Canada and the Commonwealth

The modern Commonwealth is a values-based association of 54 countries, most with historic links to the United Kingdom and home to over 2 billion citizens.

Canada first joined the British Commonwealth as an independent state in 1931. The modern Commonwealth came into existence in 1949 with the London Declaration, and Canada has played an important role in its evolution.

Canadian diplomat Arnold Smith served as the first Commonwealth secretary-general from 1965 to 1975. The current secretary-general, Patricia Scotland, is the sixth secretary-general of the Commonwealth and the first woman to hold the post.

The mandate of the Commonwealth is to serve the needs of its member governments and their citizens in political, economic and social development. The Commonwealth also provides a forum for deliberation, problem solving, consensus decision making and action on matters of importance to the organization.

The Commonwealth sees itself as an advocate for small and vulnerable states, helping to strengthen their resilience and inclusion in the global order. Each year, the Commonwealth selects a theme. The theme for 2020 is ‘Delivering A Common Future: Connecting, Innovating, Transforming’. Five sub-themes have been identified for discussion: Governance and Rule of Law, ICT and Innovation, Youth, Environment, and Trade.

Canada participates in the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), which is held every two years. CHOGM leaders review the progress of previous commitments, discuss matters for mutual participation and provide direction to the organization. Canada hosted CHOGM twice, in 1973 and in 1987. The next CHOGM, scheduled to take place in Rwanda in June 2020, was postponed due to COVID-19 and will be held at a time to be announced in due course.

The Commonwealth includes three intergovernmental organizations, the Commonwealth Secretariat, the Commonwealth Foundation and the Commonwealth of Learning (located in Burnaby, B.C.), as well as over 80 accredited civil society organizations.

Canada is a top donor of the Commonwealth and contributed a total of $10.5 million to the organization in 2018-2019.

Commonwealth Secretariat

Established in 1965, the Commonwealth Secretariat:

The Secretary-General uses her Good Offices to support democratic processes and to prevent or help resolve conflicts.

In 2018-2019, Canada contributed $6.8 million to the Commonwealth Secretariat.

Commonwealth of Learning

The Commonwealth of Learning focuses on strengthening institutions in developing Commonwealth countries that are striving to provide affordable education to larger numbers of their citizens. It is the only intergovernmental organization dedicated to the development and sharing of open learning and distance education knowledge, resources and technologies. The Commonwealth of Learning is helping developing members improve access to quality education and training. Canada is the largest donor and provides one third of its annual funding.

In 2018, Canada renewed its institutional and project support to the Commonwealth of Learning for $7.8 million over three years ($2.6 million in 2018-2019).

Commonwealth Foundation

The Commonwealth Foundation is dedicated to supporting civil society in Commonwealth countries by sharing success stories, enabling learning and fostering cooperation to influence the institutions that shape people’s lives. The Commonwealth Foundation strives for more effective, responsive and accountable governance in Commonwealth countries with civil society participation, which contributes to improved development outcomes.

In 2018-2019, Canada contributed $1.09 million to the Commonwealth Foundation.

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et le Commonwealth

Le Commonwealth moderne est une association fondée sur des valeurs réunissant 54 pays (lien en anglais seulement), dont la plupart entretiennent des liens historiques avec le Royaume-Uni, et qui comptent ensemble plus de deux milliards d’habitants.

Le Canada s’est d’abord joint en tant qu’État indépendant au Commonwealth britannique des nations en 1931. Le Commonwealth moderne a vu le jour en 1949, et le Canada a joué un rôle important dans son évolution.

Le diplomate canadien Arnold Smith a été le premier secrétaire général du Commonwealth de 1965 à 1975. La secrétaire générale actuelle, Patricia Scotland, est la sixième secrétaire générale du Commonwealth, et la première femme à occuper ce poste.

Le Commonwealth a le mandat de servir les besoins des gouvernements membres et de leurs citoyens en matière de développement politique, économique et social. Il offre également une tribune aux délibérations, à la résolution de problèmes, à l’atteinte de consensus et à la prise de mesures qui sont importantes pour l’organisation.

Le Commonwealth se considère comme le défenseur des États vulnérables ou de petite taille, de sorte qu’il les aide à accroître leur résilience et à s’intégrer à l’ordre mondial. Chaque année, le Commonwealth choisit un thème. Le thème de 2020 est «Offrir un avenir commun: connecter, innover, transformer». Cinq sous-thèmes ont été identifiés pour discussion : gouvernance et État de droit, TIC et innovation, jeunesse, environnement et commerce.

Le Canada participe à la réunion des chefs de gouvernement du Commonwealth (RCGC), qui a lieu tous les deux ans. Les dirigeants examinent les progrès réalisés par rapport aux engagements antérieurs, discutent des questions de participation mutuelle et donnent une orientation à l’organisation. Canada a été l’hôte de la RCGC à deux reprises, en 1973 et en 1987. La dernière RCGC s’est tenue à Londres, au Royaume-Uni, en avril 2018. La prochaine RCGC, qui devait se tenir au Rwanda en juin 2020, a été reportée à cause de la COVID-19 et aura lieu à une date qui sera annoncée en temps voulu.

Le Commonwealth comprend trois organisations intergouvernementales : le Secrétariat du Commonwealth, la Fondation du Commonwealth, et le Commonwealth of Learning (situé à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique), ainsi que plus de 80 organismes accrédités provenant de la société civile.

Le Canada est un donateur de premier plan du Commonwealth, et il a versé 10,5 millions de dollars à l'organisation en 2018-2019.

Secrétariat du Commonwealth

Fondé en 1965, le Secrétariat du Commonwealth :

La secrétaire générale utilise ses bons offices pour appuyer les processus démocratiques, ainsi que pour prévenir les conflits ou aider à les résoudre.

En 2018-2019, le Canada a versé 6,8 millions de dollars au Secrétariat du Commonwealth.

Commonwealth of Learning

Le Commonwealth of Learning met l’accent sur le renforcement des institutions dans les pays en développement du Commonwealth qui s’efforcent de fournir une éducation abordable à un plus grand nombre de leurs citoyens. C’est la seule organisation intergouvernementale vouée à l’élaboration et à l’échange de connaissances, de ressources et de technologies en matière d’apprentissage ouvert et d’enseignement à distance. Le Commonwealth of Learning aide les pays en développement membres à accroître l’accès à l’enseignement et à la formation de qualité. Le Canada est le plus important donateur à l’égard du Commonwealth of Learning et fournit le tiers de son financement annuel.

En 2018, le Canada a renouvelé son soutien institutionnel au Commonwealth of Learning et à ses projets en accordant 7,8 millions de dollars sur trois ans (2,6 millions de dollars en 2018-2019).

Fondation du Commonwealth

La Fondation du Commonwealth a pour but de soutenir la société civile dans les pays du Commonwealth en vue de faire connaître des exemples de réussite, de faciliter l’apprentissage et de favoriser la coopération de façon à influencer les institutions qui façonnent la vie des gens. La Fondation du Commonwealth cherche à assurer une gouvernance plus efficace, mieux adaptée et plus responsable au sein des pays du Commonwealth grâce à la participation de la société civile, ce qui contribue à l’amélioration des résultats en matière de développement.

En 2018-2019 , le Canada a versé 1,09 million de dollars à la Fondation du Commonwealth.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: