Claiming preferential tariff treatment under the CPTPP 

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) offers new opportunities for Canadians to do business with the Asia-Pacific region by eliminating tariffs and providing preferential access to markets like Japan and Vietnam. In order to take advantage of the preferential tariff treatment afforded under the CPTPP, an importer will need to have a certification of origin that certifies the good meets the rules of origin.

Unlike some of Canada’s previous trade agreements, the CPTPP does not have a prescribed format for a certification of origin. A certification of origin for the CPTPP can be provided on an invoice or any other document (in either hard copy or electronic format), but it must contain a set of minimum data requirements set out in Annex 3-B of Chapter 3 of the Agreement.

This certification can be completed by either the exporter, the producer or the importer, and does not require third-party certification by the Government of Canada. A certification of origin is valid for one year after the date it is issued, or for such longer period as specified by the laws and regulations of the importing CPTPP party.

Minimum Data Requirements

A certification of origin under the CPTPP must contain the following elements:

1. Importer, Exporter, or Producer Certification of Origin

Indicate whether the certifier is the exporter, producer or importer in accordance with Article 3.20 (Claims for Preferential Treatment).

2. Certifier

Provide the certifier’s name, address (including country), telephone number and email address.

3. Exporter

Provide the exporter’s name, address (including country), email address and telephone number if different from the certifier. This information is not required if the producer is completing the certification of origin and does not know the identity of the exporter. The address of the exporter shall be the place of export of the good in a CPTPP country.

4. Producer

Provide the producer’s name, address (including country), e-mail address and telephone number, if different from the certifier or export or, if there are multiple producers, state “Various” or provide a list of producers. A person that wishes for this information to remain confidential may state “Available upon request by the importing authorities.” The address of a producer shall be the place of production of the good in a CPTPP country.

5. Importer

Provide, if known, the importer’s name, address, email address and telephone number. The address of the importer shall be in a CPTPP country.

6. Description and HS Tariff Classification of the Good

  1. Provide a description of the good and the HS tariff classification of the good to the 6-digit level. The description should be sufficient to relate it to the good covered by the certification; and
  2. If the certification of origin covers a single shipment of a good, indicate, if known, the invoice number related to the exportation.

7. Origin Criterion

Specify the rule of origin under which the good qualifies.

8. Blanket Period

Include the period if the certification covers multiple shipments of identical goods for a specified period of up to 12 months as set out in Article 3.20.4 (Claims for Preferential Treatment).

9. Authorised Signature and Date

The certification must be signed and dated by the certifier and accompanied by the following statement:

I certify that the goods described in this document qualify as originating and the information contained in this document is true and accurate. I assume responsibility for proving such representations and agree to maintain and present upon request, or to make available during a verification visit, documentation necessary to support this certification.

Frequently asked questions

Date Modified:

Comment demander un traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu du PTPGP

L’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) offre aux Canadiens de nouvelles possibilités de faire affaire avec la région de l’Asie-Pacifique en éliminant les droits de douane et en offrant un accès préférentiel à des marchés comme le Japon et le Vietnam. Afin de profiter du traitement tarifaire préférentiel accordé en vertu du PTPGP, un importateur devra détenir un certificat d’origine attestant que le produit respecte les règles d’origine.

Contrairement à certains des accords commerciaux précédents du Canada, le PTPGP n’impose pas de format prescrit pour le certificat d’origine. Un certificat d’origine en vertu du PTPGP peut être présenté sur une facture ou tout autre document (sur papier ou sous forme électronique), mais il doit contenir un ensemble de données minimales requises énoncées à l’annexe 3-B du chapitre 3 de l’Accord.

Ce certificat peut être rempli par l’exportateur, le producteur ou l’importateur et n’exige pas la certification d’un tiers par le gouvernement du Canada. Un certificat d’origine est valide pour un an après la date à laquelle il a été délivré ou pour une période plus longue comme précisé par les lois et règlements de la partie importatrice.

Données minimales requises

Un certificat d’origine en vertu du PTPGP doit contenir les éléments suivants :

1. Importateur, exportateur, producteur – Certificat d’origine

Préciser si le certificateur est l’exportateur, le producteur ou l’importateur conformément à l’article 3.20 (Demandes de traitement préférentiel).

2. Certificateur

Indiquer le nom du certificateur, son adresse (y compris le pays), son numéro de téléphone et son adresse électronique.

3. Exportateur

Indiquer le nom de l’exportateur, son adresse (y compris le pays), son adresse électronique et son numéro de téléphone, si ces cordonnées sont différentes de celles du certificateur. Ces renseignements ne sont pas nécessaires si le producteur établit le certificat d’origine et ne connaît pas l’identité de l’exportateur. L’adresse de l’exportateur est celle du lieu d’exportation du produit dans un pays du PTPGP.

4. Producteur

Indiquer le nom du producteur, son adresse (y compris le pays), son adresse électronique et son numéro de téléphone, si ces cordonnées sont différentes de celles du certificateur ou de l’exportateur. S’il y a plus d’un producteur, inscrire « Divers » ou fournir une liste des producteurs. Une personne qui souhaite que ces renseignements demeurent confidentiels peut indiquer la mention « Renseignements fournis à la demande des autorités importatrices ». L’adresse du producteur est celle du lieu de production du produit dans un pays du PTPGP.

5. Importateur

Indiquer le nom de l’importateur, son adresse, son adresse électronique et son numéro de téléphone, si ces renseignements sont connus. L’adresse de l’importateur est une adresse dans un pays du PTPGP.

6. Description et classement tarifaire du SH du produit

  1. Fournir une description du produit et les six premiers chiffres de son numéro de classement tarifaire du SH. La description devrait être suffisante pour permettre d’établir un rapport avec le produit visé par la certification; et
  2. Si le certificat d’origine vise une seule expédition d’un produit, indiquer le numéro de facture cette exportation, s’il est connu.

7. Critère d’origine

Indiquer la règle d’origine selon laquelle le produit est admissible.

8. Période globale

Indiquer la période si le certificat vise de multiples expéditions de produits identiques sur une période déterminée d’au plus 12 mois, telle qu’elle est énoncée à l’article 3.20.4 (Demandes de traitement préférentiel).

9. Signature autorisée et date

Le certificat doit être signé et daté par le certificateur et accompagné de l’attestation suivante :

J’atteste que les produits décrits dans le présent document sont admissibles à titre de produits originaires et que les renseignements fournis dans le présent document sont véridiques et exacts. Il m’incombe d’en faire la preuve et je conviens de conserver et de produire sur demande ou de rendre accessibles durant une visite de vérification les documents nécessaires à l’appui du certificat.

Foire aux questions

Date de modification: