Sovereign Loans Program (SLP)

Lower-income countries have the highest rate of extreme poverty. However, the majority of people living in extreme poverty- mostly women and children- live in middle-income countries. Providing low interest sovereign loans to middle-income countries improves their ability to make important investments in poverty reduction and peace and security, while recognizing their ability to pay for these investments.

In 2018, over $620 million was budgeted for the pilot Sovereign Loans Program (SLP). This investment will enable Canada to provide sovereign loans on concessional terms to eligible recipients tailored to their needs, priorities and capacity to repay. The addition of sovereign loans to Canada’s development finance toolkit enhances the variety of support Canada can deploy and aligns it with other leading donors.

We will prioritize initiatives that have the greatest potential to close gender gaps, eliminate barriers to gender equality, and help achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Discover the three main objectives of the Sovereign Loans Program.

Eligibility criteria of the Sovereign Loans Program.

Parameters of and priorities for Sovereign Loans Program funding.

Contact information for the Sovereign Loans Program.

SLP objectives

In line with the Feminist International Assistance Policy (FIAP), the SLP will deliver on three principle objectives:

  1. Market building for pro-poor investments

    We will make investments that address persistent market failures across sectors, expanding the reach of markets to benefit the poor and most vulnerable. In some markets, this may include working with partners to provide access to improved, more affordable basic goods and services through seeding new business models, and nascent sectors.
    Learning from and helping to scale pioneering initiatives, is a vital part of the program. This will help to build the evidence base around innovative financing for development. This market building approach will include, where possible, investments in Least Developed Countries (LDCs), fragile and conflict-affected states, and countries in transition from crisis.

  2. Gender Equality

    Our feminist approach to international assistance recognizes that the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls. This approach requires the transformation of social norms and power relations.
    The SLP will choose investments that have the greatest potential to reduce gender inequalities, and promote women’s economic empowerment. Relating to matters of gender equality, this program looks beyond outcomes in order to consider how investments are conceived and designed. The SLP will apply a gender lens across all its activities to ensure gender and social analysis contribute to, and improve, investment decisions and calculations of risk.

  3. Mobilizing public and private finance for the poor

    The program will lever additional public and private finance into initiatives that benefit the poor, and build markets in the long-term. This long-term inclusive market building approach will use its patient, flexible, and risk-tolerant catalytic capital to help mitigate both real and perceived risks for partners. The SLP will invest in innovative and scalable solutions to current market challenges, creating opportunities for both partners and the poor and most vulnerable.

Where possible, loans provided through the SLP will focus on countries and sectors where Canada has an existing relationship with the borrower. The SLP will stand to complement the department’s existing traditional international assistance activities and the IAIP. The SLP will increase the impact of our international assistance by allowing us to explore new, comprehensive, and innovative ways to engage with partners.

SLP eligibility

All initiatives must adhere to the International Financial Assistance Act and associated regulations, and terms and conditions for the International Development Assistance program.

Under the SLP, we can only enter into loan agreements if the recipient or the guarantor of the loan is the government of a country that is:

  • included in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Development Assistance Committee List;
  • a borrowing member of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development of the World Bank Group; and
  • Considered creditworthy, taking into consideration World Bank and International Monetary Fund debt sustainability analyses.

SLP parameters and priorities

SLP parameters

SLP loan terms will be negotiated on a loan-by-loan basis with eligible borrowers and must fall within the following parameters:

  • Maximum loan term of ten years;
  • Principal and interest payments must be made on at least an annual basis, with potential for a grace period in specific circumstances;
  • Fixed interest rate equal to the Government of Canada’s cost of borrowing;
  • Loans made in Canadian dollars, United States dollars, Euros, British pounds, Japanese yen or another currency identified by the International Monetary Fund as an official foreign exchange reserve currency; and
  • Total outstanding loans made to or guaranteed by a country under the SLP cannot exceed 20% of the loan portfolio or $120 million, whichever is greater.

SLP priorities

We aim to generate beneficial social, economic and environmental outcomes that would not occur in the absence of SLP support. All initiatives must contribute measurably to the achievement of the SDGs and be aligned with at least 1 of the 6 action areas of Canada’s FIAP. SLP lending decisions are made with the economic development and welfare (including peace and security) of the recipient as the main condition of lending.

The SLP will program in borrowing democratic countries and place an emphasis on those that seek to improve their democratic status. The SLP is aligned with our development assistance priorities, including the SDGs and FIAP. Where possible, loans provided through the SLP will focus on countries and sectors where Canada has an existing relationship with the borrowing country. This will allow the SLP to build linkages across the department and tap into the knowledge, expertise and networks that exist within our bilateral programs and across the mission network.

The department will work to ensure that initiatives funded by the SLP are aligned with international best practices on debt transparency and are not contributing to unsustainable levels of debt in recipient countries. The SLP will work closely with Finance Canada, who leads on Canada’s international debt policy and represents Canada at the Paris Club.

Contact

For additional information, please contact IFP-PFI@international.gc.ca.

We will not provide feedback on specific concepts/proposals.

Date Modified:

Programme de prêts souverains

Les pays à faible revenu affichent le taux le plus élevé d’extrême pauvreté. Cependant, c’est dans les pays à revenu intermédiaire que se retrouve la majorité des personnes vivant dans l’extrême pauvreté, qui sont principalement des femmes et des enfants. L’octroi de prêts souverains à faibles taux d’intérêt aux pays à revenu intermédiaire les rend mieux à même de faire d’importants investissements pour réduire la pauvreté et assurer la paix et la sécurité, tout en reconnaissant leur capacité de payer pour ces investissements.

Dans le budget de 2018, plus de 620 millions de dollars ont été prévus pour le Programme de prêts souverains (PPS), à titre de projet pilote. Cet investissement permettra au Canada d’accorder des prêts souverains à des conditions privilégiées aux bénéficiaires admissibles en fonction de leurs besoins, de leurs priorités et de leur capacité de remboursement. L’ajout de prêts souverains à la boîte à outils dont dispose le Canada pour financer le développement élargit l’éventail de mesures de soutien que le Canada peut déployer, en cohérence avec d’autres grands donateurs.

La priorité sera accordée aux initiatives qui ont le plus grand potentiel de réduire les écarts entre les hommes et les femmes, d’éliminer les obstacles à l’égalité des genres et de contribuer à l’atteinte des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Découvrez les trois grands objectifs que vise le Programme de prêts souverains.

Critères d’admissibilité du Programme de prêts souverains.

Paramètres et priorités de financement du Programme des prêts souverains.

Coordonnées du Programme de prêts souverains.

Objectifs du Programme de prêts souverains

Conformément à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, le PPS vise trois grands objectifs :

  1. Renforcement de marchés propices à des investissements en faveur des populations pauvres

    Nous ferons des investissements pour remédier aux défaillances persistantes des marchés dans tous les secteurs afin qu’ils bénéficient plus largement aux personnes pauvres et les plus vulnérables. Dans certains marchés, cela peut demander de travailler avec des partenaires pour fournir un accès à des biens et services de base améliorés et plus abordables en introduisant de nouveaux modèles d’affaires et de nouveaux secteurs.
    Dans le cadre du programme, il est essentiel de tirer des leçons des premières initiatives qui seront menées et de contribuer à les mettre à l’échelle, afin de constituer une base de données probantes sur le financement novateur du développement. Cette stratégie de renforcement des marchés comprendra, dans la mesure du possible, des investissements dans les pays les moins avancés, les États fragiles et touchés par des conflits, ainsi que les pays en transition après une crise.

  2. Égalité des genres

    Notre approche féministe de l’aide internationale reconnaît que, pour favoriser l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles, il faut transformer les normes sociales et les relations de pouvoir.

    Le Programme de prêts souverains ciblera les investissements qui sont les plus susceptibles de réduire les inégalités de genres et de renforcer le pouvoir économique des femmes. En ce qui concerne l’égalité des genres, le programme cherchera à aller au-delà des résultats pour examiner comment les investissements sont conçus et élaborés. À cette fin, le PPS examinera toutes ses activités sous l’angle de l’égalité des genres pour faire en sorte que des analyses sociales et comparatives éclairent et améliorent les décisions en matière d’investissement et le calcul des risques.

  3. Mobiliser le financement public et privé pour les pauvres

    Le programme mobilisera des fonds publics et privés supplémentaires pour financer des initiatives qui bénéficieront aux personnes pauvres et renforceront les marchés à long terme. Cette stratégie de renforcement de marchés inclusifs à long terme s’appuiera sur des capitaux souples, tolérants au risque et ayant un effet catalyseur, afin d’aider à atténuer les risques réels et perçus des partenaires. Le PPS investira dans des solutions novatrices et évolutives pour faire face aux défis actuels du marché, créant ainsi des possibilités pour les partenaires ainsi que pour les personnes pauvres et les plus vulnérables.

Dans la mesure du possible, les prêts consentis dans le cadre du PPS seront axés sur les pays et les secteurs où le Canada entretient déjà une relation avec l’emprunteur. Le Programme de prêts souverains vise à compléter les activités d’aide internationale traditionnelles du Ministère et le Programme d’innovation en aide internationale. Le PPS accroîtra les retombées de l’aide internationale canadienne en nous permettant d’explorer de nouveaux moyens complets et novateurs de collaborer avec nos partenaires.

Admissibilité au Programme de prêts souverains

Toutes les initiatives doivent être conformes à la Loi sur l’aide financière international et à ses règlements d’application, ainsi qu’aux modalités relatives au Programme d’aide au développement international.

Dans le cadre du PPS, des accords de prêt peuvent uniquement être conclus si le bénéficiaire ou le garant du prêt est le gouvernement d’un pays qui est :

  • compris sur la liste du Comité d’aide au développement de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques;
  • un des membres emprunteurs de la Banque internationale pour la reconstruction et le développement du Groupe de la Banque mondiale;
  • considéré comme solvable, compte tenu des analyses de viabilité de la dette de la Banque mondiale et du Fonds monétaire international.

Paramètres et priorités du Programme de prêts souverains

Paramètres du Programme de prêts souverains

Les modalités de prêts du PPS seront négociées sur une base individuelle avec les emprunteurs admissibles et devront respecter les critères suivants :

  • La durée maximale du prêt est de dix ans.
  • Les paiements au titre du capital et des intérêts doivent être effectués au moins une fois par an; un délai de grâce peut être accordé dans des circonstances particulières.
  • Les taux d’intérêt doivent être fixes et égaux au coût d’emprunt du gouvernement du Canada.
  • Les prêts doivent être consentis qu’en dollars canadiens, en dollars américains, en euros, en livres sterling, en yens ou dans une autre monnaie désignée par le Fonds monétaire international comme monnaie de réserve internationale officielle.
  • L’encours total des prêts consentis ou garantis par un pays dans le cadre du PPS ne peut dépasser 20 % du portefeuille de prêts ou 120 millions de dollars, selon le montant le plus élevé.

Priorités du Programme de prêts souverains

L’objectif du PPS est de générer des résultats avantageux sur le plan social, économique et environnemental, qui ne pourraient être réalisés sans l’appui du Programme. Toutes les initiatives doivent contribuer de façon mesurable à la réalisation des ODD et correspondre à au moins un des six champs d’action de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada. Les décisions de prêt du PPS sont prises en faisant du développement économique et du bien-être (y compris la paix et la sécurité) du bénéficiaire la principale condition du prêt.

Le PPS permettra de réaliser des programmes dans les pays démocratiques emprunteurs et mettra l’accent sur ceux qui cherchent à améliorer leur statut démocratique. Le PPS est conforme aux priorités du Canada en matière d’aide au développement, y compris les ODD et la Politique d’aide internationale féministe. Dans la mesure du possible, les prêts consentis dans le cadre du PPS seront axés sur les pays et les secteurs où le Canada entretient déjà des relations avec le pays emprunteur. Cela permettra au PPS d’établir des liens à l’échelle du Ministère et de tirer parti des connaissances, de l’expertise et des réseaux qui existent au sein de nos programmes bilatéraux et du réseau de missions.

Le Ministère veillera à ce que les initiatives financées par le PPS soient conformes aux meilleures pratiques internationales en matière de transparence de la dette et ne contribuent pas à un endettement insoutenable des pays bénéficiaires. Le PLS travaillera en étroite collaboration avec le ministère des Finances du Canada, qui dirige la politique de la dette internationale du Canada et représente le Canada au Club de Paris.

Renseignements

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec IFP-PFI@international.gc.ca.

Nous ne fournirons pas de rétroaction sur des propositions ou des concepts précis.

Date de modification: