Other languages - Disclaimer

The Portuguese translation of this page is provided by a third party for information purposes only. While we make every effort to give you correct information, it is provided on an "as is" basis without warranty of any kind, express or implied. The Government of Canada does not assume responsibility and will not be liable for any damages in connection to the information provided. See the official English or French versions of this page.

Canada-Brazil relations

Canada and Brazil enjoy diplomatic relations that date back to 1941, when Brazil established its diplomatic mission in Canada. Canada has an embassy in Brasilia, consulates general in São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro, and trade offices in Belo Horizonte, Recife and Porto Alegre. Brazil maintains an embassy in Ottawa and consulates general in Montréal, Toronto and Vancouver.

Bilateral relationship

Canada’s trade and investment relationship with Brazil has seen steady growth in recent years, and there are major two-way trade and foreign investment flows.

The relationship has been strengthened by dialogue in many areas, including human rights, humanitarian assistance, mobility, health, education, defence and security, agriculture, and science and technology.

Trade relationship

The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service has identified significant commercial opportunities for Canadian companies in a number of key sectors that are well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests: infrastructure, education, clean technology, information and communications technology, oil and gas, and aerospace. In addition to these priority sectors, important opportunities for Canadian companies exist in mining, defence and security, life sciences, ocean technologies, automotive, power, agriculture and agri-food, services and tourism.

As a financial Crown Corporation, Export Development Canada (EDC) provides financial solutions for Canadian companies doing business abroad – exporters and investors. EDC has offices in Rio and São Paulo since early 2000’s. In 2018 its business in Brazil reached $2.63 billion in total volume, as it served 335 customers with its insurance and financing solutions.

Brazilian investment in Canada is made easier with the help of Invest in Canada. Invest in Canada offers tailored and confidential services to support to global companies with their business expansion to Canada.

Trade and investment agreements

Trade and investment agreements involving Canada and Brazil:

For more information, consult trade and investment agreements.

Development relationship

Canada and Brazil are development cooperation partners. Together, we seek to advance the Canada-Brazil development relationship through policy dialogue, joint policy research, enhanced institutional links and technical-cooperation activities in third countries.

Partners and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Brazil also work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Canada-Brazil fact sheet

What we're doing

Read stories about Canada’s efforts in Brazil.

Canada’s projects in Brazil

Canada and Brazil are development cooperation partners. Together, we seek to advance the Canada-Brazil development relationship through policy dialogue, joint policy research, enhanced institutional links and technical-cooperation activities in third countries.

Total projects: 17

Number of projects per sector
# of projects
Higher education1
Democratic participation and civil society1
Civilian peace-building, conflict prevention and resolution1
Countering Violent Extremism (CVE) and Foreign Terrorist Fighters (FTF)1
Cybercrime1
Narcotics control2
Multisector aid4
Sectors not specified5
Promotion of development awareness1

For more information, search Global Affairs Canada’s Project Brower.

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) provides funding for small projects implemented by local organizations in Brazil to offer direct social, economic or technical assistance to local populations.

Date Modified:

Autres langues - Avis de non-responsabilité

La traduction de cette page en Portugais est fournie par un tiers à titre d'information uniquement. Nous faisons tout en notre pouvoir pour vous donner de l’information exacte, mais celle-ci est fournie « telle quelle », sans garantie d’aucune sorte, ni explicite ni implicite. Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité et ne pourra être tenu responsable d’aucun préjudice découlant de cette information. Voir les versions française ou anglaise officielles de cette page.

Relations Canada-Brésil

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Brésil remontent à 1941, lorsque le Brésil a ouvert sa mission diplomatique au Canada. Le Canada a une ambassade à Brasilia et des consulats généraux à São Paulo et à Rio de Janeiro, ainsi que des bureaux commerciaux à Belo Horizonte, à Recife et à Porto Alegre. Le Brésil a une ambassade à Ottawa et des consulats généraux à Montréal, à Toronto et à Vancouver.

Relations bilatérales

La relation du Canada avec le Brésil en matière de commerce et d’investissement a connu une croissance soutenue au cours des dernières années. Les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays et les investissements étrangers sont considérables.

Cette relation a été renforcée par le dialogue dans de nombreux domaines, notamment les droits de la personne, l’aide humanitaire, la mobilité, la santé, l’éducation, la défense et la sécurité, l’agriculture, les sciences et la technologie.

Relations commerciales

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada a cerné d’importants débouchés commerciaux pour les entreprises canadiennes dans certains secteurs clés qui conviennent bien aux capacités et aux intérêts canadiens : infrastructures, éducation, technologies propres, technologies de l’information et des communications, pétrole et gaz, et aérospatiale. Outre ces secteurs prioritaires, il existe d’importantes possibilités pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs des mines, de la défense et de la sécurité, des sciences de la vie, des technologies océaniques, de l’automobile, de l’électricité, de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire, des services et du tourisme.

En tant que société d'État financière, Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) fournit des solutions financières aux entreprises canadiennes qui exercent des activités à l'étranger – exportateurs et investisseurs. EDC a des bureaux à Rio et à São Paulo depuis le début des années 2000. En 2018, son volume d’affaires au Brésil a atteint 2,63 milliards de dollars, et EDC a fourni des solutions d'assurance et de financement à 335 clients.

Les investissements brésiliens au Canada sont facilités grâce à Investir au Canada. Investir au Canada offre des services confidentiels sur mesure pour accélérer l’expansion des entreprises globales au Canada.

Accords sur le commerce et l’investissement

Voici une liste des accords sur le commerce et l’investissement comprenant le Canada et le Brésil :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Accords sur le commerce et l’investissement.

Relations en matière de développement

Le Canada et le Brésil sont des partenaires dans le domaine de la coopération pour le développement. Ensemble, ils cherchent à faire progresser la relation de développement du Canada et du Brésil grâce au dialogue politique, à la recherche conjointe sur les politiques, au renforcement des liens institutionnels et à des activités de coopération technique dans des pays tiers.

Partenaires et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Brésil collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Fiche documentaire Canada-Brésil

Nous efforts

Lisez des histoires sur les efforts du Canada au Brésil.

Projets canadiens au Brésil

Le Canada et le Brésil sont des partenaires dans le domaine de la coopération pour le développement. Ensemble, ils cherchent à faire progresser cette relation grâce au dialogue politique, à la recherche conjointe sur les politiques, au renforcement des liens institutionnels et à des activités de coopération technique dans des pays tiers.

Nombre de projets : 17

Nombre de projets par secteur
# de projets
Enseignement supérieur1
Participation démocratique et société civile1
Dispositifs civils de construction de la paix, et de prévention et de règlement des conflits1
Lutte contre la violence extrémiste (CVE) et les combattants terroristes étrangers (CTE)1
Cybercrime1
Lutte contre le trafic de drogues2
Aide plurisectorielle4
Secteur non spécifié5
Sensibilisation au développement1

Pour en savoir plus, faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) est conçu pour soutenir les petits projets proposés et mis en œuvre par des organisations locales au Brésil. En finançant de petits projets qui offrent une aide sociale, économique ou technique directe aux populations locales, le FCIL contribue à l’atteinte de l’objectif global de réduction de la pauvreté.

Date de modification: