New Zealand – Side Instruments

Culture

Letter from the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

8 March 2018

Hon David Parker
Minister for Trade and Export Growth
New Zealand

Dear Minister,

In connection with the signing of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership  (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to confirm the following agreement reached by the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of New Zealand (New Zealand):

Canada and New Zealand agree that, in continuing to give effect to the Agreement, notwithstanding the following language in Annex II – Canada – 16 and 17 – under the Cultural Industries Sector, first paragraph under the subheading “Description,” that states “except: (a) discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development; and (b) measures restricting the access to on-line foreign audio-visual content”, Canada may adopt or maintain discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development and may adopt or maintain measures that restrict access to on-line foreign audio-visual content.

I have the honour to propose that this letter, equally valid in English and French, and your letter in reply shall constitute an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and New Zealand.

Yours sincerely

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade


Response from the Honourable David Parker

8 March 2018

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Dear Minister,

I am pleased to acknowledge receipt of your letter of 8 March 2018, which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to confirm the following agreement reached by the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of New Zealand (New Zealand):

Canada and New Zealand agree that, in continuing to give effect to the Agreement, notwithstanding the following language in Annex II – Canada – 16 and 17 – under the Cultural Industries Sector, first paragraph under the subheading “Description,” that states “except: (a) discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development; and (b) measures restricting the access to on-line foreign audio-visual content,” Canada may adopt or maintain discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development and may adopt or maintain measures that restrict access to on-line foreign audio-visual content.

I have the honour to propose that this letter, equally valid in English and French, and your letter in reply shall constitute an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and New Zealand.”

I have the honour to confirm that the above reflects the agreement reached between our Governments, and that your letter, equally valid in English and French, and this letter in reply shall constitute an agreement between our Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between New Zealand and Canada.

Sincerely,

Hon David Parker
Minister for Trade and Export Growth
New Zealand

Distinctive Products: Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky

Letter from the Honourable David Parker

 8 March 2018

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Dear Minister Champagne

In connection with the signing on this date of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the Agreement), I have the honour to confirm the following understandings reached by the Government of New Zealand and the Government of Canada during the course of negotiation of Chapter 2 (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods) regarding the treatment of the terms Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky:

  1. The Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (“the Code”) allows recognition of Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky as products exclusively manufactured in Canada and that no variation to the Code is necessary for such recognition.
  2. To the extent contemplated in the Code, New Zealand will not permit the sale of any product as Canadian Whisky or Canadian Rye Whisky, unless it has been manufactured in Canada according to the laws of Canada governing the manufacture of Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky and the product complies with all applicable regulations of Canada for the sale or export as Canadian Whisky or Canadian Rye Whisky.

I have the honour of proposing that this letter, and your letter in reply, equally valid in French and English, confirming that your Government shares these understandings, will constitute an understanding between our Governments that will come into effect on the first date on which the Agreement is in force for both New Zealand and Canada.

Yours sincerely

Hon David Parker
Minister for Trade and Export Growth
New Zealand


Response from the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

8 March 2018

The Honourable David Parker
Minister for Trade and Export Growth
New Zealand

Dear Minister,

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of your letter of this date, which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing on this date of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the Agreement), I have the honour to confirm the following understandings reached by the Government of New Zealand and the Government of Canada during the course of negotiation of Chapter 2 (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods) regarding the treatment of the terms Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky:

  1. The Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (“the Code”) allows recognition of Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky as products exclusively manufactured in Canada and that no variation to the Code is necessary for such recognition.
  2. To the extent contemplated in the Code, New Zealand will not permit the sale of any product as Canadian Whisky or Canadian Rye Whisky, unless it has been manufactured in Canada according to the laws of Canada governing the manufacture of Canadian Whisky and Canadian Rye Whisky and the product complies with all applicable regulations of Canada for the sale or export as Canadian Whisky or Canadian Rye Whisky.

I have the honour of proposing that this letter, and your letter in reply, equally valid in French and English, confirming that your Government shares these understandings, will constitute an understanding between our Governments that will come into effect on the first date on which the Agreement is in force for both New Zealand and Canada.”

I have the honour to confirm that the above reflects the understandings reached between the Government of Canada and the Government of New Zealand during the course of negotiations on the Agreement, and that your letter and this letter in reply, equally valid in French and English, constitute an understanding between our Governments that will come into effect on the first date on which the Agreement is in force for both New Zealand and Canada.

Sincerely

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Wine and Spirits

Letter from the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

 8 March 2018

The Honourable David Parker
Minister for Trade and Export Growth
New Zealand

Dear Minister,

In connection with the signing on this date of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the Agreement), I have the honour to confirm the following understandings reached between the Government of Canada and the Government of New Zealand during the course of negotiation regarding the treatment of New Zealand wine and distilled spirits:

  1. If a state owned enterprise of a regional level of government in Canada applies a cost of service differential to an imported wine or distilled spirit associated with the distribution, marketing or sale of the imported product, that cost of service differential will not exceed the actual difference in the costs of the distribution, marketing and sale of an imported wine or distilled spirit compared to the cost of distribution, marketing and sale of a like domestic wine or distilled spirit.
  2.     If a cost of service differential applied to a wine or distilled spirit product from a non-Party to this Agreement is applied on a basis other than the value of the product pursuant to an agreement with that non-Party, the cost of service differential referred to in paragraph 1 will be applied on the same basis under this Agreement.
  3.        If a mark-up, cost of service or other pricing measure is adopted or maintained within the scope of Annex 2-A (Measures of Canada, paragraph (f)) with respect to the internal sale or distribution of a wine or distilled spirit, those measures will accord treatment no less favourable than the treatment accorded to a like wine or distilled spirit of any other Party to the Agreement or a non-Party.
  4.         If a state owned enterprise of a regional level of government in Canada applies a cost of service differential with respect to the internal sale and distribution of wine and distilled spirits, that cost of service differential will be made available through publicly accessible means, such as its official website.

I have the honour of proposing that this letter, equally valid in French and English, and your letter in reply, confirming that your Government shares these understandings, will constitute an understanding between our Governments that will come into effect on the first date on which the Agreement is in force for both Canada and New Zealand.

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of lnternational Trade
Canada


Response from the Honourable David Parker

8 March 2018

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Dear Minister Champagne

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of your letter of this date, which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing on this date of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the Agreement), I have the honour to confirm the following understandings reached between the Government of Canada and the Government of New Zealand during the course of negotiation regarding the treatment of New Zealand wine and distilled spirits:

  1. If a state owned enterprise of a regional level of government in Canada applies a cost of service differential to an imported wine or distilled spirit associated with the distribution, marketing or sale of the imported product, that cost of service differential will not exceed the actual difference in the costs of the distribution, marketing and sale of an imported wine or distilled spirit compared to the cost of distribution, marketing and sale of a like domestic wine or distilled spirit.
  2.         If a cost of service differential applied to a wine or distilled spirit product from a non-Party to this Agreement is applied on a basis other than the value of the product pursuant to an agreement with that non-Party, the cost of service differential referred to in paragraph 1 will be applied on the same basis under this Agreement.
  3.        If a mark-up, cost of service or other pricing measure is adopted or maintained within the scope of Annex 2-A (Measures of Canada, paragraph (f)) with respect to the internal sale or distribution of a wine or distilled spirit, those measures will accord treatment no less favourable than the treatment accorded to a like wine or distilled spirit of any other Party to the Agreement or a non-Party.
  4.      If a state owned enterprise of a regional level of government in Canada applies a cost of service differential with respect to the internal sale and distribution of wine and distilled spirits, that cost of service differential will be made available through publicly accessible means, such as its official website.

I have the honour of proposing that this letter, equally valid in French and English, and your letter in reply, confirming that your Government shares these understandings, will constitute an understanding between our Governments that will come into effect on the first date on which the Agreement is in force for both Canada and New Zealand.”

I have the honour to confirm that the above reflects the understandings reached between the Governments of New Zealand and Canada during the course of negotiations on the Agreement, and that your letter, equally valid in French and English, and this letter in reply, constitute an understanding between our Governments that will come into effect on the first date on which the Agreement is in force for both New Zealand and Canada.

Yours sincerely

Hon David Parker
Minister for Trade and Export Growth
New Zealand

Date Modified:

Nouvelle-Zélande – Instruments impliquant le Canada

Culture

Lettre de l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable David Parker
Ministre du Commerce et de la Croissance des exportations
Nouvelle-Zélande

Monsieur le Ministre,

Dans le cadre de la signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’accord suivant conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande (Nouvelle-Zélande) :

Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande conviennent que, dans le cadre des dispositions prises pour continuer à donner effet à l’Accord, malgré le libellé du premier paragraphe de l’élément Description figurant à l’Annexe II – Liste du Canada – 16 et 17 – Secteur des industries culturelles, lequel est rédigé comme suit : « à l’exception : a) des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien; b) des mesures limitant l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne », le Canada peut adopter ou maintenir des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien, et peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures qui limitent l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, et votre lettre de réponse constituent entre nos deux gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada


Réponse de l’honorable David Parker

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre du 8 mars 2018, dont la teneur est la suivante :

« Dans le cadre de la signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’accord suivant conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande (Nouvelle-Zélande) :

Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande conviennent que, dans le cadre des dispositions prises pour continuer à donner effet à l’Accord, malgré le libellé du premier paragraphe de l’élément Description figurant à l’Annexe II – Liste du Canada – 16 et 17 – Secteur des industries culturelles, lequel est rédigé comme suit : « à l’exception : a) des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien; b) des mesures limitant l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne », le Canada peut adopter ou maintenir des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien, et peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures qui limitent l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, et votre lettre de réponse constituent entre nos deux gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande. »

J’ai l’honneur de confirmer que le texte qui précède reflète l’accord conclu entre nos gouvernements, et que votre lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, et la présente lettre en réponse constituent entre nos gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable David Parker
Ministre du Commerce et de la Croissance des exportations
Nouvelle-Zélande

Produits distinctifs : Whisky et rye whisky canadiens

Lettre de l’honorable David Parker

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Monsieur le Ministre,

Dans le cadre de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’Accord), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’entente qui suit, intervenue entre le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Gouvernement du Canada au cours des négociations du chapitre 2 (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits) concernant le traitement accordé aux expressions « whisky canadien » et « rye whisky canadien » :

  1. Étant donné que le whisky canadien et le rye whisky canadien sont reconnus comme des produits fabriqués exclusivement au Canada dans l’Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (le Code), aucune modification au Code n’est nécessaire à ce titre.
  2. Dans la mesure prévue par le Code, la Nouvelle-Zélande ne permettra pas la vente d’un produit sous le nom de whisky canadien ou de rye whisky canadien, à moins que ce produit n’ait été fabriqué au Canada, conformément aux lois du Canada régissant la fabrication du whisky canadien et du rye whisky canadien, et qu’il respecte tous les règlements applicables du Canada visant la vente ou l’exportation sous le nom de whisky canadien ou de rye whisky canadien.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et la réponse que vous donnerez à celle-ci, dont les versions française et anglaise sont également valides, confirmant l’acceptation de votre gouvernement, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements qui prendra effet le premier jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable David Parker
Ministre du Commerce et de la Croissance des exportations
Nouvelle-Zélande


Réponse de l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable David Parker
Ministre du Commerce et de la Croissance des exportations
Nouvelle-Zélande

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre en date de ce jour dont la teneur est la suivante :

« Dans le cadre de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’Accord), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’entente qui suit, intervenue entre le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Gouvernement du Canada au cours des négociations du chapitre 2 (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits) concernant le traitement accordé aux expressions « whisky canadien » et « rye whisky canadien » :

  1. Étant donné que le whisky canadien et le rye whisky canadien sont reconnus comme des produits fabriqués exclusivement au Canada dans l’Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (le Code), aucune modification au Code n’est nécessaire à ce titre.
  2. Dans la mesure prévue par le Code, la Nouvelle-Zélande ne permettra pas la vente d’un produit sous le nom de whisky canadien ou de rye whisky canadien, à moins que ce produit n’ait été fabriqué au Canada, conformément aux lois du Canada régissant la fabrication du whisky canadien et du rye whisky canadien, et qu’il respecte tous les règlements applicables du Canada visant la vente ou l’exportation sous le nom de whisky canadien ou de rye whisky canadien.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et la réponse que vous donnerez à celle-ci, dont les versions française et anglaise sont également valides, confirmant l’acceptation de votre gouvernement, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements qui prendra effet le premier jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada. »

J’ai l’honneur de confirmer que la lettre qui précède est fidèle à l’entente intervenue entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande durant les négociations de l’Accord, et que votre lettre et la présente lettre donnée en réponse, dont les versions française et anglaise sont également valides, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements qui prendra effet le premier jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Vins et spiritueux

Lettre de l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne

L’honorable David Parker
Ministre du Commerce et de la Croissance des exportations
Nouvelle-Zélande

Monsieur le Ministre,

Dans le cadre de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’Accord), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’entente qui suit, intervenue entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande au cours des négociations concernant le traitement accordé aux vins et aux spiritueux de la Nouvelle-Zélande :

  1. Si une entreprise d’État d’un niveau de gouvernement régional au Canada applique un écart entre les frais de service à du vin ou à des spiritueux importés, qui est associé à la distribution, à la commercialisation ou à la vente desdits produits importés, cet écart entre les frais de service ne dépassera pas la différence réelle entre les frais associés à la distribution, à la commercialisation et à la vente du vin ou des spiritueux importés et les frais associés à la distribution, à la commercialisation et à la vente de vins ou de spiritueux nationaux similaires.
  2. Si un écart entre les frais de service est appliqué à du vin ou à des spiritueux importés d’une entité non partie à l’Accord sur une base autre que la valeur du produit, conformément à un accord avec cette entité, l’écart entre les frais de service mentionné au paragraphe 1 s’appliquera sur la même base aux termes de l’Accord.
  3. Si une majoration, des frais de service ou d’autres mesures visant les prix sont adoptés ou maintenus aux termes de l’annexe 2-A (Mesures du Canada, alinéa f)) en ce qui concerne la vente ou la distribution internes de vins ou de spiritueux, ces mesures  assureront un traitement au moins aussi favorable que celui qui est accordé aux vins ou aux spiritueux similaires de toute autre Partie ou entité non partie à l’Accord.
  4. Si une entreprise d’État d’un niveau de gouvernement régional au Canada applique un écart entre les frais de service associé à la vente et à la distribution internes de vins et de spiritueux, cet écart entre les frais de service est rendu publiquement accessible, par exemple sur son site Web officiel.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise sont également valides, et la réponse que vous donnerez à celle-ci, confirmant l’acceptation de votre gouvernement, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements qui prendra effet le premier jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada


Réponse de l’honorable David Parker

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre en date de ce jour dont la teneur est la suivante :

« Dans le cadre de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’Accord), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’entente qui suit, intervenue entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande au cours des négociations concernant le traitement accordé aux vins et aux spiritueux de la Nouvelle-Zélande :

  1. Si une entreprise d’État d’un niveau de gouvernement régional au Canada applique un écart entre les frais de service à du vin ou à des spiritueux importés, qui est associé à la distribution, à la commercialisation ou à la vente desdits produits importés, cet écart entre les frais de service ne dépassera pas la différence réelle entre les frais associés à la distribution, à la commercialisation et à la vente du vin ou des spiritueux importés et les frais associés à la distribution, à la commercialisation et à la vente de vins ou de spiritueux nationaux similaires.
  2. Si un écart entre les frais de service est appliqué à du vin ou à des spiritueux importés d’une entité non partie à l’Accord sur une base autre que la valeur du produit, conformément à un accord avec cette entité, l’écart entre les frais de service mentionné au paragraphe 1 s’appliquera sur la même base aux termes de l’Accord.
  3. Si une majoration, des frais de service ou d’autres mesures visant les prix sont adoptés ou maintenus aux termes de l’annexe 2-A (Mesures du Canada, alinéa f)) en ce qui concerne la vente ou la distribution internes de vins ou de spiritueux, ces mesures  assureront un traitement au moins aussi favorable que celui qui est accordé aux vins ou aux spiritueux similaires de toute autre Partie ou entité non partie à l’Accord.
  4. Si une entreprise d’État d’un niveau de gouvernement régional au Canada applique un écart entre les frais de service associé à la vente et à la distribution internes de vins et de spiritueux, cet écart entre les frais de service est rendu publiquement accessible, par exemple sur son site Web officiel.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise sont également valides, et la réponse que vous donnerez à celle-ci, confirmant l’acceptation de votre gouvernement, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements qui prendra effet le premier jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande. »‎

J’ai l’honneur de confirmer que la lettre qui précède est fidèle à l’entente intervenue entre le Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Gouvernement du Canada durant les négociations de l’Accord, et que votre lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise sont également valides, et la présente lettre donnée en réponse constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements qui prendra effet le premier jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable David Parker
Ministre du Commerce et de la Croissance des exportations
Nouvelle-Zélande

Date de modification: