Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement banner

What is the CIFTA?


In 2014, Canada and Israel agreed to modernize the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA), a goods-only agreement in force since January 1, 1997. Through two phases of negotiations in 2014-2015 and 2017-2018, Canada and Israel updated four chapters and added nine new chapters to the CIFTA.

The modernized CIFTA improves access to the Israeli market for Canadian companies through further elimination and reduction of tariffs on agricultural, agri-food and fisheries products. With the addition of new inclusive trade provisions on gender, small and medium-sized enterprises and corporate social responsibility, as well as new labour and environmental protections, the modernized CIFTA signals the importance of inclusive trade and ensuring that the benefits and opportunities that flow from trade and investment are widely shared.

Since CIFTA first came into effect over two decades ago, Canada’s two-way merchandise trade with Israel has more than tripled, totalling $1.9 billion in 2018.

Related links


Key facts

  • The original Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement came into effect over 20 years ago, on January 1, 1997.
  • Two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Israel was valued at more than $1.9 billion in 2018.
  • Science and technology are significant drivers of the Israeli economy.

News

Frequently asked questions


Answers to common questions about the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement.

Modernized CIFTA: Benefits for Canada


Advantages of the modernized Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement for Canada.

Backgrounder


Key achievements for Canada during CIFTA modernization negotiations.

Timeline


A history of the discussions and consultations that took place.

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement: Frequently asked questions


Why is the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA) important to Canada?
  • Canada is a trading nation. Canadians’ standard of living depends on robust international trade as a key driver of economic growth for a prosperous middle class.
  • Israel, with a GDP of $479.2 billion, is an important economic player in the Middle East and offers a range of opportunities for Canadians and Canadian businesses, including in trade, investment, science, technology and innovation.
  • Since CIFTA came into force in 1997, Canada-Israel merchandise trade has more than tripled, reaching a value of over $1.9 billion in 2018.
Why modernize CIFTA?
  • The original CIFTA was a goods-only agreement that eliminated tariffs on all industrial products and some agricultural, fish and seafood products.
  • Canada and Israel agreed to modernize CIFTA by updating existing chapters and adding new elements. This makes CIFTA a 21st-century agreement by reducing technical barriers to trade, enhancing cooperation, increasing transparency in regulatory matters, reducing red tape for business and adding inclusive trade elements that seek to ensure the benefit and opportunities that flow from trade are more widely shared.
  • Through the modernized CIFTA, Canada and Israel are creating the right conditions for trade in their modern and knowledge-based economies.
  • Since CIFTA came into force over two decades ago, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Israel has more than tripled, totaling $1.9 billion in 2018. There is room to grow and deepen the commercial relationship.
  • A modernized Canada-Israel FTA enables our companies to take greater advantage of expanded market access; creates more favourable conditions for exporters through important non-tariff commitments; and establishes mechanisms under which Canada and Israel can cooperate to address and seek to resolve unjustified non-tariff barriers that may arise.
  • Finally, the modernized agreement helps to further strengthen Canada’s support for Israel, as it works toward securing its future as a stable, democratic and prosperous country.
What are the benefits of the modernized CIFTA?
  • The modernized CIFTA includes additional provisions to help Canadian businesses succeed in the Israeli market. The benefits of the modernized CIFTA include:
    • provisions that address non-tariff barriers and establish mechanisms to allow Canada and Israel to discuss, prevent and resolve unjustified non-tariff barriers that may arise;
    • enhanced border efficiencies, increased regulatory transparency and reduced red tape;
    • new and improved market access for virtually 100% (up from 90%) of Canadian exports of agricultural, agri-food, fish and seafood products to Israel;
    • a more level playing field for Canadian exporters competing with those from other countries, such as the United States and the European Union, and;
    • support for Canada’s inclusive trade approach in areas such as gender equality, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and corporate social responsibility (CSR).
What is the relationship between the existing CIFTA (1997) and the modernized Agreement?
  • The modernization and expansion of CIFTA was done through an Amending Agreement, which replaces the entire 1997 CIFTA text with the expanded and modernized CIFTA text.
What are the market access outcomes in the modernized CIFTA?
  • Canada negotiated the reduction or elimination of a number of Israeli tariffs on agricultural, fish and seafood products that are of export interest to Canadian stakeholders.

Agriculture – a key export interest for Canada. Upon entry into force, 92% of current Canadian exports will enter Israel duty free in unlimited quantities, up from 83%.

  • Immediate duty-free treatment for:
    • Dog and cat food (previous tariff of 4%);
    • Soy beverages (previous tariff of 6%);
    • Baked goods including bread, pastries and biscuits (previous tariff of up to 8%); and
    • Sweetened and dried cranberries (previous tariff of 12%).
  • Volume-limited duty-free access under new or expanded Tariff Rate Quotas (TRQs):
    • Apples – new TRQ of 900 metric tonnes (MT) (previous tariff of $0.63/kg);
    • Chickpeas – expansion of TRQ from 100MT to 400MT (previous tariff of $0.36/kg);
    • Wines, including ice wines – new TRQ of 60,000 litres (previous tariff of 12% plus $0.46/litre); and
    • Frozen processed potatoes, including frozen French fries – expansion of TRQ from 50MT to 100MT (previous tariff of 50%).
  • Israel will also provide preferential tariff rates for other goods, such as:
    • Canola oil (reduction of 40% from previous 8% tariff);
    • Shelled beans (reduction of 50% from previous 12% tariff); and
    • Turkey hatching eggs (reduction of 50% from previous $1.14/unit tariff).

Fish and Seafood – Under the modernized CIFTA, 98% of current exports will enter Israel duty free in unlimited quantities, up from 90%.

  • Shrimp (previous MFN tariff of 26% tariff; duty-free TRQ of 150MT and an over-quota rate reduction of 25%).
How does the modernized CIFTA align with Canada’s inclusive trade agenda?
  • The modernized CIFTA is more than just an ambitious trade agreement: it is the product of bilateral cooperation that prioritizes inclusive trade.
  • An inclusive approach to trade is integral to Canada’s trade policy and is being advanced in all of Canada’s new free trade agreements. Everyone benefits when more Canadians are able to participate in the global economy.
  • CIFTA’s modernization provided an opportunity for Canada to add inclusive trade provisions, such as:
    • trade and the environment, to ensure that both countries pursue high levels of environmental protection while realizing the benefits of liberalized trade
    • trade and labour, to commit the two parties to effectively enforcing their labour laws, which must, in turn, embody and provide protection for internationally recognized labour rights and principles, with recourse to an enforceable binding dispute-settlement mechanism
    • trade and gender, to acknowledge the importance of incorporating a gender perspective into economic and trade issues and to ensure that economic growth benefits everyone. The trade and gender chapter establishes a dedicated committee to facilitate activities to help women more fully benefit from the opportunities created by the agreement
    • small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), to include general provisions on the importance of SMEs to Canada’s and Israel’s economies, to facilitate cooperation activities and information-sharing, and to establish an SME committee to perform accountability, transparency, and advisory functions
    • new corporate social responsibility (CSR) provisions,  including a commitment to encourage the use of voluntary CSR standards with specific reference to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises

Modernized Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement: Benefits for Canada


As one of Canada’s long-standing trading partners, Israel represents an important market for Canadian goods and services. Through the modernized Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA), Canada and Israel are creating the right conditions for increased trade and new opportunities to further expand the Canada-Israel economic partnership.

Summary

Modernization overview and chapters

Through two phases of negotiations between 2014 and 2018, Canada and Israel updated four existing chapters in the Agreement and added nine new chapters. The modernized CIFTA also adds a provision on corporate social responsibility. The modernized CIFTA is more than just an ambitious trade agreement; it is the product of bilateral cooperation to expand the Agreement to include an inclusive approach to trade, which seeks to ensure that Canadians more broadly share the benefits and opportunities that flow from trade and investment.

Updated chapters:

New chapters:

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement: Backgrounder


What is the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement?

The Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA) entered into force on January 1, 1997, eliminating tariffs on all industrial products manufactured in Canada and Israel, as well as on a limited number of agricultural and fisheries products.

Between 1999 and 2003, additional agricultural and agri-food tariff reductions on goods previously excluded from the agreement were negotiated. The additions included better market access for a number of Canada's top agricultural and agri-food exports to Israel.

On October 10, 2010, Canada and Israel announced they would begin discussions to revise the existing CIFTA. Officials started exploratory talks to move beyond the original, first-generation trade agreement by expanding its scope and liberalize tariffs on a number of additional agriculture and fish and seafood products.

On January 21, 2014, the Canadian and Israeli prime ministers announced the launch of negotiations to expand and modernize CIFTA. Canadian industry and other stakeholders were consulted before and during the modernization negotiations.

In 2017, Canada and Israel agreed to a further expansion of CIFTA to include new, inclusive trade elements dealing with trade and gender, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and corporate social responsibility (CSR).

On May 28, 2018, Francois-Philippe Champagne, Canada’s Minister of International Trade, and Eli Cohen, Israel’s Minister of the Economy and Trade, met in Montréal, Quebec, to sign the Protocol Amending the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement, which includes the 2015 and 2018 chapters.

On September 1, 2019, the modernized CIFTA entered into force for Canada and Israel.

Since CIFTA first came into force more than two decades ago, bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Israel has more than tripled, totalling $1.9 billion in 2018.

Canada’s achievements

As part of the modernized CIFTA, updates were made to four existing chapters:

Nine new chapters and a provision were added that deal with new and ongoing trade elements and issues:

The addition of inclusive trade elements signal a commitment from both Canada and Israel to create the right conditions for trade in their modern, knowledge-based economies. Some of the chapters, including those on gender, labour and environment, are firsts for Israel in a free trade agreement; they are in line with recent agreements signed by Canada.

The modernized CIFTA also benefits Canadian companies by:

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement: Timeline


September 2019

The modernized Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement enters into force on September 1, 2019.

May 2019

On May 27, 2019, Canada’s implementing legislation for the modernized CIFTA (Bill C-85) receives royal assent.

October 2018

The Minister of International Trade Diversification, Jim Carr, introduces Bill C 85, An Act to amend the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act and to make related amendments to other Acts, in the House of Commons on October 23, 2018, after having completed its 21-sitting-day period.

June 2018

Under the Policy on Tabling of Treaties in Parliament, on June 20, 2018, the Parliamentary Secretary of International Trade tables the modernized Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA) treaty, with all binding side instruments, in the House of Commons for 21 consecutive sitting days.  

May 2018

François-Philippe Champagne, Canada’s Minister of International Trade, and Eli Cohen, Israel’s Minister of the Economy and Industry, meet in Montréal, Quebec, to sign the Protocol Amending the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA).

June 2017

Cabinet authorizes the signature, implementation and ratification of the 2015 and 2017 amendments.

2017

Canada and Israel agree to a further expansion of CIFTA to include new, inclusive trade provisions dealing with trade and gender, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and corporate social responsibility (CSR).

July 2015

Canada and Israel announce the conclusion of the modernized CIFTA. Amendments to the 1997 agreement include four updated chapters (Dispute Settlement, Goods Market Access, Governance, and Rules of Origin) and seven new ones (E-commerce, Environment, Intellectual Property, Labour, Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures, Technical Barriers to Trade, and Trade Facilitation).

January 2014

The prime ministers of Canada and Israel announce the launch of negotiations to modernized CIFTA.

October 2011

The Government of Canada begins consultations with Canadians on an expanded and modernized CIFTA.

1999 to 2003

Canada and Israel negotiate and implement reduction and elimination of tariffs on products previously excluded from CIFTA. This results in a reduction of tariffs on many of Canada's top agricultural and agri-food exports to Israel.

January 1997

The Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement, a goods-only agreement, enters into force on January 1, 1997, eliminating tariffs on all industrial products manufactured in Canada and Israel.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement banner

Qu'est-ce que l’ALÉCI?


En 2014, le Canada et Israël ont convenu de moderniser l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI), un accord portant exclusivement sur les marchandises qui est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1997. En deux phases de négociations tenues entre 2014‑2015 et 2017-2018, le Canada et Israël ont mis à jour quatre chapitres et ajouté neuf nouveaux chapitres à l’ALÉCI.

L’ALÉCI modernisé permet aux entreprises canadiennes de bénéficier d’un meilleur accès au marché israélien en éliminant et en réduisant davantage les droits de douane sur les produits agricoles, agroalimentaires et de pêche. Grâce à l’ajout de nouveaux éléments inclusifs sur l’égalité entre les sexes, les petites et moyennes entreprises et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, en plus de mesures de protection des travailleurs et de l’environnement, l’ALÉCI modernisé met en évidence l’importance d’un commerce inclusif et permet de partager plus largement les avantages et possibilités découlant du commerce et de l’investissement.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALÉCI, il y a plus de 20 ans, les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises avec Israël ont plus que triplé, pour atteindre 1,9 milliard de dollars en 2018.

Liens connexes


Faits importants

  • L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël initial est en vigueur depuis plus de 20 ans, soit depuis le 1er janvier 1997.
  • Le commerce bilatéral des marchandises entre le Canada et Israël se chiffrait à plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars en 2018.
  • Les sciences et la technologie sont des moteurs importants de l’économie israélienne.

Nouvelles

Foire aux questions


Réponses aux questions courantes concernant l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël.

L’ALÉCI modernisé : avantages pour le Canada


Les avantages de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël pour le Canada.

Document d’information


Principales réalisations du Canada pendant les négociations de modernisation de l’ALÉCI.

Chronologie


Historique des discussions et des consultations qui ont eu lieu.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël : Foire aux questions


Pourquoi l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI) est-il important pour le Canada?
  • Le Canada est une nation commerçante. Le niveau de vie des Canadiens dépend d’un commerce international florissant qui stimule la croissance économique pour favoriser la prospérité de la classe moyenne.
  • Avec un PIB de 479,2 milliards de dollars, Israël joue un rôle économique important au Moyen-Orient et offre un éventail de possibilités aux Canadiens et aux entreprises canadiennes, notamment dans le commerce, l’investissement, la science, la technologie et l’innovation.
  • Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALÉCI en 1997, le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et Israël a plus que triplé, atteignant plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars en 2018.
Pourquoi avoir modernisé l’ALÉCI?
  • L’ALÉCI original était un accord portant uniquement sur les marchandises qui éliminait les droits de douane sur tous les produits industriels et certains produits agricoles, poissons et fruits de mer.
  • Le Canada et Israël ont convenu de moderniser l’ALÉCI en actualisant ses chapitres et y en ajoutant de nouveaux éléments, pour en faire un accord adapté au XXIe siècle, qui réduit les obstacles techniques au commerce, renforce la coopération, accroît la transparence dans les questions réglementaires, simplifie les formalités administratives et ajoute des éléments inclusifs afin de veiller à ce que les avantages et les débouchés qui découlent du commerce sont plus largement partagés.
  • Grâce à un ALÉCI modernisé, le Canada et Israël créent des conditions propices au commerce dans leurs économies modernes et fondées sur le savoir.
  • Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALÉCI il y a plus de 20 ans, le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et Israël a plus que triplé, atteignant 1,9 milliard de dollars en 2018. Les relations commerciales peuvent encore s’élargir et s’approfondir.
  • Un accord de libre-échange modernisé entre le Canada et Israël permet à nos entreprises de tirer un meilleur parti de l’élargissement de l’accès aux marchés, de créer des conditions plus favorables pour les exportateurs grâce à d’importants engagements non tarifaires et d’établir des mécanismes au titre desquels le Canada et Israël peuvent coopérer pour s’attaquer aux obstacles non tarifaires injustifiés qui peuvent survenir et chercher à les éliminer.
  • Enfin, l’accord modernisé renforce l’appui que le Canada apporte à Israël, qui s’efforce d’assurer son avenir en tant que pays stable, démocratique et prospère.
Quels sont les avantages de l’ALÉCI modernisé?
  • L’ALÉCI modernisé comprend des dispositions supplémentaires qui aident les entreprises canadiennes à réussir sur le marché israélien. Parmi les avantages de l’ALÉCI modernisé, notons :
  • Des dispositions visant à s’attaquer aux barrières non tarifaires et l’adoption de mécanismes de collaboration entre le Canada et Israël pour discuter des barrières non tarifaires injustifiées qui pourraient être adoptées, les prévenir et les régler.
  • Des gains d’efficacité à la frontière, un renforcement de la transparence réglementaire et une réduction des formalités administratives.
  • Un meilleur accès au marché pour pratiquement 100 % (en hausse par rapport à 90 %) des exportations canadiennes de produits agricoles et agroalimentaires, de poissons et de fruits de mer vers Israël.
  • Une plus grande égalité des chances pour les exportateurs canadiens par rapport à leurs compétiteurs d’autres pays, comme les États-Unis et l’Union européenne.
  • Un soutien à l’approche commerciale inclusive du Canada, par exemple en ce qui a trait à l’égalité entre les sexes, aux petites et moyennes entreprises et à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE).
Quelle est la relation entre l’ALÉCI en vigueur depuis 1997 et l’accord modernisé?
  • L’ALÉCI a été modernisé et élargi au moyen d’une modification de l’accord qui remplace la totalité de l’ALÉCI de 1997 par un nouvel accord modernisé et élargi.
Quels sont les effets de l’ALÉCI modernisé sur l’accès aux marchés?
  • Le Canada a négocié la réduction ou l’élimination d’un certain nombre de droits de douane israéliens sur les produits agricoles et de la pêche qui présentent un intérêt pour les exportateurs canadiens.

Agriculture — un secteur dont l’exportation revêt une importance majeure pour le Canada. Dès l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord, 92 % des exportations canadiennes seront admises en Israël en franchise de droits, en quantités illimitées, comparativement à 83 % aux termes de l’ancien accord.

  • Exemption immédiate des droits de douane pour les produits suivants :
    • Aliments pour chiens et chats (élimination des droits de douane de 4 %).
    • Boissons au soja (élimination des droits de douane de 8 %).
    • Produits de boulangerie-pâtisserie, incluant le pain, les pâtisseries et les biscuits (élimination des droits de douane pouvant atteindre 8 %).
    • Canneberges sucrées et séchées (élimination des droits de douane de 12 %)
  • Accès en franchise de droits pour un volume limité ou contingents tarifaires (CT) :
    • Pommes — nouveau CT de 900 tonnes métriques (TM) (droits précédents fixés à 0,63 $ le kg).
    • Pois chiches — augmentation du CT qui passe de 100 à 400 TM (droits précédents fixés à 0,36 $ le kg).
    • Vins, incluant les vins de glace — nouveau CT de 60 000 litres (droits précédents fixés à 12 % plus 0,46 $ le litre).
    • Pommes de terre transformées, congelées, incluant les pommes de terre frites — augmentation du CT de 50 TM à 100 TM (droits précédents fixés à 50 %).
  • Israël accorde également un tarif préférentiel à d’autres produits dont :
    • Huile de canola (réduction de 40 % par rapport au tarif précédent de 8 %).
    • Haricots écossés (réduction de 50 % par rapport au tarif précédent de 12 %).
    • Œufs de dinde à couver (réduction de 50 % par rapport au tarif précédent de 1,14 $ l’unité).

Poissons et fruits de mer – Aux termes de l’ALÉCI modernisé, 98 % des exportations actuelles seront admises en franchise de droit et en quantités illimitées en Israël, comparativement à 90 % en vertu de l’ancien accord.

  • Crevettes (ancien tarif NPF de 26 %; CT en franchise de droits de 150 TM et réduction de 25 % des exportations hors contingent).
Comment l’ALÉCI modernisé s’harmonise-t-il avec l’approche commerciale inclusive du Canada?
  • L’ALÉCI modernisé est plus qu’un simple accord ambitieux, c’est le fruit d’une coopération bilatérale qui accorde la priorité au commerce inclusif.
  • L’approche commerciale inclusive fait partie intégrante de la politique commerciale canadienne et fait partie de toutes les nouvelles négociations d’accords de libre-échange. Tout le monde en profite lorsqu’un plus grand nombre de Canadiens sont en mesure de participer à l’économie mondiale.
  • La modernisation de l’ALÉCI a donné au Canada l’occasion d’ajouter des éléments inclusifs :
    • Commerce et environnement : Veiller à ce que les deux pays cherchent à atteindre des niveaux élevés de protection de l’environnement tout en tirant parti des avantages de la libéralisation des échanges commerciaux.
    • Commerce et travail : Engager les deux parties à appliquer effectivement leurs lois en matière de travail, qui doivent à leur tour respecter et protéger les principes et les droits des travailleurs internationalement reconnus, en recourant à des mécanismes de règlement des différends exécutoires sur le plan juridique.
    • Commerce et égalité entre les sexes : Reconnaître l’importance d’adopter une perspective sexospécifique pour l’ensemble des questions économiques et commerciales, afin que la croissance économique profite à tous. Le chapitre sur le commerce et l’égalité entre les sexes établit un comité consacré précisément à la facilitation des activités aidant les femmes à tirer le meilleur parti des occasions engendrées par l’Accord.
    • Petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) : Inclure des dispositions générales sur l’importance des PME pour les économies du Canada et d’Israël, faciliter les activités de coopération et le partage d’information, et créer un comité sur les PME pour superviser les activités de coopération et examiner la mise en œuvre de ce chapitre.
    • Nouvelles dispositions sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) : Inclure un engagement à favoriser l’utilisation de normes volontaires de RSE avec mention particulière portant sur les Principes directeurs à l’intention des entreprises multinationales de l’Organisation de coopération et développement économique (OCDE).

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël modernisé — Avantages pour le Canada


En tant que partenaire commercial de longue date du Canada, Israël représente un marché important pour les biens et les services canadiens. Grâce à l’Accord de libre‑échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI) modernisé, le Canada et Israël mettent en place les conditions propices à l’accroissement du commerce et à la création de nouveaux débouchés pour élargir davantage le partenariat économique entre ces deux pays.

Résumé

Survol de la modernisation et des chapitres

Après deux phases de négociations tenues entre 2014 et 2018, le Canada et Israël ont mis à jour quatre chapitres de l’Accord et en ont ajouté neuf nouveaux. L’ALÉCI modernisé ajoute également une disposition sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. L’ALÉCI modernisé est plus qu’un accord commercial ambitieux; c’est le fruit d’une collaboration bilatérale pour élargir l’Accord et y inclure une approche inclusive du commerce garantissant aux Canadiens une plus vaste part des avantages et des occasions découlant du commerce et de l’investissement.

Chapitres mis à jour

Nouveaux chapitres

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël : Document d’information


Qu’est-ce que l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël?

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI), qui est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1997, a éliminé les droits de douane sur tous les produits industriels fabriqués au Canada et en Israël ainsi que sur un nombre limité de produits agricoles et issus des pêches.

Entre 1999 et 2003, des négociations ont donné lieu à des réductions des droits de douane additionnelles sur des produits agricoles et agroalimentaires qui avaient d’abord été exclus de l’Accord. Ainsi, un meilleur accès a été accordé à certains des principaux produits agricoles et agroalimentaires canadiens exportés vers Israël.

Le 10 octobre 2010, le Canada et Israël ont annoncé qu’ils entameraient des discussions pour réviser l’ALÉCI. Les représentants des deux pays ont entamé des pourparlers exploratoires pour aller au-delà de l’accord commercial de première génération, élargir considérablement son champ d’application et éliminer les tarifs imposés sur certains autres produits agricoles ou issus des pêches.

Le 21 janvier 2014, les premiers ministres canadien et israélien ont annoncé le lancement de négociations visant à moderniser et à élargir l’ALÉCI. L’industrie canadienne et d’autres intervenants ont été consultés avant et pendant les négociations sur la modernisation.

En 2017, le Canada et Israël ont convenu d’élargir l’ALÉCI pour y inclure de nouvelles sections progressistes portant sur le commerce et l’égalité entre les sexes, les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE).

Le 28 mai 2018, le ministre du Commerce international du Canada, François‑Philippe Champagne, et le ministre de l’Économie et de l’Industrie d’Israël, Eli Cohen, se sont rencontrés à Montréal, au Québec, pour signer le Protocole modifiant l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël, qui comprend les chapitres de 2015 et de 2018.

Le 1er septembre 2019, l’ALÉCI modernisé est entré en vigueur au Canada et en Israël.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALÉCI, il y a plus de vingt ans, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et Israël a plus que triplé, se chiffrant à 1,9 milliard de dollars en 2018.

Réalisations du Canada

Dans le cadre de l’ALÉCI modernisé, des modifications ont été apportées à quatre chapitres existants :

Neuf nouveaux chapitres et un article, sur des questions nouvelles ou présentes dans la version originale, ont été ajoutés à l’ALÉCI :

Ces éléments commerciaux inclusifs témoignent de la volonté du Canada et d’Israël de créer les conditions propices au commerce dans leurs économies modernes et fondées sur le savoir. Certains chapitres, notamment ceux portant sur l’égalité entre les sexes, la main-d’œuvre et l’environnement, sont des premières pour Israël dans un accord de libre-échange; ils sont conformes aux récents accords signés par le Canada.

La modernisation de l’ALÉCI profitera également aux entreprises canadiennes, car elle :

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël : Chronologie


Septembre 2019

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël modernisé entre en vigueur le 1er septembre 2019.

Mai 2019

Le 27 mai 2019, la loi canadienne de mise en œuvre de l’ALÉCI modernisé (la loi C-85) reçoit la sanction royale.

Octobre 2018

Le ministre du Commerce international Jim Carr dépose le projet de loi C-85, Loi modifiant la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois, à la Chambre des communes le 23 octobre 2018, après la période d’attente de 21 jours de séance.

Juin 2018

Le 20 juin 2018, conformément à la Politique sur le dépôt des traités devant le parlement, le secrétaire parlementaire pour le Commerce international dépose à la Chambre des communes le traité de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI) modernisé, avec tous les instruments connexes contraignants, pour 21 jours de séance consécutifs.  

Mai 2018

Le ministre du Commerce international du Canada, François-Philippe Champagne, et le ministre de l’Économie et de l’Industrie d’Israël, Eli Cohen, se rencontrent à Montréal, au Québec, pour signer le Protocole modifiant l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI).

Juin 2017

Le Cabinet autorise la signature, la mise en œuvre et la ratification des modifications de 2015 et 2017 à l’ALÉCI.

2017

Le Canada et Israël conviennent d’élargir l’ALÉCI pour y inclure de nouvelles sections progressistes portant sur le commerce et l’égalité entre les sexes, les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE).

Juillet 2015

Le Canada et Israël annoncent la conclusion du nouvel ALÉCI. Les modifications apportées à l’Accord de 1997 comprennent quatre chapitres mis à jour (qui portent sur le règlement des différends, l’accès aux marchés pour les marchandises, la gouvernance et les règles d’origine) et sept nouveaux chapitres (qui portent sur le commerce électronique, l’environnement, la propriété intellectuelle, la main-d’œuvre, les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires, les obstacles techniques au commerce et la facilitation des échanges).

Janvier 2014

Les premiers ministres du Canada et d’Israël annoncent le lancement des négociations pour moderniser l’ALÉCI.

Octobre 2011

Le gouvernement du Canada entreprend des consultations auprès des Canadiens sur l’expansion et la modernisation de l’ALÉCI.

1999 à 2003

Le Canada et Israël négocient des réductions des droits de douane sur des produits agricoles et agroalimentaires qui avaient d’abord été exclus de l’ALÉCI. Des réductions tarifaires sont ainsi accordées à plusieurs des principaux produits agricoles et agroalimentaires canadiens exportés vers Israël.

Janvier 1997

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël, un accord portant uniquement sur le commerce des marchandises, entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 1997, éliminant les droits de douane sur tous les produits industriels fabriqués au Canada et en Israël.

Date de modification: