Steel and aluminum

Canada’s steel and aluminum industries are key contributors to the Canadian economy, providing well-paying jobs and key inputs for other major industries, including energy, advanced manufacturing, construction, and auto-making.

In 2019, the Canadian steel industry employed over 25,000 workers and contributed $3.8 billion to Canada’s gross domestic product (GDP). For the same year, the Canadian aluminum industry employed approximately 10,000 workers and contributed $3.1 billion to our GDP.

The Canadian and United States (U.S.) steel and aluminum industries are deeply integrated, and underpin continental supply chains that strengthen the global competitiveness of the North American economy. Canada is a longstanding safe and secure supplier of steel and aluminum to the U.S. defence industry.

Canada imports more steel from the U.S. than any other country in the world, accounting for roughly 40% of U.S. exports. In 2019, $11.5 billion of steel was traded between Canada and the United States.

On aluminum, Canada and the U.S. share a highly integrated market with combined trade of $12.9 billion in 2019. About 81% of Canada’s primary aluminum production is exported to the United States, where it is used as an important input for further processing into products for U.S. domestic and export markets.

U.S. tariffs on Canadian steel and aluminum

On June 1, 2018, the U.S. imposed a 25 percent tariff on imports of Canadian steel and a 10 percent tariff on imports of Canadian aluminum under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act, which relates to perceived effect of imports on U.S. national security. In response, Canada imposed retaliatory tariffs against a proportionate amount of imports from the United States.

On May 17, 2019, the U.S. and Canada issued a joint statement announcing the elimination of the Section 232 tariffs against Canada and Canada’s countermeasures against the U.S., and the end to all related WTO litigation.

On August 6, 2020, the U.S. announced the imposition of tariffs of 10 per cent on imports of certain aluminum products from Canada, which took effect on August 16, 2020.

On September 15, 2020, the U.S. Trade Representative announced the return of tariff-free treatment of Canadian aluminum, effective September 1, 2020.

Steel Safeguards

In the context of global conditions affecting trade in steel, the Government of Canada imposed final safeguards in the form of Tariff-Rate Quotas (TRQs) on two classes of steel products – heavy plate and stainless steel wire. The final safeguards came into force on May 13, 2019 and will remain in place until October 24, 2021. The TRQs are administered by Global Affairs Canada through shipment-specific import permits. Any additional quantities of the subject products may continue to be imported into Canada, but would be subject to the appropriate surtax. Please refer to the Notice to Importers, Serial No. 983 for detailed information on which products and countries are covered by the TRQs, on how the TRQs are administered and how to apply for a shipment-specific permit.

General Import Permit – Aluminum Products

In the context of global conditions affecting trade in aluminum, the Government of Canada has deemed it necessary to enhance Canada’s aluminum import monitoring capabilities. The addition of aluminum to the Import Control List under Item 83 and the General Import Permit No. 83 – Aluminum Products, came into force on September 1, 2019.

General Import Permits – Carbon and Specialty Steel Products

The Government of Canada has deemed it necessary to enhance Canada’s steel import monitoring capabilities by adding a reporting and record keeping requirement to the steel General Import Permits No. 80 and 81. Please refer to the Notice to Importers, Serial No. 970 for detailed information on these amendments including import requirements and procedures.

News

Related links

Date Modified:

Acier et aluminium

Les industries canadiennes de l'acier et de l'aluminium contribuent de façon importante à l'économie canadienne. Elles sont la source d’emplois bien rémunérés et d’intrants essentiels à d'autres industries importantes, notamment celles de l'énergie, de la fabrication de pointe, de la construction et de l'automobile.

En 2019, l’industrie canadienne de l’acier employait plus de 25 000 travailleurs et représentait 3,8 milliards de dollars du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du pays. La même année, l’industrie canadienne de l’aluminium employait environ 10 000 travailleurs et représentait 3,1 milliards de dollars du PIB.

Les industries canadienne et américaine de l'acier et de l'aluminium sont profondément intégrées. Elles soutiennent des chaînes d'approvisionnement continentales qui renforcent la compétitivité de l'économie nord-américaine dans le monde. Le Canada est depuis longtemps un fournisseur sûr et fiable d'acier et d'aluminium de l'industrie de la défense des États-Unis.

Le Canada importe plus d’acier américain que tout autre pays au monde, achats qui représentent environ 40 % des exportations américaines en 2019. En 2018, 11,5 milliards de dollars d’acier ont été échangés entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

En matière d’aluminium, le Canada et les États-Unis se partagent un marché hautement intégré dont le commerce combiné était évalué à 12,9 milliards de dollars en 2019. Environ 81 % de la production d’aluminium primaire du Canada est exportée aux États-Unis, où il est utilisé comme intrant important dans la transformation ultérieure de produits destinés aux marchés intérieurs et à l’exportation.

Droits de douane américains sur l’acier et l’aluminium canadiens

Le 1er juin 2018, les États-Unis ont imposé des droits de douane de 25 % sur les importations d’acier et de 10 % sur les importations d’aluminium canadiens aux termes de l’article 232 de la Trade Expansion Act, qui a trait à l’effet perçu des importations sur la sécurité nationale des États-Unis. En guise de réponse, le Canada a imposé des tarifs de rétorsion sur une quantité proportionnelle d’importations en provenance des États-Unis.

Le 17 mai 2019, le Canada et les États-Unis ont publié une déclaration commune annonçant l’élimination des droits de douane imposés contre le Canada au titre de la section 232, la suppression des mesures de rétorsion adoptées par le Canada contre les États-Unis et la fin de tous les litiges connexes à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.

Le 6 août 2020, les États-Unis ont annoncé l’imposition de droits de douane de 10 % sur les importations de certains produits de l’aluminium en provenance du Canada. Ces droits sont entrés en vigueur le 16 août 2020.

Sauvegardes pour l’acier

Compte tenu des conditions mondiales qui touchent le commerce de l’acier, le gouvernement du Canada a imposé des mesures de sauvegarde finales sous forme de contingents tarifaires (CT) à 2 classes de produits : les tôles en acier lourdes et les fils en acier inoxydable. Les mesures de sauvegarde finales sont entrées en vigueur le 13 mai 2019 et seront maintenues jusqu’au 24 octobre 2021. Affaires mondiales Canada administre les CT au moyen de licences d’importation spécifiques à chaque expédition. Toute quantité supplémentaire des produits visés peut continuer à être importée au Canada, mais sera soumise à la surtaxe appropriée. Veuillez consulter l’Avis aux importateurs, No de série 983 pour obtenir des informations détaillées sur les produits et les pays visés par les CT, sur la manière dont ceux-ci sont administrés et sur la marche à suivre pour demander une licence d’importation spécifique.

Licence générale d’importation – Produits d’aluminium

Dans le contexte global des conditions affectant le commerce de l’aluminium, le gouvernement du Canada a jugé nécessaire d’améliorer les capacités de surveillance des importations d’aluminium du Canada. L’ajout de l’aluminium dans la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée sous l’article 83 et la Licence générale d’importation no 83 – Produits d’aluminium, est entré en vigueur le 1er septembre 2019.

Licences générales d’importation – Acier ordinaire et acier spécialisé

Le gouvernement du Canada a jugé nécessaire d’améliorer les capacités de surveillance des importations de l’acier du Canada, en ajoutant une exigence de déclaration et de tenue des dossiers aux Licences générales d’importation (LGI) no 80 et 81. Veuillez consulter l’Avis aux importateurs, No 970 pour de l’information détaillée sur ces changements, incluant les exigences et les procédures des importations.

Nouvelles

Liens connexes

Date de modification: