Language selection


Lima Group condemns decision to remove Freddy Guevara’s parliamentary immunity

November 4, 2017

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay and Peru express our strong condemnation of the decision of the Supreme Court of Justice (TSJ) of Venezuela to withdraw parliamentary immunity for the First Vice President of the National Assembly, Member of Parliament Freddy Guevara, who has also been forbidden to leave the country.

The decision adopted by the TSJ constitutes a new attack against the rule of law and the division of powers in Venezuela, and prevents the normal functioning of the legitimately constituted and democratically elected National Assembly. 

The Lima Group reiterates that it does not recognize any of the acts of the constituent national assembly. 

In ratifying our full support for the National Assembly, we reiterate to the Government of Venezuela its obligation to respect the Constitution and the integrity of legislative power.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified: