The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives in Iraq

The deadline for submitting a proposal has now passed. We thank you for your interest.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) supports small-scale, high-impact projects, in developing countries. The program is directed at projects conceived and designed predominantly by local partners. Projects are selected and approved by the relevant Canadian Embassy or High Commission.

Thematic Priorities

All projects must align with at least one of the following CFLI thematic priorities:

Organizations eligible to apply for CFLI Funding

Within the context of eligible countries, eligible recipients include:

The majority of CFLI funding is to be directed toward local civil society organizations (including non-governmental organizations) and other institutions working at the local level. Other entities, such as international, intergovernmental, multilateral and regional organizations can be eligible for funding, provided they are working with local partners and on local projects that are consistent with the objectives of the CFLI. Similarly, municipal, regional or national government institutions may receive funding, provided that their projects are essentially local in nature. The CFLI is always looking to fund innovative projects, which deliver measurable results.

Gender-Based Analysis (GBA)

In 2017, Canada adopted a Feminist International Assistance Policy to advance gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls as the most effective way to reduce poverty and build a more inclusive, peaceful and prosperous world. In alignment with this policy, a Gender-Based Analysis will be a required element of the CFLI project application process. The purpose of this change is to enhance the gender equality outcomes of the CFLI Program.

A Gender-Based Analysis will require applicants to: a) consider how women, girls, men, and boys are affected differently by the problem their project is aiming to address, including to ensure the project does not cause harm, b) consult women and/or girls in the development of their project proposal, and c) ensure that those views inform the project design. 

*Consultations can include, but are not limited to: speaking to women and girls from the local community; speaking to women and other individuals who work for civil society organizations that have worked in the local community; speaking to female and male decision and change-makers, who have knowledge of the local community.

Inadequate completion of a Gender-Based Analysis may affect the consideration of your proposal. 

Eligible Costs

The following costs are eligible within projects for CFLI funding:

The following costs are NOT eligible for CFLI funding:

Mission-Specific Information

Proposals should be submitted in English or French by e-mail to: (cfli-fcil.BGHDD@international.gc.ca)

Total amount covering the program for FY 2019-2020 is 159,000.00 CAD, the average funding amount for each proposal is 35,000.00 - 45,000.00 CAD. Financial proposals should be presented in Canadian Dollars (CAD).  Consult the currency converter for local currency equivalents.

Application deadline is June 1st 2019. Final date for activities to be completed February 28, 2020. Recipient End of Project Report, including Financial Report submitted to Mission to activate final payment March 15, 2020. Expiration Date of Contribution Agreements April 30, 2020.

Project applications are kept on file at missions in accordance with Global Affairs Canada’s information management policies.

Due to the high volume of applications, only shortlisted candidates will be notified.

For advice and assistance on how to make a submission please contact:

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives Coordinator (CFLI Coordinator)
E-mail: cfli-fcil.BGHDD@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales en Irak

La date limite pour soumettre une proposition est maintenant passée. Nous vous remercions de votre intérêt.

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) appuie les projets de petite envergure à grande incidence dans les pays en développement. Ce programme est axé sur des projets principalement conçus par des partenaires locaux. Les projets sont sélectionnés et approuvés par l’ambassade ou le haut-commissariat du Canada concerné.

Priorités thématiques

Tous les projets doivent cadrer avec, au minimum, l’une des priorités thématiques du FCIL :

Organisations admissibles à un financement du FCIL

Dans le contexte des pays admissibles, les bénéficiaires admissibles sont les suivants :

La majeure partie du financement accordé au titre du FCIL est destinée à des organismes locaux de la société civile (y compris des organismes non gouvernementaux) et d’autres institutions à l’échelle locale. D’autres entités, comme les organismes internationaux, intergouvernementaux, multilatéraux et régionaux peuvent aussi être admissibles, à condition qu’elles collaborent avec des partenaires locaux à la réalisation de projets locaux qui cadrent avec les objectifs du FCIL. De même, les institutions gouvernementales à l’échelle municipale, régionale ou nationale peuvent recevoir un financement dans le cadre du FCIL, pourvu que leurs projets soient essentiellement locaux. Le FCIL est toujours à la recherche de projets novateurs à financer, qui obtiennent des résultats mesurables.

Analyse différenciée selon le genre

En 2017, le Canada a adopté sa politique d’aide internationale féministe. Cette politique favorise l’égalité entre les genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles en tant que moyens les plus efficaces pour réduire la pauvreté et bâtir un monde plus inclusif, plus pacifique et plus prospère. Conformément à cette politique, l’analyse différenciée selon le genre est un élément obligatoire du processus de demande de financement du FCIL. L’objectif de ce changement est d'améliorer les résultats en matière d'égalité entre les genres du programme du FCIL.

Une analyse différenciée selon le genre exigera que les candidats: a) étudient comment les femmes, les filles, les hommes et les garçons sont affectés différemment par le problème que leur projet vise à résoudre, notamment pour s'assurer que le projet ne cause pas de dommages, b) consultent les femmes et les filles dans l'élaboration de leur proposition de projet, et c) s'assurent que ces points de vue éclairent la conception du projet.

* Les consultations peuvent inclure, mais ne sont pas limitées aux éléments suivants : parler aux femmes et aux filles de la communauté locale; parler aux femmes et à d'autres personnes qui travaillent pour des organisations de la société civile œuvrant au sein de la communauté locale; parler aux hommes et aux femmes décideurs et initiateurs de changements qui ont une connaissance de la communauté locale.

L'achèvement inadéquat de l’analyse différenciée selon le genre peut avoir une incidence sur l'examen de votre proposition.

Frais admissibles

Les frais ci-après sont admissibles dans le cadre de projets financés au titre du FCIL :

Les frais suivants ne sont PAS admissibles au financement au titre du FCIL :

Renseignements propres aux missions

Les propositions doivent être soumises en anglais ou en français par courriel à: (cfli-fcil.BGHDD@international.gc.ca)

Le montant total du programme pour l'exercice 2019-2020 est de 159,000,00 CAD, le montant moyen de financement pour chaque proposition est de 35 000,00 - 45,000.00 CAD. Les propositions financières doivent être présentées en dollars canadiens (CAD).  Consultez le convertisseur de devises pour connaître les équivalents en monnaie locale.

La date limite d'inscription est le 1 Juin 2019. Date limite d'achèvement des activités 28 Février 2020. Rapport de fin de projet du bénéficiaire, y compris le rapport financier soumis à la mission pour activer le paiement final le 15 Mars 2020. Date d'expiration des accords de contribution 30 Avril 2020

Les demandes de projets sont conservées dans les dossiers des missions conformément aux politiques de gestion de l’information d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

En raison du grand nombre de candidatures, seuls les candidats présélectionnés seront informés.

Pour obtenir des conseils et une assistance sur la manière de soumettre une candidature, veuillez contacter:

Coordonnateur du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales (coordonnateur du FCIL)
Courriel: cfli-fcil.BGHDD@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: