Language selection

Search

Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) - Chapter 19 - Digital Trade

Article 19.1: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

algorithm means a defined sequence of steps, taken to solve a problem or obtain a result;

computing facility means a computer server or storage device for processing or storing information for commercial use;

covered person means:

but does not include a covered person as defined in Article 17.1 (Definitions);

digital product means a computer program, text, video, image, sound recording, or other product that is digitally encoded, produced for commercial sale or distribution, and that can be transmitted electronically. For greater certainty, digital product does not include a digitized representation of a financial instrument, including money;Footnote 1

electronic authentication means the process or act of verifying the identity of a party to an electronic communication or transaction and ensuring the integrity of an electronic communication;

electronic signature means data in electronic form that is in, affixed to, or logically associated with, an electronic document or message, and that may be used to identify the signatory in relation to the electronic document or message and indicate the signatory’s approval of the information contained in the electronic document or message;

government information means non-proprietary information, including data, held by the central government;

information content provider means a person or entity that creates or develops, in whole or in part, information provided through the Internet or another interactive computer service;

interactive computer service means a system or service that provides or enables electronic access by multiple users to a computer server;

personal information means information, including data, about an identified or identifiable natural person;

trade administration document means a form issued or controlled by a Party that must be completed by or for an importer or exporter in connection with the import or export of goods; and

unsolicited commercial electronic communication means an electronic message, which is sent to an electronic address of a person for commercial or marketing purposes without the consent of the recipient or despite the explicit rejection of the recipient.Footnote 2

Article 19.2: Scope and General Provisions

1. The Parties recognize the economic growth and opportunities provided by digital trade and the importance of frameworks that promote consumer confidence in digital trade and of avoiding unnecessary barriers to its use and development.

2. This Chapter applies to measures adopted or maintained by a Party that affect trade by electronic means.

3. This Chapter does not apply:

4. For greater certainty, a measure that affects the supply of a service delivered or performed electronically is subject to Chapter 14 (Investment), Chapter 15 (Cross-Border Trade in Services), and Chapter 17 (Financial Services), including any exception or non-conforming measure set out in this Agreement that is applicable to the obligations contained in those Chapters.

Article 19.3: Customs Duties

1. No Party shall impose customs duties, fees, or other charges on or in connection with the importation or exportation of digital products transmitted electronically, between a person of one Party and a person of another Party.

2. For greater certainty, paragraph 1 does not preclude a Party from imposing internal taxes, fees, or other charges on a digital product transmitted electronically, provided that those taxes, fees, or charges are imposed in a manner consistent with this Agreement.

Article 19.4: Non-Discriminatory Treatment of Digital Products

1. No Party shall accord less favorable treatment to a digital product created, produced, published, contracted for, commissioned, or first made available on commercial terms in the territory of another Party, or to a digital product of which the author, performer, producer, developer, or owner is a person of another Party, than it accords to other like digital products.Footnote 3

2. This Article does not apply to a subsidy or grant provided by a Party, including a government-supported loan, guarantee, or insurance.

Article 19.5: Domestic Electronic Transactions Framework

1. Each Party shall maintain a legal framework governing electronic transactions consistent with the principles of the UNCITRAL Model Law on Electronic Commerce 1996.

2. Each Party shall endeavor to:

Article 19.6: Electronic Authentication and Electronic Signatures

1. Except in circumstances provided for under its law, a Party shall not deny the legal validity of a signature solely on the basis that the signature is in electronic form.

2. No Party shall adopt or maintain measures for electronic authentication and electronic signatures that would:

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2, a Party may require that, for a particular category of transactions, the electronic signature or method of authentication meets certain performance standards or is certified by an authority accredited in accordance with its law.

4. Each Party shall encourage the use of interoperable electronic authentication.

Article 19.7: Online Consumer Protection

1. The Parties recognize the importance of adopting and maintaining transparent and effective measures to protect consumers from fraudulent or deceptive commercial activities as referred to in Article 21.4.2 (Consumer Protection) when they engage in digital trade.

2. Each Party shall adopt or maintain consumer protection laws to proscribe fraudulent and deceptive commercial activities that cause harm or potential harm to consumers engaged in online commercial activities.

3. The Parties recognize the importance of, and public interest in, cooperation between their respective national consumer protection agencies or other relevant bodies on activities related to cross-border digital trade in order to enhance consumer welfare. To this end, the Parties affirm that cooperation under paragraphs 21.4.3 through 21.4.5 (Consumer Protection) includes cooperation with respect to online commercial activities.

Article 19.8: Personal Information Protection

1. The Parties recognize the economic and social benefits of protecting the personal information of users of digital trade and the contribution that this makes to enhancing consumer confidence in digital trade.

2. To this end, each Party shall adopt or maintain a legal framework that provides for the protection of the personal information of the users of digital trade. In the development of this legal framework, each Party should take into account principles and guidelines of relevant international bodies,Footnote 4 such as the APEC Privacy Framework and the OECD Recommendation of the Council concerning Guidelines governing the Protection of Privacy and Transborder Flows of Personal Data (2013).

3. The Parties recognize that pursuant to paragraph 2, key principles include: limitation on collection; choice; data quality; purpose specification; use limitation; security safeguards; transparency; individual participation; and accountability. The Parties also recognize the importance of ensuring compliance with measures to protect personal information and ensuring that any restrictions on cross-border flows of personal information are necessary and proportionate to the risks presented.

4. Each Party shall endeavor to adopt non-discriminatory practices in protecting users of digital trade from personal information protection violations occurring within its jurisdiction.

5. Each Party shall publish information on the personal information protections it provides to users of digital trade, including how:

6. Recognizing that the Parties may take different legal approaches to protecting personal information, each Party should encourage the development of mechanisms to promote compatibility between these different regimes. The Parties shall endeavor to exchange information on the mechanisms applied in their jurisdictions and explore ways to extend these or other suitable arrangements to promote compatibility between them. The Parties recognize that the APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules system is a valid mechanism to facilitate cross-border information transfers while protecting personal information.

Article 19.9: Paperless Trading

Each Party shall endeavor to accept a trade administration document submitted electronically as the legal equivalent of the paper version of that document.

Article 19.10: Principles on Access to and Use of the Internet for Digital Trade

The Parties recognize that it is beneficial for consumers in their territories to be able to:

Article 19.11: Cross-Border Transfer of Information by Electronic Means

1. No Party shall prohibit or restrict the cross-border transfer of information, including personal information, by electronic means if this activity is for the conduct of the business of a covered person.

2. This Article does not prevent a Party from adopting or maintaining a measure inconsistent with paragraph 1 that is necessary to achieve a legitimate public policy objective, provided that the measure:

Article 19.12: Location of Computing Facilities

No Party shall require a covered person to use or locate computing facilities in that Party’s territory as a condition for conducting business in that territory.

Article 19.13: Unsolicited Commercial Electronic Communications

1. Each Party shall adopt or maintain measures providing for the limitation of unsolicited commercial electronic communications.

2. Each Party shall adopt or maintain measures regarding unsolicited commercial electronic communications sent to an electronic mail address that:

3. Each Party shall endeavor to adopt or maintain measures that enable consumers to reduce or prevent unsolicited commercial electronic communications sent other than to an electronic mail address.

4. Each Party shall provide recourse in its law against suppliers of unsolicited commercial electronic communications that do not comply with a measure adopted or maintained pursuant to paragraph 2 or 3.

5. The Parties shall endeavor to cooperate in appropriate cases of mutual concern regarding the regulation of unsolicited commercial electronic communications.

Article 19.14: Cooperation

1. Recognizing the global nature of digital trade, the Parties shall endeavor to:

2. The Parties shall consider establishing a forum to address any of the issues listed above, or any other matter pertaining to the operation of this Chapter.

Article 19.15: Cybersecurity

1. The Parties recognize that threats to cybersecurity undermine confidence in digital trade. Accordingly, the Parties shall endeavor to:

2. Given the evolving nature of cybersecurity threats, the Parties recognize that risk-based approaches may be more effective than prescriptive regulation in addressing those threats. Accordingly, each Party shall endeavor to employ, and encourage enterprises within its jurisdiction to use, risk-based approaches that rely on consensus-based standards and risk management best practices to identify and protect against cybersecurity risks and to detect, respond to, and recover from cybersecurity events.

Article 19.16: Source Code

1. No Party shall require the transfer of, or access to, a source code of software owned by a person of another Party, or to an algorithm expressed in that source code, as a condition for the import, distribution, sale or use of that software, or of products containing that software, in its territory.

2. This Article does not preclude a regulatory body or judicial authority of a Party from requiring a person of another Party to preserve and make available the source code of software, or an algorithm expressed in that source code, to the regulatory body for a specific investigation, inspection, examination, enforcement action, or judicial proceeding,Footnote 6 subject to safeguards against unauthorized disclosure.

Article 19.17: Interactive Computer Services

1. The Parties recognize the importance of the promotion of interactive computer services, including for small and medium-sized enterprises, as vital to the growth of digital trade.

2. To that end, other than as provided in paragraph 4, no Party shall adopt or maintain measures that treat a supplier or user of an interactive computer service as an information content provider in determining liability for harms related to information stored, processed, transmitted, distributed, or made available by the service, except to the extent the supplier or user has, in whole or in part, created, or developed the information.Footnote 7

3. No Party shall impose liability on a supplier or user of an interactive computer service on account of:

4. Nothing in this Article shall:

5. This Article is subject to Annex 19-A.

Article 19.18: Open Government Data

1. The Parties recognize that facilitating public access to and use of government information fosters economic and social development, competitiveness, and innovation.

2. To the extent that a Party chooses to make government information, including data, available to the public, it shall endeavor to ensure that the information is in a machine-readable and open format and can be searched, retrieved, used, reused, and redistributed.

3. The Parties shall endeavor to cooperate to identify ways in which each Party can expand access to and use of government information, including data, that the Party has made public, with a view to enhancing and generating business opportunities, especially for SMEs.

Annex 19-A

1. Article 19.17 (Interactive Computer Services) shall not apply with respect to Mexico until the date of three years after entry into force of this Agreement.

2. The Parties understand that Articles 145 and 146 of Mexico’s Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones y Radiodifusión, as in force on the date of entry into force of this Agreement, are not inconsistent with Article 19.17.3 (Interactive Computer Services). In a dispute with respect to this article, subordinate measures adopted or maintained under the authority of and consistent with Articles 145 and 146 of Mexico’s Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones y Radiodifusión shall be presumed to be not inconsistent with Article 19.17.3 (Interactive Computer Services).

3. The Parties understand that Mexico will comply with the obligations in Article 19.17.3 (Interactive Computer Services) in a manner that is both effective and consistent with Mexico’s Constitution (Constitución Política de los Estados Unidos Mexicanos), specifically Articles 6 and 7.

4. For greater certainty, Article 19.17 (Interactive Computer Services) is subject to Article 32.1 (General Exceptions), which, among other things, provides that, for purposes of Chapter 19, the exception for measures necessary to protect public morals pursuant to paragraph (a) of Article XIV of GATS is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement, mutatis mutandis. The Parties agree that measures necessary to protect against online sex trafficking, sexual exploitation of children, and prostitution, such as Public Law 115-164, the “Allow States and Victims to Fight Online Sex Trafficking Act of 2017,” which amends the Communications Act of 1934, and any relevant provisions of Ley General para Prevenir, Sancionar y Erradicar los Delitos en Materia de Trata de Personas y para la Protección y Asistencia a las Víctimas de estos delitos, are measures necessary to protect public morals.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique (ACEUM) - Chapitre 19 - Commerce numérique

Article 19.1 : Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent chapitre :

algorithme désigne une séquence définie d’étapes suivies pour résoudre un problème ou obtenir un résultat;

authentification électronique désigne le processus ou l’acte consistant à vérifier l’identité d’une partie à une communication ou à une transaction électronique et à assurer l’intégrité d’une communication électronique;

communication électronique commerciale non sollicitée désigne un message électronique qui est envoyé à l’adresse électronique d’une personne à des fins commerciales ou à des fins de marketing sans le consentement du destinataire ou malgré son refus exprèsNote de bas de page 1;

documents liés à l’administration du commerce désigne un formulaire délivré ou contrôlé par une Partie qui doit être rempli par un importateur ou un exportateur, ou pour leur compte, relativement à l’importation ou à l’exportation de produits;

fournisseur de contenu informatif désigne une personne ou une entité qui crée ou développe, en tout ou en partie, de l’information disponible au moyen d’Internet ou de tout autre service informatique interactif;

installations informatiques désigne un serveur informatique ou un dispositif de stockage pour le traitement ou le stockage de renseignements en vue de leur utilisation à des fins commerciales;

personne visée désigne, selon le cas :

à l’exclusion d’une personne visée au sens de l’article 17.1 (Définitions);

produit numérique désigne un programme informatique, un texte, une vidéo, une image, un enregistrement audio ou un autre produit encodé numériquement, qui est produit pour la vente ou la distribution commerciale et qui peut être transmis par voie électronique. Il est entendu que la représentation numérisée d’instruments financiers, y compris d’espèces, ne constitue pas un produit numériqueNote de bas de page 2;

renseignement gouvernemental désigne un renseignement à caractère non exclusif, y compris des données, détenu par le gouvernement central;

renseignement personnel désigne un renseignement, y compris les données, relatif à une personne physique identifiée ou identifiable;

service informatique interactif désigne un système ou un service qui fournit ou permet l’accès électronique à un serveur informatique à plusieurs utilisateurs;

signature électronique désigne les données sous forme électronique contenues dans un document ou un message électronique, ou jointes ou logiquement associées à celui-ci, pouvant être utilisées pour identifier le signataire dans le cadre du document ou du message électronique et indiquer qu’il approuve l’information qui y est contenue.

Article 19.2 : Portée et dispositions générales

1. Les Parties reconnaissent la croissance et les occasions économiques offertes par le commerce numérique ainsi que l’importance de cadres qui favorisent la confiance des consommateurs dans le commerce numérique et l’importance d’éviter les obstacles inutiles à l’utilisation et au développement du commerce numérique.

2. Le présent chapitre s’applique aux mesures adoptées ou maintenues par une Partie qui affectent le commerce par voie électronique.

3. Le présent chapitre ne s’applique pas :

4. Il est entendu que la mesure qui affecte la fourniture d’un service livré ou exécuté par voie électronique est soumise aux chapitres 14 (Investissement), 15 (Commerce transfrontières des services) et 17 (Services financiers), y compris à toute exception ou mesure non conforme prévue par le présent accord qui s’applique aux obligations contenues dans ces chapitres.

Article 19.3 : Droits de douane

1. Aucune Partie n’impose de droits de douane, de redevances ou d’autres impositions sur ou relativement à l’importation ou à l’exportation de produits numériques transmis par voie électronique entre une personne d’une Partie et une personne d’une autre Partie.

2. Il est entendu que le paragraphe 1 n’empêche pas une Partie d’imposer des taxes, redevances ou autres impositions intérieures sur les produits numériques transmis par voie électronique, à condition que ces taxes, redevances ou impositions soient imposées d’une manière qui est conforme au présent accord.

Article 19.4 : Traitement non discriminatoire des produits numériques

1. Aucune Partie n’accorde un traitement moins favorable aux produits numériques créés, produits, publiés, réalisés sous contrat, commandés ou rendus commercialement disponibles pour la première fois sur le territoire d’une autre Partie, ou aux produits numériques dont l’auteur, l’exécutant, le producteur, le concepteur ou le propriétaire est une personne d’une autre Partie, que celui qu’elle accorde aux autres produits numériques similairesNote de bas de page 3.

2. Le présent article ne s’applique pas à une subvention ou à un don accordé par une Partie, y compris un prêt, une garantie ou une assurance bénéficiant d’un soutien gouvernemental.

Article 19.5 : Cadre national applicable aux transactions électroniques

1. Chacune des Parties maintient un cadre juridique régissant les transactions électroniques conformément aux principes énoncés dans la Loi type de la CNUDCI sur le commerce électronique de 1996.

2. Chacune des Parties s’efforce:

Article 19.6 : Authentification électronique et signatures électroniques

1. Sauf dans des circonstances prévues par son droit, une Partie ne conteste pas la validité juridique d’une signature au seul motif que la signature est sous forme électronique.

2. Aucune Partie n’adopte ni ne maintient des mesures concernant l’authentification électronique et les signatures électroniques qui, selon le cas :

3. Nonobstant les dispositions du paragraphe 2, une Partie peut exiger, pour une catégorie particulière de transactions, que la signature électronique ou la méthode d’authentification réponde à certaines normes de performance ou soit certifiée par une autorité accréditée conformément à son droit.

4. Chacune des Parties encourage l’utilisation de l’authentification électronique interopérable.

Article 19.7 : Protection des consommateurs en ligne

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance d’adopter et de maintenir des mesures efficaces et transparentes pour protéger les consommateurs contre les activités commerciales frauduleuses ou trompeuses visées à l’article 21.4.2 (Protection des consommateurs) lorsqu’ils prennent part au commerce numérique.

2. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient une législation en matière de protection des consommateurs pour interdire les activités commerciales frauduleuses et trompeuses qui causent ou qui sont susceptibles de causer préjudice aux consommateurs qui prennent part à des activités commerciales en ligne.

3. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance, et l’intérêt public, d’une coopération entre leurs agences nationales respectives de protection des consommateurs ou autres organismes compétents dans le domaine des activités liées au commerce numérique transfrontières en vue d’accroître le bien-être des consommateurs. À cette fin, les Parties affirment que la coopération recherchée au titre des paragraphes 3, 4 et 5 de l’article 21.4 (Protection des consommateurs) comprend une coopération en ce qui a trait aux activités commerciales en ligne.

Article 19.8 : Protection des renseignements personnels

1. Les Parties reconnaissent les avantages économiques et sociaux qu’apporte la protection des renseignements personnels des usagers du commerce numérique et la contribution que cette protection entraîne en renforçant la confiance des consommateurs à l’égard du commerce numérique.

2. À cette fin, chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient un cadre juridique assurant la protection des renseignements personnels des usagers du commerce numérique. Lors de l’élaboration de ce cadre juridique, chacune des Parties devrait tenir compte des principes et lignes directrices des organismes internationaux compétentsNote de bas de page 4, tels que le cadre de protection de la vie privée de l’APEC et la Recommandation du Conseil de l’OCDE concernant les Lignes directrices régissant la protection de la vie privée et les flux transfrontières de données de caractère personnel (2013).

3. Les Parties reconnaissent, conformément au paragraphe 2, que ces grands principes incluent : la limitation en matière de collecte, le choix, la qualité des données, la finalité de la collecte des données, la limitation de l’utilisation, les garanties de sécurité, la transparence, la participation individuelle et la responsabilité. Les Parties reconnaissent également l’importance d’assurer le respect des mesures de protection des renseignements personnels et de faire en sorte que toute restriction des échanges transfrontières de renseignements personnels est nécessaire et demeure proportionnelle aux risques associés.

4. Chacune des Parties s’efforce d’adopter des pratiques non discriminatoires pour protéger les usagers du commerce numérique contre les atteintes à la protection des renseignements personnels survenant dans les limites de sa juridiction.

5. Chacune des Parties publie de l’information sur la protection des renseignements personnels qu’elle accorde aux usagers du commerce numérique, y compris sur les moyens permettant :

6. Reconnaissant que les Parties peuvent adopter différentes approches juridiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, chacune des Parties devrait encourager l’élaboration de mécanismes favorisant une compatibilité entre les différents régimes. Les Parties s’efforcent d’échanger de l’information sur les mécanismes appliqués dans leur pays et d’explorer des façons d’élargir ces mécanismes ou d’autres arrangements adéquats pour promouvoir leur compatibilité. Les Parties reconnaissent que le système de règles transfrontalières de protection de la vie privée de l’APEC est un mécanisme valable pour faciliter les transferts transfrontières de renseignements tout en protégeant les renseignements personnels.

Article 19.9 : Commerce sans papier

Chacune des Parties s’efforce d’accepter les documents liés à l’administration du commerce soumis par voie électronique comme ayant la même valeur juridique que la version papier de ces documents.

Article 19.10 : Principes relatifs à l’accès à Internet et à l’utilisation d’Internet pour le commerce numérique

Les Parties reconnaissent qu’il est avantageux pour les consommateurs sur leurs territoires d’être en mesure :

Article 19.11 : Transfert transfrontières de renseignements par voie électronique

1. Aucune Partie n’interdit ni ne limite le transfert transfrontières de renseignements, y compris de renseignements personnels, par voie électronique si cette activité s’inscrit dans le cadre d’activités commerciales exercées par une personne visée.

2. Le présent article n’empêche pas une Partie d’adopter ou de maintenir, en vue de réaliser un objectif légitime de politique publique, une mesure qui est incompatible avec le paragraphe 1, à condition que cette mesure :

Article 19.12 : Emplacement des installations informatiques

Une Partie n’exige pas d’une personne visée qu’elle utilise ou situe des installations informatiques sur le territoire de cette Partie comme condition à l’exercice des activités commerciales sur ce territoire.

Article 19.13 : Communications électroniques commerciales non sollicitées

1. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des mesures qui prévoient la limitation des communications électroniques commerciales non sollicitées.

2. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient, relativement aux communications électroniques commerciales non sollicitées envoyées à une adresse électronique, des mesures qui, selon le cas :

3. Chacune des Parties s’efforce d’adopter ou de maintenir des mesures qui permettent aux consommateurs de réduire le nombre ou d’empêcher l’envoi de communications électroniques commerciales non sollicitées envoyées ailleurs qu’à une adresse de courrier électronique.

4. Chacune des Parties prévoit dans son droit des recours à l’encontre des fournisseurs de communications électroniques commerciales non sollicitées qui ne respectent pas les mesures adoptées ou maintenues en application du paragraphe 2 ou 3.

5. Les Parties s’efforcent de coopérer dans les cas appropriés d’intérêt commun concernant la réglementation des communications électroniques commerciales non sollicitées.

Article 19.14 : Coopération

1. Reconnaissant le caractère mondial du commerce numérique, les Parties s’efforcent :

2. Les Parties examinent la possibilité de mettre sur pied un forum pour traiter tout enjeu mentionné précédemment ou toute autre question concernant le fonctionnement du présent chapitre.

Article 19.15 : Cybersécurité

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que les menaces à la cybersécurité minent la confiance dans le commerce numérique. En conséquence, les Parties s’efforcent :

2. Étant donné le caractère évolutif des menaces contre la cybersécurité, les Parties reconnaissent que des approches fondées sur le risque pourraient être plus efficaces qu’une réglementation normative pour faire face à ces menaces. Par conséquent, chacune des Parties s’efforce d’adopter, et encourage les entreprises qui relèvent de sa juridiction à adopter, des approches fondées sur le risque qui s’appuient sur des normes consensuelles et des pratiques exemplaires de gestion du risque pour détecter les risques liés à la cybersécurité et assurer une protection contre ces derniers, ainsi que pour détecter les événements liés à la cybersécurité, y réagir et y remédier.

Article 19.16 : Code source

1. Une Partie n’exige pas le transfert du code source d’un logiciel appartenant à une personne d’une autre Partie ou d’un algorithme exprimé dans ce code source, ni l’accès à ce code ou algorithme, comme condition à l’importation, à la distribution, à la vente ou à l’utilisation sur son territoire de ce logiciel ou de produits dans lesquels ce logiciel est incorporé.

2. Ce présent article n’empêche pas un organisme de réglementation ou l’autorité judiciaire d’une Partie d’ordonner à une personne d’une autre Partie de conserver le code source d’un logiciel ou un algorithme exprimé dans ce code source, et de donner accès à ce code ou algorithme à l’organisme de réglementation en vue d’une enquête, d’une inspection, d’un examen, d’une action coercitive ou d’une procédure judiciaireNote de bas de page 6 spécifique, sous réserve des protections contre la divulgation non autorisée.

Article 19.17 : Services informatiques interactifs

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance vitale de la promotion des services informatiques interactifs, y compris pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, pour la croissance du commerce numérique.

2. À cette fin, sous réserve du paragraphe 4, aucune des Parties n’adopte ou ne maintient des mesures qui traitent un fournisseur ou un utilisateur d’un service informatique interactif comme un fournisseur de contenu informatif pour déterminer la responsabilité en cas de préjudices liés aux renseignements stockés, traités, transmis, distribués ou mis à disposition par le service, sauf dans la mesure où le fournisseur ou l’utilisateur a, en tout ou partie, créé ou développé ce contenuNote de bas de page 7.

3. Aucune Partie n’impose la responsabilité à un fournisseur ou à un utilisateur d’un service informatique interactif à l’égard, selon le cas :

4. Aucune disposition du présent article :

5. Le présent article est soumis à l’annexe 19-A.

Article 19.18: Données relatives au gouvernement ouvert

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que la facilitation de l’accès public aux renseignements gouvernementaux et de l’utilisation de ces derniers favorise le développement économique et social, la compétitivité et l’innovation.

2. Dans la mesure où une Partie choisit de mettre à la disposition du public des renseignements gouvernementaux, y compris des données, elle s’efforce de le faire dans un format en source libre et exploitable par machine, ainsi qu’il soit possible d’y effectuer des recherches, de les extraire, de les utiliser, de les réutiliser et de les rediffuser.

3. Les Parties s’efforcent de coopérer pour identifier les moyens permettant à chacune des Parties d’élargir l’accès aux renseignements gouvernementaux, y compris aux données, qu’elle a mis à la disposition du public et de faciliter leur utilisation, de manière à accroître et à créer des débouchés commerciaux, en particulier pour les petites et moyennes entreprises.

ANNEXE 19-A

1. L’article 19.17 (Services informatiques interactifs) n’entre en application à l’égard du Mexique que trois ans après l’entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

2. Les Parties comprennent que les articles 145 et 146 de la Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones y Radiodifusión du Mexique, tels qu’ils sont en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, ne contreviennent pas à l’article 19.17.3 (Services informatiques interactifs). En cas de différend relatif à cet article, les mesures subordonnées adoptées ou maintenues en vertu des articles 145 et 146 de la Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones y Radiodifusión du Mexique, et en conformité avec ceux-ci, sont réputées ne pas contrevenir à l’article 19.17.3 (Services informatiques interactifs).

3. Les Parties comprennent que le Mexique se conformera aux obligations énoncées à l’article 19.17.3 (Services informatiques interactifs) d’une manière qui soit à la fois efficace et conforme à la Constitution du Mexique (Constitución Política de los Estados Unidos Mexicanos), notamment aux articles 6 et 7.

4. Il est entendu que l’article 19.17 (Services informatiques interactifs) est soumis à l’article 32.1 (Exceptions générales), lequel prévoit notamment que, pour l’application du chapitre 19, l’exception relative aux mesures nécessaires à la protection de la moralité publique figurant au paragraphe a) de l’article XIV de l’AGCS est intégrée au présent accord et en fait partie intégrante, avec les adaptations nécessaires. Les Parties conviennent que les mesures nécessaires pour assurer une protection contre le trafic sexuel en ligne, l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants et la prostitution, telles que la Loi publique 115-164, la Loi de 2017 autorisant les États et les victimes à lutter contre le trafic sexuel en ligne modifiant la Loi de 1934 sur les communications, et toutes les dispositions pertinentes de la Ley General para Prevenir, Sancionar y Erradicar los Delitos en Materia de Trata de Personas y para la Protección y Asistencia a las Víctimas de estos delitos, constituent des mesures nécessaires à la protection de la moralité publique.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: