How trade and investment agreements develop in stages

International agreements generally go through the following progression, with some exceptions for different types of agreements:

  1. Exploratory discussions
  2. Negotiations
  3. Concluded negotiations
  4. Signed
  5. In force

Below you can read about what each stage means and learn what the exceptions are.

1) Exploratory discussions

For free trade agreements (FTA) and foreign investment promotion and protection agreements (FIPA), exploratory discussions are often the first step countries take to figure out what could be included in an agreement. Using economic modelling tools such as feasibility or joint studies, they determine if there would be enough interest or economic benefit in entering into an FTA or FIPA. They are not negotiations, and do not guarantee that the parties will decide to launch negotiations.

2) Negotiations

Negotiations are launched once a negotiating mandate is approved. The negotiating teams are led by a chief negotiator and include experts covering all topics under negotiation. The pace and duration of negotiations varies according to each initiative.

Some agreements generally begin directly with negotiations and do not have formal exploratory discussions. These include plurilateral agreements, World Trade Organization (WTO) agreements and mutual recognition agreements or arrangements (MRA).

3) Concluded negotiations

Negotiations conclude once the parties arrive at consensus on all elements of an agreement. The draft text of the agreement must then be reviewed by lawyers, translated and go through the domestic approval process of each party.

4) Signed

The agreement is signed by all parties after the domestic approval process is completed. Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, or a person the minister designates, can sign the agreement after getting policy approval from Cabinet and legal authority through an order in council.

5) In force

Typically, an agreement will enter into force once parties to the agreement have completed their internal ratification processes and informed each other that they are ready for the agreement to enter into force.

In Canada, the ratification process begins with the agreement being tabled in the House of Commons for 21 days for consideration and debate. Implementing legislation is also normally required and will be reviewed and passed by Parliament in order to receive royal assent. Once the Government of Canada satisfies its legislative requirements and regulatory changes have been made, the agreement can enter into force. This is subject to an order in council which provides authority to the Government of Canada to complete steps to bring the treaty into force.

In the case of FTAs, the agreements can have provisions that are implemented in stages. For example, tariffs can be slowly phased out, quotas modified and regulations adjusted over time. “Full implementation” occurs when the longest tariff phase-outs or other transition measures in the agreement have been completed.

For plurilateral agreements or multilateral agreements, there are sometimes specific thresholds, such as requiring ratification by a certain number of countries, before the agreement can enter into force.

Finally, mutual recognition arrangements, which are not legally binding, are not subject to a ratification process. By contrast, mutual recognition agreements are legally binding and so have to be ratified.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Comment les accords de commerce et d’investissement sont élaborés par étape

L’élaboration des accords internationaux suit habituellement la progression décrite ci-après.

  1. Discussions préliminaires
  2. Négociations
  3. Négociations concludes
  4. Signé
  5. En vigueur

Certaines exceptions existent pour d’autres types d’accord.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez en quoi consiste chaque étape et quelles sont les exceptions.

Discussions préliminaires

Dans le cas des accords de libre-échange (ALE) et des accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements (APIE) les discussions préliminaires constituent souvent la première étape au cours de laquelle les pays déterminent ce qu’ils souhaitent inclure dans un accord. À l’aide d’outils de modélisation économique tels que des études de faisabilité ou des études conjointes, ils déterminent si conclure un ALE ou un APIE présente suffisamment d’intérêt ou d’avantages économiques. Ces discussions ne sont pas des négociations et ne garantissent pas que les parties décideront d’ouvrir d’entamer des négociations.

Négociations

Les négociations sont lancées dès l’approbation du mandat de négociation. Les équipes de négociation sont dirigées par un négociateur en chef. Elles comprennent des experts de tous les domaines en cours de négociation. Le rythme et la durée des négociations fluctuent selon les initiatives.

Certains accords commencent en général directement par des négociations sans connaître de discussions préliminaires officielles. Parmi ceux-ci, il y a les accords de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), et les accords ou arrangements de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM).

Négociations conclues

Les négociations sont conclues dès que les parties sont parvenues à un consensus sur l’ensemble des éléments de l’accord. Le texte provisoire de l’accord doit être ensuite analysé par des juristes, puis traduit et suivre le processus national d’approbation de chacune des parties.

Signé

L’accord est signé dès que le processus national d’approbation de toutes les parties est mené à terme. Le ou la ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, ou une personne qu’il ou elle désigne, peut signer l’accord après obtention de l’approbation politique du Cabinet et l’autorité juridique par décret.

En vigueur

Généralement, un accord entre en vigueur dès que les parties ont mené à terme leur processus nationaux de ratification et se sont informées mutuellement qu’elles sont prêtes pour l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord.

Au Canada, le processus de ratification commence par le dépôt de l’accord à la Chambre des communes pendant 21 jours pour examen et discussion. Normalement une loi d’application est aussi exigée, celle-ci sera ensuit examinée et adoptée par le Parlement afin d’obtenir la sanction royale. Dès que le Gouvernement du Canada satisfait aux exigences législatives et que les modifications réglementaires ont été apportées, l’accord peut entrer en vigueur. Ceci fait l’objet d’un décret du Conseil qui confère au Gouvernement du Canada le pouvoir d’achever les étapes du processus permettant l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord.

Dans le cas des ALE, les accords peuvent comporter des dispositions pouvant être mise en œuvre en plusieurs étapes. Par exemple, les droits de douane peuvent être progressivement éliminés, et, au fil du temps les quotas modifiés et les règlements adaptés. Une « mise en œuvre complète » a lieu lorsque la période d’élimination progressive des droits de douane la plus longue ou d’autres mesures de transition de l’accord ont été menées à bien.

Dans le cas des accords plurilatéraux ou des accords multilatéraux, il existe parfois des seuils spécifiques, consistant par exemple à exiger la ratification d’un certain nombre de pays afin que l'accord puisse entrer en vigueur.

Enfin, les arrangements de reconnaissance mutuelle, n’étant pas juridiquement contraignants, ne sont pas soumis à un processus de ratification. À l’inverse, les accords de reconnaissance mutuelle, juridiquement contraignants, doivent de ce fait être ratifiés.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: