Language selection

Search

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement

CHAPTER TWENTY
EXCEPTIONS

Article 20.1: General Exceptions

For the purposes of Chapters Two (Tariff Elimination and Related Matters), Three (Rules of Origin), Four (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods), Five (Customs Procedures), Six (Trade Facilitation), Seven (Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures), Eight (Technical Barriers to Trade), Nine (Electronic Commerce), Fifteen (Conduct of Business) and Seventeen (Transparency), and Article 16.3 (Temporary Entry of Business Persons), Article XX (General Exceptions) of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement with any necessary modifications. The Parties understand that the measures referred to in Article XX(b) of the GATT 1994 include environmental measures necessary to protect human, animal or plant life or health. The Parties further understand that Article XX(g) of the GATT 1994 applies to measures relating to the conservation of living and non-living exhaustible natural resources.

Article 20.2: National Security

This Agreement does not:

Article 20.3: Taxation

1. This Agreement does not apply to taxation measures.

2. Notwithstanding paragraph 1:

3. This Agreement does not affect the rights and obligations of a Party under a tax convention. In the event of inconsistency between this Agreement and a tax convention, the tax convention prevails to the extent of the inconsistency.

Article 20.4: Balance of Payments

The rights and obligations of the Parties relating to balance of payments are governed by the Understanding on the Balance-of-Payments Provisions of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, contained in Annex 1A of the WTO Agreement.

Article 20.5: Cultural Industries

Measures affecting cultural industries are exempt from the provisions of this Agreement, except as specifically provided in Article 2.1 (Tariff Elimination).

Article 20.6: WTO Waivers

1. To the extent that there are overlapping rights and obligations in this Agreement and the WTO Agreement, any measure adopted by a Party in conformity with a waiver decision adopted by the WTO pursuant to paragraph 3 of Article IX (Decision-Making) of the WTO Agreement, is deemed to be also in conformity with this Agreement.

2. Without derogating from paragraph 1, in the event that a Party considers that a measure adopted by the other Party in conformity with a waiver decision of the WTO affects the trade between the Parties, that Party may request holding discussions with the other Party with a view to finding an appropriate solution.

Article 20.7: Disclosure of Information

This Agreement does not require a Party to furnish, or allow access to information the disclosure of which would be contrary to the law of that Party, including law protecting the deliberative and policy-making processes of the executive branch of government, or that would impede law enforcement or otherwise be contrary to public interest, or which would prejudice the legitimate commercial interests of particular enterprises.

Article 20.8: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

cultural industries means persons engaged in any of the following activities:

tax convention means a convention for the avoidance of double taxation or other international taxation agreement or arrangement;

taxation measures does not include:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Accord de libre-échange Canada - Israël

CHAPITRE VINGT
EXCEPTIONS

Article 20.1 : Exceptions générales

Pour l’application des chapitres Deux (Élimination des tarifs et questions connexes), Trois (Règles d’origine), Quatre (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits), Cinq (Procédures douanières), Six (Facilitation des échanges), Sept (Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires), Huit (Obstacles techniques au commerce), Neuf (Commerce électronique), Quinze (Conduite des affaires)et Dix-sept (Transparence) et de l’article 16.3 (Admission temporaire des hommes et des femmes d’affaires), l’article XX (Exceptions générales) du GATT de 1994 est incorporé au présent accord et en fait partie, avec les adaptations nécessaires. Les Parties comprennent que les mesures visées à l’article XX b) du GATT de 1994 englobent les mesures environnementales nécessaires à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétaux. Les Parties comprennent en outre que l’article XX g) du GATT de 1994 s’applique aux mesures relatives à la conservation des ressources naturelles épuisables, biologiques et non biologiques.

Article 20.2 : Sécurité nationale

Le présent accord :

Article 20.3 : Fiscalité

1. Le présent accord ne s’applique pas aux mesures fiscales.

2. Nonobstant le paragraphe 1 :

3. Le présent accord n’a pas d’incidence sur les droits et les obligations d’une Partie au titre d’une convention fiscale. En cas d’incompatibilité entre le présent accord et une convention fiscale, les dispositions de la convention fiscale l’emportent dans la mesure de l’incompatibilité.

Article 20.4 : Balance des paiements

Les droits et les obligations des Parties relatifs à la balance des paiements sont régis par le Mémorandum d’accord sur les dispositions de l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994 relatives à la balance des paiements, figurant à l’Annexe 1A de l’Accord sur l’OMC.

Article 20.5 : Industries culturelles

Les mesures affectant les industries culturelles sont exemptées des dispositions du présent accord, sauf disposition expresse contraire de l’article 2.1 (Élimination des tarifs).

Article 20.6 : Dérogations de l’OMC

1. Dans la mesure où des droits et des obligations prévus au présent accord font double emploi avec ceux prévus par l’Accord sur l’OMC, toute mesure adoptée par une Partie en conformité avec une décision par laquelle l’OMC a accordé une dérogation en vertu du paragraphe 3 de l’article IX (Prise de décisions) de l’Accord sur l’OMC est réputée être également conforme au présent accord.

2. Sans préjudice du paragraphe 1, si une Partie estime qu’une mesure adoptée par l’autre Partie en conformité avec une décision par laquelle l’OMC a accordé une dérogation affecte le commerce entre les Parties, la Partie en question peut demander la tenue de discussions avec l’autre Partie en vue de trouver une solution satisfaisante.

Article 20.7 : Divulgation de renseignements

Le présent accord n’a pas pour effet d’obliger une Partie à fournir des renseignements, ou à permettre l’accès à des renseignements, dont la divulgation serait contraire à son droit, y compris le droit protégeant les processus délibératif et décisionnel du pouvoir exécutif du gouvernement, ou ferait obstacle à l’application de la loi ou serait d’une autre manière contraire à l’intérêt public, ou porterait préjudice aux intérêts commerciaux légitimes d’entreprises particulières.

Article 20.8 : Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent chapitre :

convention fiscale désigne une convention visant à éviter les doubles impositions ou un autre accord ou arrangement international en matière fiscale;

industries culturelles désigne les personnes qui exercent l’une ou l’autre des activités suivantes :

mesures fiscales ne comprend pas :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: