The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives - Jamaica

The deadline for submitting a proposal has now passed. We thank you for your interest.

The High Commission of Canada in Jamaica is pleased to launch its annual call for proposals for the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).

Program Description

The CFLI is a program designed to support small-scale, high-impact projects in developing countries, which align with Global Affairs Canada’s thematic priority areas for engagement. The program is directed at projects conceived and designed predominantly by local partners. Projects are selected and approved by the relevant Canadian embassy or high commission.  The CFLI also serves to support positive bilateral relations between Canada and recipient countries and their civil societies, by deepening contacts and supporting local endeavours.

As Jamaica and the world continues to navigate this difficult time of the COVID-19 pandemic, the High Commission of Canada is leveraging CFLI to support Jamaican organisations who provide services to those in society most at risk by the pandemic.  The current crisis is both a health crisis and a socioeconomic one, exacerbating existing inequalities, and further exposing vulnerabilities at the family, community and national levels. This crisis particularly impacts women, girls and other vulnerable groups who are at increased risk of Gender Based Violence (GBV) related to extended periods of isolation and curfew and whose livelihoods have been further compromised. Projects with a COVID-19 resilience response will be prioritised, including innovative projects that address a singular or varying aspects of the response, namely economic fallout, income earning opportunities, educational instruction, psychosocial support, new business models and new ways of delivering products and services that benefit poorer communities and individuals.

The average CFLI contribution is $10,000 to $25,000 Canadian Dollars. Consult the Currency converter for local currency equivalents. Please note that all contributions are made in Canadian dollars and then converted to the local currency.

How to Apply

Organizations eligible to apply for CFLI funding

Eligible recipients include:

The majority of CFLI funding is to be directed toward local civil society organizations (including non-governmental organizations) and other institutions working at the local level. Other entities, such as international, intergovernmental, multilateral and regional organizations may be eligible for funding, provided they are working with local partners and on local projects that are consistent with the objectives of the CFLI. Similarly, municipal, regional and national government institutions may receive funding, provided that their projects are essentially local in nature. The CFLI is always looking to fund innovative projects that deliver measurable results.

Thematic priorities

All projects must align with at least one of the following CFLI thematic priorities:

Gender-based analysis

In 2017, Canada adopted its Feminist International Assistance Policy to advance gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls as the most effective way to reduce poverty and build a more inclusive, peaceful and prosperous world. In alignment with this policy, the CFLI project application process now requires a gender-based analysis (GBA). The purpose of this change is to enhance the gender equality outcomes of the CFLI program.

A GBA will require applicants to:

Note that consultations can include, but are not limited to, speaking to women and girls from the local community, women and other individuals who work for civil society organizations that have worked in the local community and female and male decision and change makers who have knowledge of the local community.

Inadequate completion of a GBA may affect the consideration of your proposal. 

Eligible costs

The following project costs are eligible for CFLI funding:

The following costs are not eligible for CFLI funding:

Date Modified:

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales – Jamaïque

La date limite pour soumettre une proposition est maintenant passée. Nous vous remercions de votre intérêt.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada en Jamaïque a le plaisir de lancer son appel annuel de propositions pour le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

Description du programme

Le FCIL est un programme conçu pour soutenir des projets à petite échelle et à fort impact dans les pays en développement, qui est aligné aux domaines thématiques prioritaires d’engagement d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Le programme s’adresse aux projets conçus et élaborés principalement par des partenaires locaux. Les projets sont sélectionnés et approuvés par l’ambassade ou par le haut-commissariat canadien pertinents. Le FCIL sert également à soutenir les relations bilatérales positives entre le Canada et les pays bénéficiaires et leurs sociétés civiles, en approfondissant les contacts et en soutenant les efforts locaux.

La Jamaïque et le monde entier cherchent encore à s’y retrouver pendant cette période difficile de pandémie. C’est pourquoi le haut-commissariat du Canada met à profit le FCIL afin d’aider les organisations jamaïcaines qui offrent des services aux membres de la société les plus vulnérables à la suite de la pandémie. La crise actuelle, qui est à la fois une crise sanitaire et socioéconomique, aggrave les inégalités existantes et expose davantage les vulnérabilités aux niveaux familial, communautaire et national. Cette crise touche particulièrement les femmes, les filles et les autres groupes vulnérables qui courent un risque accru de violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS) en raison de longues périodes d’isolement et de couvre-feu, et dont les moyens de subsistance ont été compromis davantage. Les projets qui présentent une réponse de résilience face à la COVID-19 seront soutenus en priorité. En font partie des projets innovateurs qui abordent un ou plusieurs aspects de la réponse, soit les retombées économiques, les possibilités de gains, l’enseignement scolaire, le soutien psychologique, les nouveaux modèles opérationnels et les nouvelles façons de fournir des produits et services qui profitent aux communautés et aux personnes pauvres.

La contribution moyenne du FCIL est de 10 000 à 25 000 dollars canadiens. Consultez le Convertisseur de devises pour connaître les équivalents en monnaie locale. Veuillez noter que toutes les contributions sont faites en dollars canadiens et ensuite converties dans la monnaie locale.

Présentation d’une demande

Organisations admissibles à un financement du FCIL

Voici les bénéficiaires admissibles :

La majorité du financement du FCIL doit être dirigée vers les organisations locales de la société civile (incluant les organisations non gouvernementales) et d’autres institutions travaillant au niveau local. D’autres entités, telles que des organisations internationales, intergouvernementales, multilatérales et régionales, peuvent bénéficier d’un financement, à condition qu’elles travaillent avec des partenaires locaux et sur des projets locaux conformes aux objectifs du FCIL. De même, les institutions gouvernementales locales, municipales ou régionales peuvent recevoir un financement, à condition que leurs projets soient essentiellement de nature locale. Le FCIL cherche toujours à financer des projets innovants qui donnent des résultats mesurables.

Priorités thématiques

Tous les projets doivent être alignés à au moins une des priorités thématiques suivantes du FCIL :

Analyse comparative entre les sexes

En 2017, le Canada a adopté la Politique d’aide internationale féministe. Cette politique favorise l’égalité entre les genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles en tant que moyens les plus efficaces de réduire la pauvreté et de bâtir un monde plus inclusif, plus pacifique et plus prospère. Conformément à cette politique, l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (ACS) est maintenant un élément obligatoire du processus de demande de financement de projet du FCIL. Ce changement vise à améliorer les résultats du programme du FCIL au chapitre de l’égalité des sexes.

L’ACS exigera aux candidats de faire ce qui suit :

Veuillez noter que les consultations peuvent notamment porter sur les éléments suivants : parler aux femmes et aux filles de la communauté locale; aux femmes et à d’autres personnes qui travaillent pour des organisations de la société civile œuvrant au sein de la communauté locale; et aux hommes et aux femmes décideurs et initiateurs de changements qui ont une connaissance de la communauté locale.

Si votre ACS n’est pas bien remplie, votre proposition pourrait être rejetée.

Coûts admissibles

Les coûts suivants liés au projet sont admissibles à un financement du FCIL :

Les coûts suivants ne sont pas admissibles au financement au titre du FCIL :

Date de modification: