Language selection

Search

Backgrounder: Amendments to the Export Permits Regulations

Modernizing the regulatory requirements for export permit applicants for military and strategic goods and technology and certain forest products

Background

The Export Permits Regulations (the Regulations) establish requirements on the information that permit applicants must provide as part of the export permit application process, and the procedures governing the issuance and use of exports permits for “Strategic and Military Goods and Technology” and “Certain Forest Products” listed on the Export Control List. Specifically, these Regulations relate to Export Control List Groups 1-4, 6, 7, 9 and Items 5101 to 5103, 5400, 5401 and 5501-5505.

Separate regulations exist that address other items on the Export Control List. Specifically, the Export Permit (Steel Monitoring) Regulations, the Export Permit Regulations (Non-strategic Products) and the Export Permit Regulations (Softwood Lumber Products 2015).

Proposed amendments to these regulations and the associated Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement were published in the Canada Gazette on June 18, 2022 for a 30-day public comment period ending July 18, 2022. A final version of the Regulations will follow.

Purpose

The purpose of the proposed amendments is to align the regulations with existing permit application processes. The benefits of these amendments are to increase regulatory clarity and certainty.

The proposed amendments seek to reflect current operational requirements and to align the regulations with information already required from applicants in practice and policy, and in the Export Controls Online System (NEXCOL). With respect to military and strategic goods and technology, the proposed amendments also seek to reflect requirements described in the Export and Brokering Controls Handbook (the “Handbook”).

These amendments also respond to correspondence received by the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations regarding two previous amendments to the Regulations.

What has changed?

It is important to note that the proposed changes to the regulatory text in this initiative do not result in any changes to the application process for export permit applicants for military and strategic goods and technology and for certain forest products.

The proposed regulatory amendments seek to update some outdated elements in the Regulations and to align the Regulations with policies and practices already in place, as encoded in NEXCOL. Updating the regulations also improve clarity for exporters and facilitate compliance.

The following amendments are being proposed to the Export Permits Regulations:

  1. Issues raised by the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations:
    1. The Department seeks to amend the Regulations to create an exhaustive list of information elements to be furnished by permit applicants. This way, the Regulations would prescribe an exhaustive instead of a discretionary list, which is not in accordance with the Export and Import Permits Act.
    2. Amendments are also proposed to the French version of the Regulations to address the Committee’s observation that paragraph 3(2)(b) of the French version of the Regulations is inconsistent with the English version of that paragraph.
  2. Modernization of the Regulations (to match current process):

    Below are the proposed key changes to the Regulations:

    The Export Permits Regulations apply to both strategic and military goods and technology, as well as to certain forest products. Consequently, for the sake of clarity, the Department proposes to create two separate sections for these goods and technology: section 3 for “Strategic and Military Goods and Technology” and a new section 4 for “Certain Forest Products”. Both sections would comprise an exhaustive list of information elements to be furnished by permit applicants for the export of the relevant group of goods.

    For the section on Strategic and Military Goods and Technology, a new paragraph would allow the Department to request a number of specific, additional documents in certain instances that can be beneficial for the Department’s assessment of an export permit application. These include a copy of the commercial invoice, a copy of the purchase order and a copy of the letter of credit or other financial documentation, including bank transfers or authorizations. At the same time, the proposed amendments would specifically remove the requirement to provide certain information, as this information is no longer required under NEXCOL.

    The new proposed section 4 in the Regulations titled “Certain Forest Products” has similarly been developed to reflect current practice and to provide greater certainty regarding the information required to support export permit applications.

Other elements of the amended Regulations include updates to (1) tombstone information requirements and (2) process issues:

  1. From a tombstone information requirement perspective, the amendments require applicants to provide their email address along with that of the consignee(s). The amendments also add a requirement to provide a fax number, but this requirement will be preceded by the words “if any” as fax machines have fallen out of use. These proposed amendments track the existing data fields in NEXCOL.
  2. From a process perspective, the requirements related to exports by mail or courier service would be removed from the Regulations, as this is no longer how those facilities operate. Exporters must submit their permit along with any other documentation required by the Canada Border Services Agency at a customs office. Furthermore, current portions of the Regulations related to the issuance of permits and to lost permits would be removed, as they are no longer relevant due to the electronic nature of the NEXCOL system. The portion related to amendments to permits would be modified for the same reason.

Contact information:

Exporters who have any questions regarding this amendment should contact:

The Export Controls Policy Division:

Export Controls Policy Division (TIR)
Global Affairs Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON. K1A 0G2
Tel: 343-203-4331 / Fax: 613-996-9933
E-mail: expctrlpol@international.gc.ca

If the questions or comments relate to certain forest products, please also include the Softwood Lumber Division in your correspondence at:

Softwood Lumber Division (TNS)
Global Affairs Canada 
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Tel: 343-203-5386 / Fax: 613-944-2491
E-mail: Logs-Billes_de_bois@international.gc.ca

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document d'information : modification du Règlement sur les licences d’exportation

Moderniser les exigences pour les demandeurs de licences d'exportation pour les marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques et pour certains produits forestiers

Contexte

Le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (le « Règlement ») définit les exigences relatives aux renseignements que les demandeurs doivent fournir dans le cadre du processus de demande de licence d’exportation et les procédures régissant la délivrance et l’utilisation de licences d’exportation pour les « marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires » et « certains produits forestiers ». Ce règlement s’applique plus précisément aux groupes 1-4, 6, 7, 9 et aux items 5101 à 5103, 5400, 5401 et 5501-5505 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée.

Il existe des règlements distincts qui traitent d’autres articles de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée, par exemple le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (surveillance de l’acier), le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (produits non stratégiques) et le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (produits de bois d’œuvre, 2015).

Les modifications proposées au Règlement et le Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation ont été publiés dans la Gazette du Canada le 18 juin 2022 pour une période de 30 jours pour des fins de consultation publique qui prendra fin le 18 juillet 2022. La version finale du Règlement suivra.

Objet

Le but des changements réglementaires proposés est d’harmoniser le règlement actuel avec le processus déjà en place pour l’octroi de licences d’exportation. Les avantages de ces changements réglementaires sont d’accroitre la clarté et la certitude.

Les modifications réglementaires proposées visent à tenir compte des exigences opérationnelles actuelles et à harmoniser les règlements avec les renseignements déjà exigés des demandeurs dans les politiques et les pratiques, ainsi que dans le Nouveau Système des contrôles des exportations en direct (Nouveau CEED). En ce qui a trait aux marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques, les modifications réglementaires proposées visent aussi à refléter les exigences décrites dans le Manuel des contrôles du courtage et à l’exportation (le « Manuel »),

Ces modifications proposées répondent également à la correspondance reçue du Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation concernant deux modifications apportées précédemment au Règlement.

Qu’est-ce qui a changé ?

Il est important de noter que les modifications apportées au texte réglementaire dans le cadre de cette initiative n’entraînent aucun changement de processus pour les demandeurs de licences pour les exportations de marchandises et de technologies stratégiques et militaires et pour certains produits forestiers.

Les modifications réglementaires visent à mettre à jour certains éléments désuets du Règlement et à harmoniser celui-ci avec les politiques et les pratiques déjà en place, conformément à ce qui est programmé dans le Nouveau CEED. La mise à jour du Règlement permet également de clarifier le processus à l’intention des exportateurs et de faciliter la conformité.

Les modifications suivantes sont proposées au Règlement sur les licences d’exportation :

  1. Enjeux soulevés par le Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation :
    1. Le Ministère entend modifier le Règlement pour créer une liste complète des renseignements à fournir par les demandeurs de licences. De cette façon, le Règlement prescrirait une liste exhaustive au lieu d’une liste discrétionnaire, ce qui n’est pas permis par la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.
    2. Des modifications sont également proposées à la version française du Règlement pour répondre aux observations du Comité selon lesquelles les versions anglaise et française de l’alinéa 3(2)b) du Règlement ne sont pas équivalents.
  2. Modernisation du Règlement (afin de correspondre au processus actuel) :

    Voici les principales modifications apportées au Règlement :

    Le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation s’applique aussi bien aux marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires qu’à certains produits forestiers. Par conséquent, le Ministère a créé deux articles distincts pour ces marchandises et technologies afin d’accroître la clarté : l’article 3 pour les « Marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires » et un nouvel article 4 pour « Certains produits forestiers ». Les deux articles proposés comportent une liste complète de renseignements que les demandeurs de permis doivent fournir pour exporter des marchandises du groupe concerné.

    Dans l’article sur les marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires, un nouvel alinéa proposé permettrait au Ministère de demander, dans certains cas, un certain nombre de documents additionnels précis pour permettre à celui-ci d’évaluer une demande de licence d’exportation. Ces documents incluent une copie de la facture commerciale, une copie du bon de commande et une copie de la lettre de crédit ou d’autres documents financiers, y compris des virements bancaires ou des autorisations. De plus, les modifications supprimeraient expressément l’obligation de fournir certains renseignements, puisque ceux-ci ne sont plus nécessaires dans le cadre du Nouveau CEED.

    Le nouvel article 4 du Règlement, intitulé « Certains produits forestiers », a également été élaboré pour tenir compte des pratiques actuelles et afin d’accroitre la certitude des exigences en matière de données afin de supporter les demandes de licences d’exportation.

Parmi les autres modifications proposées au Règlement figurent des mises à jour concernant 1) les exigences en matière de renseignements de base; et 2) les questions liées au processus :

  1. Du point de vue des exigences en matière de renseignements de base, les modifications exigent que les demandeurs fournissent leur adresse courriel et celle des consignataires. Les modifications ajoutent également l’obligation de fournir un numéro de télécopieur, qui sera néanmoins précédée des mots « le cas échéant » puisque les télécopieurs sont tombés en désuétude. Ces modifications reflètent les exigences actuellement requises dans le Nouveau CEED.
  2. Du point de vue du processus, les exigences liées aux exportations par la poste ou par services de messagerie seraient supprimées du Règlement, car ces mécanismes ne fonctionnent plus ainsi. Les exportateurs doivent présenter leur licence et tout autre document exigé par l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à un bureau de douane. En outre, les parties actuelles du Règlement qui concernent la délivrance et la perte de licences seraient supprimées, car elles ne sont plus pertinentes en raison de la nature électronique du Nouveau CEED. La partie qui concerne les modifications apportées aux licences a été modifiée pour la même raison.

Pour nous joindre :

Les exportateurs qui ont des questions liées à ce règlement peuvent contacter:

La Direction de la politique des contrôles à l'exportation au:

Direction de la politique des contrôles à l'exportation (TIR)
Affaires mondiales Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Téléphone : 343‑203‑4331
Télécopieur : 613‑996‑9933
Courriel : expctrlpol@international.gc.ca

Si les questions ou commentaires sont au sujet des exportations de certains produits forestiers, veuillez aussi inclure la Direction du bois d'œuvre résineux au:

Direction du bois d'œuvre résineux (TNS)
Affaires mondiales Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Téléphone : 343-203-5386
Télécopieur 613-944-2491
Courriel : Logs-Billes_de_bois@international.gc.ca

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: