Peru – Side Instruments

Culture

Letter from the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

8 March 2018

Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism
Peru

Dear Minister,

In connection with the signing of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to confirm the following agreement reached by the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of Peru (Peru):

Canada and Peru agree that, in continuing to give effect to the Agreement, notwithstanding the following language in Annex II – Canada – 16 and 17 – under the Cultural Industries Sector, first paragraph under the subheading “Description,” that states “except: (a) discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development; and (b) measures restricting the access to on-line foreign audio-visual content”, Canada may adopt or maintain discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development and may adopt or maintain measures that restrict access to on-line foreign audio-visual content.

I have the honour to propose that this letter and your letter in reply, equally valid in English, French and Spanish, shall constitute an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and Peru.

Yours sincerely

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

Minister of International Trade


Response from Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers

8 March 2018

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Dear Minister,

I am pleased to acknowledge receipt of your letter of 8 March 2018, which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to confirm the following agreement reached by the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of Peru (Peru):

Canada and Peru agree that, in continuing to give effect to the Agreement, notwithstanding the following language in Annex II – Canada – 16 and 17 – under the Cultural Industries Sector, first paragraph under the subheading “Description,” that states “except: (a) discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development; and (b) measures restricting the access to on-line foreign audio-visual content,” Canada may adopt or maintain discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development and may adopt or maintain measures that restrict access to on-line foreign audio-visual content.

I have the honour to propose that this letter and your letter in reply, equally valid in English, French and Spanish, shall constitute an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and Peru.”

I have the honour to confirm that the above reflects the agreement reached between our Governments, and that your letter and this letter in reply, equally valid in English, French and Spanish, shall constitute an agreement between our Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Peru and Canada.

Sincerely, 

Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism

Confirmation of retention of side letters signed in 2016

Letter from Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers

Santiago, 8 March 2018

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of lnternational Trade
Canada

Dear Minister,

In connection with the signing on this date of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to propose that the understanding and the letters dated 4 February 2016 that our Governments signed in connection with the signing of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement signed in Auckland (the “TPP”), be equally valid and applicable with respect to the Agreement. The understanding and letters are:

  1. Understanding Related to Peru –Canada: Biodiversity and Traditional Knowledge (Signed by Ms Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez and Ms Chrystia Freeland, dated 4 February 2016); and
  2. Peru - Canada: Geographical Indications (Letters between Ms Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez and Ms Chrystia Freeland, dated 4 February 2016).

I have the further honour to propose that this letter and your letter of confirmation in reply, equally valid in French, English and Spanish, will constitute an understanding between the Government of Peru and the Government of Canada, which will come into effect on the date on which the Agreement enters into force for both Peru and Canada.

Yours sincerely,

Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism


Response from  the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

Santiago, 8 March 2018

Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism
Peru

Dear Minister,

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of your letter of [date], which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing on this date of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to propose that the understanding and the letters dated 4 February 2016 that our Governments signed in connection with the signing of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement signed in Auckland (the “TPP”), be equally valid and applicable with respect to the Agreement. The understanding and letters are:

  1. Understanding Related to Peru –Canada: Biodiversity and Traditional Knowledge (Signed by Ms Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez and Ms Chrytia Freeland, dated 4 February 2016); and
  2. Peru - Canada: Geographical Indications (Letters between Ms Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez and Ms Chrytia Freeland, dated 4 February 2016).

I have the further honour to propose that this letter and your letter of confirmation in reply, equally valid in French, English and Spanish, will constitute an understanding between the Government of Peru and the Government of Canada, which will come into effect on the date on which the Agreement enters into force for both Peru and Canada.”

I have the further honour to confirm that the above reflects the understanding reached between the Government of Canada and the Government of Peru during the course of negotiations on the Agreement, and that your letter and this letter in reply, equally valid in French, English and Spanish, will constitute an understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of Peru, which shall come into effect on the date on which the Agreement enters into force for both Canada and Peru.

Yours sincerely,

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of lnternational Trade

Geographical Indicators (signed in 2016)

Letter from Her Excellency Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez

February 4, 2016

Chrystia Freeland
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Dear Minister Freeland,

In connection with the signing on this date of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (the TPP Agreement), I have the honour to confirm the following understanding reached between the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of Peru (Peru) during the course of negotiations on the TPP Agreement:

 Canada and Peru reaffirm their commitments in respect of geographical indications in accordance with Article 212 and Annex 212 of the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Peru signed on May 29, 2008.

I have the honour to propose that this letter, and your letter of confirmation in reply, equally valid in Spanish, English and French, confirming that your Government shares this understanding, will constitute an understanding between our Governments, which shall enter into force on the date   of entry into force of the TPP Agreement as between Canada and Peru.

Yours sincerely,

Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez
Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism
Peru


Response from the Honourable Chrystia Freeland

4 February 2016

Her Excellency Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez
Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism
The Republic of Peru

Excellency,

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of your letter of this date, which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing on this date of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (the TPP Agreement), I have the honour to confirm the following understanding reached between the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of Peru (Peru)during the course of negotiations on the TPP Agreement:

Canada and Peru reaffirm their commitments in respect of geographical indications in accordance with Article 212 and Annex 212 of the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Peru signed on May 29, 2008.

I have the honour to propose that this letter, and your letter of confirmation in reply, equally valid in Spanish, English and French, confirming that your Government shares this understanding, will constitute an understanding between our Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and Peru.”

I have the further honour to confirm that my Government shares this understanding, and that your letter and this letter of reply, equally valid in Spanish, English and French, will constitute an understanding between our Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and Peru.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Chrystia Freeland
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Biodiversity (signed in 2016)

Understanding regarding biodiversity and traditional knowledge

The Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Peru have reached the following understanding concerning biodiversity and traditional knowledge in connection with the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (the Agreement) signed this day:

Canada and the Republic of Peru recognize that the equitable sharing of benefits that may result from the utilisation of traditional knowledge relevant for the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity can be addressed through appropriate mechanisms.

This understanding between our Governments shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and the Republic of Peru.

SIGNED in duplicate at _________ , this _________ day of _________ 2016, in the English, French, and Spanish languages, each version being equally valid.

______________________________
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

______________________________
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF PERU

Date Modified:

Pérou – Instruments impliquant le Canada

Culture

Lettre de l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Ministre du Commerce extérieur et du Tourisme
Pérou

Monsieur le Ministre,

Dans le cadre de la signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’accord suivant conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement du Pérou (Pérou) :

Le Canada et le Pérou conviennent que, dans le cadre des dispositions prises pour continuer à donner effet à l’Accord, malgré le libellé du premier paragraphe de l’élément Description figurant à l’Annexe II – Liste du Canada – 16 et 17 – Secteur des industries culturelles, lequel est rédigé comme suit : « à l’exception : a) des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien; b) des mesures limitant l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne », le Canada peut adopter ou maintenir des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien, et peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures qui limitent l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et votre lettre de réponse, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole sont également valides, constituent entre nos deux gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Pérou.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international


Réponse de Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre du 8 mars 2018, dont la teneur est la suivante :

« Dans le cadre de la signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’accord suivant conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement du Pérou (Pérou) :

Le Canada et le Pérou conviennent que, dans le cadre des dispositions prises pour continuer à donner effet à l’Accord, malgré le libellé du premier paragraphe de l’élément Description figurant à l’Annexe II – Liste du Canada – 16 et 17 – Secteur des industries culturelles, lequel est rédigé comme suit : « à l’exception : a) des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien; b) des mesures limitant l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne », le Canada peut adopter ou maintenir des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien, et peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures qui limitent l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et votre lettre de réponse, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole sont également valides, constituent entre nos deux gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Pérou. »

J’ai l’honneur de confirmer que le texte qui précède reflète l’accord conclu entre nos gouvernements, et que votre lettre et la présente lettre en réponse, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole sont également valides, constituent entre nos gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre Pérou et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

Monsieur Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Ministre du Commerce extérieur et du Tourisme

Confirmation de la conservation des lettres d’accompagnement signées en 2016

Lettre de  Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers

Santiago, le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Monsieur le Ministre,

Dans le cadre de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de proposer que l’entente et les lettres datées du 4 février 2016 que nos gouvernements ont signées dans le cadre de la signature à Auckland de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique (le « PTP ») soient également valides et applicables à l’égard de l’Accord. L’entente et les lettres en question sont :

  1. l'Entente Pérou-Canada : Biodiversité et connaissances traditionnelles (signée par Mme Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez et Mme Chrystia Freeland et datée du 4 février 2016);
  2. Pérou-Canada : Indications géographiques (lettres datées du 4 février 2016 entre Mme Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez et Mme Chrystia Freeland).

J’ai en outre l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et votre lettre de confirmation en réponse à celle-ci, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole sont également valides, constituent une entente entre le Gouvernement du Pérou et le Gouvernement du Canada, laquelle prendra effet à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour le Pérou et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Ministre du Commerce extérieur et du Tourisme


Réponse de l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne

Santiago, le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable Eduardo Ferreyros Küppers
Ministre du Commerce extérieur et du Tourisme
Pérou

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre du 8 mars 2018, dont la teneur est la suivante :

« Dans le cadre de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de proposer que l’entente et les lettres datées du 4 février 2016 que nos gouvernements ont signées dans le cadre de la signature à Auckland de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique (le « PTP ») soient également valides et applicables à l’égard de l’Accord. L’entente et les lettres en question sont :

  1. l’Entente Pérou-Canada : Biodiversité et connaissances traditionnelles (signée par Mme Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez et Mme Chrystia Freeland et datée du 4 février 2016);
  2. Pérou-Canada : Indications géographiques (lettres datées du 4 février 2016 entre Mme Magali Silva Velarde-Álvarez et Mme Chrystia Freeland).

J’ai en outre l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et votre lettre de confirmation en réponse à celle-ci, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole sont également valides, constituent une entente entre le Gouvernement du Pérou et le Gouvernement du Canada, laquelle prendra effet à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour le Pérou et le Canada. »

J’ai en outre l’honneur de confirmer que la lettre qui précède est fidèle à  l’entente intervenue entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Pérou au cours des négociations de l’Accord, et que votre lettre et la présente lettre de réponse, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole sont également valides, constituent une entente entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Pérou, laquelle prendra effet à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord pour le  Canada et le Pérou.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international

Indications géographiques (signés en 2016)

Lettre de Son Excellence Madame Magali Silva Velarda-Álvarez

Le 4 février 2016

L’honorable Chrystia Freeland
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Chère Ministre Freeland,

Dans la foulée de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord sur le Partenariat transpacifique (l’Accord sur le PTP), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’entente qui suit, intervenue entre le gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le gouvernement du Pérou (Pérou) au cours des négociations de l’Accord sur le PTP :

Le Canada et le Pérou réaffirment leurs engagements relatifs aux indications géographiques découlant de l’article 212 et de l’annexe 212 de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Pérou, signé le 29 mai 2008.

J’ai en outre l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et la réponse que vous donnerez à celle-ci, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole font également foi, confirmant l’acceptation du gouvernement du Canada, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements, qui prend effet le jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord du PTP en ce qui concerne le Canada et le Pérou.

Sincèrement,

Magali Silva Velarda-Álvarez
Ministre du Commerce international et du Tourisme
Pérou


Réponse de l’honorable Chrystia Freeland

Le 4 février 2016

Son Excellence Madame Magali Silva Velarda-Álvarez
Ministre du Commerce international et du Tourisme
La République du Pérou

Excellence,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre du 4 février 2016, dont la teneur est le suivant :

« Dans la foulée de la signature en ce jour de l’Accord sur le Partenariat transpacifique (l’Accord sur le PTP), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’entente qui suit, intervenue entre le gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le gouvernement du Pérou (Pérou) au cours des négociations de l’Accord sur le PTP :

Le Canada et le Pérou réaffirment leurs engagements relatifs aux indications géographiques découlant de l’article 212 et de l’annexe 212 de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Pérou, signé le 29 mai 2008.

J’ai en outre l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et la réponse que vous donnerez à celle-ci, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole font également foi, confirmant l’acceptation du gouvernement du Canada, constituent une entente entre nos gouvernements, qui prend effet le jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord du PTP en ce qui concerne le Canada et le Pérou. »

J’ai en outre l’honneur de confirmer que le gouvernement du Canada accepte cette entente, et que votre lettre et la présente lettre donnée en réponse à celle-ci, dont les versions française, anglaise et espagnole font également foi, constituent une entente entre nos deux gouvernements qui prend effet à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord sur le PTP en ce qui concerne le Canada et le Pérou.

Sincèrement,

L’honorable Chrystia Freeland
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Biodiversité (signée en 2016)

Entente concernant la biodiversité et connaissances traditionelles

Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République du Pérou ont conclu l’entente suivante concernant la biodiversité et les connaissances  traditionnelles dans le contexte de l’Accord sur le Partenariat transpacifique (l’Accord) signé en ce jour :

Le Canada et la République du Pérou reconnaissent que le partage équitable des avantages  découlant de l’utilisation des connaissances  traditionnelles présentant un intérêt pour la conservation et l’utilisation durable de la diversité biologique peut être abordé dans le cadre de mécanismes appropriés.

Cette entente entre nos gouvernements entre en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord en ce qui concerne le Canada et la République du Pérou.

SIGNÉE en double exemplaire à _________, le _________ jour de _________ 2016, en langues française, anglaise et espagnole, les trois versions faisant également foi.

_________________________________
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

_________________________________
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DU PÉROU

Date de modification: