The 29th Meeting of the Canada-Japan Joint Economic Committee

On December 10th, 2019, Canada hosted the 29th meeting of the Canada-Japan Joint Economic Committee (JEC) in Toronto. This marked the third meeting following the 2016 agreement of Prime Ministers Trudeau and Abe to revitalize the JEC framework.

The JEC was co-chaired by Mr. Jonathan Fried, Coordinator, International Economic Relations and Personal Representative of the Prime Minister for the G20, and Mr. KANASUGI Kenji, Senior Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs. Mr. Fried chaired the meeting on behalf of Canada’s Deputy Minister of International Trade, Mr. John Hannaford. Canada’s Ambassador to Japan, Mr. Ian Burney, and Japan’s Ambassador-Designate to Canada, Mr. KAWAMURA Yasuhisa, as well as officials from the Canadian and Japanese governments also attended the meeting.

Recalling the commitment made by Prime Ministers Trudeau and Abe in April 2019, the co-chairs agreed to work to strengthen the strategic partnership between Canada and Japan and affirmed their governments’ shared vision for maintaining a free and open Indo-Pacific region. In the light of this commitment, the co-chairs highlighted the economic collaboration initiatives being taken by Canada and Japan to advance their partnership and shared interests.

The JEC provided an opportunity to commemorate the one-year anniversary of the entry into force of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). The Committee acknowledged the opportunities that the CPTPP has generated for Canadian and Japanese businesses and consumers, and reaffirmed a shared commitment to support an effective, free, fair, open and rules-based multilateral trading system. It acknowledged the need for Canada and Japan to continue their work to reform the World Trade Organization (WTO). The Committee welcomed the work of the Ottawa Group and other WTO reform initiatives and affirmed Canada and Japan’s commitment to continue to collaborate in this area.

The co-chairs also discussed developments and opportunities for collaboration in the JEC’s current priority areas of co-operation, which are:

  1. energy;
  2. infrastructure;
  3. science and technology;
  4. tourism and youth exchange; and
  5. improving the business environment and promoting investment.

The co-chairs further agreed to consider ways that Canada and Japan can jointly cooperate to advance economic development in third markets. While acknowledging their shared commitment to maintaining positive business environments, the co-chairs agreed on the benefits of an ongoing dialogue in respect of matters that are perceived to negatively affect those environments.

In recognition of the importance of bilateral trade and investment in the areas of innovation and critical minerals value chains, the co-chairs agreed to include innovation in the priority areas of cooperation at the 2020 JEC meeting and to start to consider the inclusion of critical minerals value chains. They emphasized that a flexible approach should be taken to modifying the priority areas of cooperation, which allows the JEC to focus on issues of contemporary importance. The co-chairs further agreed to develop terms of reference for the JEC’s Cooperative Working Group with a view to ensuring regular dialogue between officials in respect of JEC-related issues.

The Committee took note with satisfaction of the work of the Canada-Japan Joint Committee on Science and Technology Cooperation. The Committee also took note of plans to establish a Canada-Japan Energy Policy Dialogue.

In the light of the synergies between their economies that present opportunities for closer commercial relations and their shared trade and investment policy interests, the co-chairs agreed to continue to work to strengthen their strategic economic partnership in 2020 and beyond.

Related links

Date Modified:

29e réunion du Comité économique mixte Canada-Japon

Le 10 décembre 2019, le Canada a accueilli à Toronto la 29e réunion du Comité économique mixte (CEM) Canada-Japon. Il s’agissait de la troisième réunion depuis l’accord conclu en 2016 par les premiers ministres Trudeau et Abe pour revitaliser le cadre du CEM.

Le CEM était coprésidé par M. Jonathan Fried, coordonnateur des relations économiques internationales et représentant personnel du premier ministre pour le G20, et par M. KANASUGI Kenji, sous-ministre principal des Affaires étrangères. M. Fried a présidé la réunion au nom du sous-ministre du Commerce international du Canada, M. John Hannaford. L’ambassadeur du Canada au Japon, M. Ian Burney, et l’ambassadeur désigné du Japon au Canada, M. KAWAMURA Yasuhisa, ainsi que des représentants des gouvernements canadien et japonais, ont également assisté à la réunion.

Réaffirmant l’engagement pris par les premiers ministres Trudeau et Abe en avril 2019, les coprésidents ont convenu de s’employer à renforcer le partenariat stratégique entre le Canada et le Japon et ont confirmé la vision commune de leurs gouvernements pour le maintien d’une région indo-pacifique libre et ouverte. À la lumière de cet engagement, les coprésidents ont souligné les initiatives de collaboration économique prises par le Canada et le Japon pour faire progresser leur partenariat et leurs intérêts communs.

Le CEM a été l’occasion de commémorer le premier anniversaire de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP). Le Comité a souligné les possibilités que le PTPGP a créées pour les entreprises et les consommateurs canadiens et japonais, et a réaffirmé un engagement commun à soutenir un système commercial multilatéral efficace, libre, équitable, ouvert et fondé sur des règles. Il a reconnu la nécessité pour le Canada et le Japon de poursuivre leur travail de réforme de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). Le Comité a salué le travail du Groupe d’Ottawa et d’autres initiatives de réforme de l’OMC et a confirmé l’engagement du Canada et du Japon à poursuivre leur collaboration dans ce domaine.

Les coprésidents ont également discuté des progrès et des possibilités de collaboration dans les domaines de coopération prioritaires actuels du CEM, à savoir :

  1. l’énergie;
  2. l’infrastructure;
  3. les sciences et la technologie;
  4. le tourisme et les échanges jeunesse;
  5. l’amélioration du milieu des affaires et la promotion des investissements.

Les coprésidents ont en outre convenu d’examiner les moyens par lesquels le Canada et le Japon peuvent coopérer pour faire progresser le développement économique dans les marchés tiers. Tout en reconnaissant leur engagement commun à maintenir des environnements commerciaux positifs, les coprésidents ont souligné les avantages d’un dialogue continu sur les éléments pouvant avoir un effet négatif sur ces environnements.

Reconnaissant l’importance du commerce et des investissements bilatéraux dans les domaines de l’innovation et des chaînes de valeur des minéraux essentiels, les coprésidents ont convenu d’inclure l’innovation dans les domaines de coopération prioritaires lors de la réunion du CEM de 2020 et d’envisager l’inclusion des chaînes de valeur des minéraux essentiels. Ils ont souligné qu’une approche souple devrait être adoptée pour modifier les domaines de coopération prioritaires, ce qui permettrait au CEM de se concentrer sur les questions d’importance contemporaine. Les coprésidents ont en outre convenu d’élaborer le mandat du Groupe de travail coopératif du CEM de façon à assurer un dialogue régulier entre leurs représentants sur les questions liées au CEM.

Le Comité a pris note avec satisfaction des travaux du Comité mixte Canada-Japon sur la coopération scientifique et technologique. Le Comité a également pris note des plans visant à établir, entre le Canada et le Japon, un dialogue sur les politiques énergétiques.

Compte tenu des synergies entre leurs économies qui offrent des possibilités de relations commerciales plus étroites et de leurs intérêts communs en matière de politiques commerciales et d’investissements, les coprésidents ont convenu de continuer à travailler au renforcement de leur partenariat économique stratégique en 2020 et par la suite.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: