Canada’s engagement in Ukraine

Canada’s diplomatic engagement

On December 2, 1991, Canada became the first western country to recognize Ukraine’s independence. Canada and Ukraine have enjoyed a close relationship since. Our bilateral relationship is strengthened by warm people-to-people ties, rooted in the Ukrainian-Canadian community of 1.3 million people.

The 1994 Joint Declaration on Special Partnership recognizes Canada’s support for the development of Ukraine and the importance of bilateral cooperation.

Canada is represented in Ukraine by the Embassy of Canada to Ukraine in Kyiv and the Consulate of Canada in Lviv. Ukraine is represented in Canada by an embassy in Ottawa, consulates general in Toronto and Edmonton and an honorary consulate in Vancouver.

Canada’s response to the crisis in Ukraine

Photo credit: CANADEM

Following the Revolution of Dignity in early 2014, Ukraine’s government committed to implementing democratic and economic reforms in line with its European aspirations. Russian aggression, which started in 2014 with the illegal invasion and occupation of Crimea, has drawn Ukraine into a bloody conflict in the east of the country. This conflict has placed significant pressure on the Ukrainian government’s ability to carry out its reforms.

Since the beginning of the crisis, we have led international support for the people of Ukraine. We supported Ukraine in its initial fight for democracy and reform. We continue to support Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity in the face of Russia’s illegal occupation of Crimea and its support for insurgents in eastern Ukraine. In coordination with partners and allies, we have imposed sanctions against hundreds of Russian and Ukrainian individuals and entities.

Canada’s assistance to Ukraine

Canada is committed to using its international assistance to support Ukraine’s goals for greater Euro-Atlantic integration. We also support securing Ukraine’s future as a democratic, rules-based state that delivers security, prosperity and freedom for all of its citizens.

Since January 2014, we have committed more than $785 million in assistance to Ukraine, using a range of instruments. These instruments include:

Development assistance

Photo credit: International Organization for Migration Mission in Ukraine

In response to the crisis in 2013, Canada expanded its development assistance package to help Ukraine avoid a major economic collapse and support unprecedented reform efforts. The areas of our current support focus on the following reform priorities:

  • constitutional
  • electoral
  • judicial
  • anti-corruption
  • decentralization
  • social policy
  • health

Since January 2014, Canada has been one of Ukraine’s leading bilateral development assistance partners, having committed more than $245 million in development assistance.

Our international assistance in Ukraine is guided by the Feminist International Assistance Policy. In July 2018, we committed $50 million ($35 million for development assistance) annually in support of:

  • socio-economic programs across the country
  • building a strong and accountable democracy
  • contributing to peace and security in Ukraine and the region as a whole

Our bilateral development assistance aims to contribute to a more democratic, stable and prosperous Ukraine. Our contributions target the following four action areas of the Feminist International Assistance Policy:

  1. Inclusive governance: Canadian assistance promotes inclusive governance through support for enhancing the participation of citizens, especially women, in public life and decision-making processes, including through a free, fair and inclusive electoral system. Canadian assistance also promotes inclusive governance by strengthening the effectiveness, transparency and accountability of the Government of Ukraine and the Ukrainian justice system. Canada’s contributions include a $24-million package of comprehensive elections support, announced in December 2018, for fair, transparent and democratic elections in Ukraine in 2019. This funding package supports electoral reforms, election observers, gender equality and inclusive governance in Ukraine.
  2. Growth that works for everyone: Canada fosters inclusive growth, led by the private sector; promotes investment and job creation, particularly in agriculture; and enhances shared economic prosperity for all Ukrainians. In support of this action area, in July 2018, Canada announced a $30-million call for preliminary proposals for innovative projects to enhance the economic security of rural women, especially those affected by the conflict in the eastern part of the country.
  3. Peace and security: Canada strives to increase the psychological and economic resilience of the conflict-affected populations, including internally displaced persons. Canada also helps the Government of Ukraine respond to the needs and protect the human rights of Ukrainian citizens affected by the ongoing conflict in eastern Ukraine.
  4. Empowerment of women and girls: Canada supports women’s organizations and promotes women’s political participation. This enhances women’s collective power in addressing persistent barriers to the full realization of women’s rights in Ukraine. Canada also helps strengthen the accountability and effectiveness of the Government of Ukraine to advance equality between women and men in accessing services and opportunities from the state. In support of Ukraine’s women’s movement, in July 2018, Canada announced up to $4.75 million in funding to support a Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative in Ukraine, implemented by the Ukrainian Women’s Fund. In December 2018, Canada also announced $5 million in funding for the initiative Women of Ukraine: Heard, Capable, Resilient.

More details on our development projects in Ukraine are available through the Project Browser.

Humanitarian assistance

Photo credit: Shutterstock

Since the onset of the crisis in 2014, Canada has provided more than $37 million in humanitarian funding to United Nations agencies, the Red Cross Movement and other non-governmental organizations to support the delivery of urgent assistance to conflict-affected populations in Ukraine. This includes the provision of:

  • emergency basic health services
  • safe drinking water
  • food assistance
  • protection support
  • shelter
  • essential relief items

Defence and security cooperation

Photo credit: DND Combat Camera

Military Cooperation

In September 2015, we launched Operation UNIFIER, the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) military training and capacity-building mission in Ukraine. Currently, we deploy approximately 200 CAF personnel to Ukraine under Operation UNIFIER, which has been extended until March 31, 2022. The CAF have trained more than 12,500 members of Ukraine’s Security Forces since the mission began. We also contribute a senior representative to Ukraine’s Defence Reform Advisory Board. This representative provides strategic advice on defence reform to Ukraine’s Minister of Defence and senior officials.

In addition to contributions through Operation UNIFIER, the CAF cooperates with the Security Forces of Ukraine through the Military Training and Cooperation Program (MTCP). Ukraine is the single largest recipient of training and funding under the MTCP. More than 2,500 military personnel have received training through the MTCP since 1993.

Since January 2019, Canada and the United Kingdom share the role of NATO Contact Point Embassy (CPE) in Kyiv. CPEs support NATO’s partnership and public diplomacy activities in partner countries. Canada also supports the NATO-Ukraine Joint Working Group on Defence Reform through the delivery of language training, staff officer training and peacekeeping training for Ukrainian military and civilian personnel.

Peace and Stabilization Operations Program

Canada is assisting Ukraine with conflict mediation and resolution, mine risk awareness, surveying and clearance, and human rights monitoring. To address Ukraine’s most immediate stabilization requirements, we support a range of initiatives through the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (PSOP). Canada has contributed more than $74 million to support its stabilization and security sector.

Since 2016, the PSOP-funded Police Training Assistance Project (PTAP) has supported training and reform of the National Police of Ukraine. These efforts are in addition to our ongoing work in police reform, election support and ceasefire monitoring. PTAP has been instrumental in the establishment of the Department of Patrol Police within the National Police of Ukraine as a fully professional and democratic policing institution. PTAP has also provided direct support to the establishment of Ukraine’s first national-level police training academy, as well as the establishment of the Ukrainian Association of Women in Law Enforcement in 2018.

Canadian Police Arrangement

Since March 2015, Canada has deployed Canadian civilian police officers to Ukraine through the Canadian Police Arrangement (CPA). The CPA supports Ukrainian police reform through police deployments to two missions:

  • a bilateral Canada-Ukraine mission
  • the European Union Advisory Mission for Civilian Security Sector Reform

Canadian police officers in Ukraine provide strategic advice and training to their Ukrainian counterparts. This advice and training cover topics such as police safety, criminal investigations and preventing and responding to gender-based violence.

Women, Peace and Security

Canada puts an emphasis on gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls. In Ukraine, Canada is committed to supporting the implementation of UN Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security. We lead on initiatives aiming to increase the role of women in the security and defence sectors.

Trade and investment

Photo credit: Prime Minister of Canada's Office

In 2018, Canada’s merchandise exports to Ukraine totalled $220 million, and merchandise imports from Ukraine totalled $126 million. The top four exports to Ukraine were mineral and fuel oils ($87.3 million), fish and seafood ($51.2 million) and machinery ($19.9 million). Canada’s top imports from Ukraine were iron and steel ($30.3 million), electronic equipment ($18.4 million), and paints, dyes & tanning products ($11.9 million).

The Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA), which entered into force on August 1, 2017, represents an important milestone in the Canada-Ukraine relationship.

Ukraine is a promising emerging market for Canadian exporters, with opportunities in:

  • agriculture
  • agri-food, including fish and seafood products
  • manufactured goods, such as articles of iron and steel
  • agricultural machinery
  • aerospace components
  • plastics

Ukraine election observation missions

Photo credit: CANADEM

In the lead-up to the 2019 presidential elections in Ukraine, Canada sent election observers to support the democratic process in Ukraine. Fifty long-term observers were sent through Canada’s bilateral election observation mission. Eight observers worked with the multilateral election observation mission led by the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe’s (OSCE) Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR). They observed all aspects of the electoral process leading up to, during and following the elections. This included monitoring the participation of women, internally displaced persons and minorities in the electoral process. Close to 200 short-term observers deployed to monitor election day proceedings. In July 2019, a similar number of short-term and long-term observers were deployed to monitor the parliamentary elections. This is not the first time Canada has supported democratic elections in Ukraine. Since 2004, we have sent short-term and long-term observers to monitor presidential and parliamentary elections.

Ukraine Reform Conference

Photo credit: Global Affairs Canada

From July 2 to 4, 2019, Canada co-hosted the third Ukraine Reform Conference with Ukraine in Toronto, Ontario. There was a ministerial meeting on July 2, followed by two days of discussions at Ukraine House. Ukraine’s friends and partners from 37 countries gathered to support Ukraine’s reform process and its path to Euro-Atlantic integration. These partners included foreign ministers, heads of international institutions, parliamentarians, the private sector, civil society and think tanks.

Date Modified:

L’engagement du Canada en Ukraine

Engagement diplomatique du Canada

Depuis que le Canada est devenu le premier pays occidental à reconnaître l’indépendance de l’Ukraine, le 2 décembre 1991, les deux pays entretiennent des relations étroites. Cette relation bilatérale est renforcée par les liens interpersonnels chaleureux, qui prennent racine dans une communauté de 1,3 million de Canadiens d’origine ukrainienne.

La déclaration commune de 1994 sur le « partenariat spécial » reconnaît le soutien du Canada au développement de l’Ukraine ainsi que l’importance de la coopération bilatérale des deux pays.

Le Canada est présent en Ukraine par l’intermédiaire de l’ambassade du Canada en Ukraine, à Kiev, et du consulat du Canada à Lviv. L’Ukraine est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa, des consulats généraux à Toronto et à Edmonton et un consulat honoraire à Vancouver.

Réaction du Canada à la crise en Ukraine

Crédit photo : CANADEM

Après la « Révolution de la dignité » survenue au début de 2014, le gouvernement ukrainien s’est engagé à mettre en œuvre des réformes démocratiques et économiques conformes à ses aspirations européennes. L’agression russe, qui a commencé en 2014 par l’invasion illégale et l’occupation de la Crimée, a entraîné l’Ukraine dans un conflit sanglant dans l’est du pays. Ce conflit exerce d’énormes pressions sur la capacité du gouvernement ukrainien de mener à bien ses réformes.

Depuis le début de la crise, le Canada a dirigé le soutien international au peuple ukrainien. Nous avons appuyé l’Ukraine dans sa lutte initiale pour la démocratie et la réforme. Nous continuons d’appuyer la souveraineté et l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine face à l’occupation illégale de la Crimée par la Russie et à son soutien aux insurgés dans l’est de l’Ukraine. En collaboration avec des partenaires et des alliés, nous avons imposé des sanctions contre des centaines de personnes et d’entités en Russie et en Ukraine.

L’aide du Canada à l’Ukraine

Le Canada est déterminé à tirer parti de son aide internationale pour soutenir les objectifs de l’Ukraine d’accroître son intégration euroatlantique. Nous veillons également à assurer l’avenir de l’Ukraine en tant qu’État démocratique et fondé sur des règles qui contribue à la sécurité, à la prospérité et à la liberté de tous ses citoyens.

Depuis janvier 2014, nous avons affecté plus de 785 millions de dollars en aide à l’Ukraine au moyen d’une gamme d’instruments. Parmi ces instruments figurent :

  • le développement, et l’aide humanitaire et financière;
  • le Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix;
  • l’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada.

Aide au développement

Crédit photo : Mission en Ukraine de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations

En réponse à la crise de 2013, le Canada a élargi son programme d’aide au développement afin d’aider l’Ukraine à éviter un effondrement économique majeur et à soutenir les efforts de réforme sans précédent. Le programme actuel est axé sur les priorités de réforme suivantes :

  • constitution,
  • élections,
  • justice,
  • lutte à la corruption,
  • décentralisation,
  • politique sociale,
  • santé.

Depuis janvier 2014, le Canada est l’un des principaux partenaires bilatéraux de l’Ukraine en matière d’aide au développement, ayant engagé plus de 245 millions de dollars dans ce domaine.

L’aide internationale du Canada en Ukraine est guidée par la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada. En juillet 2018, nous nous sommes engagés à verser 50 millions de dollars (35 millions de dollars pour l’aide au développement) par année pour :

  • appuyer les programmes socioéconomiques partout au pays;
  • bâtir une démocratie forte et responsable;
  • contribuer à la paix et à la sécurité en Ukraine et dans l’ensemble de la région.

Notre aide bilatérale au développement a pour but de rendre l’Ukraine plus démocratique, plus stable et plus prospère. Notre contribution est axée sur quatre domaines d’action tirés de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada :

  1. Gouvernance inclusive : L’aide canadienne favorise la gouvernance inclusive en contribuant à accroître la participation des citoyens, en particulier des femmes, à la vie publique et aux processus décisionnels, notamment au moyen d’un système électoral libre, équitable et inclusif. L’aide du Canada vise également à promouvoir la gouvernance inclusive par le renforcement de l’efficacité, de la transparence et de la responsabilisation du gouvernement de l’Ukraine et du système de justice ukrainien. La contribution du Canada comprend une somme de 24 millions de dollars en matière de soutien global aux élections, annoncée en décembre 2018, pour des élections justes, transparentes et démocratiques en Ukraine en 2019. Cette somme appuie les réformes électorales, les observateurs électoraux, l’égalité des genres et la gouvernance inclusive en Ukraine.
  2. Croissance au service de tous : Le Canada favorise la croissance inclusive, dirigée par le secteur privé; encourage l’investissement et la création d’emplois, plus particulièrement en agriculture; et appuie une prospérité économique partagée pour tous les Ukrainiens. À l’appui de ce secteur d’action, le Canada a annoncé, en juillet 2018, un appel de propositions préliminaires de 30 millions de dollars pour des projets novateurs visant à améliorer la sécurité économique des femmes en milieu rural, en particulier celles touchées par le conflit dans l’est du pays.
  3. Paix et sécurité : Le Canada s’efforce d’accroître la résilience psychologique et économique des populations touchées par le conflit, y compris les personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur pays. Le Canada aide également le gouvernement de l’Ukraine à répondre aux besoins et à protéger les droits des citoyens ukrainiens touchés par le conflit en cours dans l’est de l’Ukraine.
  4. Renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles : Le Canada appuie les organisations de femmes et fait la promotion de la participation des femmes à la vie politique, renforçant ainsi leur pouvoir collectif en s’attaquant aux obstacles persistants à la pleine réalisation de leurs droits en Ukraine. Le Canada contribue également à renforcer la responsabilisation et l’efficacité du gouvernement de l’Ukraine pour faire progresser l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes dans l’accès aux services et aux possibilités découlant des politiques et des ressources de l’État. En juillet 2018, le Canada a annoncé, à l’appui du mouvement des femmes de l’Ukraine, un financement pouvant aller jusqu’à 4,75 millions de dollars pour appuyer l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes dans ce pays, mise en œuvre par l’organisme Ukrainian Women’s Fund. En décembre 2018, le Canada a également annoncé l’octroi de cinq millions de dollars pour l’initiative cinq millions de dollars pour l’initiative Femmes de l’Ukraine : Entendues, capables et résilientes.

Vous trouverez plus de détails sur les projets de développement financés par le Canada dans la Banque de projets.

Aide humanitaire

Crédit photo : Shutterstock

Depuis le début de la crise en 2014, le Canada a versé plus de 37 millions de dollars en financement humanitaire à des organismes des Nations Unies, au Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et à d’autres organisations non gouvernementales pour appuyer la prestation d’une aide d’urgence aux populations touchées par le conflit en Ukraine. Cette aide comprend :

  • des services de santé de base d’urgence,
  • de l’eau potable,
  • de l’aide alimentaire,
  • du soutien à la protection,
  • des abris,
  • des articles de secours essentiels.

Coopération en matière de défense et de sécurité

Crédit photo : Caméra de combat du MDN

Coopération militaire

En septembre 2015, nous avons lancé l’opération UNIFIER, la mission de formation et de renforcement des capacités militaires des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) en Ukraine. Dans le cadre de cette opération, qui a été prolongée jusqu’au 31 mars 2022, environ 200 membres des FAC sont déployés en Ukraine. Les FAC ont formé plus de 12 500 membres des forces de sécurité de l’Ukraine depuis le lancement de la mission. Nous avons également fourni un haut représentant au Conseil consultatif sur la réforme de la défense de l’Ukraine. Ce représentant prodigue des conseils stratégiques sur la réforme de la défense au ministre de la Défense de l’Ukraine et aux hauts fonctionnaires.

En plus des contributions dans le cadre de l’opération UNIFIER, les FAC collaborent avec les Forces de sécurité de l’Ukraine au moyen du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM). L’Ukraine est le plus important bénéficiaire de formation et de financement dans le cadre du PICM. Plus de 2 500 militaires ont reçu une instruction dans le cadre du PICM depuis 1993.

Depuis janvier 2019, le Canada et le Royaume-Uni jouent le rôle d’ambassade point de contact de l’OTAN à Kiev, en Ukraine. Les ambassades points de contact appuient le partenariat et les activités de diplomatie publique de l’OTAN dans les pays partenaires. Le Canada appuie le Groupe de travail conjoint OTAN-Ukraine sur la réforme de la défense en offrant de la formation linguistique, de l’instruction d’officiers et de la formation sur le maintien de la paix au personnel militaire et civil de l’Ukraine.

Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix

Le Canada aide l’Ukraine en matière de médiation et de résolution des conflits, de sensibilisation aux risques liés aux mines, de détection et de déminage, ainsi que de surveillance des droits de la personne. Afin de répondre aux besoins de stabilisation les plus immédiats de l’Ukraine, nous appuyons diverses initiatives dans le cadre du Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix. La contribution du Canada à l’Ukraine comprend plus de 74 millions de dollars pour soutenir son secteur de la stabilisation et de la sécurité.

Depuis 2016, le Programme a financé le Projet d’aide en formation policière (PAFP) pour soutenir la formation et la réforme de la Police nationale de l’Ukraine. Ces efforts s’ajoutent à nos travaux continus visant la réforme de la police, le soutien aux élections et la surveillance du cessez-le-feu. Le PAFP a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’établissement du service de police de patrouille au sein de la Police nationale de l’Ukraine en tant qu’institution policière entièrement professionnelle et démocratique. Le PAFP a également permis d’apporter un soutien direct à l’établissement de la première académie de formation policière de niveau national en Ukraine, ainsi qu’à la création de l’Ukrainian Association of Women in Law Enforcement en 2018.

Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada

Depuis mars 2015, le Canada a déployé des policiers civils canadiens en Ukraine dans le cadre de l’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada (APCC). L’APCC appuie la réforme de la police ukrainienne en déployant des policiers dans deux missions :

  • un engagement bilatéral Canada-Ukraine;
  • la Mission de conseil de l’Union européenne sur la réforme du secteur de la sécurité civile en Ukraine.

Les agents de police canadiens en Ukraine offrent des conseils stratégiques et de la formation à leurs homologues ukrainiens sur des sujets comme la sécurité des policiers, les enquêtes criminelles, ainsi que la prévention de la violence fondée sur le genre et les interventions connexes.

Femmes, paix et sécurité

Le Canada met l’accent sur l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles. En Ukraine, le Canada s’est engagé à appuyer la mise en œuvre de la résolution 1325 des Nations Unies sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité. Nous dirigeons des initiatives visant à accroître le rôle des femmes dans les secteurs de la sécurité et de la défense.

Commerce et investissement

Crédit photo : Bureau du Premier ministre du Canada

En 2018, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers l’Ukraine ont totalisé 220 millions de dollars, tandis que les importations de marchandises provenant de l’Ukraine ont totalisé 126 millions de dollars. Les quatre principales exportations vers l’Ukraine sont le carburant et les huiles minérales (87,3 M$), le poisson et les fruits de mer (51,2 M$) ainsi que la machinerie (19,9 M$). Les principales importations du Canada en provenance de l’Ukraine sont le fer et l’acier (30,3 M$), l’équipement électronique (18,4 M$) et les produits de peinture, vernis et teinture (11,9 M$).

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine, qui est entré en vigueur le 1er août 2017, représente une étape importante dans les relations bilatérales de nos pays.

L’Ukraine est un pays émergent prometteur pour les exportateurs canadiens, offrant des débouchés dans les secteurs suivants :

  • l’agriculture;
  • l’agroalimentaire, y compris le poisson et les fruits de mer;
  • les biens industriels, tels que les produits du fer et de l’acier;
  • la machinerie agricole;
  • les composants aérospatiaux;
  • les matières plastiques.

Missions d’observation des élections en Ukraine

Crédit photo : CANADEM

En prévision des élections présidentielles de 2019 en Ukraine, nous avons envoyé des observateurs électoraux pour appuyer le processus démocratique. Cinquante observateurs à long terme ont été envoyés dans le cadre de la mission bilatérale d’observation électorale du Canada et 8 par l’intermédiaire de la mission d’observation électorale multilatérale du Bureau des institutions démocratiques et des droits de l’homme de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe. Ils ont observé tous les aspects du processus électoral avant, pendant et après les élections. Les activités d’observation comprenaient le suivi de la participation des femmes, des personnes déplacées à l’intérieur du pays et des minorités au processus électoral. Près de 200 observateurs à court terme ont été déployés pour surveiller les procédures le jour de l’élection. En juillet 2019, un nombre semblable d’observateurs à court et à long terme ont été déployés pour surveiller les élections parlementaires. Ce n’est pas la première fois que le Canada appuie des élections démocratiques en Ukraine. Nous envoyons, depuis 2014, des observateurs à court et à long terme pour surveiller les élections présidentielles et parlementaires..

Conférence sur les réformes en Ukraine

Crédit photo : Affaires mondiales Canada

Du 2 au 4 juillet 2019, le Canada a été l’hôte conjoint avec l’Ukraine de la troisième Conférence sur les réformes en Ukraine à Toronto, en Ontario. Il y a eu une conférence ministérielle le 2 juillet, suivie de deux jours de discussions à la Maison de l’Ukraine. Des amis et partenaires de l’Ukraine provenant de 37 pays se sont réunis pour soutenir le processus de réforme de l’Ukraine et son cheminement vers l’intégration euroatlantique. Parmi ces partenaires figuraient des ministres des Affaires étrangères, des dirigeants d’institutions internationales, des parlementaires, des représentants du secteur privé et de la société civile, ainsi que des groupes de réflexion.

Date de modification: