Joint feasibility study on a potential Canada-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement

Executive summary

ASEAN and Canada have a long history of cooperation. The bilateral relationship has grown steadily since 1977, when Canada became an ASEAN Dialogue Partner. As a group, ASEAN is the sixth largest economy in the world and one of the largest drivers of growth in the Asia-Pacific region. Canada is the 10 th largest economy in the world, a strong and stable economic partner, and a leader in global trade, services, investment and research and development. Both ASEAN and Canada have identified economic cooperation and trade and investment as necessary elements in further growing and developing their respective economies, as well as the Canada-ASEAN bilateral relationship.

In August 2016, at the ASEAN Economic Ministers (AEM)-Canada Consultations(Vientiane, Lao PDR), ASEAN and Canada's economic ministers agreed to co-develop a feasibility study to explore the potential for a Canada-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement (FTA).

The in-depth study was conducted jointly by the Global Affairs Canada Office of the Chief Economist and the Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA) (on behalf of ASEAN), and provides the following:

Economic modelling was conducted in parallel by Canada and ASEAN, with Canada focusing on the impact of liberalizing trade in goods, services and investment in the context of a potential FTA, and ASEAN focusing on the impact of liberalizing trade in goods, reducing non-tariff measures (NTMs) and improving trade facilitation.

The study highlights the benefits that would be gained through deeper integration in an age of global commerce characterized by sophisticated global value chains across multiple countries. Further, it demonstrates that a comprehensive agreement, one which moves beyond simple tariff elimination and includes services and investment liberalization, a reduction in NTMs, and improvements to trade facilitation, is in the best interest of both Canada and ASEAN member states.

Bilateral Trends in Trade

The Canada-ASEAN economic relationship has grown significantly, especially in the area of trade in goods and services. Canada is ASEAN's 15 th largest trading partner, while ASEAN collectively represents Canada's sixth largest trading partner. Total Canada-ASEAN bilateral trade in 2016 amounted to US$20.2 billion. Trade between ASEAN and Canada has grown at an annual average rate of 5.7 percent since 2004. In 2016, ASEAN's merchandise exports to Canada reached US$12 billion while Canada's merchandise exports reached US$4.3 billion.

In 2016, Canadian services exports to ASEAN totalled US$1.5 billion, and ASEAN services exports to Canada amounted to US$2.3 billionFootnote 1. In 2016, the value of the WTOFootnote 2 trade complementarity index between Canada and ASEAN equalled 59.9, which indicates a relatively high degree of trade complementarity between Canada and ASEAN.

Canada's foreign direct investment in ASEAN reached over US$8.9 billion in 2016. Key sectors where Canadian companies are investing in ASEAN include financial and insurance services, manufacturing, infrastructure, information and communication technologies, aerospace and defense, oil and gas, sustainable technologies, agriculture and agri-food, and education. ASEAN member states' foreign direct investment in Canada is more modest, at US$249.2 millionFootnote 3.

Respective Approaches to Free Trade Agreements

The study provides an overview of the trade agreements concluded by both Parties and describes ASEAN and Canada's typical approaches to FTAs across various areas. ASEAN as a group has six FTAs with external partners, five of which are currently in forceFootnote 4. These FTAs reflect varying levels of comprehensiveness and liberalization. Canada has a total of twelve FTAs in force with countries at varying stages of economic development, and favours a comprehensive approach when negotiating its FTAs with trading partners.

Table 1 below identifies areas that ASEAN and Canada have included in their past FTAs, illustrating the differences in potential FTA approaches. Notwithstanding the information shown in the table below, the study notes that 4 out of 10 ASEAN member states have also recently covered a number of additional issue areas as part of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

Table 1: Negotiated Areas Included in Previous Agreements
 ASEANCanada
Trade in Goods  
National Treatment and Market Access for GoodsXX
Rules of Origin and Origin ProceduresXX
Customs and Trade FacilitationXX
Technical Barriers to TradeXX
Sanitary and Phytosanitary MeasuresXX
Trade in Services  
Cross-Border Trade in Services (CBTS)XX
Domestic Regulation and TransparencyXX
Movement of Natural Persons/
Temporary Entry for Business Persons
XX
Financial ServicesXX
TelecommunicationsXX
InvestmentXX
Other Areas Relevant to Trade and Investment  
Competition PolicyXX
Government Procurement X
Intellectual PropertyXX
Labour X
Environment X
Electronic CommerceXX
Monopolies and State-Owned-Enterprises X
Small and Medium Sized EnterprisesXX
Gender X
Transparency and Anti-Corruption X
Economic and Technical CooperationX 
Dispute SettlementXX

Modelling of a Canada-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement

Economic modelling performed by both ASEAN and Canada, based on varying scopes of liberalization, provides a comprehensive analysis of the economic benefits of a potential Canada-ASEAN FTA.

For the purpose of the modelling, both ASEAN and Canada followed the same assumptions with respect to tariff elimination: complete elimination of all tariffs in both ASEAN and Canada for all agricultural and non-agricultural products, with no exception made for sensitive products.

Canada, in-line with its typical FTA economic modelling approach, also modelled the effect of potential services and investment liberalization between Canada and ASEAN. ASEAN did not model services or investment liberalization, but chose to model the impact of a reduction of NTMsand improvements to trade facilitation on the trading relationship.

Both parties studied the dynamic impacts of the agreement over medium and long term horizons. It is worth noting that the results of simulations are primarily in terms of rate of changes rather than absolute changes.

Impacts of a Potential Canada-ASEAN FTA

Both sets of modelling demonstrated that a comprehensive FTA would deliver significant trade and economic benefits for all ASEAN member states and Canada, and promote closer economic relations over the long term.

The analysis conducted by ASEAN shows that the impact of an agreement that includes goods liberalization, a reduction of NTMs and improvements to trade facilitation would increase ASEAN's GDP by US$39.4 billion (1.6 percent) and Canada's GDP by US$5.1 billion (0.3 percent). Likewise, an agreement would increase ASEAN's exports to Canada by US$3.36 billion (18.7 percent) and Canadian exports to ASEAN by US$3.18 billion (26.5 percent).

The analysis conducted by Canada shows that the impact of an agreement that includes goods, services and investment liberalization, would increase ASEAN's GDP by US$6.01 billion (0.12 percent) and Canada's GDP by US$2.54 billion (0.10 percent). Furthermore, a potential agreement would increase ASEAN exports to Canada by US$4.81 billion (15.5 percent) and Canadian exports to ASEAN by US$2.67 billion (13.3 percent).

Table 2 provides the breakdown of both ASEAN member states and Canada's GDP gains from their respective aggregate modelling scenarios while Tables3 and 4 provide the anticipated sectoral changes in bilateral trade between Canada and ASEAN member states.

Table 2: GDP Gains as a Result of a Canada-ASEAN FTA
 Goods, NTMs and Trade FacilitationGoods, Services and Investment
US$ (Million)Percent Change (%)US$ (Million)Percent Change (%)
Brunei126.90.7412.00.04
Cambodia675.94.14352.30.71
Indonesia7,054.30.791,292.10.09
Lao PDR260.22.2279.50.28
Malaysia6,639.01.96306.40.04
Myanmar820.01.2985.80.05
Philippines7,490.02.631,979.90.20
Singapore2,231.00.73114.40.02
Thailand7,967.31.971,425.81.43
Vietnam6,096.43.25364.50.08
Canada5,104.40.292,543.50.10
Table 3: Changes in Exports of ASEAN Member States to Canada (US$ Million)
 Goods, NTMs and Trade FacilitationGoods, Services and Investment
PrimaryManufacturingServicesPrimaryManufacturingServices
Brunei0.00.90.30.00.17.4
Cambodia0.1396.80.0(0.3)1,271.10.8
Indonesia13.2860.70.75.91,336.517.2
Lao PDR0.15.40.2(0.0)139.71.0
Malaysia1.1315.0(2.7)10.29.0108.1
Myanmar0.410.00.10.032.72.8
Philippines3.6378.2(3.6)37.9367.057.5
Singapore0.599.14.2(0.0)5.5(4.5)
Thailand48.3867.33.7184.4927.583.7
Vietnam13.1350.1(2.9)(0.3)157.355.3
Table 4: Changes in Imports of ASEAN Member States from Canada (US$ Million)
 Goods, NTMs and Trade FacilitationGoods, Services and Investment
PrimaryManufacturingServicesPrimaryManufacturingServices
Brunei0.210.7(0.1)(0.0)0.110.0
Cambodia0.69.60.60.317.76.9
Indonesia186.0661.30.421.8171.7105.4
Lao PDR0.019.80.20.014.263.0
Malaysia60.4375.66.3(0.4)4.5110.9
Myanmar1.218.60.00.76.7106.6
Philippines297.9454.73.5854.3264.5111.0
Singapore18.1152.3(15.9)(0.2)5.4(13.7)
Thailand180.2451.77.551.3356.9315.7
Vietnam49.3221.26.37.66.667.2

Canada and four ASEAN member states (Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, and Vietnam) are Parties to the CPTPP. Once the CPTPP Agreement enters into force, Canada will have a free trade agreement with four of ten ASEAN member states. As such, Canada and the ASEAN CPTPP countries will benefit from a reduction and elimination of tariffs and other barriers once the CPTPP enters into force. As a result, the modelling indicates that Canada's trade with ASEAN member states that are not party to the CPTPP will increase relatively more from a Canada-ASEAN FTA than Canada's trade with ASEAN countries that are party to the CPTPP. Total bilateral trade between Canada and ASEAN's non-CPTPP member states is expected to increase by US$7.0 billion.

At the same time, ASEAN countries that are party to the CPTPP also stand to gain from a Canada-ASEAN FTA. This would, in part, be as a result of new Canada-ASEAN rules of origin that would permit ASEAN CPTPP countries to build on and strengthen their supply chains with non-CPTPP ASEAN countries. This is in contrast to the CPTPP rules of origin, which limit the full potential of intra-ASEAN supply chains by treating only the content from the four ASEAN countries that are part of CPTPP as originating. A Canada-ASEAN FTA would extend the cumulative effect associated with rules of origin to all ASEAN members in the context of Canada-ASEAN bilateral trade, increasing shared production among ASEAN countries.

This cumulative effect would not only boost ASEAN CPTPP countries' trade with Canada, but would also result in greater sourcing flexibility amongst ASEAN members themselves, ultimately increasing intra-ASEAN trade. Furthermore, the analysis shows that ASEAN CPTPP countries' trade with Canada would increase by US$546.3 million, and their trade with ASEAN non-CPTPP members would increase by US$1.45 billion (shown in Table 5). Overall, intra-ASEAN trade gains resulting from cumulative rules of origin as well as overall income gains under a Canada-ASEAN FTA would total US$2.68 billion.

Table 5: Trade between CPTPP and non-CPTPP Countries of ASEAN Member States as a result of a Canada-ASEAN FTA (US$ Million)*
 Imports from ASEANExports to ASEAN
CPTPPNon-CPTPPCPTPPNon-CPTPP
ChangePercent Change (%)ChangePercent Change (%)ChangePercent Change (%)ChangePercent Change (%)
Non-CPTPP1059.50.01625.70.005394.90.003596.80.005
*Canada’s Office of the Chief Economist Outcomes

Variations in the Modelling Results

ASEAN and Canada worked to reduce variations in the modelling results by using a shared data set and applying the same assumptions for tariff elimination. To further enhance the value of the study, ASEAN and Canada conducted analysis on additional liberalization in other areas to demonstrate the benefits of liberalization beyond goods. The results showed that gains beyond goods liberalization would be significant.

Conclusion and Next Steps

Taken together, the analysis demonstrates that a comprehensive agreement (i.e. one that moves beyond tariff liberalization alone) would create greater opportunities for both ASEAN member states and Canada. Furthermore, liberalization of tariffs, services and investment, removal of NTMs and improvements to trade facilitation within an FTA would have a positive impact on bilateral trade and GDP for all ASEAN member states and Canada.

By co-developing the joint feasibility study and including multi-scenario analysis, a comprehensive perspective on the potential benefits of a Canada-ASEAN FTA was provided, which emphasized how different factors have the potential to expand the trading relationship and reinforce economic integration between Canada and ASEAN member states.

This study shows that the economic gains that would result from trade expansion between Canada and ASEAN's non-CPTPP members would be larger than the gains experienced by ASEAN CPTPP countries. ASEAN CPTPP countries, however, would also benefit from a potential FTA with Canada as they are expected to accrue additional gains as a result of greater sourcing flexibility resulting from cumulative rules of origin. As a result, ASEAN's non-CPTPP countries would not only expand trade with Canada, but also expand trade with ASEAN's CPTPP countries.

The Canada-ASEAN trade relationship holds significant potential for further growth. As it continues to expand, it will be important to develop a framework to facilitate growth and adapt to new trends and challenges in international trade and investment. An FTA can provide a stable platform for strengthening engagement and cooperation between the two Parties.

Based on the findings of the joint study and their conclusions, it is recommended that ASEAN and Canada engage in a deeper trade and investment relationship that could include the negotiation of a comprehensive FTA between both trading partners.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

L'étude de faisabilité conjointe sur un possible accord de libre-échange (ALE) Canada-ANASE

Sommaire

L'Association des nations de l'Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) et le Canada coopèrent depuis longtemps. Leurs relations bilatérales se développent constamment depuis 1977, année où le Canada est devenu un partenaire de dialogue de l'ANASE. Ce groupe de pays forme la sixième économie mondiale et est l'un des principaux moteurs de la croissance dans la région de l'Asie-Pacifique. Pour sa part, le Canada est la dixième économie mondiale, un partenaire économique solide et stable ainsi qu'un leader mondial dans les domaines du commerce, des services, de l'investissement et de la recherche et développement. Le Canada et l'ANASE estiment tous les deux que la coopération économique, les échanges et les investissements sont nécessaires à la poursuite de leur croissance et de leur développement économiques respectifs, y compris leurs relations bilatérales.

En août 2016, lors de consultations à Vientiane, en République démocratique populaire lao, les ministres de l'Économie de l'ANASE et du Canada se sont entendus pour réaliser ensemble une étude de faisabilité sur un possible accord de libre-échange (ALE) Canada-ANASE.

Cette étude approfondie a été menée conjointement par le Bureau de l'économiste en chef d'Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) et l'Institut de recherche économique de l'ANASE et d'Asie de l'Est (ERIA), pour le compte de l'ANASE. Elle comporte les élémentssuivants :

La modélisation économique a été réalisée en parallèle par le Canada et l'ANASE. C'est ainsi que le Canada s'est concentré sur les répercussions de la libéralisation du commerce des marchandises, des services et de l'investissement dans le contexte d'un ALE éventuel. Quant à elle, l'ANASE s'est penchée sur l'incidence de la libéralisation du commerce des marchandises, la réduction des mesures non tarifaires (MNT) et la facilitation accrue des échanges.

L'étude fait ressortir les avantages d'une meilleure intégration, et cela à une époque où le commerce international se caractérise par des chaà ®nes de valeur mondiales évoluées qui s'étendent à plusieurs pays. En outre, elle démontre qu'un accord commercial global, qui ne se limite pas à l'élimination des droits de douane et qui prévoit la libéralisation des services et de l'investissement, une réduction des MNT et une plus grande facilitation des échanges, est dans le meilleur intérà ªt du Canada et des États membres de l'ANASE.

Tendances bilatérales en matière de commerce

Relations économiques entre le Canada et l'ANASE se sont beaucoup développées, notamment pour ce qui est des échanges de marchandises et de services. Le Canada est le 15 e partenaire commercial de l'ANASE et celle-ci est le 6 e partenaire commercial du Canada. En 2016, leurs échanges bilatéraux se sont chiffrés à 20,2 milliards $ US. Depuis 2004, ces échanges progressent de 5,7 % annuellement. En 2016, les exportations de marchandises de l'ANASE vers le Canada ont totalisé 12 milliards $ US, alors que les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers ce marché se sont élevées à 4,3 milliards $ US.

En 2016, les exportations canadiennes de services vers l'ANASE ont totalisé 1,5 milliard $ US, et celles de l'ANASE vers le Canada, 2,3 milliards $ USNote de bas de page 1. La même année, la valeur de l'indice de complémentarité commerciale de l'OMCNote de bas de page 2 entre le Canada et l'ANASE s'élevait à 59,9, ce qui est relativement élevé.

Toujours en 2016, les investissements directs du Canada dans la région de l'ANASE ont atteint plus de 8,9 milliards $ US. Les principaux secteurs dans lesquels investissent les entreprises canadiennes sur ce marché comprennent : les services financiers et l'assurance, la fabrication, l'infrastructure, les technologies de l'information et de la communication, l'aérospatiale et la défense, le pétrole et gaz naturel, les technologies durables, l'agriculture et l'agroalimentaire et l'éducation. Les investissements directs des membres de l'ANASE au Canada sont plus modestes, s’élevant à 249,2 millions $ USNote de bas de page 3.

Approches respectives en ce qui concerne les accords de libre-échange

L'étude propose un aperçu des accords commerciaux conclus par les deux parties, ainsi qu’une description des approches suivies habituellement par le Canada et l'ANASE dans le cadre des ALE dans différents secteurs. En tant que groupe, l'ANASE a conclu six ALE avec des partenaires externes, dont cinq sont en vigueurNote de bas de page 4. Ces ALE présentent différents niveaux d'exhaustivité et de libéralisation. Le Canada a 12 ALE en vigueur avec des pays qui présentent différents niveaux de développement économique. Il préfère adopter une approche globale pour la négociation d'ALE avec ses partenaires commerciaux.

Tableau 1 ci-dessous présente les secteurs que le Canada et l'ANASE ont précédemment inclus dans leurs ALE, ce qui illustre les différentes approches à envisager pour un ALE potentiel. Nonobstant l'information présentée dans le tableau ci-dessous, l'étude indique que 4 des 10 États membres de l'ANASE se sont également intéressés récemment à un certain nombre de domaines supplémentaires dans le cadre de l'Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP).

Tableau 1 : Secteurs négociés inclus dans les précédents accords
 ANASECanada
Commerce des marchandises  
Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produitsXX
Règles d'origine et procédures relatives à l'origineXX
Régime douanier et facilitation des échangesXX
Obstacles techniques au commerceXX
Mesuressanitaires et phytosanitairesXX
Commerce des services  
Commerce transfrontalier des servicesXX
Transparence et réglementationintérieureXX
Mouvement des personnes physiques/Admission temporaire des hommes et des femmes d'affairesXX
Services financiersXX
TélécommunicationsXX
InvestissementXX
Autres domaines pertinents pour le commerce et l'investissement  
Politique de concurrenceXX
Marchés publics X
PropriétéintellectuelleXX
Main-d'Å“uvre X
Environnement X
Commerce électroniqueXX
Monopoles et entreprisesd'État X
Petites et moyennesentreprisesXX
Égalité des sexes X
Transparence et lutte contre la corruption X
Renforcer la coopération économique et techniqueX 
Règlement des différendsXX

Modélisation d'un accord potentiel de libre-échange entre le Canada et l'ANASE

La modélisation économique réalisée par le Canada et l'ANASE, en fonction de différents degrés de libéralisation, offre une analyse exhaustive des avantages économiques d'un ALE potentiel entre le Canada et l'ANASE.

Aux fins de modélisation, le Canada et l'ANASE ont adopté les mà ªmes hypothèses concernant la suppression des droits de douane, à savoir l'élimination complète de l'ensemble de ces droits dans les pays de l'ANASE et au Canada, et cela pour tous les produits agricoles et non agricoles, sans faire d'exception pour les produits sensibles.

Conformément à son approche habituelle de modélisation économique pour les ALE, le Canada a également modélisé les effets d'une libéralisation éventuelle des services et de l'investissement entre le Canada et l'ANASE. L'ANASE ne l'a pas fait, mais a plutà ´t modélisé l'incidence sur les relations commerciales d'une réduction des MNT et d'une plus grande facilitation des échanges.

Les deux parties ont étudié les effets dynamiques de l'accord sur les objectifs à moyen et long termes. Il convient de noter que les résultats des simulations présentent principalement des taux de variation plutà ´t que des changements absolus.

Effets d'un ALE potentiel entre le Canada et l'ANASE

Deux séries de modélisation ont démontré qu'un ALE global pourrait offrir des avantages commerciaux et économiques importants à l'ensemble des États membres de l'ANASE et au Canada, en plus de favoriser des relations économiques plus étroites à long terme.

Selon l'ANASE, un accord visant, entre autres, la libéralisation des échanges de marchandises, une réduction des MNT et une plus grande facilitation des échanges se traduirait par une augmentation de 39,4 milliards $ US (1,6 %) de son PIB et de 5,1 milliards $ US (0,3 %) de celui du Canada. De la même manière, un ALE entraînerait une augmentation de 3,36 milliards $ US (18,7 %) des exportations de l'ANASE vers le Canada et de 3,18 milliards $ US (26,5 %) des exportations canadiennes vers ce marché .

Selon le Canada, un accord visant, entre autres, la libéralisation des échanges de marchandises et de services et de l'investissement se traduirait par une augmentation de 2,54 milliards $ US (0,10 %) de son PIB et de 6,01 milliards $ US (0,12 %) de celui de l'ANASE. En outre, un ALE éventuel entraînerait une augmentation de 4,81 milliards $ US (15,5 %) des exportations de l'ANASE vers le Canada et de 2,67 milliards $ US (13,3 %) des exportations canadiennes vers ce marché.

Le tableau 2 illustre la répartition de l'augmentation du PIB pour les États membres de le Canada et l'ANASE selon les scénarios de modélisation compilés des deux parties. De même, les tableaux 3 et 4 montrent les changements sectoriels prévus dans les échanges bilatéraux entre le Canada et les États membres de l'ANASE.

Tableau 2 : Augmentation du PIB attribuable à un ALE entre le Canada et l'ANASE
 Marchandises, mesures non tarifaires et facilitation des échanges commerciauxMarchandises, services et investissement
$ US (en millions)Variation en pourcentage (%)$ US (en millions)Variation en pourcentage (%)
Brunéi126,90,7412,00,04
Cambodge675,94,14352,30,71
Indonésie7 054,30,791 292,10,09
République démocratique populaire lao260,22,2279,50,28
Malaisie6 639,01,96306,40,04
Myanmar820,01,2985,80,05
Philippines7 490,02,631 979,90,20
Singapour2 231,00,73114,40,02
Thaïlande7 967,31,971 425,81,43
Vietnam6 096,43,25364,50,08
Canada5 104,40,292 543,50,10
Tableau 3 : Variations des exportations des États membres de l'ANASE vers le Canada (en millions $ US)
 Marchandises, mesures non tarifaires et facilitation des échanges commerciauxMarchandises, services et investissement
PrimaireFabricationServicesPrimaireFabricationServices
Brunéi0,00,90,30,00,17,4
Cambodge0,1396,80,0(0,3)1 271,10,8
Indonésie13,2860,70,75,91 336,517,2
République démocratique populaire lao0,15,40,2(0,0)139,71,0
Malaisie1,1315,0(2,7)10,29,0108,1
Myanmar0,410,00,10,032,72,8
Philippines3,6378,2(3,6)37,9367,057,5
Singapour0,599,14,2(0,0)5,5(4,5)
Thaïlande48,3867,33,7184,4927,583,7
Vietnam13,1350,1(2,9)(0,3)157,355,3
Tableau 4 : Variations des importations des États membres de l'ANASE provenant du Canada (en millions $ US)
 Marchandises, mesures non tarifaires et facilitation des échanges commerciauxMarchandises, services et investissement
PrimaireFabricationServicesPrimaireFabricationServices
Brunéi0,210,7(0,1)(0,0)0,110,0
Cambodge0,69,60,60,317,76,9
Indonésie186,0661,30,421,8171,7105,4
République démocratique populaire lao0,019,80,20,014,263,0
Malaisie60,4375,66,3(0,4)4,5110,9
Myanmar1,218,60,00,76,7106,6
Philippines297,9454,73,5854,3264,5111,0
Singapour18,1152,3(15,9)(0,2)5,4(13,7)
Thaïlande180,2451,77,551,3356,9315,7
Vietnam49,3221,26,37,66,667,2

Le Canada et quatre des 10 États membres de l'ANASE (Brunéi, Malaysie, Singapour et Vietnam) sont parties au PTPGP. Dès que le PTPGP entrera en vigueur, le Canada aura donc un accord de libre-échange avec ces quatre États. De même, le Canada et ces quatre pays bénéficieront d'une diminution et d'une élimination des droits de douane, y compris de la levée d'autres obstacles. Toutefois, selon la modélisation, après la conclusion d'un ALE Canada-ANASE, l'augmentation de nos échanges avec les États membres de l'ANASE non parties au PTPGP sera relativement plus élevée que celle de nos échanges avec ceux qui en sont parties. Cette augmentation, prévoit-on, sera de l'ordre de 7 milliards $ US.

Par ailleurs, un ALE Canada-ANASE sera aussi avantageux pour les pays de l'ANASE parties au PTPGP. Ces avantages découleront en partie des nouvelles règles d'origine de l'ANASE et du Canada, grâce auxquelles les pays de l'ANASE parties au PTPGP pourront consolider leurs chaînes d'approvisionnement avec les non-parties. Cela contraste avec les règles d'origine du PTPGP, qui empêchent d'exploiter tout le potentiel des chaînes d'approvisionnement au sein de l'ANASE, puisqu'elles ne s'appliquent qu'aux quatre pays parties. Un ALE Canada-ANASE étendrait l'effet cumulatif associé aux règles d'origine à tous les membres de l'ANASE, dans le contexte des échanges bilatéraux entre les deux parties, de manière à accroître la production commune entre les pays de l'ANASE.

Cet effet cumulatif non seulement stimulera les échanges des pays de l'ANASE parties au PTPGP avec le Canada, mais se traduira aussi par plus de souplesse en matière d'approvisionnement entre les membres de l'ANASE, si bien qu'en définitive, les échanges entre ces pays augmenteront aussi. En outre, comme l'indique le tableau 5, selon l'analyse, les échanges des pays de l'ANASE parties au PTPGP avec le Canada augmenteraient de 546,3 millions $ US, et ceux avec les pays membres non parties, de 1,45 milliard $ US. Dans l'ensemble, on estime qu'après la conclusion d'un ALE Canada-ANASE, les gains commerciaux des pays de l'ANASE attribuables aux règles d'origine cumulatives et l'augmentation de leurs revenus s'élèveraient à 2,68 milliards $ US en tout.

Tableau 5 : Échanges commerciaux entre les pays membres de l'ANASE qui participent au PTPGP et les autres pays membres de l'ANASE qui seraient attribuables à un ALE entre le Canada et l'ANASE (en millions $ US) *
 Importations en provenance de l'ANASEExportations vers l'ANASE
PTPGPNe participant pas au PTPGPPTPGPNe participant pas au PTPGP
ChangementVariationenpourcent age (%)ChangementVariationenpourcent age (%)ChangementVariationenpourcent age (%)ChangementVariationenpourcent age (%)
Ne participant pas au PTPGP1 059,50,01625,70,005394,90,003596,80,005
*Résultats du Bureau de l'économiste en chef du Canada

Variations des résultats de modélisation

Le Canada et l'ANASE se sont efforcés de limiter les écarts dans les résultats de modélisation en utilisant un ensemble commun de données et les mà ªmes hypothèses pour l'élimination des droits de douane. Pour que cette étude soit encore plus utile, ils ont aussi analysé la libéralisation dans d'autres domaines afin de démontrer que les avantages de la libéralisation ne se limitent pas aux échanges de marchandises. Les résultats montrent que la libéralisation dans d'autres domaines que les échanges de marchandises procurerait des avantages importants.

Conclusion et prochaines étapes

Dans l'ensemble, l'analyse donne à penser qu'un accord global (qui ne se limite pas à la libéralisation des droits de douane) offrirait de meilleures possibilités aux États membres de l'ANASE et au Canada. Par ailleurs, la libéralisation des droits de douane, des services et de l'investissement, l'élimination des MNT et une plus grande facilitation des échanges dans le cadre d'un ALE auraient des effets positifs sur les échanges bilatéraux et le PIB de tous les États membres de l'ANASE et du Canada.

En collaborant à l'élaboration de l'étude de faisabilité conjointe et en analysant plusieurs scénarios, il a été possible de dresser un portrait global des avantages pouvant découler d'un ALE entre le Canada et l'ANASE. Cela a permis, entre autres, de mettre en évidence la façon dont différents facteurs peuvent contribuer à l'expansion des relations commerciales et à l'intégration économique entre le Canada et les États membres de l'ANASE.

Selon cette étude, les gains économiques liés à l'expansion des échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et les pays de l'ANASE non parties au PTPGP seraient plus importants que ceux des pays de l'ANASE parties au PTPGP. Toutefois, un ALE avec le Canada sera aussi bénéfique à ces derniers, car ils retireront d'autres avantages, du fait d'une plus grande flexibilité en matière d'approvisionnement résultant des règles d'origine cumulatives. En conséquence, les pays de l'ANASE non parties au PTPGP développeront non seulement leurs échanges commerciaux avec le Canada, mais aussi avec les pays de l'ANASE parties au PTPGP.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et l'ANASE présentent un potentiel de croissance supplémentaire important. À mesure qu'elles continueront de se développer, il importera de mettre en place un cadre facilitant la croissance et l'adaptation aux nouvelles tendances et défis en matière de commerce international et d'investissement. Un ALE peut fournir une plateforme stable pour renforcer le dialogue et la coopération entre les deux parties.

Conformément aux constatations et conclusions de l'étude conjointe, nous recommandons que le Canada et l'ANASE approfondissent leurs relations commerciales et en matière d'investissement. Cela pourrait se traduire par la négociation d'un ALE global entre les deux partenaires commerciaux.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: