Language selection

Search

Virtual public session following the inaugural meeting of the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) Environment Committee

Date:  Thursday, June 17, 2021
Time:  3:00 PM EDT
Location:  Livestream

Join us in a live dialogue

On June 17, 2021, the Parties to the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) will convene virtually for the inaugural meeting of the Environment Committee. Following the meeting of senior government representatives, the Environment Committee will hold a virtual public session with interested stakeholders from Canada, the United States and Mexico to discuss the outcomes of the Committee meeting held earlier that day and next steps.

How you can participate

On June 17, please join the webinar on Zoom.
Webinar ID: 643 8410 8131
Passcode: 884471
Or Telephone: +1 647 375 2970 or +1 647 375 2971 or +1 778 907 2071 or +1 204 272 7920 or +1 438 809 7799 or +1 587 328 1099 or +1 613 209 3054 or +1 647 374 4685

About CUSMA

Article 24.26 of the CUSMA establishes an Environment Committee composed of senior government representatives to oversee the implementation of the Environment Chapter. The CUSMA Environment Chapter requires the Environmental Committee to meet no later than one year following entry-into-force of the agreement and every two years thereafter, unless the Parties otherwise agree. All Committee decisions and reports will be made available to the public, unless the Parties decide otherwise. The Environment Committee will provide information to the public on matters relevant to its work, as appropriate, and hold a public session after each Committee meeting. To learn more about the CUSMA Environment Chapter, refer to Chapter 24.

Inaugural meeting of the CUSMA Environment Committee

On June 17, 2021, the Committee will meet virtually in a government-to-government session. During the meeting, the Parties will:

  1. review the implementation of the Environment Chapter and discuss how the Parties are meeting their obligations
  2. examine the cooperative activities that the Secretariat of the Commission on Environmental Cooperation has undertaken and to review the public Submissions for Enforcement Matters received in the last year
  3. discuss areas of mutual interest.

This session will not be open to the public.

Public session on CUSMA chapter 24 implementation

Following the meeting of senior government representatives, the Environment Committee invites the public to attend a virtual session. At the public session, the Committee will report on the inaugural CUSMA Environment Committee meeting and share with the public the progress made on implementing the CUSMA environment obligations. During the public session, the Committee will address comments and questions submitted by the public.

Contact us

We invite anyone interested in submitting questions and comments to the Committee prior to the event to send questions to CUSMAEnvironmentCommittee-ACEUMComitesurlenvironnement@international.gc.ca prior to June 14, 2021.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Séance publique virtuelle tenue à la suite de la réunion inaugurale du Comité de l’environnement de l’Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM)

Date :  Jeudi 17 juin 2021
Heure :  15 h (HAE)
Lieu :   Diffusion en direct sur internet

Joignez-vous à nous à l’occasion d’une discussion en direct

Le 17 juin 2021, les Parties signataires de l’Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM) participeront à la réunion virtuelle du Comité de l’environnement. À la suite de la réunion des hauts représentants des gouvernements, le Comité de l’environnement tiendra une séance publique virtuelle en présence des intervenants concernés provenant du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique, pour discuter des conclusions de la réunion du Comité organisée plus tôt dans la journée du 17 juin et des prochaines étapes.

Comment participer?

Le 17 juin, rejoignez le webinaire sur Zoom.
Numéro du webinaire : 643 8410 8131
Code d'accès : 884471
Vous pouvez également vous joindre par téléphone en composant un des numéros suivants à partir du Canada : +1 647 375 2970 ou +1 647 375 2971 ou +1 778 907 2071 ou +1 204 272 7920 ou +1 438 809 7799 ou +1 587 328 1099 ou +1 613 209 3054 ou +1 647 374 4685

À propos de l’ACEUM

L’article 24.26 de l’ACEUM crée un comité de l’environnement composé de hauts représentants des gouvernements et chargé de superviser la mise en œuvre du chapitre sur l’environnement de l’ACEUM. Ce chapitre impose au Comité de l’environnement de se réunir au plus tard un an après l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord, puis une fois tous les deux ans, à moins que les Parties n’en décident autrement. L’ensemble des décisions et rapports du Comité sont rendus publics, sauf si les Parties en décident autrement. Le Comité de l’environnement fournira au public des renseignements sur des questions liées à son travail, s’il y a lieu, et tiendra une séance publique après chacune de ses réunions. Pour en savoir davantage sur le Chapitre sur l’environnement de l’ACEUM, voir le chapitre 24.

Réunion inaugurale du Comité de l’environnement de l’ACEUM

Le 17 juin 2021, le Comité tiendra une réunion intergouvernementale virtuelle. Durant cette réunion, les Parties :

  1. se pencheront sur la mise en œuvre du chapitre sur l’environnement et discuteront de la manière dont les Parties respecteront leurs obligations
  2. examineront les activités de coopération que le Secrétariat de la Commission de coopération environnementale a entreprises et les Observations sur les questions d’application reçues l’an dernier
  3. discuteront des sujets d’intérêt commun

La réunion ne sera pas publique.

Séance publique sur la mise en œuvre du chapitre sur l’environnement de l’ACEUM

À la suite de la réunion des hauts représentants des gouvernements, le Comité de l’environnement invite le public à assister à une séance virtuelle. Lors de cette séance, le Comité fera le compte rendu de la réunion inaugurale du Comité de l’environnement de l’ACEUM et abordera les progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre des obligations liées à l’ACEUM en matière d’environnement. Durant la séance publique, le Comité répondra aux commentaires et questions soumis par le public.

Contactez-nous

Nous invitons toutes les personnes souhaitant soumettre des questions ou commentaires au Comité à les envoyer par courriel à CUSMAEnvironmentCommittee-ACEUMComitesurlenvironnement@international.gc.ca avant la date de l’évènement, soit le 14 juin 2021.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: