Language selection

Search

CPTPP explained

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a free trade agreement between Canada and 10 other countries in the Asia-Pacific. CPTPP covers virtually all sectors and aspects of trade between Canada and member countries to reduce trade barriers and facilitate trade.

The agreement is currently in force among 7 countries: Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore and Vietnam. For the remaining signatories—Brunei, Chile, Malaysia and Peru—the CPTPP will enter into force 60 days after they have ratified the agreement.

Why CPTPP matters

CPTPP is helping to create jobs, strengthen economic relations and boost Canada’s trade with important trading partners. Once fully implemented, CPTPP will form a trading bloc representing 500 million consumers and 13.5% of global GDP, providing Canada with preferential access to key markets in Asia and Latin America.

CPTPP is an ambitious and high-standard free trade agreement covering virtually all aspects of trade and investment. The agreement features ambitious market-access commitments in trade in goods, services, investment, labour mobility and government procurement. The agreement also establishes clear rules that help create a consistent, transparent and fair environment to do business in CPTPP markets, with dedicated chapters covering key issues like technical barriers to trade, sanitary and phytosanitary measures, customs administration, transparency and state-owned enterprises.

Additionally, CPTPP features chapters on the protection of the environment and labour rights, which are enforceable by dispute settlement, to ensure that CPTPP members do not derogate from their commitments in these areas to increase trade or investment. The agreement also includes a variety of chapters aimed at trade-related technical cooperation among CPTPP members, including with respect to small and medium-sized enterprises, regulatory coherence and economic development.

CPTPP also includes an accession process that provides for the further expansion of the agreement’s membership now that the agreement is in force. Any economy that is able to meet the high-standard rules and ambitious market access commitments of CPTPP can seek to join the agreement, subject to negotiations on terms and conditions with current CPTPP members. As a result, CPTPP may provide Canada with preferential access to additional markets in the Asia-Pacific region in the future.

What CPTPP covers

CPTPP covers virtually all sectors and aspects of trade in order to eliminate or reduce barriers. It establishes clear rules that help create a consistent, transparent and fair environment to do business in CPTPP markets. CPTPP also includes chapters on the protection of the environment and labour to ensure that CPTPP members do not derogate from their commitments in these areas to increase trade or investment. CPTPP also includes trade-related technical cooperation among CPTPP members, including with respect to small and medium-sized enterprises, regulatory coherence and economic development.

Trade in goods: CPTPP eliminates tariffs and reduces barriers for 98% of exports to CPTPP member countries.

Rules of origin and origin procedures: Canadian exporters and producers have clear and favourable rules that determine which goods are considered originating and procedures that establish obligations for importers, exporters and producers if the importer wants to make a claim for preferential tariff treatment. Companies can approach the customs administration in the market they are targeting to receive an advance ruling on the origin of their product.

Customs and trade facilitation: Canada and other CPTPP countries are working to keep customs procedures simple, effective, clear and predictable. This reduces processing times at the border and makes it easier to move goods between countries.

Regulatory cooperation and conformity assessment: CPTPP helps reduce unnecessary regulatory requirements. It also includes measures that make it easier for Canadians to do business in the Asia-Pacific.

Government procurement: Canadian companies will receive the same treatment as domestic suppliers when bidding on government procurement opportunities in CPTPP member countries.

Trade in services and labour mobility: CPTPP increases predictability and eliminates many barriers encountered at the border, such as quotas and labour market tests, making it easier for Canadian business persons to travel for business or to work temporarily in CPTPP member countries.

Investment: Investment provisions in CPTPP are designed to give investors greater certainty, stability and protection for their investments and to secure access to the Canadian and Asia-Pacific markets.

Intellectual property (IP): CPTPP establishes a regional standard for IP protection and enforcement in the Asia-Pacific, providing Canadian creators and innovators with a transparent and predictable framework for operating in CPTPP member countries.

Labour and the environment: CPTPP includes clear commitments to uphold CPTPP members’ respective standards on labour and environment and not to undermine them for commercial gain.

Inclusive trade: CPTPP advances Canada’s inclusive approach to trade with provisions to ensure the benefits of trade are more widely shared, including with under-represented groups such as women, SMEs and Indigenous peoples.

What it means for Canadian businesses

Here’s how CPTPP helps businesses across Canada:

Competitiveness: Reduced tariffs will make exporting less expensive, allowing Canadian businesses to compete on price in Asia-Pacific markets and, in some cases, give them first-mover advantage.

Access to new clients: Once fully implemented, Canadian businesses will have access to a trading bloc representing 500 million consumers and 13.5% of global GDP. This means new preferential access to key markets in Asia, including Japan, Vietnam and Malaysia (once it ratifies the agreement).

Market transparency and stability: CPTPP offers Canadian services suppliers improved protection, predictability and transparency for conducting business in partner markets. Canadian companies can bid on government contracts knowing they will be treated as equally as domestic bidders and have access to all of the information necessary to prepare and submit a bid on government procurement opportunities.

Reduced barriers to trade: Canada’s temporary entry commitments eliminate certain barriers, such as quotas and labour market tests, so you can temporarily send your personnel to work in partner countries or bring key talent to Canada more easily.

Learn more about CPTPP benefits for Canadian businesses.

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Le PTPGP - Aperçu

L’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) est un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et 10 autres pays de l’Indo-Pacifique. Le PTPGP couvre pratiquement tous les secteurs et aspects du commerce entre le Canada et les pays membres afin de réduire les barrières commerciales et de faciliter les échanges.

L’accord est actuellement en vigueur entre 8 pays : l’Australie, le Canada, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam. Pour les autres signataires – Brunéi et le Chili, le PTPGP entrera en vigueur 60 jours après qu’ils aient ratifié l’Accord.

Pourquoi le PTPGP est-il important?

Le PTPGP contribue à créer des emplois, à renforcer les relations économiques et à stimuler les échanges commerciaux du Canada avec d’importants partenaires commerciaux. Une fois entièrement mis en œuvre, le PTPGP formera un bloc commercial représentant 500 millions de consommateurs et 13,5 % du PIB mondial, ce qui donnera au Canada un accès préférentiel à des marchés clés en Asie et en Amérique latine.

Le PTPGP est un accord de libre-échange ambitieux et de haut niveau qui couvre pratiquement tous les aspects du commerce et de l’investissement. L’accord comporte des engagements ambitieux en matière d’accès aux marchés pour le commerce des marchandises et des services, l’investissement, la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre et les marchés publics. L’accord établit également des règles claires qui contribuent à créer un cadre cohérent, transparent et équitable pour faire des affaires sur les marchés du PTPGP, et il comprend des chapitres consacrés à des éléments clés comme les obstacles techniques au commerce, les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires, l’administration des douanes, la transparence et les entreprises d’État.

Le PTPGP présente aussi des chapitres sur la protection de l’environnement et les droits du travail, dont l’application peut être assurée par un mécanisme de règlement des différends, afin que les membres du PTPGP ne dérogent pas à leurs engagements dans ces domaines pour accroître le commerce ou l’investissement. L’Accord comprend également des chapitres destinés à assurer la coopération technique liée au commerce entre les membres du PTPGP, y compris en ce qui a trait aux petites et moyennes entreprises, à la cohérence de la réglementation et au développement économique.

De plus, le PTPGP comprend un processus d’adhésion qui prévoit une hausse du nombre de ses membres maintenant que l’accord est entré en vigueur. Tout pays qui est en mesure de respecter les règles de haut niveau et les obligations ambitieuses en matière d’accès aux marchés du PTPGP peut chercher à adhérer à l’accord, sous réserve de négociations sur les modalités avec les membres actuels du PTPGP. Par conséquent, le PTPGP pourrait donner au Canada un accès préférentiel à un plus grand nombre de marchés dans la région de l’Indo-Pacifique à l’avenir.

Ce que couvre le PTPGP

Le PTPGP couvre pratiquement tous les secteurs et aspects du commerce afin d’éliminer ou de réduire les obstacles. Il établit des règles claires qui contribuent à créer un cadre cohérent, transparent et équitable pour faire des affaires sur les marchés du PTPGP. Le PTPGP comprend également des chapitres sur la protection de l’environnement et sur le travail afin que les membres du PTPGP ne dérogent pas à leurs engagements dans ces domaines pour accroître le commerce ou l’investissement. Le PTPGP prévoit également des dispositions entourant la coopération technique liée au commerce entre les membres du PTPGP, y compris en ce qui a trait aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), à la cohérence de la réglementation et au développement économique.

Commerce de marchandises : Le PTPGP élimine les droits de douane et réduit les obstacles pour 98 % des exportations vers les pays membres du PTPGP.

Règles d’origine et procédures d’origine : Les exportateurs et les producteurs canadiens disposent de règles claires et favorables qui déterminent quelles marchandises sont considérées comme originaires, ainsi que de procédures qui établissent des obligations pour les importateurs, les exportateurs et les producteurs si l’importateur veut faire une demande de traitement tarifaire préférentiel. Les entreprises peuvent s’adresser à l’administration des douanes du marché qu’elles visent pour obtenir une décision anticipée sur l’origine de leur produit.

Régime douanier et facilitation des échanges : Le Canada et les autres pays du PTPGP s’emploient à maintenir des formalités douanières simples, efficaces, claires et prévisibles. Cela permet de réduire les délais de traitement à la frontière et de faciliter le transport de marchandises entre les pays.

Coopération en matière de réglementation et évaluation de la conformité : Le PTPGP aide à réduire les exigences réglementaires inutiles. Il comprend également des mesures qui facilitent la tâche des Canadiens qui souhaitent faire des affaires dans la région de l’Indo-Pacifique.

Marchés publics : Les entreprises canadiennes bénéficieront du même traitement que les fournisseurs nationaux lorsqu’elles présenteront des soumissions pour les marchés publics dans les pays membres du PTPGP.

Commerce des services et mobilité de la main-d’œuvre : Le PTPGP accroît la prévisibilité et élimine de nombreux obstacles rencontrés à la frontière, tels que les quotas et les examens du marché du travail; les gens d’affaires canadiens peuvent donc plus facilement voyager à des fins professionnelles ou travailler temporairement dans les pays membres du PTPGP.

Investissement : Les dispositions du PTPGP sur l’investissement visent à donner une certitude, une stabilité et une protection accrues aux investisseurs et à leur garantir l’accès aux marchés du Canada et de l’Indo-Pacifique.

Propriété intellectuelle : Le PTPGP établit une norme régionale pour la protection et l’application de la propriété intellectuelle dans la région de l’Indo-Pacifique, laquelle offre aux créateurs et aux innovateurs canadiens un cadre transparent et prévisible en vue de poursuivre leurs activités dans les pays membres du PTPGP.

Travail et environnement : Le PTPGP renferme des engagements clairs qui visent le respect des normes respectives des membres du PTPGP en matière de travail et d’environnement et qui empêchent de les contourner à des fins de gains commerciaux.

Commerce inclusif : Le PTPGP fait progresser l’approche inclusive du Canada en matière de commerce en prévoyant des dispositions visant à garantir que les retombées du commerce soient plus largement réparties, notamment avec les groupes sous-représentés tels que les femmes, les PME et les peuples autochtones.

Ce que cela signifie pour les entreprises canadiennes

Les éléments suivants montrent comment le PTPGP aide les entreprises de partout au Canada.

Compétitivité : Les réductions tarifaires rendront l’exportation moins coûteuse, ce qui permettra aux entreprises canadiennes d’offrir des prix concurrentiels sur les marchés d’Asie-Pacifique et, dans certains cas, leur donnera une longueur d’avance.

Accès à de nouveaux clients : Une fois que le PTPGP sera entièrement mis en œuvre, les entreprises canadiennes auront accès à un bloc commercial représentant 500 millions de consommateurs et 13,5 % du PIB mondial. Cela signifie un nouvel accès préférentiel à des marchés clés en Asie, y compris le Japon, la Malaisie ey le Vietnam.

Transparence et stabilité des marchés : Le PTPGP offre aux fournisseurs de services canadiens une protection, une prévisibilité et une transparence accrues pour la conduite des affaires sur les marchés partenaires. Les entreprises canadiennes peuvent soumissionner pour des marchés publics en sachant qu’elles seront traitées sur un pied d’égalité avec les soumissionnaires nationaux et qu’elles auront accès à toute l’information nécessaire pour préparer et soumettre une offre sur les occasions que présentent les marchés publics.

Réduction des obstacles au commerce : Les engagements du Canada en matière d’admission temporaire éliminent certains obstacles, tels que les quotas et les examens du marché du travail, afin que vous puissiez envoyer temporairement votre personnel travailler dans les pays partenaires ou faire venir plus facilement du personnel clé au Canada.

Apprenez-en plus sur les avantages du PTPGP pour les entreprises canadiennes.

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: