Language selection

Search

CETA explained

The Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) is a bilateral agreement between Canada and the EU. The agreement covers virtually all sectors and aspects of Canada-EU trade in order to eliminate or reduce barriers.  

Why CETA matters

CETA represents the best in international trade agreements. CETA sets new standards for trade in goods and services, non-tariff barriers, investment, government procurement, and other areas like labour and the environment. 

The EU is one of the largest economies in the world and Canada’s second-largest trading partner after the United States. It is also the world’s second-largest importing market for goods. The EU’s annual imports alone are worth more than Canada’s GDP. By opening new markets in the EU to Canadian exporters, CETA gives us a competitive advantage in the global market, which benefits all Canadians. 

CETA is helping to create jobs, strengthen economic relations and boost Canada’s trade with the world’s second-largest market.  

What CETA covers

CETA covers virtually all sectors and aspects of Canada-EU trade in order to eliminate or reduce barriers: 

What it means for Canadian businesses

Here’s how CETA helps businesses across Canada:

Learn more about CETA benefits for Canadian businesses.

Related links

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

L’AECG – aperçu

L’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) est un accord bilatéral entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE). Il porte pratiquement sur tous les secteurs et les aspects du commerce entre le Canada et l’UE, l’objectif étant d’éliminer ou de réduire les obstacles au commerce.  

Importance de l’AECG

L’AECG est une pratique exemplaire dans le domaine des accords commerciaux internationaux. Il fixe de nouvelles normes pour le commerce des biens et des services, les obstacles non tarifaires, l’investissement et les marchés publics, ainsi que pour d’autres secteurs comme le travail et l’environnement. 

L’UE est l’une des plus grandes économies mondiales et le deuxième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada, après les États-Unis. Il s’agit également du deuxième marché d’importation de marchandises dans le monde. La valeur des importations annuelles de l’UE dépasse celle du PIB canadien. En ouvrant de nouveaux marchés dans l’UE aux exportateurs canadiens, l’AECG nous donne un avantage concurrentiel sur le marché mondial, ce qui profite à toute la population canadienne.

L’AECG contribue à la création d’emplois, renforce les relations économiques et stimule le commerce entre le Canada et le deuxième marché en importance dans le monde.  

Portée de l’AECG

L’AECG couvre pratiquement tous les secteurs et les aspects du commerce entre le Canada et l’UE, l’objectif étant d’éliminer ou de réduire les obstacles au commerce.

Avantages pour les entreprises canadiennes

Voici comment l’AECG aide les entreprises de l’ensemble du Canada :

Apprenez-en davantage sur les avantages qu’offre l’AECG aux entreprises canadiennes.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: