Canada’s strategy in Lebanon

Canada’s programming and engagement in Lebanon are key components of our whole-of-government Middle East strategy. Our strategy invests up to $3.5 billion over five years (2016-2021) to respond to the ongoing crises in Iraq and Syria, and their impact in the region, in particular on Jordan and Lebanon.

These crises have had a significant effect on Lebanon. As a proportion of its population, Lebanon hosts the largest number of refugees in the world; about one in three people in Lebanon are refugees. This has put an enormous strain on the local communities that provide essential services and causes tensions between refugees and host communities over housing, jobs, food prices, schools, and health facilities.

To help address the effects of the conflict on Lebanon, Canada is supporting five main strategic objectives:

Providing gender-responsive, needs-based humanitarian assistance to crises-affected populations

Canada is one of the top humanitarian donors to international efforts to address the Syrian crisis.

In Lebanon, Canada’s gender-responsive humanitarian assistance works through experienced partners including UN agencies, non governmental organizations, and the International Red Cross/Red Crescent Movement to help vulnerable individuals to meet their basic needs and access social and public services. These include:

Our partners ensure the specific needs, priorities and capacities of vulnerable and marginalized people are integrated into the humanitarian response.

Canadian diplomats also advocate for the protection of refugees in Lebanon, ensuring that their rights are upheld. Lebanon is also a principal hub for Canada’s Syrian refugee resettlement program and the single largest source for Syrian refugees resettled in Canada.

Improving economic opportunities and rebuilding sustainable livelihoods for vulnerable populations, particularly for women and girls

Canada is a top-tier country donor to development efforts in Lebanon, ranking as the 5th largest international donor for aid programming as of 2018 (after the EU, Germany, UK and US).

Our development programming is addressing the strains on refugee-hosting communities by advancing women’s economic empowerment to build a more stable and equitable economy. These efforts are helping communities in Lebanon withstand and recover from the shocks and stresses caused by the crises.

In particular, our development assistance in Lebanon is working to support cooperatives and associations in the agro-food sector and help open up long-term opportunities for women and youth, both refugees and Lebanese.

Increasing meaningful participation of women and youth in technical and vocational education and training

Canada is working to expand the economic opportunities available to women and girls through training and access to economic opportunities. We co-hosted the Mashreq High-Level Conference on Women’s Economic Empowerment in Beirut, Lebanon to launch the development of National Action Plans to increase women’s economic participation in Lebanon, Jordan and Iraq. Through the Mashreq Conference, Canada supported Lebanon in developing a five-year National Action Plan for Women’s Economic Empowerment, which aims to increase women’s economic participation from 23% to 28%.

We also organized FemParl Middle East and North Africa (MENA). This event brought together women Members of Parliament and leaders from the MENA region to discuss women’s empowerment as well as a full day discussion on Women Peace Security with Lebanese and UN stakeholders.

Strengthening border security and building the capacity of the Lebanese security forces

Canada is strengthening the ability of the Lebanese government and the Lebanese Armed Forces to:

We are also supporting broader regional efforts by multilateral organizations and NGOs on specific issues, such as terrorist financing and aviation security. Canada also works to prevent and counter violent extremism and radicalization in prisons by enabling locals to develop approaches and narratives that offer alternatives to violent extremist messaging.

Supporting key actors at the local level to foster social cohesion, community peacebuilding and inclusive governance

Canada seeks to enhance stability and address drivers of conflict in Lebanon. Stabilization efforts focus on supporting Lebanon’s efforts to improve its state security services and make justice accessible to all. The goal is to reduce social tensions between the Lebanese hosts and refugees and build positive relationships within communities.

Our efforts are focused on hotspots in northern Lebanon. In these places, we support projects that aim to reduce tensions between Syrian refugees and Lebanese host communities by creating spaces for dialogue and supporting inclusive local governance. We are also supporting the efforts of Lebanese municipalities to improve security in at-risk communities.

Date Modified:

Stratégie du Canada au Liban

Les programmes et les efforts du Canada au Liban sont des éléments clés de notre stratégie pangouvernementale au Moyen-Orient. Nous investissons jusqu'à 3,5 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans (2016-2021) pour répondre aux crises en Irak et en Syrie et pour remédier à leurs répercussions sur l’ensemble de la région, en particulier sur la Jordanie et le Liban.

Ces crises ont eu une grande incidence sur le Liban. Par rapport à sa population, le Liban accueille le plus grand nombre de réfugiés dans le monde; environ une personne sur trois au Liban est un réfugié. Cela met à rude épreuve les communautés locales qui doivent fournir des services de base, et cela cause des tensions entre les réfugiés et leurs communautés hôtes en ce qui a trait au logement, aux emplois, au prix de la nourriture, aux écoles et aux installations sanitaires.

Pour aider à faire face aux effets du conflit sur le Liban, le Canada appuie cinq grands objectifs stratégiques :

Apporter une aide humanitaire qui intègre une perspective de l’équité du genre et répond aux besoins des populations touchées par les crises

Le Canada est l’un des principaux donateurs d’aide humanitaire dans le cadre des efforts internationaux pour faire face à la crise syrienne.

Au Liban, l’aide humanitaire du Canada, qui intègre une perspective de l’équité du genre, est fournie par l’entremise de partenaires expérimentés, notamment des agences des Nations Unies, des organisations non-gouvernementales et le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, pour aider les personnes vulnérables à satisfaire leurs besoins essentiels et à accéder aux services sociaux et publics, ce qui comprend :

Nos partenaires veillent à ce que l’intervention humanitaire intègre les besoins, les priorités et les capacités des personnes vulnérables et marginalisées.

Les diplomates canadiens militent également en faveur de la protection des réfugiés au Liban, en veillant à ce que leurs droits soient respectés. Le Liban est également la principale plaque tournante du programme de réinstallation des réfugiés syriens du Canada et la principale source de réfugiés syriens réinstallés au Canada.

Améliorer les perspectives économiques et rétablir des moyens de subsistance durables pour les populations vulnérables, en particulier pour les femmes et les filles

Le Canada est l’un des principaux pays donateurs contribuant aux efforts de développement au Liban; en 2018, il se classait au 5e rang des donateurs internationaux pour les programmes d’aide (après l’UE, l’Allemagne, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis).

Nos programmes de développement s’attaquent aux pressions qui s’exercent sur les communautés d’accueil des réfugiés en favorisant l’autonomisation économique des femmes afin de bâtir une économie plus stable et plus équitable. Ces efforts aident les communautés libanaises à résister aux chocs et aux tensions causés par les crises et à s’en remettre.

En particulier, notre aide au développement au Liban vise à soutenir les coopératives et les associations du secteur agroalimentaire et à créer des perspectives à long terme pour les femmes et les jeunes, réfugiés et libanais.

Accroître la participation significative des femmes et des jeunes aux possibilités d’éducation et de formation techniques et professionnelles

Le Canada s’efforce d’accroître l’accès des femmes et des filles aux possibilités économiques par l’entremise de formations. Nous avons tenu conjointement à Beyrouth, au Liban, Mashreq High-Level Conference on Women’s Economic Empowerment, qui a amorcé l’élaboration des plans d’action nationaux pour accroître la participation économique des femmes au Liban, en Jordanie et en Irak. Dans le cadre de la Conférence du Machrek, le Canada a aidé le Liban à élaborer un plan d’action national quinquennal pour favoriser l’autonomisation économique des femmes, lequel vise à augmenter la participation économique des femmes de 23 % à 28 %.

Nous avons également organisé FemParl Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord (MOAN), un événement réunissant des femmes parlementaires et des dirigeantes de la région du MOAN pour dialoguer à propos de l’autonomisation des femmes. Une journée complète a été consacrée à discuter des femmes, de la paix et de la sécurité avec des intervenantes du Liban et des Nations Unies.

Accroître la sécurité aux frontières et renforcer la capacité des forces de sécurité libanaises

Le Canada renforce la capacité du gouvernement libanais et des Forces armées libanaises à:

Nous aidons également les organisations multilatérales et les ONG à déployer des efforts régionaux plus vastes en ciblant certains aspects, comme le financement des activités terroristes et la sûreté aérienne. Le Canada s’efforce par ailleurs de prévenir et de contrer l’extrémisme violent et la radicalisation en prison en permettant à la population locale d’élaborer des approches et des arguments qui offrent des solutions de rechange aux discours extrémistes.

L’appui aux intervenants clés à l’échelle locale pour favoriser la cohésion sociale, la consolidation de la paix au niveau des communautés et la gouvernance inclusive

Le Canada cherche à renforcer la stabilité et à s’attaquer aux facteurs de conflit au Liban. Les efforts de stabilisation sont axés sur l’appui aux efforts déployés par le Liban pour améliorer les services de sécurité de l’État et rendre la justice accessible à tous. L’objectif est de réduire les tensions sociales entre les hôtes libanais et les réfugiés et d’établir des relations positives au sein des communautés.

Nos efforts se concentrent sur les points chauds du nord du Liban, où nous appuyons des projets qui visent à réduire les tensions entre les réfugiés syriens et les collectivités d’accueil libanaises en créant des espaces d’échange et en favorisant une gouvernance locale inclusive. Nous soutenons également les efforts des municipalités libanaises en vue d’améliorer la sécurité dans les collectivités à risque.

Date de modification: