS n’ait pas lancé une enquête transparente et crédible sur l’assassinat du journaliste saoudien Jamal Khashoggi à l’ambassade du RAS à Istanbul est une source de préoccupation particulière. Des audiences à huit clos ont commencé au RAS en janvier 2019 et semblent se poursuivre, même si les représentants du RAS refusent de confirmer le nom des accusés. Les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, la France et la Turquie ont eu accès aux procès dans l’affaire Khashoggi, à condition de s’engager à n’en révéler aucun détail.

8. Même si le bilan du RAS en matière de droits de la personne est [EXPURGÉ] problématique, les fonctionnaires canadiens n’ont aucun renseignement et aucun indice permettant de lier les exportations canadiennes d’équipement militaire ou d’autres marchandises contrôlées à quelque violation des droits de la personne que ce soit qu’aurait commises le RAS. À cet égard, l’évaluation du Ministère demeure la même que celle résumée dans la note d’information datée du 21 mars 2016, qui avait été présentée au ministre de l’époque, M. Dion, au sujet des exportations de VBL de GDLS-C et dans celle qui vous avait été présentée le 10 octobre 2017 au sujet des licences de Terradyne Gurkhas. Le Ministère est d’avis s qu’il n’existe aucun risque sérieux que les exportations canadiennes d’équipement militaire ou d’autre marchandises contrôlées vers le RAS entraînent l’une ou l’autre des conséquences négatives mentionnées à l’article 7.3 (1) de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les licences d’exportations et d’importation et le Code criminel (modifications permettant l’accession au Traité sur le commerce des armes et autres modifications) à l’intérieur du RAS.

Conflit au Yémen

9. Le RAS a aussi été accusé d’avoir violé de façon flagrante les droits internationaux de la personne et le droit humanitaire international en raison de son rôle à la tête d’une coalition militaire pour soutenir le gouvernement légitime du Yémen contre la rébellion armée Houthi. Le RAS a surtout participé à la campagne en effectuant des frappes aériennes; ses navires ont aussi mené des opérations dans la mer Rouge et dans le golfe d’Aden.  [EXPURGÉ] Les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni ont collaboré avec les Saoudiens pour tenter d’améliorer les procédures d’acquisition des cibles et d’approbation des attaques, ce qui les rend – aux yeux de la société civile et d’autres observateurs – complices dans le conflit au Yémen. Les Nations Unies ont aussi publié récemment un rapport dans lequel est exprimée l’opinion que certains États qui exportent des armes vers le RAS et les Émirats arabes unis (plus précisément les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et la France) pourraient être complices des crimes de guerre commis dans le cadre du conflit au Yémen.

10. Le Canada fait partie d’un groupe sélect de pays qui a mené les efforts au Conseil sur les droits de l’homme pour mettre en place des mécanismes de responsabilisation en ce qui concerne la situation des droits de la personne au Yémen. Ces derniers engloberaient les violations flagrantes des droits internationaux de la personne et du droit humanitaire international par les participants au conflit armé, y compris le RAS.

11. Le déploiement de VBL de fabrication canadienne à la frontière entre le RAS et le Yémen, probablement pour protéger l’intégrité territoriale du RAS contre les incursions des forces Houthi et les missiles ciblant son territoire souverain, a été rapportée. Il convient de noter qu’aucun des véhicules de fabrication canadienne se trouvant à la frontière n’est l’un des VBL actuellement exportés par GDLS-C. Il s’agit plutôt d’anciens véhicules qui ont été expédiés dans le cadre de contrats remontant au début des années 1990.

12. Il n’existe aucun signalement confirmé d’équipement militaire fabriqué au Canada déployé par le RAS sur le territoire du Yémen, ce qui est conforme au rôle du RAS au sein de la coalition, qui consiste principalement à mener et à coordonner les opérations aériennes.

13. Il n’y a aucun élément de preuve ou aucun renseignement crédible qui permettrait de lier quelque exportation canadienne que ce soit (p. ex. des véhicules terrestres, des fusils de tireur d’élite) à des violations du droit humanitaire international au Yémen, ce qui est complètement différent des exportations militaires [EXPURGÉ] qui peuvent être directement liées à la campagne aérienne et au blocus naval de la coalition saoudienne.

Positions des pays en communion d’idées

14. Bon nombre de pays exportateurs d’armes vers le RAS se sont engagés à revoir leurs politiques dans la foulée de l’assassinat de M. Khashoggi et dans le contexte de l’inquiétude internationale croissante à propos de la situation humanitaire au Yémen. Toutefois, au fur et à mesure que des pays en communion d’idées avec le Canada annoncent de nouvelles restrictions à l’exportation, bon nombre d’entre eux adoptent une interprétation restrictive de ce qui constitue des « exportations d’armes ». Il s’agit de biens « meurtriers » ou de systèmes classiques entièrement assemblés tel que défini dans le Traité sur le commerce des armes (TCA). Ainsi, l’exportation d’articles qui ne figurent pas sur la liste du TCA comme les technologies à double usage et d’autres biens militaires non destinés à l’utilisation au Yémen ou qui présentent un faible risque d’être utilisés au Yémen continuent d’être exportés.

15. Autre exemple de souplesse lorsqu’il est question d’exportations d’armes vers le RAS, l’Allemagne permet encore l’exportation de matériel à double usage et continue de permettre l’exportation vers le RAS d’armes mises au point conjointement avec des partenaires de l’UE en vue d’honorer des contrats existants. Le Royaume-Uni a perdu récemment un procès au motif qu’il n’avait pas effectué l’évaluation obligatoire des droits de la personne avant de délivrer des licences d’exportation. Toutefois, il n’y a aucun autre empêchement à exporter d’autres armes vers le RAS une fois que ces évaluations auront été réalisées, à moins que les autorités du Royaume-Uni déterminent qu’il y a un risque manifeste que le matériel destiné à l’exportation sera utilisé pour commettre des violations des droits de la personne. Les États-Unis ont approuvé des ventes d’armes à hauteur de 8 milliards de dollars USD vers le RAS en vertu de pouvoirs d’urgence. La France maintient également ses exportations vers le RAS.

Répercussions sur les intérêts économiques du Canada

16. Les tensions bilatérales Canada-RAS et le moratoire sur la délivrance de nouvelles licences d’exportation ont des répercussions négatives sur les exportateurs canadiens. Il est difficile de recueillir des chiffres précis sur la valeur des contrats perdus. À l’automne 2018, le décret du roi Salman qui interdit de conclure de « nouveaux contrats » avec le Canada a fait en sorte que les Saoudiens se procurent des substituts par rapport aux produits et à l’expertise du Canada. Les contrats conclus par le gouvernement du RAS avec des entreprises canadiennes dans divers secteurs, sauf ceux de la défense et d’autres secteurs ou il y a des avantages pour le RAS, sont soit suspendus ou annulés. [EXPURGÉ]

17. Les exportateurs canadiens de marchandises et de technologies militaires ont été touchés à divers degrés. [EXPURGÉ] En outre, les entreprises canadiennes qui exportent des marchandises militaires que l’on trouve en abondance ailleurs sont exclues des processus de soumission du RAS et ces contrats sont perdus aux mains de concurrents étrangers. En voici des exemples :

18. Puisque le Ministère n’a pas suspendu ou annulé des licences valides vers le RAS, une poignée d’exportateurs canadiens, y compris GDLS-C, sont toujours en mesure d’exporter des marchandises contrôlées vers le RAS. Depuis novembre 2018, le nombre de licences valides pour l’exportation vers le RAS est passé [EXPURGÉ] (en date du 15 août 2019). Cette baisse est attribuable 1) à l’expiration de licences individuelles dont la période de validité de deux ans a pris fin ou 2) au fait que les demandes de modification à des licences sont traitées comme des demande de nouvelles licences et sont assujetties à votre approbation. [EXPURGÉ]

19. La coopération de fonctionnaires du Ministère auprès de 20 entreprises qui ont des antécédents d’exportation vers le RAS suggère qu’environ 2 milliards de dollars en commerce a été compromis depuis août 2018. Plusieurs exportateurs canadiens vers le RAS ont suspendu leurs activités de développement des affaires dans la région du Golfe, bien que certains continuent de présenter de nouvelles demandes de licence par souci de s’acquitter de leurs obligations contractuelles (surtout dans le cas d’articles à double usage).  La nature non limitative du moratoire du Canada sur les nouvelles licences d’exportation et le manque de conditions répertoriées qui permettraient une reprise de la délivrance de licences posent un risque commercial élevé pour les entreprises canadiennes.

Points de vue des intervenants

20. Les intervenant, y compris des entreprises canadiennes, des organisations de la société civile, des universitaires et des associations industrielles continuent d’inciter le gouvernement à préciser sa politique pour les exportations de marchandises contrôlées vers le RAS. Les intervenants demandent des conseils quant aux types d’informations et d’assurances nécessaires pour démontrer que l’article destiné à l’exportation n’entraînera pas de conséquence négative précisée dans la LLEI et quant au niveau de risque qui déclencherait un refus.

21. Les intervenant ont noté que le moratoire du gouvernement sur les nouvelles licences fait en sorte que les articles à risque plus faible sont assujettis à votre approbation (articles à double usage comme des logiciels et des systèmes de formation en TI) tandis que les exportations de [EXPURGÉ] (système complets d’armes classiques tels que définis dans le TCA) vont bon train. [EXPURGÉ] Les intervenants ont fait valoir que d’autres mesures, comme des sanctions ciblées, seraient plus appropriées en vue de réaliser un objectif de politique étrangère (p. ex. l’imposition de sanctions en vertu de la Loi Magnitsky comme ce fut le cas dans la foulée de l’assassinat de M. Khashoggi).

Obligations légales en vertu de la LLEI modifiée

22. Le projet de loi C-47, élaboré pour la mise en œuvre du TCA par le Canada, a modifié la LLEI pour y ajouter des exigences législatives visant à a) déterminer si l’exportation de biens militaires pourrait servir à commettre ou à faciliter des violations graves du droit international des droits de la personne ou du droit international humanitaire, entre autres choses, avant de délivrer des licences d’exportation et b) refuser de délivrer des licences si le Ministre détermine qu’il y a un risque sérieux que l’exportation entraînerait de telles violations, après avoir tenu compte des mesures d’atténuation disponibles. Même si la considération des risques pour les droits de la personne et le droit humanitaire fait partie du processus d’évaluation des licences d’exportation du Ministère depuis des décennies, le projet de loi C-47 fait de cette pratique une obligation légale. Par conséquent, le Ministère a adopté un processus plus rigoureux et systématique pour évaluer et documenter l’évaluation de ces considérations. [EXPURGÉ]

Date de modification: