Investing in Canada

More and more global companies are investing in Canada thanks to our top talent, abundant natural resources and preferential access to markets around the globe. Find out how the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) has made our market even more attractive to investors from the EU:

Welcoming investment climate

Canada is recognized as the best country in the G20 to do business. For more than a decade, we’ve led all G7 countries in economic growth. What’s more, investors benefit from:

Priority access to global markets

If you’re an EU company operating in Canada, CETA offers you guaranteed preferential market access to both the EU and North American markets. Unlike the other top destinations for EU investment in the Americas, such as the United States, Mexico, and Brazil, only Canada has investment treaties in place with all 27 EU member states.

Enhanced investor protection

If you’re an investor from the EU, CETA provides greater certainty, transparency and protection for your investments. CETA’s Investment Chapter offers important guarantees to EU investors in Canada. Some of its core protections include:

Note: Most provisions of CETA’s Investment Chapter will only enter into force when CETA is ratified by all EU member states.

Lower investment restrictions

CETA was designed to encourage investment by limiting market access restrictions on investors. Under CETA, the net benefit review threshold under the Investment Canada Act has been raised from Can$600 million to Can$1.5 billion.

Non-discriminatory treatment

CETA ensures Canada and EU investors receive fair and non-discriminatory treatment. Canada and the EU must provide each other’s investors with treatment no less favourable than they provide to their own investors and any third country investor in like situations.

Learn more from Invest in Canada

Why invest in Canada?

Discover Canada’s strengths: global market access, high-quality talent, low costs and reduced risk.

Industries in Canada

Learn about key industries in Canada, including our strengths and incentives for investors.

Locations for investment

Explore Canada’s provinces, territories and cities to find the best location for your investment.

Date Modified:

Investir au Canada

De plus en plus d’entreprises internationales investissent au Canada, et ce, grâce à nos travailleurs hautement qualifiés, à nos ressources naturelles abondantes et à notre accès préférentiel aux marchés du monde entier. Découvrez comment l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE) a rendu le marché canadien encore plus attrayant pour les investisseurs de l’UE:

Climat d’investissement accueillant

Le Canada est reconnu comme le meilleur pays du G20 où faire des affaires. Depuis plus d’une décennie, il est en tête des pays du G7 pour ce qui est de la croissance économique. De plus, les investisseurs bénéficient des avantages suivants :

Accès prioritaire aux marchés mondiaux

Si vous êtes une entreprise de l’UE qui exerce des activités au Canada, l’AECG vous permet de profiter d’un accès préférentiel garanti aux marchés de l’UE et de l’Amérique du Nord. Contrairement aux autres principaux pays des Amériques où l’UE investit, comme les États-Unis, le Mexique et le Brésil, le Canada a conclu des traités d’investissement avec les 27 États membres de l’UE. Il est d’ailleurs le seul à l’avoir fait.

Meilleure protection des investisseurs

Si vous êtes un investisseur de l’UE, l’AECG offre une certitude, une transparence et une protection accrues pour vos investissements. Le chapitre de l’AECG relatif aux investissements offre des garanties importantes aux investisseurs de l’UE au Canada. Voici certaines des principales protections qu’il offre :

Note : La plupart des dispositions du chapitre sur l’investissement de l’AECG entreront en vigueur seulement après la ratification de l’AECG par tous les États membres de l’UE.

Réduction des restrictions à l’investissement

L’AECG a été conçue pour encourager l’investissement en limitant les restrictions d’accès aux marchés pour les investisseurs. En vertu de l’AECG, le seuil d’examen de l’avantage net en vertu de la Loi sur Investissement Canada a été rehaussé, passant de 600 millions de dollars à 1,5 milliard de dollars canadiens.

Traitement non discriminatoire

L’AECG assure aux investisseurs du Canada et de l’UE un traitement impartial et non discriminatoire. Tant le Canada que l’UE ont le devoir d’accorder aux investisseurs de l’autre Partie un traitement non moins favorable que celui accordé aux investisseurs nationaux et à tout investisseur de pays tiers dans des situations similaires.

En savoir plus sur Investir au Canada

Pourquoi investir au Canada?

Découvrez les atouts du Canada : accès aux marchés mondiaux, travailleurs hautement qualifiés, faibles coûts et risques réduits.

Les secteurs canadiens

Renseignez-vous sur les secteurs clés du Canada, y compris sur nos forces et nos incitatifs pour les investisseurs.

Endroits où investir

Explorez les provinces, les territoires et les villes du Canada afin de trouver le meilleur endroit où investir.

Date de modification: