Administrative Arrangement (AA) between the Department of Health of Canada and the European Commission's Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers on the exchange of information on the safety of non-food consumer products

This Administrative Arrangement (AA) is concluded between the Department of Health of Canada (Health Canada) and the Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers of the European Commission (DG Justice and Consumers), hereinafter referred to as the “Participants”.

DG Justice and Consumers is the European Commission’s Department responsible for the European Union (EU) policies and legislation in the areas of consumer protection and the General Product Safety Directive 2001/95/EC, for operating the Rapid Alert System on non-food products (RAPEX), and for promoting and organising administrative cooperation between the enforcement authorities of the EU Member States and European Economic Area countries for the objectives of these acts.

Regulation (EC) 765/2008, setting out the requirements for accreditation and market surveillance relating to the marketing of products, provides that the Rapid Alert System on non-food products (RAPEX) provided for in Directive 2001/95/EC is also used for information exchange between the EU Member States on dangerous harmonised products requiring rapid intervention, including cosmetics. Harmonised products are substances, preparations or goods produced through a manufacturing process other than food, feed, living plants and animals, products of human origin and products of plants and animals relating directly to their future reproduction which fall within the scope of specific Union harmonisation legislation, whether intended for consumers or for professional users.

The Consumer Product Safety Directorate (CPSD) is Health Canada’s directorate responsible for identifying, assessing, managing and communicating to Canadians any health or safety risks associated with consumer products under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act and related regulations, and cosmetics under the Food and Drugs Act and the Cosmetic Regulations and is responsible for operating the Regulatory Action Depot / Dépôt d’Actions Réglementaires (RADAR) case management system. Health Canada designates the CPSD to implement this Administrative Arrangement.

Both Participants aim to protect the health and safety of consumers in their respective jurisdictions to the highest possible degree.

Global product supply chains result in the EU and Canadian authorities often facing similar consumer product safety challenges, as the same products or types of products may appear in their respective jurisdictions, even when produced in third countries.

This voluntary mechanism for the sharing and exchange of information is based on Article 21.7 of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), concluded between the EU and its Member States and Canada in Brussels on 30 October 2016.

Chapter XXI of the CETA on Regulatory Cooperation provides that the Parties endeavour to cooperate and share information on a voluntary basis in the area of non-food product safety.

Article 21.7 (4) of Chapter XXI of the CETA provides that the Parties may establish reciprocal exchange of information on the safety of consumer products and on preventive, restrictive and corrective measures taken. In particular, Canada may receive access to selected information from the EU's RAPEX alert system, or its successor, with respect to consumer products, as referred to in Directive 2001/95/EC on general product safety, and the EU may receive early warning information on restrictive measures and product recalls from Canada's consumer product incident reporting system, known as RADAR, or its successor, with respect to consumer products, as defined in the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act, S.C. 2010, c. 21, and cosmetics, as defined in the Food and Drugs Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-27.

Paragraphs 5, 6 and 7 of Article 21.7 of Chapter XXI of the CETA further provide the conditions under which the Parties intend to implement the voluntary mechanism for the exchange of information between them.

This AA is limited to those products which are:

Those products are defined in this AA as “consumer products”.

Directive 2001/95/EC provides for the possibility to give access to RAPEX to third countries, within the framework of agreements between the EU (formerly Community) and those countries, according to arrangements which are based on reciprocity and include provisions on confidentiality corresponding to those applicable in the EU (formerly Community).

The voluntary mechanism for the sharing and exchange of information related to the management of consumer product safety is not intended to contain personal data or personal information.

Both Participants are required to comply with the laws, regulations and policies applicable within their respective jurisdictions related to the protection of personal information and personal data. In particular, Health Canada is required to comply with the Privacy Act, the Access to Information Act and the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act and DG Justice and Consumers is required to comply with Regulation (EC) 45/2001 on data processing by Community institutions and bodies.

Both Participants will act in accordance with the laws, regulations and policies applicable within their respective jurisdictions regarding the collection, treatment, transmission, storage, protection, maintenance and disposition of information shared under this AA.

1. Objective and Purpose

2. Definitions

For the purpose of this AA:

Confidential information means all information deemed confidential under the respective laws of the Participants. It includes, but is not limited to, "confidential business information" as defined in section 2 of the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act and “trade secret” as defined in Article 2 of the Directive on the protection of undisclosed know-how and business information ((EU)2016/943);

Consumer products mean products that are defined both as products under the EU Directive 2001/95 and as consumer products or cosmetics under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act and the Food and Drugs Act respectively;

Data fields mean the fields in RAPEX or RADAR respectively and on which both Participants intend to exchange information, provided that this information is available. A list of data fields covered by this AA is given in Annex II;

Incident report means a report made to Health Canada about an incident, as defined under section 14 of the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act;

Legal person means a person who is not a natural person within the meaning of Article 2 of Regulation (EC) No 45/2001 or who cannot identify a natural person;

Natural person means an identified or identifiable natural person as defined in Article 2 of Regulation (EC) No 45/2001;

Non-publicly available information means any information exchanged between the Participants that is not available to the public and does not include “Confidential information” as defined in this AA;

Personal data/Personal information means “personal data” as defined in Article 2 a) of Regulation (EC) No 45/2001; “personal information” as defined in section 3 of the Privacy Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. P-21;

RAPEX means the Community Rapid Information System, established under Article 12 of Directive 2001/95/EC;

RAPEX notification means the information provided by EU Member States on the measures or actions, either adopted by them or which they have recommended to or agreed with economic operators, to prevent, restrict or impose specific conditions on the possible marketing or use, within their own territory, of dangerous products;

RADAR means the Regulatory Action Depot / Dépôt d’Actions Réglementaires, which is Health Canada's case management system for consumer products;

RADAR case means the reference number from the Health Canada database identifying specific incident reports, as well as other activities, for which a technical assessment report may be prepared and/or a recall may take place;

Risk Assessment means the assessment of whether a product poses a risk to health or safety and the seriousness of such a risk;

Test report means a document listing the testing completed to verify the compliance status of specific product(s) and its results.

3. Scope

The Participants intend to exchange information covering the consumer product categories as listed in Annex I.

The Participants intend to exchange information on consumer products which pose or may pose a risk to human health or safety.

4. Type of information exchanged

5. Modalities for the exchange of information

(a) Modalities concerning information provision by DG Justice and Consumers to Health Canada

(i) Technical means

DG Justice and Consumers intends to provide Health Canada with the information via a suitably secured/encrypted user interface which provides a download option in MSExcel format. This interface will have a secured URL and will only be accessed by authorised users. There will be a maximum of 10 authorised user accounts provided to Health Canada at any one time.

(ii) Automatic flagging of information of interest

RAPEX notifications concerning products whose country of origin or country of destination is Canada will be automatically flagged by a special icon and text. Updates and deletions of RAPEX notifications made by DG Justice and Consumers will also be automatically flagged.

(iii) Timeframe

DG Justice and Consumers intends to make available to Health Canada new RAPEX notifications validated by DG Justice and Consumers, as well as updates of previous notifications as soon as practicable and on a jointly decided upon daily schedule.

(iv) Two-tier system:

The Participants understand that test reports and detailed risk assessments pertaining to the products in RAPEX which pose a risk to the health or safety of consumers are attachments submitted by the EU Member States along with the RAPEX notifications and they may be in any EU language. As these attachments may contain personal data, they will not be automatically provided to Health Canada.

A summary of the test reports and risk assessments will be contained in the subset of RAPEX notifications provided to Health Canada.

When a specific issue warrants more information, Health Canada may request DG Justice and Consumers to provide complete test reports and/or detailed risk assessments for specific notifications. If such documents are available, DG Justice and Consumers intends to send to Health Canada a version in which personal data has been removed.

(b) Modalities concerning information provision by Health Canada to DG Justice and Consumers

(i) Technical means

Health Canada intends to provide DG Justice and Consumers with structured, machine-readable and automatically retrievable data via a suitably secured/encrypted mechanism. The data will consist of RADAR cases related to product recalls, advisories, safety alerts, industry incident reports, risk assessments and test reports.

The data provided by Health Canada to DG Justice and Consumers may not necessarily be validated by Health Canada, which means that it might include records for which no corrective measures or regulatory actions are deemed necessary or initiated, whatever the reason.

(ii) Timeframe

Health Canada intends to make available fully updated records as soon as practicable and on a jointly decided upon daily schedule.

(iii) Sharing of Early Information

Moreover, Health Canada intends to share early information with DG Justice and Consumers on corrective measures and product recalls - when possible, before the information becomes publicly available. When practicable, case records resulting in product recalls and other corrective measures may be shared as early as the calendar day after the measures are initiated.

6. Storage, retention, protection and disposal of information received

7. Personal Data / Personal information

8. Confidentiality and treatment of non-publicly available information

9. Modification of the AA

The Participants may jointly modify this AA.

The Participants understand that any modification of the measures needs to be endorsed by the Committee on Trade in Goods.

10. Contact Points

The Participants designate the following as their contact points for the purpose of this AA:

11. Difference in interpretation and application

The Participants intend to resolve any difference in the interpretation and application of this AA through consultations.

12. Status

This AA is not legally binding.

13. Final Dispositions

SIGNED in duplicate at Brussels on 13 November 2018, in the English and French languages, each version being equally valid.

FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH OF CANADA, Tolga YALKIN Director General Consumer Product Safety Directorate.

FOR THE DIRECTORATE-GENERAL FOR JUSTICE AND CONSUMERS OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION, Tiina ASTOLA Director-General.

Annex I

Product categories (consumer products)

in RAPEX and in RADAR

Consumer product categories from RAPEX

Consumer product categories from RADAR

Annex II

Data fields

Data fields from RAPEX / Data fields from RADAR

Date Modified:

Arrangement administratif (AA) entre le ministère de la Santé du Canada et la Direction générale de la justice et des consommateurs de la Commission européenne concernant l’échange d’informations sur la sécurité des produits de consommation non alimentaires

Le présent arrangement administratif (AA) est conclu entre le ministère de la Santé du Canada (Santé Canada) et la Direction générale de la justice et des consommateurs de la Commission européenne (DG Justice et Consommateurs), ci-après désignés les « participants ».

La DG Justice et Consommateurs est le service de la Commission européenne responsable des politiques et de la législation de l’Union européenne (UE) dans les domaines liés à la protection des consommateurs et de la directive relative à la sécurité générale des produits (2001/95/CE), du fonctionnement du Système d’alerte rapide pour les produits non alimentaires (RAPEX) ainsi que de la promotion et de l’organisation de la coopération administrative entre les autorités de contrôle des États membres de l’UE et des pays de l’Espace économique européen aux fins des objectifs de ces lois.

Le règlement (CE) no 765/2008 fixant les prescriptions relatives à l’accréditation et à la surveillance du marché pour la commercialisation des produits prévoit que le Système d’alerte rapide pour les produits non alimentaires (RAPEX) prévu par la directive 2001/95/CE est également utilisé pour  l'échange d'informations entre les États membres de l’UE concernant les produits dangereux harmonisés nécessitant une intervention rapide, y compris les cosmétiques. Les produits harmonisés sont des substances, préparations ou autres marchandises produites par un procédé de fabrication, à l'exclusion des denrées alimentaires, des aliments pour animaux, des plantes et animaux vivants, des produits d'origine humaine et des produits de plantes et d'animaux se rapportant directement à leur reproduction future qui entrent dans le champ d’application de la législation d’harmonisation spécifique de l’Union, qu’ils soient destinés aux consommateurs ou aux utilisateurs professionnels.

La Direction de la sécurité des produits de consommation (DSPC) est la direction de Santé Canada chargée de déterminer, d’évaluer, de gérer et de communiquer aux Canadiens les risques pour la santé et les dangers pour la sécurité que présentent les produits de consommation au titre de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et de ses règlements connexes, ainsi que les cosmétiques au titre de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et du Règlement sur les cosmétiques. Elle est en outre responsable du fonctionnement du système de gestion des cas Regulatory Action Depot/Dépôt d’actions réglementaires (RADAR). Santé Canada désigne la DSPC pour mettre en œuvre le présent arrangement administratif.

Les deux participants visent à protéger, dans la plus grande mesure possible, la santé et la sécurité des consommateurs dans leur administration respective.

Les chaînes mondiales d’approvisionnement de produits posent souvent aux autorités de l’UE et du Canada des défis similaires en matière de sécurité des produits de consommation, car les mêmes produits ou types de produits peuvent apparaître dans leur administration respective, même lorsqu’ils sont fabriqués dans des pays tiers.

Ce mécanisme volontaire de partage et d’échange d’informations est fondé sur l’article 21.7 de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG), conclu entre l’UE et ses États membres et le Canada à Bruxelles, le 30 octobre 2016.

Le chapitre XXI de l’AECG sur la coopération en matière de réglementation prévoit que les Parties s’efforcent de coopérer et de partager les renseignements sur une base volontaire dans le domaine de la sécurité des produits non alimentaires.

L’article 21.7(4) du chapitre XXI de l’AECG prévoit que les Parties peuvent établir un échange réciproque d’informations sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et sur les mesures préventives, restrictives et correctives qui sont prises. En particulier, le Canada peut se voir accorder l’accès à des informations choisies tirées du système d’alerte rapide RAPEX de l’UE, ou de tout système qui lui succédera, concernant les produits de consommation visés par la directive 2001/95/CE relative à la sécurité générale des produits, et l’UE peut recevoir des informations d’alerte rapide sur les mesures restrictives et les rappels de produits à partir du système canadien de déclaration d’incidents liés aux produits de consommation, système connu sous le nom de RADAR, ou de tout système qui lui succédera, concernant les produits de consommation au sens de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation, L.C. 2010, ch. 21, et les cosmétiques au sens de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-27.

Les paragraphes 5, 6 et 7 de l’article 21.7 du chapitre XXI de l’AECG prévoient en outre les conditions dans lesquelles les Parties entendent mettre en œuvre le mécanisme volontaire d’échange d’informations entre elles.

Le présent AA se limite aux produits qui sont à la fois :

Ces produits sont définis dans le présent AA comme des « produits de consommation ».

La directive 2001/95/CE prévoit la possibilité de donner accès au RAPEX aux pays tiers, dans le cadre d’accords entre l’UE (anciennement la Communauté) et ces pays, conformément à des arrangements fondés sur la réciprocité et comprenant des dispositions en matière de confidentialité qui correspondent à celles applicables dans l’UE (anciennement la Communauté).

Le mécanisme volontaire de partage et d’échange d’informations liées à la gestion de la sécurité des produits de consommation n’est pas destiné à contenir des données personnelles ou des renseignements personnels.

Les deux participants sont tenus de se conformer aux lois, aux règlements et aux politiques applicables dans leur administration respective en matière de renseignements personnels et de données personnelles. Plus particulièrement, Santé Canada est tenue de se conformer à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation, et la DG Justice et Consommateurs est tenue de se conformer au règlement (CE) 45/2001 sur le traitement des données par les institutions et organes communautaires.

Les deux participants agiront conformément aux lois, aux règlements et aux politiques applicables dans leur administration respective en ce qui concerne la collecte, le traitement, la transmission, le stockage, la protection, la conservation et la suppression des informations partagées en vertu du présent AA.

1. Objectif et but

2. Définitions

Pour les besoins du présent AA :

Cas RADAR s’entend du numéro de référence de la base de données de Santé Canada identifiant les rapports d’incident spécifiques, ainsi que d’autres activités, pour lesquels un rapport d’évaluation technique peut être préparé et/ou un rappel peut avoir lieu;

Champs de donnéess’entend des champs du RAPEX ou du RADAR, respectivement, sur lesquels les deux participants ont l’intention d’échanger des informations, à condition que ces informations soient accessibles. Une liste des champs de données visés par le présent AA figure à l’annexe II;

Données personnelles/renseignements personnels s’entend des « données personnelles » au sens de l’alinéa 2a) du règlement (CE) no 45/2001; « renseignements personnels » au sens de l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, L.R.C., 1985, ch. P-21;

Évaluation des risques s’entend de l’évaluation visant à déterminer si un produit présente un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité et la gravité d’un tel risque;

Information non accessible au public s’entend de toute information échangée entre les participants qui n’est pas accessible au public et ne comprend pas de « renseignements confidentiels » tels qu’ils sont définis dans le présent AA;

Notification RAPEX s’entend des informations fournies par les États membres de l’UE sur les mesures ou les actions qu’ils ont adoptées ou qu’ils ont recommandées aux opérateurs économiques ou dont ils ont convenu avec eux pour empêcher, limiter ou soumettre à des conditions particulières la commercialisation ou l’utilisation éventuelle, sur leur propre territoire, de ces produits dangereux;

Personne morale s’entend d’une personne qui n’est pas une personne physique au sens de l’article 2 du règlement (CE) no 45/2001 ou qui ne peut identifier une personne physique;

Personne physiques’entend d’une personne physique identifiée ou identifiable au sens de l’article 2 du règlement (CE) no 45/2001;

Produits de consommation s’entend des produits qui sont définis tant comme des produits aux termes de la directive 2001/95 de l’UE que comme des produits de consommation ou des cosmétiques aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues,respectivement;

RADAR s’entend du Regulatory Action Depot/Dépôt d’actions réglementaires, qui est le système de gestion des cas de Santé Canada pour les produits de consommation;

RAPEX s’entend du système communautaire d’échange rapide d’informations, établi en vertu de l’article 12 de la directive 2001/95/CE;

Rapport d’essai s’entend d’un document énumérant les essais effectués pour vérifier l’état de conformité d’un ou de plusieurs produits spécifiques et leurs résultats.

Rapport d’incident s’entend d’un rapport présenté à Santé Canada au sujet d’un incident, tel qu’il est défini à l’article 14 de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation;

Renseignements confidentiels s’entend de tous les renseignements jugés confidentiels en vertu des lois respectives des participants. Cela comprend, sans s’y limiter, les « renseignements commerciaux confidentiels » au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et les « secrets d’affaires » au sens de l’article 2 de la directive sur la protection des savoir-faire et des informations commerciales non divulgués ((UE)2016/943);

3. Portée

Les participants entendent échanger des informations portant sur les catégories de produits de consommation énumérées à l’annexe I.

Les participants entendent échanger des informations sur les produits de consommation qui présentent ou peuvent présenter un danger pour la santé ou la sécurité humaines.

4. Type d’informations échangées

5. Modalités concernant l’échange d’informations

a) Modalités concernant la fourniture d’information par la DG Justice et Consommateurs à Santé Canada

(i) Moyens techniques

La DG Justice et Consommateurs entend fournir l’information à Santé Canada au moyen d’une interface d’utilisateur convenablement sécurisée/cryptée, qui offre une option de téléchargement en format MSExcel. Cette interface aura une URL sécurisée, et seuls les utilisateurs autorisés pourront y accéder. En tout temps, Santé Canada aura droit à un maximum de 10 comptes d’utilisateur autorisés.

(ii) Signalement automatique des informations d’intérêt

Les notifications RAPEX concernant les produits dont le pays d’origine ou le pays de destination est le Canada seront automatiquement signalées par une icône et un texte particuliers. Les mises à jour et les suppressions de notifications RAPEX effectuées par la DG Justice et Consommateurs seront également automatiquement signalées.

(iii) Délai

La DG Justice et Consommateurs entend mettre à la disposition de Santé Canada les nouvelles notifications RAPEX qu’elle a validées ainsi que les mises à jour des notifications précédentes dès que possible et selon un calendrier quotidien établi conjointement.

(iv) Système à deux vitesses

Les participants comprennent que les rapports d’essai et les évaluations détaillées des risques se rattachant aux produits dans le RAPEX qui présentent un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité des consommateurs sont des pièces jointes transmises par les États membres de l’UE assorties de notifications RAPEX et qu’ils peuvent être rédigés dans n’importe quelle langue de l’UE. Comme ces pièces jointes peuvent contenir des données personnelles, elles ne seront pas automatiquement transmises à Santé Canada.

Un résumé des rapports d’essai et des évaluations des risques figurera dans le sous-ensemble des notifications RAPEX fournies à Santé Canada.

Lorsqu’une question particulière justifie plus d’informations, Santé Canada peut demander à la DG Justice et Consommateurs de fournir des rapports d’essai complets et/ou des évaluations détaillées des risques pour des notifications particulières. Si de tels documents sont disponibles, la DG Justice et Consommateurs entend envoyer à Santé Canada une version dans laquelle les données personnelles ont été supprimées.

b) Modalités concernant la fourniture d’information par Santé Canada à la DG Justice et Consommateurs

(i) Moyens techniques

Santé Canada entend fournir à la DG Justice et Consommateurs des données structurées, lisibles par machine et automatiquement récupérables au moyen d’un mécanisme convenablement sécurisé/crypté. Les données comprendront des cas RADAR concernant des rappels de produits, des avis, des alertes de sécurité, des rapports d’incident de l’industrie, des évaluations des risques et des rapports d’essai.

Les données fournies par Santé Canada à la DG Justice et Consommateurs ne sont pas nécessairement validées par Santé Canada, ce qui signifie qu’elles peuvent inclure des dossiers pour lesquels aucune mesure corrective ou réglementaire n’est jugée nécessaire ou n’est prise, quelle qu’en soit la raison.

(ii) Délai

Santé Canada entend rendre accessible des dossiers entièrement mis à jour dès que possible et selon un calendrier quotidien établi conjointement.

(iii) Partage de renseignements précoces

De plus, Santé Canada entend communiquer rapidement à la DG Justice et Consommateurs des renseignements sur les mesures correctives et les rappels de produits, dans la mesure du possible, avant que l’information ne soit rendue publique. Lorsque cela est possible, les dossiers de cas qui donnent lieu à des rappels de produits et à d’autres mesures correctives peuvent être communiqués dès le jour civil suivant la prise des mesures.

6. Stockage, conservation, protection et suppression des informations reçues

7. Données personnelles/renseignements personnels

8. Confidentialité et traitement des informations non accessibles au public

9. Modification de l’AA

Les participants peuvent modifier conjointement le présent AA.

Les participants comprennent que toute modification des mesures doit être approuvée par le Comité du commerce des marchandises.

10. Personnes-ressources

Les participants désignent les personnes suivantes comme personnes-ressources aux fins du présent AA :

11. Divergence dans l’interprétation et l’application

Les participants entendent régler toute divergence quant à l’interprétation et à l’application du présent AA au moyen de consultations.

12. Statut

Le présent AA n’est pas juridiquement contraignant.

13. Dispositions finales

SIGNÉ en double exemplaire à Bruxelles en ce 13ème jour de novembre 2018, en anglais et en français, les deux textes faisant également foi.

POUR LE MINISTÈRE DE LA SANTÉ DU CANADA, Tolga YALKIN Directeur général Direction de la sécurité des produits de consommation.

POUR LA DIRECTION GÉNÉRALE DE LA JUSTICE ET DES CONSOMMATEURS DE LA COMMISSION EUROPÉENNE , Tiina ASTOLA Directrice générale.

Annexe I

Catégories de produits (produits de consommation)

Dans RAPEX et RADAR

Catégories de produits de consommation de RAPEX

Catégories de produits de consommation de RADAR

Annexe II

Champs de données

Champs de données de RAPEX  / Champs de données de RADAR

Date de modification: