Canada and the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum, established in 1989, has become the pre-eminent economic forum in the Asia-Pacific region. Its primary purpose is to promote sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region.

As a founding member, APEC provides Canada with an opportunity to further strengthen trade and economic ties with some of the Asia-Pacific region’s most dynamic economies. APEC also serves as a platform to share best practices with key partners on trade, economic integration and structural reform.

APEC is an intergovernmental forum dedicated to promoting free trade and investment, economic growth and development, and cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region.

APEC was established in 1989 in response to the growing interdependence among Asia-Pacific economies and to the need to advance Asia-Pacific economic dynamism and sense of community.

Statements and Declarations from previous meetings of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum.

Overview of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum, established in 1989, has become the pre-eminent economic forum in the Asia-Pacific region. Its primary purpose is to promote sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region. Every year, one of APEC’s 21 member economies serves as the forum host. Papua New Guinea is APEC host in 2018.

APEC aims to strengthen regional economic integration by removing impediments to trade and investment “at the border”, enhancing supply chain connectivity "across the border" and improving the business environment "behind the border." The goal is to improve the operating environment for business by cutting red tape and other barriers. APEC also helps member economies build the institutional capacity to implement and take advantage of the benefits of trade and investment reform. APEC supports the multilateral trade negotiations underway in the World Trade Organization and complements the goals of the G20.

APEC operates on the basis of non-binding commitments and open dialogue. Decisions made within APEC are reached by consensus, and commitments are undertaken on a voluntary basis. The APEC Secretariat is based in Singapore and provides coordination, technical and advisory support as well as information management, communications, and public outreach services.

Canada and APEC

As a founding member, APEC provides Canada with an opportunity to further strengthen trade and economic ties with some of the Asia-Pacific region’s most dynamic economies. APEC also serves as a platform to share best practices with key partners on trade, economic integration and structural reform. The 21 member economies account for more than 60 percent of global GDP with 39 percent of the world’s population. In 2016, APEC partners accounted for more than 84 percent of Canada's total merchandise trade. Foreign direct investment from APEC economies in Canada was $468 billion in 2016. Four of Canada’s top five trading partners are APEC members (U.S., China, Mexico and Japan).

More than 20 Government of Canada partner departments are engaged in APEC’s broad agenda ranging from customs procedures and regulatory reform to women’s economic empowerment, mental health and health industry ethics. In this regard, APEC serves a valuable role as an incubator of ideas and provides Canada with an opportunity to shape the Asia-Pacific region’s trade priorities. Global Affairs Canada coordinates Canada’s engagement at APEC.

Private Sector Engagement

Private-sector engagement is central to APEC's success. The APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC) represents the interests of business in APEC. ABAC is composed of up to three members from each of the 21 member economies, with business representatives appointed by APEC leaders. Collectively, they prepare an annual report with recommendations on how to improve the business and investment environment within the Asia-Pacific region. Canada’s representation on the ABAC helps advance Canadian business interests in the Asia-Pacific region. Canada is represented at ABAC by Ralph Lutes, Vice President of Teck Resources. The Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada acts as ABAC’s Secretariat in Canada.

The annual APEC CEO Summit and regular APEC industry dialogues also provide opportunities for regional business leaders to interact with APEC leaders, global and regional institutions, and business leaders from across the Asia-Pacific for discussions on key issues facing the region.

APEC Working for Canadians

APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) is an intergovernmental forum dedicated to promoting free trade and investment, economic growth and development, and cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region. It operates on the basis of non-binding commitments and open dialogue.

Founded in 1989, APEC responds to growing interdependence among economies in the region. Its work has since expanded to address other key issues such as security, health, energy and agriculture.

Why is APEC important to Canada?

The APEC region encompasses countries critical to Canada's future economic prosperity and security interests. It remains the only trans-Pacific regional organization that hosts a leaders-level meeting at which Canada is present.

APEC brings together leaders, ministers, senior officials and business representatives, who meet regularly to drive the APEC agenda forward and implement policies and projects across a wide range of issues, from trade and investment facilitation to economic cooperation to counter-terrorism.

The breadth of APEC's agenda allows for a cross-disciplinary approach to issues, for example, "secure trade" (the economic impact of disruptions in the movement of people and goods).

APEC allows Canada to further engage in bilateral and multilateral discussions and negotiations in one of the world's largest economic zones, where many of our key trade partners are also members.

Since its inception in 1989, trade in goods and services between APEC economies have more than tripled.

Canada's role in APEC

To ensure that Canadian interests are taken into account within the APEC decision-making process, various Government of Canada departments are active in over 30 APEC working groups and committees.

APEC's activities have also expanded to include discussion of pressing security issues that involve political threats to economic prosperity and growth in the region. Through APEC, Canada will continue to engage key Asia-Pacific partners in countering terrorism, enhancing health, security and infectious disease strategies, and forming global approaches to international energy issues.

History and Membership of APEC

APEC was established in response to the growing interdependence among Asia-Pacific economies and to the need to advance Asia-Pacific economic dynamism and sense of community.

APEC began in 1989, when Australia hosted the first annual meeting of Foreign and Trade Ministers from 12 Asia-Pacific economies to discuss ways to increase cooperation in this fast-expanding region of the world. Canada was a founding member of the APEC forum, along with Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Republic of the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and the United States.

In 1993, the United States held the first annual meeting of APEC Leaders to give trade liberalization and economic cooperation further impetus and high level commitment, to develop a spirit of community in the region and to promote sustainable growth and equitable development.

Between 1989 and 1993, APEC accepted six new members. In November 1991, three members were welcomed into the organization: the People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; and Chinese Taipei. In November 1993, APEC accepted Mexico and Papua New Guinea while deciding that Chile would become a full member in November 1994. Peru, Russia and Vietnam were the latest economies to join the organization in November 1998.

APEC now comprises 21 member economies:

  • Australia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • United States
  • Vietnam
  • New Zealand

There are three official observers: the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Secretariat, the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC), and the Pacific Island Forum (PIF).

Date Modified:

Le Canada et la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC)

L’APEC cherche à consolider l’intégration économique régionale en éliminant les obstacles au commerce et à l’investissement « entre les économies », en accroissant la connectivité des chaînes d’approvisionnement « d’une économie à l’autre » et en améliorant l’environnement commercial « dans chaque économie ».

L’APEC donne au Canada, l’un de ses membres fondateurs, l’occasion de resserrer ses liens commerciaux et économiques avec certaines des économies les plus dynamiques de la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique. L’APEC sert également de plateforme pour partager les meilleures pratiques avec des partenaires clés dans les domaines du commerce, de l'intégration économique et des réformes structurelles.

L’APEC est un forum intergouvernemental dédié à la promotion du libre-échange et de l’investissement, à la croissance économique, au développement et à la coopération dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

L’APEC a été établie en raison de l’interdépendance croissante des économies de l’Asie‑Pacifique et de la nécessité de stimuler l’économie de la région et de développer un sentiment d’appartenance à la collectivité.

Déclarations provenant des rencontres précédentes du forum de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique.

Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC)

Le forum de la Coopération économique de la zone Asie‑Pacifique (APEC), établi en 1989, est devenu le principal forum économique dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. L’APEC a pour premier objectif de favoriser la croissance économique et la prospérité durables dans la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique. Chaque année, l’un des 21 pays membres accueille le forum. La Papouasie‑Nouvelle‑Guinée sera l’hôte de l’APEC en 2018.

L’APEC cherche à consolider l’intégration économique régionale en éliminant les obstacles au commerce et à l’investissement « entre les économies », en accroissant la connectivité des chaînes d’approvisionnement « d’une économie à l’autre » et en améliorant l’environnement commercial « dans chaque économie ». L’objectif est d’améliorer le cadre de fonctionnement des entreprises en réduisant les formalités administratives et en supprimant les autres obstacles. L’APEC aide aussi les économies membres à renforcer la capacité de leurs institutions d’appliquer des réformes touchant le commerce et l’investissement et à tirer parti des avantages qui en découlent. L’APEC soutient les négociations commerciales multilatérales en cours à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et joue un rôle complémentaire à l’égard des objectifs du G20.

L’APEC fonctionne sur la base d’engagements non contraignants et d’un dialogue ouvert. Les décisions sont prises par consensus au sein de l’APEC, et les engagements sont accomplis de façon volontaire. Le Secrétariat de l’APEC, établi à Singapour, assure la coordination des activités et fournit un soutien technique ainsi que des services de conseil, de gestion de l’information, de communication et de relations publiques.

Le Canada et l’APEC

L’APEC donne au Canada, l’un de ses membres fondateurs, l’occasion de resserrer ses liens commerciaux et économiques avec certaines des économies les plus dynamiques de la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique. L’APEC fournit une plateforme pour échanger des pratiques exemplaires avec les principaux partenaires en matière de commerce, d’intégration économique et de réforme structurelle. Les 21 économies membres de l’APEC représentent plus de 60 % du PIB mondial de même que 39 % de la population mondiale. En 2016, les partenaires de l’APEC représentaient plus de 84 % du commerce total de marchandises du Canada. Les investissements étrangers directs découlant des économies de l’APEC au Canada s’élevaient à 468 milliards de dollars en 2016. Quatre des cinq principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada sont membres de l’APEC (États‑Unis, Chine, Mexique et Japon).

Plus de 20 ministères partenaires du gouvernement du Canada participent au vaste programme de l’APEC, qui va des procédures douanières et de la réforme réglementaire à l’autonomisation économique des femmes, à la santé mentale et à l’éthique de l’industrie de la santé. À cet égard, l’APEC joue un rôle précieux en tant qu’incubateur d’idées, et offre au Canada l’occasion de façonner les priorités commerciales de la région Asie‑Pacifique. Affaires mondiales Canada coordonne l’engagement canadien auprès de l’APEC.

Mobilisation du secteur privé

La participation du secteur privé est au cœur de la réussite de l’APEC. Le Conseil consultatif des gens d’affaires (CCGA) de l’APEC représente les intérêts des gens d’affaires au sein de l’APEC. L’ABAC compte un maximum de trois représentants du milieu des affaires de chacune des 21 économies membres, qui sont désignés par les dirigeants de l’APEC. Ils rédigent ensemble un rapport annuel comportant des recommandations sur la façon de rendre l’environnement d’affaires dans la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique plus propice au commerce et à l’investissement. Les représentants du Canada au CCGA contribuent à faire avancer les intérêts commerciaux du Canada dans la région de l’Asie‑Pacifique. Le Canada est représenté au sein du CCGA par Ralph Lutes, vice-président de Teck Resources. La Fondation Asie‑Pacifique du Canada agit à titre de secrétariat du CCGA au Canada.

Le Sommet annuel des dirigeants d’entreprise de l’APEC et les dialogues sectoriels périodiques de l’APEC donnent également aux chefs d’entreprise de la région l’occasion d’interagir avec les dirigeants de l’APEC, les institutions mondiales et régionales, ainsi que les chefs d’entreprise de l’ensemble de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique afin de discuter des principaux enjeux touchant la région.

L’APEC au service des Canadiens

L’APEC (Coopération économique Asie‑Pacifique) est un forum intergouvernemental, composé de 21 économies membres, dédié à la promotion du libre-échange et de l’investissement, à la croissance économique, au développement et à la coopération dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. L’APEC fonctionne sur la base d’engagements non contraignants et d’un dialogue ouvert.

Fondée en 1989, l’APEC a été établie en raison de l’interdépendance croissance des économies dans la région. Son champ d’action s’est élargi depuis et porte sur d’autres questions clés, notamment la sécurité, la santé, l’énergie et l’agriculture.

Pourquoi l’APEC est-elle importante pour le Canada?

La région visée par l’APEC englobe les pays qui sont essentiels à la future prospérité économique du Canada et à ses intérêts dans le domaine de la sécurité. En effet, l’APEC constitue la seule organisation régionale transpacifique dont le Canada est membre à tenir une rencontre réunissant les dirigeants de ses économies membres.

L’APEC rassemble régulièrement les chefs d’État, les ministres, les hauts fonctionnaires et les représentants d’entreprises pour faire progresser les objectifs de l’APEC et mettre en œuvre des politiques et des projets sur un vaste éventail de questions allant du commerce à la lutte contre le terrorisme, en passant par la facilitation des investissements et la coopération économique.

L’ampleur des objectifs de l’APEC permet d’aborder les questions dans une optique multidisciplinaire, par exemple le « commerce sécuritaire » (l’incidence économique de la perturbation des mouvements des gens et des marchandises).

Regroupant un grand nombre des principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada, l’APEC permet à ce dernier d’approfondir ses discussions et ses négociations bilatérales et multilatérales avec les économies qui forment l’une des plus importantes régions économiques du monde.

Depuis sa fondation en 1989, le commerce en biens et services entre les économies membres de l’APEC a plus que triplé.

Le rôle du Canada dans l’APEC

Pour que les intérêts canadiens soient pris en considération dans le processus décisionnel de l’APEC, divers ministères du gouvernement du Canada sont actifs dans plus de 30 groupes de travail et comités de l’APEC.

Les activités de l’APEC se sont aussi élargies et comprennent la discussion sur des questions de sécurité pressantes, notamment les politiques qui menacent la prospérité et la croissance économiques dans la région. Dans le cadre de l’APEC, le Canada continuera de rallier les partenaires clés de l’Asie-Pacifique dans la lutte contre le terrorisme, l’amélioration de la santé, la sécurité, les stratégies à l’égard des maladies infectieuses et l’établissement d’une ligne de conduite mondiale vis-à-vis des questions énergétiques internationales.

Historique et pays membres de l'APEC

L’APEC a été établie en 1989 en raison de l’interdépendance croissante des économies de l’Asie Pacifique et de la nécessité de stimuler l’économie de la région et de développer un sentiment d’appartenance à la collectivité.

L’APEC a vu le jour en 1989 lorsque l’Australie a été l’hôte de la première réunion annuelle des ministres des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce de 12 économies de l’Asie‑Pacifique. La réunion visait à examiner les mesures permettant d’accroître la coopération dans cette région à croissance rapide. Le Canada a été un membre fondateur du forum de l’APEC, de même que l’Australie, Brunéi Darussalam, l’Indonésie, le Japon, la République de Corée, la Malaisie, la Nouvelle‑Zélande, la République des Philippines, Singapour, la Thaïlande et les États-Unis.

En 1993, c’est aux États‑Unis que s’est déroulée la première réunion annuelle des dirigeants de l’APEC qui visait à promouvoir davantage la libéralisation des échanges, à intensifier la coopération économique et à obtenir pour ce, à un haut niveau, l’engagement nécessaire ainsi qu’à créer un esprit d’entraide dans la région et à promouvoir une croissance durable et un développement équitable.

Entre 1989 et 1993, l’APEC a accepté six nouveaux membres. En novembre 1991, elle a accueilli trois nouveaux membres : la République populaire de Chine, Hong Kong et le Taipei chinois. En novembre 1993, elle a admis dans ses rangs le Mexique, la Papouasie‑Nouvelle‑Guinée et a déclaré que le Chili deviendrait membre à part entière en novembre 1994. Le Pérou, la Russie et le Vietnam sont les derniers pays à s’être joints à l’APEC, en novembre 1998.

L’APEC regroupe maintenant 21 économies membres :

  • Australie
  • Brunéi Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chili
  • Chine
  • Corée du Sud
  • États-Unis
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonésie
  • Japon
  • Malaisie
  • Mexique
  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée
  • Pérou
  • Philippines
  • Russie
  • Singapour
  • Taïwan
  • Thaïlande
  • Vietnam

Les trois observateurs officiels sont le Secrétariat de l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud‑Est (ANASE), le Conseil de coopération économique avec les pays du Pacifique (PECC) et le forum des îles du Pacifique (FIP).

Date de modification: