Language selection

Search

Decision of the Free Trade Commission of the Free Trade Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica and the Government of Canada No. 1 on the interpretation of paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica

The Free Trade Commission of the Free Trade Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica and the Government of Canada (hereinafter the Commission):

In light of the Free Trade Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica and the Government of Canada (hereinafter the Agreement), and in particular Articles XIII.1.2 (c) and XIII.1.3 (a) of the Agreement and paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement;

Considering:

1. The Agreement establishes a tariff-rate quota for imports of Canadian non-originating refined sugar to Costa Rica, classified in tariff subheadings 1701.91 and 1701.99, in paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement;

2. The volume of the tariff-rate quota is based on a predetermined reference volume, which started at 2,000 metric tons in 2003, and gradually increased to 4,000 metric tons from the eighth year of entry into force of the Agreement;

3. Paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement provide for possible deviations from the predetermined reference volume;

4. These possible deviations would be based on the volume of Canadian imports of originating refined sugar from Costa Rica, classified in tariff subheadings 1701.91 and 1701.99, during the year prior to that for which the tariff-rate quota will be made available;

5. The Commission understands that paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement are based on calendar year, such that Canadian imports of originating refined sugar from Costa Rica, classified in tariff subheadings 1701.91 and 1701.99, that would be considered to establish any possible deviation from the predetermined reference volume are those recorded between January 1 and December 31 of the year prior to that for which the tariff-rate quota will be made available;

6. Paragraph 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement provides that the volume of the tariff-rate quota shall be made available for use by importers from January 1 to December 31 of any year;

7. Given that import data corresponding to a specific calendar year usually becomes available during the first quarter of the following calendar year, the Commission acknowledges that it is materially impossible to determine the volume of imports according to paragraph 2 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement in sufficient time to determine possible deviations from the predetermined reference volume for the tariff-rate quota for the following year;

8. This situation affects the operation of the Agreement, as it prevents due consideration of the volume of imports according to paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement; and

9. The Commission acknowledges the “understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica regarding trade compensation under article 8.1 of the agreement on safeguards of the world trade organization in light of the application of a safeguard measure on imports of refined sugar”.

The Commission adopts a binding interpretation of paragraphs 2 and 3 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement as follows:

Article 1

The one-year term referred to in paragraph 2 of Note 1 to Chapter 17 of the Schedule of Costa Rica to the Agreement for the purpose of accounting Canadian imports of originating refined sugar from Costa Rica, classified in tariff subheadings 1701.91 and 1701.99, shall be the period of twelve months starting on October 1 and ending on September 30 of the year prior to that for which the tariff-rate quota will be made available.

Article 2

Canada shall submit to Costa Rica the data of the imported volume of originating refined sugar from Costa Rica, classified in tariff subheadings 1701.91 and 1701.99, corresponding to the period indicated in Article 1 of this Decision, no later than November 15 of the year prior to that for which the tariff-rate quota will be made available.

Article 3

This Decision shall apply to the tariff-rate quota corresponding to calendar year 2021 and thereafter. In defining the volume of the tariff-rate quota for calendar year 2021, Costa Rica shall use the official statistics provided by Canada for imports of originating refined sugar from Costa Rica, classified in tariff subheadings 1701.91 and 1701.99, for the period between October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020, which amounted to 2,505 metric tonnes.

Decided by the Commission at Ottawa and San Jose and signed in duplicate in the Spanish, English and French languages, each version being equally valid. The date of the Decision is deemed to be the date of its last signature by the representatives of each of the Parties on the Commission.

Representative of the Government of Canada on the Commission

The Honourable Mary Ng
Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade

June 7, 2021
DATE

Representative of the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica on the Commission

The Honourable Duayner Salas Chaverri
Minister of Foreign Trade a.i

June 7, 2021
DATE

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Décision de la commission du libre-échange de l’accord de libre-échange entre le Gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica et le Gouvernement du Canada no 1 concernant l’interprétation des paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica

La commission du libre-échange de l’accord de libre-échange entre le Gouvernement de la république du Costa Rica et le Gouvernement du Canada (ci-après la Commission) :

À la lumière de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica et le Gouvernement du Canada (ci-après l’Accord), et en particulier des articles XIII.1.2 c) et XIII.1.3 a) de l’Accord et des paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord;

Considérant ce qui suit :

1. L’Accord établit un contingent tarifaire pour les importations de sucre raffiné non originaire du Canada au Costa Rica, classé dans les sous‑positions tarifaires 1701.91 et 1701.99, aux paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord;

2. Le volume dudit contingent tarifaire est établi selon un volume de référence prédéterminé, qui a initialement été fixé à 2 000 tonnes métriques en 2003, et qui a progressivement été porté à 4 000 tonnes métriques à partir de la huitième année suivant l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord;

3. Les paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord prévoient la possibilité de s’écarter du volume de référence prédéterminé;

4. Ces écarts éventuels seraient déterminés en fonction du volume des importations canadiennes de sucre raffiné originaire du Costa Rica, classé dans les sous-positions tarifaires 1701.91 et 1701.99, au cours de l’année qui précède celle pour laquelle le contingent tarifaire sera mis à disposition;

5. La Commission prend acte du fait que les paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord sont fondés sur l’année civile, de sorte que les importations canadiennes de sucre raffiné originaire du Costa Rica, classé dans les sous‑positions tarifaires 1701.91 et 1701.99, qui seraient prises en compte pour établir tout écart éventuel par rapport au volume de référence prédéterminé, sont celles enregistrées entre le 1er janvier et le 31 décembre de l’année qui précède celle pour laquelle le contingent tarifaire sera mis à disposition;

6. Le paragraphe 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord prévoit que le volume du contingent tarifaire est mis à la disposition des importateurs du 1er janvier au 31 décembre de chaque année;

7. Étant donné que les données relatives aux importations correspondant à une année civile donnée deviennent généralement disponibles au cours du premier trimestre de l’année civile qui suit, la Commission reconnaît qu’il est matériellement impossible de déterminer le volume des importations conformément au paragraphe 2 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord en temps utile pour déterminer les écarts éventuels par rapport au volume de référence prédéterminé pour le contingent tarifaire de l’année qui suit;

8. Cette situation a une incidence sur le fonctionnement de l’Accord, car elle empêche de prendre dûment en considération le volume des importations conformément aux paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord;

9. La Commission prend acte de l’entente entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica concernant la compensation commercial au titre de l’article 8.1 de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce en raison de l’application d’une mesure de sauvegarde aux importations de sucre raffiné.

La Commission adopte une interprétation ayant force obligatoire des paragraphes 2 et 3 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord comme suit :

Article 1

La période d’un an visée au paragraphe 2 de la note 1 du chapitre 17 de la Liste tarifaire du Costa Rica annexée à l’Accord utilisée pour quantifier les importations canadiennes de sucre raffiné originaire du Costa Rica, classé dans les sous-positions tarifaires 1701.91 et 1701.99, correspond à la période de douze mois commençant le 1er octobre et se terminant le 30 septembre de l’année qui précède celle pour laquelle le contingent tarifaire sera mis à disposition.

Article 2

Le Canada communique au Costa Rica les données relatives au volume des importations de sucre raffiné originaire du Costa Rica, classé dans les sous-positions tarifaires 1701.91 et 1701.99, correspondant à la période indiquée à l’article 1 de la présente décision, au plus tard le 15 novembre de l’année qui précède celle pour laquelle le contingent tarifaire sera mis à disposition.

Article 3

La présente décision s’applique au contingent tarifaire correspondant à l’année civile 2021 et aux années subséquentes. Afin d’établir le volume du contingent tarifaire pour l’année civile 2021, le Costa Rica utilise les statistiques officielles fournies par le Canada concernant les importations de sucre raffiné originaire du Costa Rica, classé dans les sous-positions tarifaires 1701.91 et 1701.99, pour la période allant du 1er octobre 2019 au 30 septembre 2020, qui se sont élevées à 2 505 tonnes métriques.

Décision arrêtée par la Commission à Ottawa et à San José et signée en double exemplaire en langues espagnole, anglaise et française, chaque version étant également valide. La date de la décision est réputée être la date de sa dernière signature par les représentants de chacune des Parties auprès de la Commission.

Représentante du Gouvernement du Canada auprès de la Commission

L’honorable Mary Ng
Ministre de la Petite Entreprise, de la Promotion des exportations et du Commerce international

7 juin 2021
DATE

Représentant du Gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica auprès de la Commission

L’honorable Duayner Salas Chaverri
Ministre de la Petite Ministre du Commerce extérieur a.i.

7 juin 2021
DATE

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: