Language selection

Search

Archived information

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Message to Industry: Barley Products Tariff Rate Quota (TRQ)

This message pertains to imports of barley products classified under Customs Tariff headings: 11.02, 11.03, 11.04, 11.07, 11.08, 19.01, 19.04 and 23.02.

The purpose of this message is to inform you that the 2019-2020 Barley Products Tariff Rate Quota will be filled as of 11:59 pm local time on January 30, 2020, and that the “within access commitment” tariff items will be closed at that time.

All imports of barley products accounted for after the cut-off date and time will be classified at the “over access commitment” tariff item number, even if they were imported (or imported and released) before the quota has been filled.

Once the TRQ level is reached, General Import Permit No. 20 – Wheat and Wheat Products and Barley and Barley Products (GIP No. 20) will be suspended in respect to the relevant goods until July 31, 2020, and General Import Permit No. 100 – Eligible Agricultural Goods (GIP No. 100) will cover, for the balance of the 2019-2020 marketing year, unlimited imports classified under the "over access commitment" tariff item number.  Therefore, as of 11:59 p.m. local time on January 30, 2020, importers of barley products may no longer invoke GIP No. 20 when importing such goods.

Please note that after the TRQ level is reached, some barley products that qualify under the U.S., Mexican, Chilean, Peruvian, Costa Rican or European tariffs will continue to be assessed at the “within access” lower rate of duty. Questions regarding to the tariff classification of a product should be addressed to Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA). 

A Notice to Importers explaining this action will be available on our web site at:
https://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/wheat-ble/index.aspx?lang=eng

If you have any questions, please e-mail: wheat.barley-ble.orge@international.gc.ca.

Date Modified:

Message aux parties de l’industrie : Le contingent tarifaire (ct) pour les produits d’orge

Ce message concerne les importations de produits d’orge classés dans les positions tarifaires 11.02, 11.03, 11.04, 11.07, 11.08, 19.01, 19.04 et 23.02 du Tarif des douanes.

Le présent avis vise à vous informer que le contingent tarifaire pour les produits d’orge pour 2019-2020 sera épuisé à compter de 23h59 heure locale le 30 janvier 2020 et que les numéros tarifaires « à l'intérieur de l'engagement d'accès » seront fermés à ce moment.

Toute importation de produits d’orge déclarée après le temps et la date de clôture devra être classée dans les numéros tarifaires « au dessus de l'engagement d'accès », même si elle a été importée (ou importée et dédouanée) avant l'épuisement du contingent.

Une fois que le niveau maximal du CT sera atteint, la Licence générale d’importation no 20 — Froment (blé) et sous-produits du froment (blé) et orge et sous-produits de l’orge (LGI no 20) sera suspendue à l'égard des produits visés jusqu'au 31 juillet 2020.  La Licence générale d’importation no 100 — Marchandises agricoles admissibles (LGI no 100) couvrira, pour le reste de l'exercice de commercialisation 2019-2020, toutes les importations classées dans des numéros tarifaires « au dessus de l'engagement d'accès ».  Par conséquent, à compter de 23h59 heure local le 30 janvier 2020, les importateurs de produits d’orge ne pourront plus se prévaloir de la LGI no 20 pour importer de tels produits.

Veuillez noter qu’une fois le niveau de contingent tarifaire a été atteint, certains produits d’orge assujettis aux taux de droit des États-Unis, du Mexique, du Chili, du Pérou, de Costa Rica ou de l’Europe continueront d’être assujettis aux taux de droit « à l'intérieur de l'engagement d'accès ». Les questions concernant la classification tarifaire d'un produit doivent être adressées à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). 

Un Avis aux importateurs expliquant ces mesures sera disponible sur le site internet: https://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/wheat-ble/index.aspx?lang=fra

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à contacter: wheat.barley-ble.orge@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: