Language selection

Search

Canada and the Circumpolar Regions

The Arctic is central to Canada’s national identity, prosperity, security, values and interests. The Canadian Arctic covers 40% of Canada’s territory and is home to more than 200,000 inhabitants, more than half of whom are Indigenous.

Advancing Canada’s Arctic priorities involve many departments across the Government of Canada, both at home and internationally.

Canada is committed to addressing:

Global Affairs Canada and the Arctic

Global Affairs Canada is responsible for coordinating and leading the international aspects of Canada’s Arctic engagement. This work is mainly carried out by the Nordic and Polar Relations Division in Ottawa, and the Canadian International Arctic Centre (CIAC), located in Oslo, Norway, as well as by Canadian embassies around the world. Canada is an active member of the Arctic Council, the main international forum for Arctic cooperation. 

Global Affairs Canada’s main objectives in the circumpolar Arctic include:

The Arctic and Northern Policy Framework

In September 2019, Canada released the Arctic and Northern Policy Framework which provides overarching direction to the Government of Canada’s priorities, activities, and investments in the Arctic to 2030 and beyond. Co-developed with Northerners, territorial and provincial governments, First Nations, Inuit, and Métis People, it replaces Canada’s 2009 Northern Strategy and 2010 Statement on Canada’s Arctic Foreign Policy. To address specific international outcomes, Global Affairs Canada will implement an International Arctic Policy, that sets out priority areas for Canada’s international Arctic engagement including: to strengthen the rules-based international order; to increase engagement with Arctic and non-Arctic states; and to more clearly define Canada’s Arctic boundaries. For Arctic-related updates from Global Affairs Canada, follow us on Twitter at @CanadaArctic.

Canada’s submission to the Commission on the limits of the Continental Shelf

On May 23, 2019 Canada filed a 2,100 page submission to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf at United Nations. This follows a decade of scientific and legal work to determine the limits of Canada’s undersea landmass in the Arctic. This marks the first step in the process set out in the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to obtain international recognition for the outer limits of the continental shelf in the Arctic Ocean.

12th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting

The Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of Foreign Affairs, participated in the Arctic Council’s 12th Ministerial Meeting on May 20, 2021. Minister Garneau also represented Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada on behalf of the Honourable Daniel Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs.

Founded in Canada 25 years ago, the Arctic Council remains the pre-eminent forum for cooperation on Arctic issues among Arctic states and Indigenous peoples. At the ministerial meeting, Minister Garneau, announced the establishment of a permanent secretariat for the Council’s Sustainable Development Working Group at Laval University’s Institut Nordique du Québec [Quebec northern institute] in the city of Québec and signed the Ministerial Declaration with his 7 ministerial counterparts.

Reykjavík declaration 2021

Canada and the Antarctic

On October 22, 2021, Canada submitted its application for Consultative Party status in the Antarctic Treaty System. Canada recognizes the Antarctic Treaty System as the key multilateral mechanism for decisions on the regulation and management of Antarctica, and is committed to pursuing peaceful and environmentally responsible solutions to ongoing and emerging global issues. As an international leader on polar issues and with strong connections to research, tourism, governance and history in the region, it is time for Canada to take a more formal role as a steward of the Antarctic. Canada has long participated in the annual Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings as a Non-Consultative Party and has been an active participant in discussions on Antarctic governance. With this application, Canada is seeking voting rights alongside 29 other Consultative Party states.

Learn more about the Antarctic Treaty System and Canada's long-standing contribution to Antarctic research. (Polar Knowledge Canada)

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Le Canada et les régions circumpolaires

L'Arctique est au cœur de l'identité, de la prospérité, de la sécurité, des valeurs et des intérêts du Canada. L'Arctique compte pour 40 % du territoire canadien, et plus de 200 000 personnes y vivent, dont plus de la moitié sont Autochtones.

De nombreux ministères du gouvernement du Canada, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger, participent à l'avancement des priorités du Canada dans l'Arctique.

Le Canada s'est engagé à aborder les enjeux suivants :

Affaires mondiales Canada et l’Arctique

Affaires mondiales Canada est chargé de coordonner et de diriger les aspects internationaux de l'engagement du Canada dans l'Arctique. Ce travail est principalement effectué par le Secteur des relations nordiques et polaires, à Ottawa, le Centre international de l'Arctique canadien (CIAC), à Oslo, en Norvège, et les ambassades canadiennes dans le monde. Le Canada est un membre actif du Conseil de l'Arctique, principal forum international de coopération dans l'Arctique.

Les principaux objectifs d'Affaires mondiales Canada dans l'Arctique circumpolaire sont les suivants :

Le Cadre de politique pour l’Arctique et le Nord

En septembre 2019, le Canada a publié le Cadre de politique pour l'Arctique et le Nord, qui guide de façon générale les priorités, les activités et les investissements du gouvernement du Canada dans l'Arctique jusqu'en 2030 et au-delà. Élaboré en partenariat avec la population nordique, les gouvernements territoriaux et provinciaux, les Premières Nations ainsi que les Inuits et les Métis, le Cadre remplace la Stratégie pour le Nord de 2009 et l'Énoncé sur la politique étrangère du Canada pour l'Arctique de 2010. Pour atteindre des résultats internationaux précis, Affaires mondiales Canada mettra en œuvre une politique internationale de l'Arctique établissant les domaines prioritaires de l'engagement international du Canada dans l'Arctique, notamment : renforcer l'ordre international fondé sur des règles, accroître l'engagement avec les États arctiques et non arctiques, et définir plus clairement les limites de l'Arctique canadien. Pour obtenir des mises à jour sur l'Arctique de la part d’Affaires mondiales Canada, suivez-nous sur Twitter à @CanadaArctique.

Présentation du Canada à la Commission des limites du plateau continental

Le 23 mai 2019, le Canada a déposé un mémoire de 2 100 pages à la Commission des limites du plateau continental, aux Nations Unies. Cette démarche fait suite à une décennie de travaux scientifiques et juridiques visant à déterminer les limites de la masse continentale sous-marine du Canada dans l'Arctique. Il s'agit de la première étape du processus prévu par la Convention des Nations-Unies sur le droit de la mer en vue de l’obtention d’une reconnaissance internationale des limites extérieures du plateau continental dans l'océan Arctique.

La 12e réunion ministérielle du Conseil de l’Arctique

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères, l’honorable Marc Garneau, a participé à la 12e réunion ministérielle du Conseil de l’Arctique le 20 mai 2021. Le ministre Garneau a également représenté Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada au nom de l'honorable Daniel Vandal, ministre des Affaires du Nord.

Créé au Canada il y a 25 ans, le Conseil de l’Arctique demeure le principal forum de coopération sur les questions liées à l’Arctique entre les États de l’Arctique et les peuples autochtones. Lors de la réunion ministérielle, le ministre Garneau a annoncé l’établissement d’un secrétariat permanent pour le Groupe de travail sur le développement durable du Conseil à l’Institut nordique du Québec de l’Université Laval, à Québec, et a signé la Déclaration ministérielle avec ses 7 homologues ministériels.

Déclaration de Reykjavik 2021

Le Canada et l’Antarctique

Lors de la 43e réunion consultative du Traité sur l’Antarctique, qui s’est tenue à Paris, en France, du 14 au 24 juin 2021, le Canada a annoncé son intention de demander le statut de partie consultative au sein du Système du Traité sur l’Antarctique. Le Canada reconnaît que le Système du Traité sur l’Antarctique est le principal mécanisme multilatéral de prise de décisions sur la réglementation et la gestion de l’Antarctique, et il s’engage à trouver des solutions pacifiques et respectueuses de l’environnement aux problèmes mondiaux actuels et émergents. En tant que chef de file international sur les questions polaires et avec des liens étroits avec la recherche, le tourisme, la gouvernance et l’histoire de la région, il est temps pour le Canada de jouer un rôle plus actif en tant qu’intendant de l’Antarctique. Le Canada participe depuis longtemps aux réunions consultatives annuelles du Traité sur l’Antarctique en tant que partie non consultative et prend une part active aux discussions sur la gouvernance de l’Antarctique. Avec cette demande, le Canada cherche à obtenir le droit de vote aux côtés de 29 autres États membres consultatifs.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le système du Traité de l’Antarctique et la contribution de longue date du Canada à la recherche en Antarctique. (Savoir polaire Canada)

Liens connexes

Date de modification: