Canada and Barbados relations

Diplomatic relations between Canada and Barbados were established on November 30, 1966, immediately upon Barbados becoming an independent country. The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service established an office in Barbados 100 years ago in 1907. This longstanding connection explains in part why Canadian financial institutions, including The Bank of Nova Scotia, the Royal Bank of Canada and the Canadian Imperial Bank of Canada, have long had a prominent presence in Barbados.

Canada is represented in Barbados by the High Commission of Canada in Bridgetown, which opened in 1967.

Barbados is represented in Canada by the High Commission of Barbados in Ottawa. Barbados also has Consulates in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver.

Regarding bilateral relations, Barbados and Canada have several agreements, including a Social Security Agreement (1986), a Double Taxation Agreement (1980), a Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (1997) and a Transfer of Offenders Treaty (2003). Barbados is part of Canada's constituency at the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. Canada and Barbados often cooperate within multilateral institutions such as the Commonwealth, the United Nations and the Organization of American States.

Canada enjoys a strong cooperative relationship with Barbados in matters of state security, narco-trafficking, and defence. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Canada Border Security Agency and the Department of National Defense Canada have provided technical assistance to Barbados, and Canada continues to work in partnership with the Regional Security System.

Barbados participates in the Canadian Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program, an organized labour mobility program, which allows for the entry of foreign workers to meet the temporary seasonal needs of Canadian agricultural producers..

With regard to Canada's trade relationship with Barbados, bilateral merchandise trade was $51.1 million in 2018. Merchandise exports to Barbados totalled $37 million and included meat, plastics, vegetables, and other food products. Merchandise imports from Barbados totalled $14.1 million and included chemicals, spirits, and animal products.

July 2019

Date Modified:

Relations entre le Canada et la Barbade

Le 30 novembre 1966, immédiatement après l’accession à l’indépendance de la Barbade, le Canada et la Barbade ont établi des relations diplomatiques. Le Service des délégués commerciaux) du Canada a ouvert un bureau dans ce pays il y a 100 ans, en 1907. Ces liens historiques expliquent en partie pourquoi des institutions financières, y compris la Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse, la Banque Royale du Canada et la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce ont depuis longtemps une présence importante dans ce pays.

Le Canada est représenté à la Barbade pas le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Bridgetown, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1967.

La Barbade est représentée au Canada par le Haut-commissariat de la Barbade à Ottawa. Elle a également des consulats à Halifax,  Montréal, Toronto, Edmonton et Vancouver.

En ce qui concerne leurs relations bilatérales, la Barbade et le Canada ont signé plusieurs accords, y compris un accord de sécurité sociale (1986), un accord de double imposition (1980), un accord sur la protection des investissements étrangers (1997) et un traité sur le transfèrement des personnes condamnées (2003). La Barbade fait partie du groupe du Canada au Fonds monétaire international et à la Banque mondiale. Les deux pays collaborent souvent au sein d’institutions multilatérales telles que le Commonwealth, les Nations Unies et l’Organisation des États américains.

Le Canada entretient de solides relations de coopération avec la Barbade dans les domaines de la sécurité de l’État, de la lutte contre le narcotrafic et de la défense. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et le ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada apportent une aide technique à la Barbade, et le Canada continue à œuvrer en partenariat avec le Système régional de sécurité.

La Barbade participe au Programme canadien des travailleurs agricoles saisonniers (PTAS), un programme de mobilité de la main-d'œuvre qui permet l'entrée de travailleurs étrangers pour répondre aux besoins saisonniers temporaires des producteurs agricoles canadiens. La Barbade participe au PTAS depuis 1967.

Pour ce qui est des relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Barbade, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises était de 51,1 millions de dollars en 2018. Les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers la Barbade se chiffraient à 37 millions de dollars et comprenaient de la viande, des matières plastiques, des légumes et d’autres produits alimentaires. Les importations de marchandises en provenance de la Barbade atteignaient 14,1 millions de dollars et comprenaient des produits chimiques, des spiritueux et des produits d'origine animale.

Juillet 2019

Date de modification: