Language selection


North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)


The Government of Canada, the Government of the United Mexican States and the Government of the United States of America, resolved to:

Strengthen the special bonds of friendship and cooperation among their nations;

Contribute to the harmonious development and expansion of world trade and provide a catalyst to broader international cooperation;

Create an expanded and secure market for the goods and services produced in their territories;

Reduce distortions to trade;

Establish clear and mutually advantageous rules governing their trade;

Ensure a predictable commercial framework for business planning and investment;

Build on their respective rights and obligations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade and other multilateral and bilateral instruments of cooperation;

Enhance the competitiveness of their firms in global markets;

Foster creativity and innovation, and promote trade in goods and services that are the subject of intellectual property rights;

Create new employment opportunities and improve working conditions and living standards in their respective territories;

Undertake each of the preceding in a manner consistent with environmental protection and conservation;

Preserve their flexibility to safeguard the public welfare;

Promote sustainable development;

Strengthen the development and enforcement of environmental laws and regulations; and

Protect, enhance and enforce basic workers' rights;

Have agreed as follows:

Date Modified: