Public consultations on the accession of new economies to the CPTPP

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a free trade agreement, which entered into force between the first six countries to ratify the agreement – Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, and Singapore – on December 30, 2018; and for Vietnam on January 14, 2019.

The CPTPP is designed to expand over time to include new member economies. With the agreement now in force, any economy that is able to meet the high-standard rules and ambitious market access commitments of the CPTPP can seek to join it, subject to negotiations on specific terms and conditions with the current CPTPP members.

At the inaugural CPTPP Commission meeting in Tokyo on January 19, 2019, CPTPP members laid out the procedural steps for accession negotiations. The accession of new economies to the CPTPP is an opportunity for Canada to further diversify and expand our preferential access to markets throughout the Asia-Pacific region and beyond. Accessions would help reinforce the rules-based international system and promote the development of regional and global supply chains, strengthening Canada’s connectivity with the Asia-Pacific region.

Summary

Global Affairs Canada conducted public consultations on possible CPTPP accession negotiations from July 27 to August 25, 2019. The focus of the consultations was to solicit input from Canadians on how Canada should best prioritise and proceed with potential CPTPP accession negotiations. The Government was especially interested in seeking views regarding economies that had publicly announced their own consultations or studies on CPTPP accession, notably South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United Kingdom. The Government also welcomed views on the potential accession of any other Asia-Pacific economy.


Figure 1. Written submissions received during public consultations, according to stakeholder type

Text alternative

Submissions by stakeholder type

  • Industry (46)
  • Civil society organisation (8)
    • Labour union (2)
    • NGO (4)
    • Think tank (2)
  • Individual (16)
  • Province/Territory (4)

The Government received written submissions from 46 businesses and industry associations, 8 civil society organisations, 16 individuals, and 4 provinces. In addition, the Government received 36 submissions as part of a letter-writing campaign organised by a single organization.

What we heard from Canadians on CPTPP expansion

Overall, Canadians shared positive views towards CPTPP expansion, with 75% of submissions providing generally supportive views on the initiative. Only 8% of submissions indicated skepticism or opposition towards accessions. In general, Canadians saw value in expanding the CPTPP as means to diversify Canada’s trade and investment with the Asia-Pacific region. They also recognised the strategic importance of accessions in the context of rising protectionism in the global economy and Canada’s interest in reinforcing the rules-based international trading system.


Figure 2. Views of Canadian stakeholders and partners on CPTPP expansion

Text alternative

Views on CPTPP expansion

  • Positive (72%)
  • Cautiously supportive (3%)
  • Neutral (17%)
  • Skeptical (5%)
  • Negative (3%)

Views of businesses

Over two-thirds of Canadian businesses expressed clear support for CPTPP expansion to include new member economies, including those from agriculture and agri-food (e.g. beef, pork, canola, soybeans), chemicals and plastics, cleantech, and engineering and financial services. Stakeholders from these sectors saw potential for new commercial opportunities as a result of reducing tariffs, addressing non-tariff barriers (especially SPS measures), and enhancing rules and protections for intellectual property and investment.

Stakeholders from supply managed sectors (i.e. dairy, poultry, eggs) requested that Canada not expand TRQ volumes beyond existing levels or otherwise agree to additional market accession concessions, such as reducing over-quota tariffs.

Stakeholders from the creative and cultural industries expressed mixed views on accessions. Some emphasised the importance of expanding IP rules and protections to new markets. Others advocated for the renegotiation of Canada’s CPTPP culture exclusions to reflect a full general exemption like under CUSMA; otherwise, they advocated that Canada should not pursue accession unless aspirant economies agree to side letters that fully preserve Canada’s right to maintain policies and measures that protect and promote cultural expression.

Just two stakeholders from the automotive sector submitted views on accession – while one stakeholder expressed strong support for expansion of the CPTPP, another expressed skepticism towards accessions unless mechanisms can be identified to address non-tariff barriers in markets like Japan and South Korea.

No stakeholders from the fish and seafood and forestry sectors provided views during the consultation period.

Views of non-business groups

Only two labour unions provided views on CPTPP expansion, both reiterating concerns previously expressed during consultations conducted by the Government on the TPP in 2017. One submission emphasised that the CPTPP’s cultural provisions do not go far enough and put Canada’s cultural sovereignty at risk, particularly with respect to Canadian content in a digital environment. Another submission expressed strong concerns about the Agreement’s temporary entry provisions.

Two Canadian think tanks provided positive views on CPTPP expansion and its alignment with Canada’s strategic and economic priorities in the Asia-Pacific region. Canadian academics and researchers who wrote individual submissions echoed these views. One submission expressed hopes for a more transparent negotiation process for CPTPP expansion and stressed the need to maintain the existing suspensions to the Agreement’s IP chapter.

One organization spearheaded a letter-writing campaign that saw 36 of its members write to support possible accession by a particular economy to the CPTPP.

Views of provinces and territories

Four provinces provided submissions. Three of these reiterated their appreciation for the Government’s collaborative approach to trade negotiations and their hopes for continued federal-provincial-territorial discussion on CPTPP expansion once negotiations commence.

A fourth province expressed no objections to CPTPP expansion, provided that Canada secures ambitious market access outcomes and negotiates a culture side letter with each aspirant economy. This submission also enquired about how Canada would allocate supply management TRQs to aspirant economies, expressing opposition to expanding existing volumes.

Areas of interest


Figure 3. Aspects of trade policy identified by stakeholders and partners as areas of interest

Text alternative

Trade policy areas of interest

  • Goods market access (40)
  • Services (7)
  • Investment (4)
  • Intellectual property (5)
  • Trade remedies (1)
  • Government procurement (1)
  • Competition policy (1)
  • Inclusive trade (2)
  • Institutional (4)

A majority of submissions that provided views on trade policy issues focused on goods market access, particularly the elimination of tariffs and addressing SPS-related challenges. On services, interested stakeholders provided input on the expansion of access for professional and financial services, as well as concerning Canada’s approach to temporary entry. On investment, interested stakeholders emphasised the importance of providing rules and protections for Canadian investment abroad; no Canadians shared views on the impact of investor-state dispute settlement.

Economies of interest

Among potential candidates for CPTPP accession specifically identified in the Gazette Notice, Canadians most frequently raised Thailand as a market of interest for accession (26 times), followed by Taiwan (24), South Korea (23), and the United Kingdom (18). Although not specifically identified in advance, Canadians also identified the Philippines (7) and Indonesia (6) as markets of interests.


Figure 4. Economies identified as markets of interest by stakeholders in their written submissions

Text alternative

Economies of interest

  • Korea (23)
  • Taiwan (24)
  • Thailand (26)
  • United Kingdom (18)
  • Bangladesh (1)
  • China (1)
  • Colombia (0)
  • Hong Kong (0)
  • Indonesia (6)
  • Philippines (7)
  • Sri Lanka (1)
  • United States (1)

Canadian businesses cited Thailand as a market of interest given high levels of tariffs and other barriers to trade. For South Korea, some stakeholders saw opportunities to improve upon the terms of the Canada-Korea FTA, especially to achieve parity with the United States.

Canadian businesses, academia, and think tanks alike expressed overall support for engaging with Taiwan during the accessions process, as both a key export destination and politically-likeminded partner, although some reminded the Government to exercise caution vis-à-vis other geopolitical interests if Taiwan applied to join the CPTPP.

For the United Kingdom, businesses saw CPTPP accessions as an avenue to achieve more certainty given their withdrawal from the European Union, while some academics questioned the strategic value of including the United Kingdom in a Pacific Rim trade agreement.

Among economies not specifically identified in the Gazette Notice, Canadians took most interest in Indonesia and the Philippines. Some considered engaging with Indonesia and the Philippines on the CPTPP as a better path to achieving comprehensive rules and market access than a standalone Canada-ASEAN FTA.

Canadians did not frequently raise China or the United States as economies of interest or concern during the consultations. Other economies mentioned include Bangladesh, Colombia, Hong Kong, and Sri Lanka.

Next steps

Despite the conclusion of the public consultation period, the Government of Canada continues to welcome the views of Canadians on the potential expansion of the CPTPP. The feedback received from Canadians will help inform the Government’s decision-making on whether to pursue negotiations with new economies after we receive an official accession request, as well as to define our negotiating priorities.

Date Modified:

Consultations publiques sur l’adhésion de nouvelles économies au PTPGP

L’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) est un accord de libre‑échange entré en vigueur entre les six premiers pays à l’avoir ratifié, soit l’Australie, le Canada, le Japon, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande et Singapour, le 30 décembre 2018. Le Vietnam fait partie de l’Accord depuis le 14 janvier 2019.

Le PTPGP a été conçu pour pouvoir être élargi au fil du temps et inclure de nouvelles économies membres. Avec l’Accord désormais en vigueur, toute économie capable de respecter les règles de haut niveau et les engagements ambitieux du PTPGP en matière d’accès au marché peut chercher à y adhérer, sous réserve de négociations sur des conditions précises avec les membres actuels du PTPGP.

Lors de la réunion inaugurale de la Commission du PTPGP à Tokyo le 19 janvier 2019, les membres du PTPGP ont défini les étapes de la procédure de négociation en vue d’adhésions à l’Accord. L’adhésion de nouvelles économies au PTPGP est une occasion pour le Canada de diversifier et d’étendre son accès préférentiel aux marchés de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique et au-delà. Les adhésions contribueraient à renforcer le système international fondé sur des règles et à favoriser la création de chaînes d’approvisionnement régionales et mondiales qui permettront de resserrer les liens du Canada avec la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

Sommaire

Affaires mondiales Canada a mené des consultations publiques sur d’éventuelles négociations d’adhésion au PTPGP du 27 juillet au 25 août 2019. L’objectif de ces consultations était de solliciter l’avis des Canadiens sur la meilleure façon pour le Canada de définir ses priorités et de procéder à d’éventuelles négociations d’adhésion au PTPGP. Le gouvernement souhaitait particulièrement obtenir des avis sur les économies qui avaient annoncé publiquement leurs propres consultations ou études sur l’adhésion au PTPGP, notamment la Corée du Sud, le Royaume-Uni, Taïwan et la Thaïlande. Le gouvernement a également accueilli favorablement les avis sur l’adhésion éventuelle de toute autre économie de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.


Figure 1. Observations écrites reçues lors des consultations publiques, selon le type d’intervenant

Texte alternatif

Observations, par type d’intervenant

  • Industrie (46)
  • Organisation de la société civile (8)
    • Groupe de réflexion (2)
    • ONG (4)
    • Organisation syndicale (2)
  • Particulier (16)
  • Province/Territoire (4)

Le gouvernement a reçu des observations écrites de 46 entreprises et associations industrielles, de huit organisations de la société civile (OSC), de 16 particuliers et de quatre provinces. En outre, le gouvernement a reçu 36 observations dans le cadre d’une campagne de rédaction de lettres organisée par une seule organisation.

Ce que les Canadiens nous ont dit sur l’expansion du PTPGP

De façon générale, les Canadiens ont exprimé des opinions positives à l’égard de l’expansion du PTPGP, 75 % des observations soumises présentant des opinions généralement favorables à l’initiative. Seulement 8 % des observations indiquaient un scepticisme ou une opposition à l’égard des adhésions. En général, les Canadiens croient que l’expansion du PTPGP est un bon moyen de diversifier le commerce et les investissements du Canada avec la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique. Ils ont également reconnu l’importance stratégique des adhésions dans le contexte de la montée du protectionnisme dans l’économie mondiale et l’intérêt du Canada à renforcer le système commercial international fondé sur des règles.


Figure 2. Avis des intervenants et partenaires canadiens sur l’élargissement du PTPGP

Texte alternatif

Avis sur l’élargissement du PTPGP

  • Positifs (72%)
  • Prudemment favorables (3%)
  • Neutres (17%)
  • Sceptiques (5%)
  • Négatifs (3%)

Points de vue des entreprises

Plus des deux tiers des entreprises canadiennes ont clairement exprimé leur soutien à l’expansion du PTPGP pour y inclure de nouvelles économies membres, y compris celles des domaines de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire (comme le bœuf, le porc, le canola et le soja), des produits chimiques et des plastiques, des technologies propres et des services d’ingénierie et financiers. Les intervenants de ces secteurs ont vu le potentiel de nouvelles possibilités commerciales résultant de la réduction des droits de douane, de l’élimination des obstacles non tarifaires (plus particulièrement les mesures SPS) et du renforcement des règles et des mesures de protection en matière de propriété intellectuelle et d’investissements.

Les intervenants des secteurs assujettis à la gestion de l’offre (c’est-à-dire les produits laitiers, la volaille et les œufs) ont demandé que le Canada n’augmente pas les volumes des contingents tarifaires au-delà des niveaux existants ou n’accepte pas d’autres concessions liées à l’adhésion au marché, comme la réduction des droits hors contingent.

Les intervenants des industries créatives et culturelles ont des opinions mitigées quant aux adhésions. Certains ont souligné l’importance d’étendre les règles et les mesures de protection en matière de propriété intellectuelle à de nouveaux marchés. D’autres ont plaidé en faveur de la renégociation des exclusions culturelles du Canada prévues dans le PTPGP afin de refléter une exemption générale complète comme dans le cadre de l’ACEUM; autrement, ils ont recommandé au Canada de ne pas y aller de l’avant avec l’adhésion à moins que les économies candidates n’acceptent de signer des lettres d’accompagnement qui préservent pleinement le droit du Canada de maintenir des politiques et des mesures qui protègent l’expression culturelle et en font la promotion.

Seuls deux intervenants du secteur automobile ont présenté des points de vue sur l’adhésion : tandis qu’un intervenant exprimait son soutien ferme à l’expansion du PTPGP, l’autre exprimait son scepticisme à l’égard des adhésions à moins que des mécanismes puissent être définis pour traiter les obstacles non tarifaires dans des marchés comme le Japon et la Corée du Sud.

Aucun intervenant des secteurs des poissons et fruits de mer et de la foresterie n’a donné son avis pendant la période de consultation.

Points de vue des groupes n’appartenant pas au monde des affaires

Seules deux organisations syndicales ont donné leur avis sur l’expansion du PTPGP, toutes deux réitérant les préoccupations précédemment exprimées lors des consultations menées par le gouvernement sur le PTP en 2017. L’une des observations soulignait que les dispositions culturelles de l’Accord ne vont pas assez loin et mettent en danger la souveraineté culturelle du Canada, notamment en ce qui concerne le contenu canadien dans un environnement numérique. Une autre observation exprimait de vives inquiétudes concernant les dispositions de l’Accord relatives à l’admission temporaire.

Deux groupes de réflexion canadiens ont émis des avis positifs sur l’expansion du PTPGP et son harmonisation avec les priorités stratégiques et économiques du Canada dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. Des universitaires et chercheurs canadiens qui ont rédigé des observations individuelles partagent ces points de vue. Une des observations exprimait l’espoir d’un processus de négociation plus transparent pour l’expansion du PTPGP et soulignait la nécessité de maintenir les suspensions existantes du chapitre sur la propriété intellectuelle de l’Accord.

Une organisation a mené une campagne de rédaction de lettres qui a vu 36 de ses membres écrire pour soutenir l’adhésion éventuelle d’une économie précise au PTPGP.

Points de vue des provinces et territoires

Quatre provinces ont présenté des observations. Trois d’entre elles ont réitéré leur satisfaction quant à l’approche de collaboration du gouvernement dans les négociations commerciales et leur espoir de voir se poursuivre les discussions fédérales-provinciales-territoriales sur l’expansion du PTPGP une fois les négociations entamées.

Une quatrième province n’a exprimé aucune objection à l’expansion du PTPGP, à condition que le Canada obtienne des résultats ambitieux en matière d’accès au marché et négocie une lettre d’accompagnement sur la culture avec chaque économie candidate. Cette observation demandait également de quelle façon le Canada allouerait les contingents tarifaires de gestion de l’offre aux économies candidates, exprimant son opposition à l’élargissement des volumes existants.

Secteurs d’intérêt


Figure 3. Aspects de la politique commerciale identifiés par les intervenants et les partenaires comme des secteurs d’intérêt

Texte alternatif

Secteurs de la politique commerciale d’intérêt

  • Accès aux marchés des marchandises (40)
  • Services (7)
  • Investissement (4)
  • Propriété intellectuelle (5)
  • Recours commerciaux (1)
  • Marchés publics (1)
  • Politique en matière de concurrence (1)
  • Commerce inclusif (2)
  • Institutionnelles (4)

La majorité des observations qui contenaient des avis sur les questions de politique commerciale portaient sur l’accès aux marchés des marchandises, plus particulièrement l’élimination des droits de douane et le traitement des problèmes liés aux mesures SPS. En ce qui concerne les services, les intervenants intéressés ont fait part de leurs commentaires sur l’élargissement de l’accès aux services professionnels et financiers ainsi que sur la stratégie du Canada en matière d’admission temporaire. En ce qui concerne l’investissement, les intervenants intéressés ont souligné l’importance de prévoir des règles et des mesures de protection pour les investissements canadiens à l’étranger; aucun Canadien n’a communiqué son point de vue sur l’incidence du mécanisme de règlement des différends entre investisseurs et États.

Économies d’intérêt

Parmi les candidats potentiels à l’adhésion au PTPGP expressément désignés dans l’avis de la Gazette, les Canadiens ont le plus souvent mentionné la Thaïlande comme marché d’intérêt pour l’adhésion (26 fois), suivie de Taïwan (24), de la Corée du Sud (23) et du Royaume-Uni (18). Les Canadiens ont également désigné les Philippines (7) et l’Indonésie (6) comme marchés d’intérêt, bien qu’ils n’aient pas été expressément désignés à l’avance.


Figure 4. Économies identifiées comme des marchés d’intérêt par les intervenants dans leurs observations écrites

Texte alternatif

Économies d’intérêt

  • Corée (23)
  • Royaume-Uni (18)
  • Taïwan (24)
  • Thaïlande (26)
  • Bangladesh (1)
  • Chine (1)
  • Colombie (0)
  • États-Unis (1)
  • Hong Kong (0)
  • Indonésie (6)
  • Philippines (7)
  • Sri Lanka (1)

Les entreprises canadiennes ont cité la Thaïlande comme marché d’intérêt compte tenu du niveau élevé des droits de douane et des autres obstacles au commerce. En ce qui a trait à la Corée du Sud, certains intervenants ont vu des possibilités d’améliorer les conditions de l’ALE Canada-Corée, surtout pour atteindre la parité avec les États-Unis.

Les entreprises, les universitaires et les groupes de réflexion canadiens ont tous exprimé leur soutien général à la collaboration avec Taïwan au cours du processus d’adhésion, comme destination d’exportation clé et partenaire d’optique politique commune, bien que certains aient rappelé au gouvernement de faire preuve de prudence relativement à d’autres intérêts géopolitiques si Taïwan demandait à adhérer au PTPGP.

En ce qui a trait au Royaume-Uni, les entreprises ont considéré les adhésions au PTPGP comme un moyen d’obtenir plus de certitude compte tenu de son retrait de l’Union européenne, tandis que certains universitaires ont mis en doute la valeur stratégique de l’inclusion du Royaume-Uni dans un accord commercial avec la région du Pacifique.

Parmi les économies qui n’ont pas été expressément désignées dans l’avis de la Gazette, les Canadiens se sont surtout intéressés à l’Indonésie et aux Philippines. Certains croient qu’une collaboration avec ces deux pays dans le cadre du PTPGP était une meilleure voie pour parvenir à établir des règles complètes et à accéder au marché qu’un ALE autonome entre le Canada et l’ANASE.

Les Canadiens n’ont pas souvent évoqué la Chine ou les États-Unis comme des économies d’intérêt ou préoccupantes au cours des consultations. Parmi les autres économies mentionnées, citons le Bangladesh, la Colombie, Hong Kong et le Sri Lanka.

Prochaines étapes

Malgré la conclusion de la période de consultation publique, le gouvernement du Canada continue d’accueillir favorablement les opinions des Canadiens sur l’expansion potentielle du PTPGP. Les commentaires reçus des Canadiens aideront le gouvernement à décider s’il doit poursuivre les négociations avec les nouvelles économies après avoir reçu une demande officielle d’adhésion ainsi qu’à définir ses priorités de négociation.

Date de modification: