Language selection

Search

Notice of Intent to enter into negotiations toward a Canada-United Kingdom Free Trade Agreement

Dear Members of Parliament:

In accordance with the enhanced transparency requirements set out in the amended Policy on Tabling of Treaties in Parliament, I am pleased to notify the House of Commons of the government’s intent to initiate negotiations toward a new, comprehensive Canada-United Kingdom Free Trade Agreement (FTA). The Government of Canada intends to commence negotiations by holding a first round of negotiations with the United Kingdom no earlier than 90 days from the date of this notice.

Strengthening trade and investment ties with important markets is key to ensuring inclusive economic recovery and sustainable prosperity for Canadian businesses, workers and families. The Government of Canada is committed to helping Canadians succeed globally by expanding trade and investment opportunities. By pursuing bilateral free trade negotiations with the United Kingdom, the Government of Canada will expand and strengthen trade ties with Canada’s third largest trading partner for combined goods and services.

Canada and the United Kingdom share a broad and extensive relationship, built on shared history and values and strong economic ties. Following the United Kingdom’s decision to leave the European Union, Canada and the United Kingdom concluded an interim Trade Continuity Agreement that provides stability and continuity for Canadian businesses by carrying forward the benefits of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreeement. The Government of Canada now has the opportunity to negotiate an ambitious, modern and comprehensive FTA that best reflects Canada’s inclusive approach to trade and our bilateral trade relationship with the United Kingdom.

Although the COVID‑19 pandemic has created challenges for international trade, Canada’s trade with the United Kingdom has remained strong. In 2020, Canadian merchandise exports to the United Kingdom were valued at $19.9 billion. Top Canadian exports included precious stones and metals, mineral fuels and oils, machinery, mineral ores, and aircraft and parts. Meanwhile, Canada imported $7.8 billion in goods from the United Kingdom in 2020. Top imports included machinery, precious stones and metals, motor vehicles and parts, pharmaceutical products, and aircraft and parts. The United Kingdom is Canada’s second largest services trading partner, after the United States. In 2020, bilateral trade in services between Canada and the United Kingdom amounted to nearly $12.9 billion ($5.8 billion exports and $7.0 billion imports). The United Kingdom is also a key source of foreign direct investment (FDI) and of science and technology partnerships. In 2020, FDI stock from the United Kingdom was valued at $69.6 billion and Canadian direct investment in the United Kingdom was valued at $116.8 billion.

A Canada-United Kingdom FTA would provide Canadians with continued preferential access to the United Kingdom market, primarily benefiting Canadian exporters of goods and services. In any eventual negotiations, the government is committed to advancing the interests of all Canadians, including by seeking to create opportunities for the middle class, small and medium‑sized enterprises, women and Indigenous peoples.

The Government of Canada held public consultations from March 12 to April 27, 2021, to solicit the views of Canadians on a possible Canada-United Kingdom FTA and related economic, social and environmental impacts. Through this process, Canadians demonstrated strong support for an FTA with the United Kingdom. For a summary of the feedback received, visit the Report: Public Consultations on priorities for trade negotiations with the United Kingdom.

In accordance with the Policy on Tabling of Treaties in Parliament, Canada’s negotiating objectives for a Canada-United Kingdom FTA will be tabled in the House of Commons no later than 30 days before Canada holds its first round of negotiations with the United Kingdom. Should negotiations be successfully concluded, the government will also table an economic impact assessment of the agreement at such a time as the implementing legislation for a Canada-United Kingdom FTA is tabled.

I look forward to working closely and transparently with Parliament throughout negotiations for a Canada-United Kingdom FTA.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Mary Ng, P.C., M.P.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Avis d'intention d'entamer des négociations en vue d'un Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni

Mesdames les députées,
Messieurs les députés,

Conformément aux exigences de transparence accrues énoncées dans la Politique modifiée sur le dépôt des traités devant le Parlement, j’ai le plaisir d’informer la Chambre des communes de l’intention du gouvernement de lancer des négociations en vue de conclure un nouvel Accord de libre‑échange (ALE) global entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni. Le gouvernement du Canada a l’intention d’aller de l’avant en tenant une première série de négociations avec le Royaume‑Uni au plus tôt 90 jours après la date du présent avis.

Le renforcement des liens en matière de commerce et d’investissement avec les marchés importants est essentiel pour assurer une reprise économique inclusive et une prospérité durable pour les entreprises, les travailleurs et les familles du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à aider les Canadiens à connaître du succès sur la scène mondiale en élargissant les possibilités de commerce et d’investissement. En menant des négociations en vue d’un accord de libre‑échange bilatéral avec le Royaume‑Uni, le gouvernement du Canada élargira et renforcera les liens commerciaux avec le troisième partenaire commercial du Canada pour les biens et services combinés.

Le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni entretiennent une relation vaste et étendue, fondée sur une histoire et des valeurs communes et sur des liens économiques solides. À la suite de la décision du Royaume‑Uni de quitter l’Union européenne, le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni ont conclu un Accord de continuité commerciale provisoire qui assure la stabilité et la continuité pour les entreprises canadiennes en prolongeant les avantages de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. Le gouvernement du Canada a maintenant l’occasion de négocier un ALE ambitieux, moderne et complet qui reflète au mieux l’approche inclusive du Canada en matière de commerce et notre relation commerciale bilatérale avec le Royaume‑Uni.

Bien que la pandémie de COVID‑19 ait engendré des défis pour le commerce international, le commerce entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni est resté solide. En 2020, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le Royaume‑Uni étaient évaluées à 19,9 milliards de dollars. Les principales exportations canadiennes comprenaient les pierres et les métaux précieux, les huiles et les combustibles minéraux, les machines, les minerais, ainsi que les avions et les pièces. Parallèlement, le Canada a importé 7,8 milliards de dollars de marchandises du Royaume‑Uni en 2020. Les principales importations comprenaient des machines, des pierres et des métaux précieux, des véhicules automobiles et des pièces, des produits pharmaceutiques, ainsi que des avions et des pièces. Le Royaume‑Uni est le deuxième partenaire commercial du Canada en matière de services, après les États‑Unis. En 2020, le commerce bilatéral de services entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni s’est élevé à près de 12,9 milliards de dollars (5,8 milliards de dollars d’exportations et 7,0 milliards de dollars d’importations). Le Royaume‑Uni est également une source importante d’investissements directs étrangers (IDE) et de partenariats en science et technologie. En 2020, le stock d’IDE en provenance du Royaume‑Uni était évalué à 69,6 milliards de dollars et les investissements directs canadiens au Royaume‑Uni étaient évalués à 116,8 milliards de dollars.

Un ALE entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni offrirait aux Canadiens un accès préférentiel continu au marché britannique, ce qui profiterait aux exportateurs canadiens de biens et de services. Dans toute négociation éventuelle, le gouvernement s’engage à promouvoir les intérêts de tous les Canadiens, notamment en cherchant à créer des possibilités pour la classe moyenne, les petites et moyennes entreprises, les femmes et les peuples autochtones.

Le gouvernement du Canada a tenu des consultations publiques du 12 mars au 27 avril 2021 pour connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur un éventuel ALE entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni et sur les répercussions économiques, sociales et environnementales connexes. Dans le cadre de ce processus, les Canadiens ont démontré un fort soutien à l’égard d’un ALE avec le Royaume‑Uni. Pour un résumé des commentaires reçus, veuillez consulter le Rapport : Consultations publiques sur les priorités dans le cadre de négociations d’accords commerciaux avec le Royaume-Uni.

Conformément à la Politique sur le dépôt des traités devant le Parlement, les objectifs de négociation du Canada pour un ALE entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni seront déposés à la Chambre des communes au plus tard 30 jours avant que le Canada ne tienne sa première série de négociations avec le Royaume‑Uni. Si les négociations sont conclues avec succès, le gouvernement déposera également une évaluation des répercussions économiques de l’accord au moment où la loi de mise en œuvre de l’ALE entre le Canada et le Royaume‑Uni sera déposée.

Je me réjouis à l’idée de travailler en étroite collaboration et en toute transparence avec le Parlement tout au long des négociations d’un ALE Canada-Royaume‑Uni.

Je vous prie d’agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’honorable Mary Ng, C.P., députée

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: