Consolidated TPP Text – Appendix D – Between Japan and the United States on Motor Vehicle Trade

Article 1

1. For the purposes of this Appendix:

Appendix Party means either Japan or the United States, as the case may be;

motor vehicle means any good classified under heading 87.03 or 87.04;

originating motor vehicle means any motor vehicle qualifying as originating under Chapter 3 (Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures); and

TBT Agreement means the WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade, as may be amended.

The definitions of the terms used in this Appendix contained in Annex 1 of the TBT Agreement, including the chapeau and explanatory notes of Annex 1, are incorporated into this Appendix and shall form part of this Appendix mutatis mutandis.

2. Article 2, Article 3 and Article 4 shall apply to the preparation, adoption and application of all technical regulations, standards and conformity assessment procedures of central government bodies that may affect trade in motor vehicles between the Appendix Parties, except as provided in paragraphs 4 and 5.

3. All references in this Appendix to technical regulations, standards and conformity assessment procedures shall be construed to include any amendments to them and any addition to the rules or the product coverage of those technical regulations, standards and procedures, except amendments and additions of an insignificant nature.

4. This Appendix shall not apply to technical specifications prepared by a governmental entity for its production or consumption requirements. These specifications are covered by Chapter 15 (Government Procurement).

5. This Appendix shall not apply to sanitary and phytosanitary measures. These are covered by Chapter 7 (Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures).

6. No Party other than an Appendix Party shall have recourse to dispute settlement under Chapter 28 (Dispute Settlement) for any matter arising under this Appendix or to dispute settlement under Article 7 for any matter arising under this Agreement. No Appendix Party shall have recourse to dispute settlement under Chapter 28 (Dispute Settlement) for nullification or impairment within the meaning of Article 28.3.1(c) (Scope) for any matter arising under Article 6, Article 7 or Article 8 of this Appendix.

Article 2

1. Except in those urgent circumstances referred to in Article 2.10 and Article 5.7 of the TBT Agreement, for any technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure that would require a substantial change in motor vehicle design or technology, each Appendix Party shall provide an interval between the date of publication of the technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure and the date on which compliance with the measure becomes mandatory that is usually not less than 12 months.

2. Each Appendix Party shall ensure that its advisory committees and similar groups established by, or operated under the direction of, an agency of the central level of government to provide to it advice or recommendations by consensus that could result in regulations or other measures that would materially affect the certification, importation, sale, distribution or functioning of motor vehicles, are established and operated in a transparent manner.Footnote 1 To that end, each Appendix Party shall ensure that, in accordance with its laws and regulations:Footnote 2 Footnote 3

3.

4.

post-implementation review means an examination of the effectiveness of a technical regulation, standard or conformity assessment procedure after it has been implemented, including, as appropriate, an assessment of whether it achieves its stated objectives, the burden it imposes and its compatibility with other technical regulations, standards or conformity assessment procedures the Appendix Party has adopted.Footnote 8

Article 3

1. The Appendix Parties shall cooperate bilaterally, including in their activities under the Agreement concerning the Establishing of Global Technical Regulations for Wheeled Vehicles, Equipment and Parts which can be fitted and/or be used on Wheeled Vehicles (1998 Agreement), to harmonise standards for motor vehicle environmental performance and safety.

2. Each Appendix Party shall ensure that technical regulations related to motor vehicles are not prepared, adopted or applied with a view to or with the effect of creating unnecessary obstacles to international trade, to the extent provided for in Article 2.2 of the TBT Agreement. For this purpose, technical regulations related to motor vehicles shall not be more trade-restrictive than necessary to fulfil a legitimate objective, taking account of the risks non-fulfilment would create. Such legitimate objectives are, inter alia: national security requirements; the prevention of deceptive practices; and protection of human health or safety, animal or plant life or health, or the environment. In assessing such risks, relevant elements of consideration are, inter alia: available scientific and technical information, related processing technology or intended end-uses of products.

3. Neither Appendix Party shall prevent or unduly delay the placing on its market of a motor vehicle product on the ground that the product incorporates a new technology or a new feature which has not yet been regulated, unless the Appendix Party finds, based on scientific or technical information, that this new technology or new feature poses a risk for human health or safety, or the environment.Footnote 9 Footnote 10

4. When an Appendix Party decides to refuse the placing on its market or require the withdrawal from its market of a motor vehicle product on the ground that the product incorporates a new technology or a new feature posing a risk for human health or safety, or the environment, the Appendix Party shall immediately notify the importer of the product of its decision. The notification shall include all relevant scientific or technical information.

5. Each Appendix Party shall adopt or maintain efficient procedures for the temporary importation of motor vehicles incorporating new technologies or new features for the purposes of demonstration, display or road testing within its territory. Each Appendix Party shall facilitate the entry of such vehicles into its territory in accordance with these procedures regardless of whether they comply with otherwise applicable standards or technical regulations.Footnote 11

6.

U.S. FMVSS means Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard of the United States; and

initial inspection means the inspection that motor vehicles must undergo in order to be used for transport in Japan in accordance with the Road Vehicle Law.

Article 4

1. Japan shall not adopt any requirement under the Preferential Handling Procedure that is not applied on the date of entry into force of this Agreement with respect to Japan and the United States and that increases the burden, including the complexity and cost, for importers under the Preferential Handling Procedure, except for requirements related to new technical regulations or amendments to existing technical regulations that are prepared, adopted and applied in a manner consistent with Article 3.2 after that date, or for an increase of fees and charges commensurate with the cost of services rendered under the Preferential Handling Procedure.

2. Japan shall ensure that the Preferential Handling Procedure and its relevant regulations are adopted and applied in a manner that does not preclude the eligibility of motor vehicles imported under the Preferential Handling Procedure for any financial incentive measures of central government bodiesFootnote 14 with respect to motor vehicles.Footnote 15

3. For the purposes of this Article:

Preferential Handling Procedure means a simplified conformity assessment procedure conducted exclusively for imported motor vehicles up to a designated number for each type, in accordance with the notification of the Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism of Japan.

Article 5

To the extent that an Appendix Party maintains and applies any laws or regulations at the central level of government with respect to zoning applicable to the establishment of distribution or repair facilities for motor vehicles, it shall ensure such laws or regulations are applied in a transparent and non-discriminatory manner.Footnote 16

Article 6

An Appendix Party may apply a transitional safeguard measure on originating motor vehicles from the other Appendix Party classified under heading 87.03 or 87.04, during the transition period only, in accordance with the provisions set out in Chapter 6 (Trade Remedies), with the following procedural modifications:

Article 7

1. For the purposes of this Article, the definitions set out in Article 28.1 (Definitions) shall apply, mutatis mutandis.Footnote 17

2. With respect to any matter described in Article 28.3 (Scope) that relates to motor vehicles, an Appendix Party may initiate the dispute settlement procedures set out in this Article in lieu of the procedures provided for in Article 28.4 (Choice of Forum), Article 28.5 (Consultations), Article 28.6 (Good Offices, Conciliation and Mediation), Article 28.7 (Establishment of a Panel), Article 28.8 (Terms of Reference), Article 28.9 (Composition of Panels), Article 28.10 (Qualifications of Panellists), Article 28.11 (Roster of Panel Chairs and Party Specific Lists), Article 28.12 (Function of Panels), Article 28.13 (Rules of Procedure for Panels), Article 28.14 (Third Party Participation), Article 28.15 (Role of Experts), Article 28.16 (Suspension or Termination of Proceedings), Article 28.17 (Initial Report), Article 28.18 (Final Report), Article 28.19 (Implementation of Final Report), Article 28.20 (Non-Implementation – Compensation and Suspension of Benefits) and Article 28.21 (Compliance Review).Footnote 18

3.

4.

5.

6.

7. All panellists shall meet the requirements set out in Article 28.10.1 (Qualifications of Panellists). An individual shall not serve as a panellist for a dispute in which that person has participated under Article 28.6 (Good Offices, Conciliation, and Mediation) as applied pursuant to paragraph 8.

8. Unless the Appendix Parties agree otherwise, Article 28.4 (Choice of Forum), Article 28.6 (Good Offices, Conciliation and Mediation), Article 28.12 (Function of Panels), Article 28.15 (Role of Experts), Article 28.16 (Suspension or Termination of Proceedings), Article 28.17 (Initial Report) and Article 28.18 (Final Report) shall apply, mutatis mutandis,Footnote 22 to panel proceedings under this Article, except that:

9. Unless the Appendix Parties agree otherwise, paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 28.19 (Implementation of Final Report) shall apply, mutatis mutandis,Footnote 23 to the implementation of the final report.

10.

11. If a final report that contains a determination described in paragraph 10(a) is presented to the Appendix Parties under paragraph 8(d) on or after the date on which customs duties imposed by the complaining Appendix Party on originating motor vehicles from the responding Appendix Party classified under heading 87.03, Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) 8704.21.00, HTSUS 8704.22.50, HTSUS 8704.23.00, HTSUS 8704.31.00, HTSUS 8704.32.00 or HTSUS 8704.90.00 have begun to be reduced in accordance with the complaining Appendix Party’s Schedule to Annex 2-D (Tariff Commitments), taking into account any delay of implementation of the period of the staged tariff elimination as a result of previous action taken pursuant to paragraph 14(a)(i), the complaining Appendix Party may increase the rate of customs duty on those originating motor vehicles:

provided that the complaining Appendix Party shall not suspend the application to the responding Appendix Party of benefits under this paragraph following a determination by the panel under paragraph 13.

12.

13. Unless the Appendix Parties agree otherwise, the panel shall reconvene as soon as possible after the date of delivery of the request under paragraph 12 and shall present to the Appendix Parties its determination of the level of benefits that the complaining Appendix Party may suspend no later than 90 days after it reconvenes. The panel shall determine the level of benefits that the complaining Appendix Party may suspend under paragraph 14(a)(ii) or (b), or the level of benefits for the purposes of taking action under paragraph 14(a)(i), as the sum of:

14. Following a determination by the panel under paragraph 13, the complaining Appendix Party may:

15. Suspension of benefits under paragraph 11 or paragraph 14(a)(ii) or (b) shall be a temporary measure and only be applied until the responding Appendix Party has eliminated the non-conformity or the nullification or impairment, or until a mutually satisfactory solution is reached.

16.

17.

18. The procedures set out in this Article shall apply beginning on January 1 of the second year after the date of entry into force of this Agreement with respect to Japan and the United States and ending on the date that is five years after the date on which customs duties imposed by the United States on originating motor vehicles from Japan classified under heading 87.03, HTSUS 8704.21.00, HTSUS 8704.22.50, HTSUS 8704.23.00, HTSUS 8704.31.00, HTSUS 8704.32.00 and HTSUS 8704.90.00 have been eliminated in accordance with the United States Schedule to Annex 2-D (Tariff Commitments), taking into account any delay of implementation of the period of the staged tariff elimination as a result of previous action taken pursuant to paragraph 14(a)(i), provided that the procedures shall apply to any dispute for which the final report of the panel under paragraph 8(d) was presented prior to that date.Footnote 28

19. The Appendix Parties shall review, on request of either Appendix Party, the operation and effectiveness of this Article five years after the date of entry into force of this Agreement with respect to Japan and the United States, and at such interval as the Appendix Parties decide thereafter.

Article 8

1. An Appendix Party may request in writing to initiate a process for consultations with the other Appendix Party with respect to any non-tariff measure that relates to motor vehicles that the other Appendix Party is considering proposing or has proposed, regardless of whether the other Appendix Party has published the non-tariff measure for comment.

2. The process for consultations shall take place no later than 10 days after the date of receipt of a request under paragraph 1, unless the Appendix Parties agree otherwise. The Appendix Party to which such a request is made shall afford the requesting Appendix Party an opportunity to raise issues and to make inquiries, provide the requesting Appendix Party with information to the extent possible, and hear the views of the requesting Appendix Party on the non-tariff measure referred to in paragraph 1.

3. If a request under paragraph 1 concerns a proposed non-tariff measure that is open for comment, the Appendix Party to which the request is made shall refrain from implementing the proposed non-tariff measure during the comment period, except where urgent problems of safety, health, environmental protection or national security arise.

4. If a non-tariff measure as to which a request has been made under paragraph 1 is adopted, and the requesting Appendix Party considers that, as described in Article 28.3.1(b) (Scope), the measure is inconsistent with an obligation of this Agreement, or that the measure nullifies or impairs benefits within the meaning of Article 28.3.1(c) (Scope), the requesting Appendix Party may so notify the other Appendix Party in writing. The notification shall include identification of the measure at issue and an indication of the legal basis for the complaint. The Appendix Party that made the notification may request the establishment of a panel pursuant to Article 7.4 at any time after the date that is 14 days after the date of receipt of the notification,Footnote 29 provided that, on request of either Appendix Party, the Appendix Parties shall enter into consultations with respect to the matter no later than 14 days after the date of receipt of the notification.

5. If the Appendix Parties hold consultations under paragraph 4, either Appendix Party may request additional consultations no later than 14 days after the date of receipt of the notification under paragraph 4. If such a request is made, the Appendix Parties shall hold additional consultations promptly thereafter. In that event, the Appendix Party that made the notification may request the establishment of a panel pursuant to Article 7.4 at any time after the date that is 30 days after the date of receipt of the notification.

6. Paragraphs 5 through 8 of Article 28.5 (Consultations) shall apply, mutatis mutandis,Footnote 30 to consultations under paragraphs 4 and 5.

Article 9Footnote 31

1. The Appendix Parties hereby establish a special bilateral Committee on Motor Vehicles (Committee), composed of representatives of the relevant authorities of each Appendix Party. The Committee shall:

2. The Committee shall meet on request of either Appendix Party and, unless the Appendix Parties decide otherwise, no less than once a year. Meetings shall take place in such locations and through such means as the Appendix Parties decide.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Texte du PTP consolidé – Appendice D – Entre le Japon et les États-Unis sur le commerce des véhicules automobiles

Article premier

1. Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent appendice :

Accord OTC désigne l’Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce de l’OMC, tel qu’il peut être modifié.

Partie à l’appendice désigne le Japon ou les États-Unis, selon le cas;

véhicule automobile désigne tout produit classé sous la position 87.03 ou 87.04;

véhicule automobile d’origine désigne tout véhicule automobile qui remplit les conditions pour être originaire au titre du chapitre 3 (Règles d’origine et procédures d’origine);

Les définitions des termes utilisés dans le présent appendice qui figurent à l’annexe 1 de l’Accord OTC, y compris le chapeau et les notes explicatives de l’annexe 1, sont incorporées au présent appendice et en font partie, avec les adaptations nécessaires.

2. L’article 2, l’article 3 et l’article 4 s’appliquent à l’élaboration, à l’adoption et à l’application des règlements techniques, normes et procédures d’évaluation de la conformité des organismes du gouvernement central qui sont susceptibles d’avoir un effet sur le commerce des véhicules automobiles entre les Parties à l’appendice, sous réserve des dispositions des paragraphes 4 et 5.

3. Toutes les références qui sont faites dans le présent appendice aux règlements techniques, normes et procédures d’évaluation de la conformité sont interprétées de manière à inclure toute modification qui y serait apportée, y compris toute adjonction aux règles ou aux produits visés par ces règlements techniques, normes et procédures, à l’exception des modifications ou adjonctions de nature négligeable.

4. Le présent appendice ne s’applique pas aux spécifications techniques établies par les entités gouvernementales pour leurs propres besoins de production ou de consommation. Ces spécifications sont visées par le chapitre 15 (Marchés publics).

5. Le présent appendice ne s’applique pas aux mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires. Ces mesures sont visées par le chapitre 7 (Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires).

6. Aucune Partie autre qu’une Partie à l’appendice ne recourt au règlement des différends prévu au chapitre 28 (Règlement des différends) à l’égard de toute question relevant du présent appendice, ni au règlement des différends prévu à l’article 7 pour toute question relevant du présent accord. Aucune Partie à l’appendice ne recourt au règlement des différends prévu au chapitre 28 (Règlement des différends) pour une annulation ou réduction d’avantages au sens de l’article 28.3.1c) (Portée) pour toute question relevant de l’article 6, de l’article 7 ou de l’article 8 du présent appendice.

Article 2

1. Sauf dans les circonstances d’urgence visées à l’article 2.10 et à l’article 5.7 de l’Accord OTC, pour tout règlement technique ou toute procédure d’évaluation de la conformité qui nécessite un changement substantiel à l’égard de la conception ou de la technologie des véhicules automobiles, chacune des Parties à l’appendice prévoit un intervalle entre la date de publication du règlement technique ou de la procédure d’évaluation de la conformité et la date à laquelle l’observation de la mesure devient obligatoire, lequel intervalle est généralement d’au moins 12 mois.

2. Chacune des Parties à l’appendice fait en sorte que ses comités consultatifs et groupes similaires établis par un organisme du gouvernement central, ou exploités sous son régime, afin qu’ils fournissent à ce dernier des conseils ou des recommandations par consensus qui sont susceptibles de se traduire par des règlements ou d’autres mesures qui pourraient avoir un effet important sur l’homologation, l’importation, la vente, la distribution ou le fonctionnement des véhicules automobiles, sont établis et exploités de manière transparenteNote de bas de page 1. À cette fin, chacune des Parties à l’appendice fait en sorte, conformément à ses lois et règlementsNote de bas de page 2 Note de bas de page 3 :

3.

4.

Article 3

1. Les Parties à l’appendice coopèrent bilatéralement, y compris dans le cadre de leurs activités sous le régime de l’Accord concernant l’établissement de règlements techniques mondiaux applicables aux véhicules à roues, ainsi qu’aux équipements et pièces qui peuvent être montés et/ou utilisés sur les véhicules à roues (Accord de 1998), à l’harmonisation des normes applicables à la performance environnementale et à la sécurité des véhicules automobiles.

2. Chacune des Parties à l’appendice fait en sorte que les règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles n’ont ni pour objet ni pour effet de créer des obstacles non nécessaires au commerce international, dans la mesure prévue à l’article 2.2 de l’Accord OTC. À cette fin, les règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles ne sont pas plus restrictifs pour le commerce qu’il n’est nécessaire pour réaliser un objectif légitime, compte tenu des risques que la non-réalisation entraînerait. Ces objectifs légitimes sont, entre autres, la sécurité nationale, la prévention de pratiques de nature à induire en erreur, la protection de la santé ou de la sécurité des personnes, de la vie ou de la santé des animaux, la préservation des végétaux ou la protection de l’environnement. Pour évaluer ces risques, les éléments pertinents à prendre en considération sont, entre autres, les données scientifiques et techniques disponibles, les techniques de transformation connexes ou les utilisations finales prévues pour les produits.

3. Ni l’une ni l’autre des Parties à l’appendice n’empêche ou ne retarde indûment l’entrée sur son marché d’un véhicule automobile au motif que le produit fait appel à une nouvelle technologie ou renferme une nouvelle fonction qui n’est pas encore réglementée, à moins que la Partie à l’appendice estime, données scientifiques ou techniques à l’appui, que cette nouvelle technologie ou fonction présente un risque pour la santé humaine, la sécurité ou l’environnementNote de bas de page 9 Note de bas de page 10.

4. Lorsqu’une Partie à l’appendice décide de refuser l’entrée sur son marché ou d’exiger le retrait de son marché d’un véhicule automobile au motif qu’il fait appel à une nouvelle technologie ou renferme une nouvelle fonction qui présente un risque pour la santé humaine, la sécurité ou l’environnement, la Partie à l’appendice informe immédiatement l’importateur du produit de sa décision. La notification comprend toutes les données scientifiques et techniques pertinentes.

5. Chacune des Parties à l’appendice adopte ou maintient des procédures efficaces en vue de l’importation temporaire, à des fins de démonstration, d’exposition ou d’essais routiers sur son territoire, de véhicules automobiles faisant appel à de nouvelles technologies ou renfermant de nouvelles fonctions. Chacune des Parties à l’appendice facilite l’entrée de tels véhicules sur son territoire conformément à ces procédures, qu’ils respectent ou non les normes ou règlements techniques autrement applicablesNote de bas de page 11.

6.

Article 4

1. Le Japon n’adopte aucune exigence dans le cadre des Procédures de traitement préférentiel qui n’est pas appliquée à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord en ce qui concerne le Japon et les États-Unis et qui aurait pour effet d’accroître le fardeau qu’imposent les Procédures de traitement préférentiel aux importateurs, notamment de complexifier la procédure et d’en augmenter le coût, sous réserve de toute exigence liée à de nouveaux règlements techniques et aux modifications aux règlements techniques existants, qui est élaborée, adoptée et appliquée conformément à l’article 3.2 après cette date, ou de toute augmentation des redevances ou impositions proportionnelle au coût des services rendus en vertu des Procédures de traitement préférentiel.

2. Le Japon fait en sorte que les Procédures de traitement préférentiel et leurs règlements pertinents soient adoptés et s’appliquent de manière à ce que les véhicules automobiles importés en vertu de ces procédures ne soient pas exclus des mesures d’incitation financière prises par les institutions du gouvernement centralNote de bas de page 14 à l’égard des véhicules automobilesNote de bas de page 15.

3. La définition qui suit s’applique au présent article :

Procédures de traitement préférentiel désigne les procédures d’évaluation de la conformité simplifiées qui sont appliquées exclusivement aux véhicules automobiles importés, jusqu’à concurrence d’un nombre déterminé pour chaque type de véhicule, conformément à l’avis donné par le ministre de l’Aménagement du Territoire, des Infrastructures, du Transport et du Tourisme du Japon.

Article 5

Dans la mesure où une Partie à l’appendice maintient et applique des lois ou des règlements du gouvernement central concernant le zonage applicable à la mise en place d’installations de distribution ou de réparation de véhicules automobiles, elle fait en sorte que ces lois ou règlements soient appliqués de manière transparente et non discriminatoireNote de bas de page 16.

Article 6

Une Partie à l’appendice peut appliquer une mesure de sauvegarde transitoire à l’égard des véhicules automobiles d’origine de l’autre Partie à l’appendice classés sous la position 87.03 ou 87.04, durant la période de transition uniquement, conformément aux dispositions du chapitre 6 (Recours commerciaux), moyennant les modifications procédurales suivantes :

Article 7

1. Aux fins du présent article, les définitions énoncées à l’article 28.1 (Définitions) s’appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessairesNote de bas de page 17.

2. Concernant toute question décrite à l’article 28.3 (Portée) se rapportant aux véhicules automobiles, une Partie à l’appendice peut engager les procédures de règlement des différends prévues au présent article au lieu de celles établies par l’article 28.4 (Choix de l’instance), l’article 28.5 (Consultations), l’article 28.6 (Bons offices, conciliation et médiation), l’article 28.7 (Institution d’un groupe spécial), l’article 28.8 (Mandat), l’article 28.9 (Composition des groupes spéciaux), l’article 28.10 (Compétences des membres des groupes spéciaux), l’article 28.11 (Liste pour la présidence d’un groupe spécial et listes propres à chaque Partie), l’article 28.12 (Fonction des groupes spéciaux), l’article 28.13 (Règles de procédure pour des groupes spéciaux), l’article 28.14 (Participation de tierce Partie), l’article 28.15 (Rôle des experts), l’article 28.16 (Suspension ou fin des procédures), l’article 28.17 (Rapport initial), l’article 28.18 (Rapport final), l’article 28.19 (Mise en œuvre du rapport final), l’article 28.20 (Non-application – Compensation et suspension d’avantages) et l’article 28.21 (Examen de la conformité)Note de bas de page 18.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7. Tous les membres respectent les exigences énoncées à l’article 28.10.1 (Compétences des membres du groupe spécial). Un individu n’agit pas comme membre relativement à un différend à l’égard duquel il a pris part en application de l’article 28.6 (Bons offices, conciliation et médiation), sous réserve du paragraphe 8.

8. À moins que les Parties à l’appendice n’en conviennent autrement, les articles 28.4 (Choix de l’instance), 28.6 (Bons offices, conciliation et médiation), 28.12 (Fonction des groupes spéciaux), 28.15 (Rôle des experts), 28.16 (Suspension ou fin des procédures), 28.17 (Rapport initial) et 28.18 (Rapport final) s’appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessairesNote de bas de page 22, aux procédures des groupes spéciaux visées par le présent article, sauf :

9. À moins que les Parties à l’appendice n’en conviennent autrement, les paragraphes 1 et 2 de l’article 28.19 (Mise en œuvre du rapport final) s’appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessaires, à la mise en œuvre du rapport finalNote de bas de page 23.

10.

11. Si un rapport final qui contient une détermination figurant au sous-paragraphe 10a) est présenté aux Parties à l’appendice en application du sous-paragraphe 8d) à la date où les droits de douane imposés par la Partie à l’appendice plaignante sur les véhicules automobiles d’origine de la Partie à l’appendice défenderesse classifiés sous la position 87.03, Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) 8704.21.00, HTSUS 8704.22.50, HTSUS 8704.23.00, HTSUS 8704.31.00, HTSUS 8704.32.00 ou HTSUS 8704.90.00, ou après cette date, ont commencé à être réduits conformément à la liste de l’annexe 2-D (Engagements tarifaires) de la Partie à l’appendice plaignante, en prenant en compte tout retard de la mise en œuvre de la période d’élimination progressive des droits résultant d’une action antérieure prise conformément au paragraphe 14a)i), la Partie à l’appendice plaignante peut accroître le taux de droit de douane sur ces véhicules automobiles d’origine :

à condition que la Partie à l’appendice plaignante ne suspende pas l’application à la Partie à l’appendice défenderesse des avantages en application du présent article suivant une détermination du groupe spécial conformément à l’article 13.

12.

13. Sauf si les Parties à l’appendice en conviennent autrement, le groupe spécial se réunit le plus rapidement possible après la date de présentation de la demande en application du paragraphe 12 et présente aux Parties à l’appendice sa détermination relative au niveau d’avantages que la Partie à l’appendice plaignante peut suspendre au plus tard 90 jours après sa nouvelle convocation. Le groupe spécial détermine le niveau d’avantages que la Partie à l’appendice plaignante peut suspendre en application du paragraphe 14a)ii) ou b) ou le niveau d’avantages lorsqu’il s’agit de prendre une action en application du paragraphe 14a)i) correspondant à la somme des éléments suivants :

14. À la suite d’une détermination du groupe spécial en application de l’article 13, la Partie plaignante peut :

15. La suspension d’avantages en application du paragraphe 11 ou du paragraphe 14a)ii) ou b) constitue une mesure temporaire qui n’est appliquée que jusqu’à ce que la Partie à l’appendice défenderesse ait éliminé la non-conformité, l’annulation ou la réduction d’avantages ou qu’une solution mutuellement satisfaisante ait été trouvée.

16.

17.

18. Les procédures énoncées dans le présent article s’appliquent à compter du 1er janvier de la deuxième année après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord en ce qui concerne le Japon et les États-Unis et se terminent à la date qui correspond à cinq ans après la date à laquelle les droits de douane imposés par les États-Unis sur les véhicules automobiles d’origine du Japon classés sous la position 87.03, HTSUS 8704.21.00, HTSUS 8704.22.50, HTSUS 8704.23.00, HTSUS 8704.31.00, HTSUS 8704.32.00 et HTSUS 8704.90.00 ont été éliminés conformément à la liste des États-Unis à l’annexe 2-D (Engagements tarifaires), en prenant en considération tout retard dans la mise en œuvre de la période d’élimination progressive des droits de douane par suite d’une action prise antérieurement en application du paragraphe 14a)i), à condition que les procédures s’appliquent à tout différend pour lequel le rapport final du groupe spécial au titre du paragraphe 8d) a été présenté avant cette dateNote de bas de page 28.

19. Les Parties à l’appendice examinent, à la demande d’une des Parties à l’appendice, l’application et l’efficacité du présent article cinq ans après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord en ce qui concerne le Japon et les États-Unis, et à un intervalle que les Parties à l’appendice établissent par la suite.

Article 8

1. Une Partie à l’appendice peut demander par écrit d’engager un processus de consultation avec l’autre Partie à l’appendice au sujet de toute mesure non tarifaire relative aux véhicules automobiles que l’autre Partie à l’appendice entend proposer ou a proposée, sans égard à la question de savoir si l’autre Partie à l’appendice a publié la mesure non tarifaire pour la formulation d’observations.

2. Le processus de consultation se tient au plus tard 10 jours après la date de réception d’une demande au titre du paragraphe 1, à moins que les Parties à l’appendice n’en conviennent autrement. La Partie à l’appendice à laquelle la demande est adressée donne à la Partie à l’appendice requérante l’occasion de soulever des questions et de se renseigner, fournit à la Partie à l’appendice requérante les renseignements dans la mesure du possible et reçoit le point de vue de la Partie à l’appendice requérante sur la mesure non tarifaire mentionnée au paragraphe 1.

3. Si une demande au titre du paragraphe 1 concerne une mesure non tarifaire proposée pour laquelle il peut être formulé des observations, la Partie à l’appendice à laquelle la demande est faite évite de mettre en œuvre la mesure non tarifaire proposée au cours de la période de formulation des observations, sauf si des problèmes urgents liés à la sécurité, à la santé, à la protection environnementale ou à la sécurité nationale se posent.

4. Si une mesure non tarifaire à l’égard de laquelle une demande a été faite au titre du paragraphe 1 est adoptée et que la Partie à l’appendice requérante estime que, comme le décrit l’article 28.3.1b) (Portée), la mesure est incompatible avec une obligation du présent accord, ou que la mesure annule ou réduit les avantages au sens de l’article 28.3.1c) (Portée), la Partie à l’appendice requérante peut en aviser par écrit l’autre Partie à l’appendice. L’avis précise notamment la nature de la mesure en cause et le fondement juridique de la plainte. La Partie à l’appendice qui a donné l’avis peut demander que soit institué un groupe spécial conformément à l’article 7.4 à tout moment après qu’il s’est écoulé 14 jours suivant la réception de l’avisNote de bas de page 29, à condition que, à la demande de l’une des Parties à l’appendice, les Parties à l’appendice procèdent à des consultations à l’égard de l’affaire au plus tard 14 jours après la date de réception de l’avis.

5. Si les Parties à l’appendice tiennent des consultations au titre du paragraphe 4, l’une des Parties à l’appendice peut demander des consultations additionnelles au plus tard 14 jours après la date de réception de l’avis prévu au paragraphe 4. Si une telle demande est faite, les Parties à l’appendice tiennent des consultations additionnelles dans les moindres délais par la suite. Dans ce cas, la Partie à l’appendice qui a donné l’avis peut demander que soit institué un groupe spécial au titre de l’article 7.4 à tout moment après qu’il s’est écoulé 30 jours suivant la réception de l’avis.

6. Les paragraphes 5 à 8 de l’article 28.5 (Consultations) s’appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessairesNote de bas de page 30, aux consultations tenues en application des paragraphes 4 et 5.

Article 9Note de bas de page 31

1. Les Parties à l’appendice créent par le présent article un Comité bilatéral spécial sur les véhicules automobiles (Comité), composé de représentants des autorités compétentes de chaque Partie à l’appendice. Le Comité :

2. Le Comité se réunit à la demande de l’une des Parties à l’appendice et, à moins que les Parties à l’appendice n’en décident autrement, au moins une fois l’an. Les réunions ont lieu aux endroits et par les moyens décidés par les Parties à l’appendice.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: