Language selection

Search

Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership – Ministerial Statement

Tokyo, Japan, January 19, 2019

Ministers and Senior Officials representing Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam, expressed delight at the entry into force of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (hereinafter referred to as “the Agreement”) on December 30, 2018, and are pleased to announce that the 1st Commission meeting of the Agreement has been held successfully today.

Ministers expressed their firm commitment to fully implement the Agreement, which sends a strong signal in support of free trade; puts in place high-standard and well-balanced rules suitable for the 21st century; boosts economic growth; and benefits businesses, consumers, families, farmers and workers from their nations. Ministers were confident that the decisions made by the Commission will contribute to ensuring the smooth implementation of the Agreement and promote its expansion over time.

Ministers reaffirmed the importance of maintaining strong solidarity in vigorously promoting free trade and economic integration in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond. In this context, Ministers welcomed the early ratification and implementation by seven Signatories and expressed their hope that the Agreement will enter into force for all Signatories at the earliest possible date.

Amid growing concerns over recent trends toward protectionism, Ministers shared the view that it is of paramount importance to maintain and further strengthen the principles of an effective, open, inclusive and rules-based trading system.

Ministers reiterated that the Agreement is open to all economies which accept these principles and are willing to meet the high standards of the Agreement and confirmed their strong determination to expand the Agreement through the accession of those new economies.

In adopting the above statement, Ministers recognised that Malaysia is still evaluating the Agreement and its decision concerning its ratification.

Ministers celebrated the successful conclusion of the 1st Commission meeting and recognised it as a great start toward building a strong platform of high-standard rules for the region and beyond.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste – Déclaration ministérielle

Tokyo, Japon, le 19 janvier 2019

Les ministres et hauts fonctionnaires représentant l’Australie, le Brunéi, le Canada, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam se sont félicités de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (ci-après dénommé « l’Accord ») le 30 décembre 2018 et sont heureux d’annoncer que la première réunion de la Commission instituée aux termes de l’Accord a été tenue avec succès aujourd’hui.

Les ministres ont exprimé leur ferme volonté de mettre pleinement en œuvre l’Accord, qui envoie un signal fort en faveur du libre-échange; met en place des règles de haut niveau et bien équilibrées, adaptées au 21e siècle; stimule la croissance économique et profite aux entreprises, aux consommateurs, aux familles, aux agriculteurs et aux travailleurs de leurs pays. Les ministres sont convaincus que les décisions prises par la Commission contribueront à assurer la mise en œuvre harmonieuse de l’Accord et favoriseront son expansion au fil du temps.

Les ministres ont réaffirmé l’importance de maintenir une solidarité forte pour promouvoir vigoureusement le libre-échange et l’intégration économique dans la région Asie-Pacifique et au-delà. À cet égard, ils se sont félicités de la ratification et de la mise en œuvre rapides de l’Accord par sept signataires et ont exprimé l’espoir de voir tous les signataires mettre en œuvre l’Accord le plus rapidement possible.

Parmi les préoccupations croissantes suscitées par les récentes tendances protectionnistes, les ministres ont convenu qu’il est d’une importance capitale de maintenir et de renforcer davantage les principes d’un système commercial efficace, ouvert, inclusif et fondé sur des règles.

Les ministres ont réaffirmé que l’Accord est ouvert à toutes les économies qui acceptent ces principes et qui sont disposées à respecter les normes élevées de l’Accord, et ils ont confirmé leur ferme détermination à élargir l’Accord par l’adhésion de ces nouvelles économies.

En adoptant la déclaration ci-dessus, les ministres ont reconnu que la Malaisie évaluait toujours l'Accord et sa décision concernant sa ratification.

Les ministres ont salué le succès de la première réunion de la Commission et ils considèrent qu’il s’agit d’un excellent point de départ pour la mise en place d’une plate-forme solide de règles de haut niveau dans la région et au-delà.

Date de modification: