Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership Ministerial Statement – March 8, 2018

We, the Ministers and Senior Officials representing Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam, are pleased to announce that today we are signing the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (hereinafter referred to as “the Agreement”).

Ministers shared the view that, by achieving a high standard and well-balanced outcome, the Agreement will strengthen the mutually-beneficial linkages among our economies, boost trade, investment and economic growth in the Asia-Pacific region, and create new opportunities for businesses, consumers, families, farmers and workers. The Agreement demonstrates our collective commitment to an effective, rules-based and transparent trading system which is open to all economies willing to accept these principles.

The signing of the Agreement enables us to move to the next phase. Ministers expressed their determination to complete their domestic processes to bring the Agreement into force expeditiously.

Ministers welcome the interest shown by a number of other economies wishing to accede to the Agreement. This interest affirms our shared objective, through the Agreement, of creating a platform that promotes high standards for broader economic integration in the future.

Ministers agreed that their Senior Officials will start the necessary preparations for the smooth implementation of the Agreement.

Date Modified:

Accord de partenariat transpacifique progressiste et global Déclaration des ministers – 8 mars 2018

Nous, les ministres et hauts fonctionnaires représentant l’Australie, Brunéi Darussalam, le Canada, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle‑Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam, sommes heureux d’annoncer qu’aujourd’hui, nous signons l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique progressiste et global (ci-après « l’Accord »).

Les ministres estiment que l’Accord permettra d’obtenir des résultats ambitieux et bien équilibrés, ce qui renforcera les liens mutuellement avantageux entre nos économies; stimulera les échanges commerciaux, les investissements et la croissance économique dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique; et créera de nouveaux débouchés pour les entreprises, les consommateurs, les familles, les agriculteurs et les travailleurs. L’Accord témoigne de notre engagement collectif à mettre en place un système commercial efficace, transparent et fondé sur des règles ouvert à toute économie prête à adhérer à ces principes.

La signature de l’Accord nous permet de passer à la prochaine étape. Les ministres sont déterminés à mener à bien leurs processus nationaux pour que l’Accord puisse entrer en vigueur dans les plus brefs délais.

Les ministres accueillent favorablement l’intérêt manifesté par un certain nombre d’autres économies d’adhérer à l’Accord. Cet intérêt confirme notre objectif commun de créer, au moyen de l’Accord, une plateforme visant à accroître de manière ambitieuse l’intégration économique à l’avenir.

Les ministres ont convenu que leurs hauts fonctionnaires procéderont aux préparatifs nécessaires pour assurer une mise en œuvre harmonieuse de l’Accord.

Date de modification: