Singapore – Side Instruments

Culture

Letter from the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne

8 March 2018

The Honourable Lim Hng Kiang
Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade)
Singapore

Dear Minister,

In connection with the signing of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to confirm the following agreement reached by the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of Singapore (Singapore):

“Canada and Singapore agree that, in continuing to give effect to the Agreement, notwithstanding the following language in Annex II – Canada – 16 and 17 – under the Cultural Industries Sector, first paragraph under the subheading “Description,” that states “except: (a) discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development; and (b) measures restricting the access to on-line foreign audio-visual content”, Canada may adopt or maintain discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development and may adopt or maintain measures that restrict access to on-line foreign audio-visual content.”

I have the honour to propose that this letter, equally valid in English and French, and your letter in reply shall constitute an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and Singapore.

Yours sincerely,

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada


Response from the Honourable Lim Hng Kiang

8 March 2018

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
Minister of International Trade
Canada

Dear Minister,

I am pleased to acknowledge receipt of your letter of 8 March 2018, which reads as follows:

“In connection with the signing of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the “Agreement”), I have the honour to confirm the following agreement reached by the Government of Canada (Canada) and the Government of Singapore (Singapore):

“Canada and Singapore agree that, in continuing to give effect to the Agreement, notwithstanding the following language in Annex II – Canada – 16 and 17 – under the Cultural Industries Sector, first paragraph under the subheading “Description,” that states “except: (a) discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development; and (b) measures restricting the access to on-line foreign audio-visual content,” Canada may adopt or maintain discriminatory requirements on service suppliers or investors to make financial contributions for Canadian content development and may adopt or maintain measures that restrict access to on-line foreign audio-visual content.”

I have the honour to propose that this letter, equally valid in English and French, and your letter in reply shall constitute an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Canada and Singapore.”

I have the honour to confirm that the above reflects the agreement reached between our Governments, and that your letter, equally valid in English and French, and this letter in reply shall constitute an agreement between our Governments, which shall enter into force on the date of entry into force of the Agreement as between Singapore and Canada.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Lim Hng Kiang
Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade)
Singapore

Date Modified:

Singapour – Instruments impliquant le Canada

Culture

Lettre de l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable Lim Hng Kiang
Ministre du Commerce et de l’Industrie
Singapour

Monsieur le Ministre,

Dans le cadre de la signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’accord suivant conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement de Singapour (Singapour) :

« Le Canada et Singapour conviennent que, dans le cadre des dispositions prises pour continuer à donner effet à l’Accord, malgré le libellé du premier paragraphe de l’élément « Description » figurant à l’Annexe II – Liste du Canada – 16 et 17 – Secteur des industries culturelles, lequel est rédigé comme suit : « à l’exception : a) des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien; b) des mesures limitant l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne », le Canada peut adopter ou maintenir des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien, et peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures qui limitent l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne. »

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, et votre lettre de réponse constituent entre nos deux gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre le Canada et Singapour.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada


Réponse de l’honorable Lim Hng Kiang

Le 8 mars 2018

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne
Ministre du Commerce international
Canada

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre du 8 mars 2018, dont la teneur est la suivante :

« Dans le cadre de la signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (l’« Accord »), j’ai l’honneur de confirmer l’accord suivant conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement de Singapour (Singapour) :

Le Canada et Singapour conviennent que, dans le cadre des dispositions prises pour continuer à donner effet à l’Accord, malgré le libellé du premier paragraphe de l’élément « Description » figurant à l’Annexe II – Liste du Canada – 16 et 17 – Secteur des industries culturelles, lequel est rédigé comme suit : « à l’exception : a) des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien; b) des mesures limitant l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne », le Canada peut adopter ou maintenir des prescriptions discriminatoires obligeant les fournisseurs de services ou les investisseurs à verser des contributions financières pour le développement de contenu canadien, et peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures qui limitent l’accès au contenu audiovisuel étranger en ligne.

J’ai l’honneur de proposer que la présente lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, et votre lettre de réponse constituent entre nos deux gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre le Canada et Singapour. »

J’ai l’honneur de confirmer que le texte qui précède reflète l’accord conclu entre nos gouvernements, et que votre lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, et la présente lettre en réponse constituent entre nos gouvernements un accord, lequel entrera en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord entre Singapour et le Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, les assurances de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable Lim Hng Kiang
Ministre du Commerce et de l'Industrie
Singapour

Date de modification: